Overlord (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
412 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Seen at Toronto After Dark Fest
benharley-6750720 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I was really excited to see this movie because of JJ Abram's involvement, and the trailer absolutely sold me, so when I saw this was showing a couple weeks early I made sure not to pass up the opportunity. So how was it? It was really good. I didn't think it was great, but it has some really cool stuff that was very entertaining, and overall I had a good time. The first thing I'll get into would be the VFX, which I believe were created by ILM. The gore effects were incredible and made me squirm in delight, and the opening sequence of the squads plane getting shot down over France was spectacular. It looks absolutely stunning and is equally terrifying, especially with the excellent sound design. The cast for the most part was good, I wouldn't say anyone was outstanding but they were really good. One comedic character in particular worked very well, and the dynamic between the leads was fun and interesting, but it never goes too deep. But let's face it, I didn't go to the movie for deep characters, I went for the WWII Nazi zombies. I was a little let down to be honest with the amount of zombie material in the movie. Maybe that's a little nit picky but a lot of the best zombie stuff was shown in the trailer, and although it's more fleshed out in the final film, it would've been nice to have seen some other crazy stuff that we hadn't already seen bits of. Then again, the zombie sequences and effects that are in the movie are fantastic, both creepy and undeniably fun. I guess I just would've liked a little more. I guess I'll end this by saying if you want a fun WWII/zombie movie, go see this. We need more R-rated blockbusters like this, so go support this one.
118 out of 185 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
High expectations cus of reviews and i love a good b-movie but this turned out to be a boring one.
benj-2083916 November 2018
I really felt conned by the halfway point of this, from then on i kept thinking that i'd rather have waited for it to come to TV instead of wasting time and money on it.

From what i just watched, its not the "fun, original, scary, gory, inventive thrill-ride, maximum shock value, insane" film its been reviewed to be. Definitely NOT scary or gore filled, and with the $38 million budget you'd have expected A LOT more!

The opening 5-10 minutes the reviews have been raving about was ok, its not an opening that would warrant a cinema visit, it ain't no Saving Private Ryan, Edge Of Tomorrow, etc battle scene, as it's over in a flash, roughly 1 or 2 minutes of action, pretty much whats in the trailer and the rest is characters chatting! Then it quickly slows to its meandering pace, with been-there-done-that scenes with added cheese and cliche characters, which start to wear your hopes for a fun big budget B-movie way he f down. I just became bored and just hoped for an outstanding action filled and creative finale to win me over. But NO, the ending is just standard gun play, explosions and one fight that's over way too soon and that's your lot! I would have been satisfied if it had maybe matched an exciting Expendable's type finaly as it was a similar premise.

It's a film that never takes its idea's far enough, never too crazy or too gory but just a very controlled and safe 18 certificate B-movie. And it's a movie that mostly relies on the stupidity/naivety of its lead character to make the plot move forward. If you're after a subtle b-movie then this may be for you

I was really looking forward to this because i'd read really good things, and i missed Slaughterhouse Rulez cus of this.

An episode of the Walking Dead is more exciting, gripping, tense and fun.

Check it out and make up your own mind up but i've given you a heads up. I didn't expect the grindhouse style of Planet Terror with Overlord but Planet Terror was a great fun big budget B-movie!!
86 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Most Expensive Nazisploitation Film Ever Made
Krush_Burner6 November 2018
This is not the first time when J. J. Abrams put the finances into the risky project (remember "Cloverfield"), but this is definitely a curious choice for such a filmmaker. "Overlord" is the rare hybrid of a WWII film and a zombie horror - kind of movies that were prosperous back in 1970s and early 1980s, but has been long gone since then. And even in those times most of them were cheap and cheesy exploitation films, full of gore and nudity. (And yes, lots of people nowadays will think not of grindhouse cinema, but rather of "Call Of Duty" or "Wolfenstein" game series, which is an obvious point of reference here.)

And "Overlord" nearly perfect in assembling those pieces of a Nazi zombie horror movies into one single story. The plot is simple, action-packed and has it all: lots of fighting, shootings, machine guns and flamethrowers. The characters are schematic, almost one-dimensional, because it's not WWII drama, and that's enough. The SFX are great, there's a lot of blood and guts here, exactly what one can expect from a film which involves Nazis, experiments with (un)dead, and covert military operation.

However, there's some minor but annoying mistakes in presentation of some important plot elements, which hard to left unnoticed. Perhaps the most striking example of such retroactive anti-militaristic message is when Cpl. Ford decides to stop Nazis once and for all near the end of the film: his attitude looks a bit anachronistic in 1940s and such views for an U.S. soldier were much more credible rather after Vietnam War than during the WWII. There's also a very implausible fight between two main characters before the final onslaught, which looks ridiculous within the context of the upcoming Overlord operation.

But it all can easily be put aside, because "Overlord" is the Nazispoltation at its best: dark, bloody, action-driven horror about zombie soldiers trying to take over the world. Take it for what it is, and have fun.
109 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disappointing at best.
kellvallon14 November 2018
I was very excited for this movie when I saw the previews for it. Unfortunately the advertising was much better than the actual film. If your looking for a good ww2 nazi horror film this is not it. Go play one of the Castle Wolfenstein games instead. Atleast they had better characters and story. With this you dont get any character development. The characters are not likeable and the story is vague. My recommendation is wait till it's on Netflix. This movie is not worth the price of admission.
98 out of 167 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I hoped for more...
dlbearcave-22 January 2019
I heard so much about this film that I went into it with high expectations. The opening 1/3 of the movie was a cliche per minute and almost totally ripped off from "Band of Brothers" Plus it was loaded with unrealistic things like black men serving in mixed race units, and a mixed unit with a black sergeant. These things never would have happened, it just wasn't done at that time. I started wondering if I was seeing the right movie.

So once the horror part of the movie began I noticed it was again ripped off, this time from "Return To Castle Wolfenstein". Very little of it was even slightly surprising, since I played the game all the way through 15 yrs ago.

I found it to be unoriginal, unrealistic and predictable. I guess it's just me. 2 stars at best.
117 out of 202 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Reviewing some of the viewers.
jonnyboy-781336 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This was a reasonably entertaining movie. It was perhaps a bit too straightforward for my taste but normally as soon as there's mention of zombies I'm out. Is anybody really terrified of something as unrealistic as zombies? Anyway, it seems some reviewers feel this wasn't nearly hardcore enough. Or that the reviews they'd read before seeing it led them to believe it would be more shocking. I guess this would be to the reviewers who thought this was hardcore and therefore duped some people. I think it's important to remember that the people who are going to see a movie because it was described as shocking, extremely disturbing, made me sick etc are often the same people who have seen every revolting, traumatizing clip om BestGore or YouTube or wherever they have twisted video's who have completely desensitized themselves through years of trauma. Yes, unless your a sadistic sociopath or psychopath the desensitizing is the minds way of protecting itself from more trauma and your lucky because that's a whole lot better than the other options. Truth be told if your a grindhouse and expendables fan you like crazy violence and action and are very unlikely to be shocked anymore by a mainstream movie. It's unfortunate most of the people like this aren't aware of how badly they've been traumatized and are still chasing that buzz. If they were to ask themselves the last time they were shocked or whatever it was probably the nail in the coffin so to speak, the one that sent the mind over the edge into protection mode. The faces on some of the creatures if you will was pretty horrifying. If i'd seen that when I was a kid it wouldn't have been good. With the all access all the time to the sickest min violence and porn any movie maker trying to shock people has a tall order.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Shallow, cheap filmmaking meets Wolvenstein
burcak-baskan12 November 2018
Extremely shallow in every way. Logic of the story fails in the very basics, tries to soup it up with very loud noises, explosions, shaky cam, close up shots on shocked faces, goes into horror mode and opts to scare you with cheap tricks. You also get all the politically correct narrative: All Germans are Nazis, all of them are totally evil and should be shot on sight, evil white men do evil things and the pure, baby faced black guy does all the right things oh and the girl kicks ass. Really? This is the best you came up with in 2018? Sorry I don't have any tolerance for film scripts that choose to pick parts off a scenario lego set and call it art. The supporting cast do as good a job as they can given the abysmal script but the main character fails and not just because of the bad script. Visually it's not entertaining, even on the wide screen of a movie theater i felt like i was watching a cheap computer game animation on my computer screen. Fitting I guess as the story is pretty much Wolvenstein 3D of ancient days. Except the hero mainly runs away instead of gunning everything down.
70 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun and Action
snt04300511 November 2018
Perfect blend of WW2 action, zombies and gore. Don't go into this expecting Oscar nominations, and you'll enjoy the ride. It was exactly what I expected- I was entertained for close to 2 hrs. Got my money's worth.
53 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Over and Under.
aciessi11 November 2018
In Nazi occupied France, in what I'd say is the same time period Aldo Raine was collecting scalps and chasing after Hans Landa, a ragtag group of paratroopers crash lands near the headquarters of a diabolical science lab where humans are taken against their will to guinea pig a top secret serum that transforms them into super-human zombies.

Overlord is exactly the kind of film you'd expect to see in the early 80's in the naughtier section of the video store. A WWII-set, Science-Fiction blood binge made for midnight viewings... or at least, that was the intention. Overlord, the actual film, has trouble expressing itself in this way. At times it takes itself too seriously. Other times, it goes for the gross out moment, but never takes it far enough. Overlord seems to be afraid of it's own shadow. It should've been more outrageous, more shameless and more hard-R that it is here. A worth while effort, and far from a cheap cinematic affair, but not satisfying.
59 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Call Of Wolfenstein: Overlord
Pjtaylor-96-13804411 November 2018
'Overlord (2018)' certainly has tonal issues, often being properly horrific but seeming to want to inject humour at the most inopportune of moments. It's also quite schlocky essentially every time it tries to do anything more traditionally 'war movie'-esque. This is especially prevelant in the moments where it wants us to believe its heroes are being overtly and defiantly heroic, in spite of their army-given orders or previously quite unlikable (sometimes contemptible) character-traits, or in the times where it tries to tie its events directly into the narrative of the overall Second World War - which is actually quite disturbing not in its slightly jingoistic and strangely campy ending but in its undercurrent of Nazi experimentation, something that did really occur to an extent perhaps less sensational but far more despicable than what's seen here. Really, the issues come down to the writing, which isn't as nuanced as it perhaps thinks it is but also isn't as straight-forwardly 'genre-specific' as it perhaps ought to have been. There are times when the flick works, though, which mainly come when it slips straight into the fantastical, horror territory where it feels most at home and, indeed, adept. Here, it puts the historical context further into the background than before, using it as a backdrop for a sort of silly but played-straight science-fiction flick that actually works well when it tries to scare and make squirm. The visuals are pretty much universally good and, aside from a couple of unnecessarily glorified gore-shots, the violence is presented as believably painful and properly gruesome, too. Ultimately, this makes for a flawed experience that's at its best when it just lets the viscera fly like it is slick, big-budgeted and generally very well put-together grindhouse-bound 'trash art'. 6/10
57 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great blend of genres (each done well) - shame about the final 30 mins
GoldenBlunderbuss6 November 2018
If you want to go in to watching this film without seeing the trailer, then don't read any reviews - including this one. There are no spoilers beyond what the trailer shows.

I make that opening claim because if you hadn't seen the trailer, you wouldn't know of the dual-genre nature of Overlord. The genre shift to full-blown 'zombies-but-not-quite' action comes after 75 minutes of truly brilliant wartime drama with some moderate scares. The opening scenes of the paratroopers entrance to the war-torn French countryside is a particular highlight for its chaotic, intense and disorientating depiction of what it must've been like for those who did the deed for real in WW2.

The horror element begins to build early on but is never an indication of the upcoming genre shift (if you've not seen the trailer, at least) until the point (From Dusk to Dawn style) where it's made clear that we're not in Kansas anymore. The only bummer I can think of is the film falls into the trap of a predictable final 30 minutes. With all the enjoyment had before then, it's so disappointing to feel let down at the last hurdle.

The soundtrack is immense, the cinematography is brooding without being dark (a style which works for both of the film's genres), and the CGI special effects are affectingly convincing. Don't expect great things from the script (which includes several awful one-liner comebacks), but I think this film will go down as one of the great zombie films of recent years, and may even be noted for its even better turn as a war film.

Best quote: "What is this?!" - "Our greatest achievement. With it, we create super-Nazis; a thousand year army and it's thousand year soldiers."
85 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Going to turn into a Cult Classic
jrugg199 November 2018
Overlord is essentially a B-movie with a Hollywood budget, great action, and a TON of gore. I really enjoyed this movie quite a bit, especially in the opening scene, which was shot very well. This movie is an action-horror set during World War II when a bunch of American Soldiers discover that the Germans are up to something sinister in one of their bases, and that is all I will say about the plot. It's awesome to watch. The films cast doesn't consist of any A-Listers or Superstars, but has a lot of recognizable faces such as Wyatt Russell, (who's performance reminded me a lot of his dad Kurt in The Thing), Pilous Asbaek and Jacob Anderson of Game of Thrones fame, John Magaro and Bokeem Woodbine, and newcomers Jovan Adepo and Mathilde Olliver as the leads. To sum it up, Overlord is the type of movie that is going to develop a fanbase years from now, it is very fun and will satisfy those both looking for intense action and gory horror, and I can easily recommend this. We can all thank Julius Avery for directing such a fun movie and J.J Abrhams for deciding to NOT turn this film into a Cloverfield movie.
104 out of 191 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Incompetent crap
Matt34524 November 2018
Terrible writing: absolutely terrible characters, terrible dialogue, terrible story-development. And, besides, probably some of the worst WW2 American soldiers ever put on film, not all of which seems even intentional. That the plot would be dumb is kind of a given, but this is just incompetent, and given the cheesy bloat and self-importance of a big production to make it fully insufferable. The dialogue is the kind of terrible that is not merely hammy and clichéd, but the kind that knows it can be clichéd and "not smart", and therefore is satisfied with just being plain bad. The characters are so awful, one can't call them characters, but just attempts at ones which are played by actors with specific faces. The same as for the dialogue and plot, their "deliberate" attempts at being awful are indistinguishiable from them just being badly written. Yes, some of the things we are shown are also somewhat "terrifying" (actually just a small selection, which by the way doesn't include such attempts like a jumpscare by a soldier seeing an ordinary corpse in WW2), to get that semantic ambiguity out of the way, however the movie is unbearably bad and not entertaining after the basics are established...
64 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Why, why, why?
aramsdale20 November 2018
Brilliant aeroplane opening scene then really good 30 min then turns into a ridiculous, stupid choice making farce. Ruined with pathetic sentiment.
47 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining with flaws...
JalilOfficial1 November 2018
Let me start of by saying... The movie was nice. Expected a bit more horror and maybe even more zombies. That would have made it a perfect score for me. Nonetheless what it did have was a lot of action and a lot of tension. Overall a fun watch and everybody in the room enjoyed it. Heroic storyline, a lot of gore, one of the best opening sequences I've seen in a while and some decent humor. Grab your boys and catch it at the movies if u can. Popcorn flick for a good time at the movie theater! Don't expect an Oscar contender here! Then You'll have plenty fun!
66 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fresh, fun horror movie
erosegerity21 October 2018
I saw this film at the Philadelphia Film Festival and I had a good time watching it. It's a very intense movie with a lot of action throughout; it never has a moment where it calms down. I like that aspect of it but I can definitely see it being sensory overload for a lot of people. It's also quite graphic, and sometimes it's a little gratuitous and overly gory. I think the film relies a little too much on jump scares but the atmosphere is pretty creepy anyway. I think towards the end the film gets pretty over-the-top and silly, but I think it's an interesting setting and it's very well-shot and the VFX are pretty good.
74 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Okay... probably my 5 years old nephew can write better script!
r-fronimides4 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I'm by-passing the "supernatural" element of the film. Okay, you (we all) know it before go to the cinema, we know what to watch. It's like you don't like StarWars because they have Jedi abilities & light-sabres (you knew it before)... ...The problem is the horrible plot/scenario... and the super-bad screen-play.

We have a small group of survived "101" US Paras during the night before "D-Day" (June 6 1944), which they trying to take out (destroy) a "building" (no further details from the movie!!!) that is important for the air-bombing success! (If you understood something, let me know! "An important building against the allies' air-strike"... Totally childish. Not even a special weapon's artillery battery, that would make A PERFECT SENSE to the plot). So, after the plain crash, a small group of survivors trying to continue the mission, while a battalion of Nazis is all around the area, but the survivors don't have problem to... argue in the middle of the silent woods (and no Nazi running towards that noise), stepping on land mine (and no Nazi running to see why a mine explode, while enemy planes with paras are flying over their heads!), etc. The American troops arrived to a French village FULL OF GERMAN PATROLS (I counted over 20-30 troops patrolling the village streets), but the brave Americans made it to find refuge into a French house... the Nazis didn't arrested them... but THEY DID ARRESTED the French house's owner (a French girl)!!!!!! The Germans SPOTTED the ...girl, but not the 5-6 full-armed (and NOISY) American Paratroopers! Then, after a while (and when Nazis let free the girl), a German SS Major arrives to the girl's house, obviously for sexual reasons (wanted to rape her). The Americans ATTACKED HIM... was a FIGHT between them... EVEN SHOTS (!!!)... but no German arrived to the house they left their commander!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

...After a while and when the US Corporal send a trooper for... scouting (in the full of Nazis village's streets!!!!), the trooper ENTERED into a German truck and he... entered that way into the SUPER-DUPER ULTRA GUARDED facility (that wanted to destroy), he managed to go to the DEEPEST LEVEL of the facility and saw all what were happening there... and he DID IT OUT, ESCAPED, to give report back!!!!!!!!!!

...Okay, I give up. Like I wrote... not even a 5 years old wouldn't write a SO RIDICULOUS script! Except the uniforms, the landscape, the screens - that looks SO PERFECTLY like France of 1944... everything else of this movie is horrible!
46 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rewriting History For The PC Generation.
danoftheworld-8555514 November 2018
Okay, it's a zombie movie (and I use the term zombie lightly as it's not really got any zombies in it just super strong humans) but it is still set in the real world during WW2. TV shows/Movies and games these days are rewriting history to cater to the PC snowflakes. History wasn't PC so stop sugar coating it and tell it like it really happened before we all start to believe all this crap.

The story is not great either with no likable characters no real plot just a lot of disjointed scenes thrown together. Makes you feel like they didn't quite know how to finish their war movie so just threw in a few "zombies" at the end. These days it seems the trailers are better than the actual movies themselves.
77 out of 146 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Way better than you'd ever expect & not what you'd think from the trailer
bridgetbreland15 November 2018
Wow color me impressed:) I went in with low expectations but from the adrenaline filled, edge of your seat opening I was hooked. I thought it would be schlock horror. What I got was a well acted, well scripted action/drama/horror film that actually had me caring about the characters. Very unique and I agree with other reviewers that it should be a cult classic. I hope more people go to see it in theaters as it deserves a much wider audience.
66 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Totally original
propergol4 February 2019
Not. It's a shameless ripoff of a 2013 grindhouse-like film Frankenstein's Army, almost verbatim. Except FA manages to be creative and suspenseful while this high-budget Hollywood schlock is merely a waste of time, money, and effort. Avoid and rent Frankenstein's Army instead.
49 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The preview looked promising but the movie itself felt flat with a huge thud
bradinhanson14 November 2018
The character is dull and doesn't want to hurt a fly even though it's a war movie. He was easily the worst part of the movie and was hard to engage in the film all because of him. His team is hysterically 2-dimensional and comedic during intense moments asking yourself if this is a comedy or a war movie. There were parts that left me squirmish because of intended rape. But probably the worst combo came from a dull movie with plenty of jump scares. No build up just jump scares out of the blue. Of course the movie often relied on the stupidity of characters to make the plot moving forward. I get that corporations are trying to recruit for their privitized armies and all but they went a little to hard on "you can be the insignificant guy and still be a hero." How cute.
42 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
High flyer in the beginning that gets shot down way too fast!
caradryanmusic9 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The D-Day landing opening scenes are one of the best I've ever seen in a "war"-movie! The whole airplane scene was beautifully done, and then the first minutes in France are thrilling and full of atmosphere. But then they hit the village and the movie turns into one of the most boring, predictable, unrealistic (yes, even for a zombie movie) movies I've seen this year. The protagonist is flawless and boring as hell. He doesn't want to kill any form of life, constantly jeopardises the mission for childish reasons, insubordinates but doesn't get any crap for it and walks through the movie relatively unscaved. Meanwhile the Germans are comically evil and incompetent and pose no real threat to our heroes. They miss all the time while our heroes mow them down way too easy with basically just 2 people against 40 or so Germans. Full of cliches jump scares, an annoying child that runs into the line of fire trope and some of the worst designed zombies I've ever seen. And there are only a coue of them and feel more like an afterthought. The movie gets 5 stars just for the first half an hour or so, otherwise it would have 3 stars. Avoid it if you can.
47 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun war movie with a horror twist
tedbreen12 November 2018
Fun war movie with a horror twist. On its face, it is a procedural military mission - get in and do the thing to support the impending Allied invasion. The horror twist comes when the soldiers discover some strange stuff happening in the village. Medical experiments are being performed to transform normal humans into super soldiers. The mission now becomes twofold: destroy the tower and destroy the lab! Nothing particularly special or innovative about the story, but it was wildly entertaining and enjoyable. Very exciting edge-of-your-seat action scenes, well-performed roles, top-notch special effects, and solid jump scares. We watched it in the Dolby theater at AMC Metreon in SF. It was super loud and the place was rocking!
30 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
OVER SILLY
armoredtanker16 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
A black 101st DDAY Paratrooper is an insult to the real 101st Airborne. Worthless flop. And they wonder why they flop with nonsense like this. Band of Brothers is better than silly inaccurate historical zombie sillyness. AVOID!
41 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Rating: A
msbreviews9 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
If you enjoy reading my Spoiler-Free reviews, please follow my blog :)

First things first: don't you dare miss this one! I never expected to be as entertained and constantly at edge as I felt throughout this film. J.J. Abrams has a tremendous production capability, and Overlord proves it. It incorporates every genre that you can remember of in an almost seamlessly process. I guess I'll start with the beginning since the first 20-30 minutes provide one of the best opening sequences of the last few years.

Overlord is definitely a war movie, and its foundations are actually based on true stories from WWII. Obviously, being J.J. Abrams a sci-fi master, he stretches those stories a bit so we can have a brilliant rollercoaster of genres. Mystery, thriller, horror, sci-fi, drama, comedy, war, action, ... I mean, every genre that you can think of (well, I guess musical can be excluded) is present in this film, some more than others.

Usually, that is not a good sign because it's extremely hard to balance two/three tones or genres, let alone a whole bunch of them. That said, Julius Avery is one hell of a director! He and his writers were able to mix everything up and still make a cohesive and even claustrophobic movie since it's pretty much one-location after that opening act. Let's go genre by genre ...

War: the best depiction of what a war looks and SOUNDS like since Dunkirk. I watched this on IMAX, and the sound design is unbelievable. I could feel every bullet flying through, and the CGI is eyegasmic. That opening scene with the military flying over the "battlefield" is visually jaw-dropping, and the score elevates the tension by being extremely powerful. Chills all over my body.

Sci-fi/Mystery/Thriller: even though the premise pretty much explains what the Nazis are doing in their medical experiments, the way that Mark L. Smith and Billy Ray structure the film's narrative and write the dialogues is remarkable. Every exposition scene feels natural and rich from a storytelling perspective. It doesn't improve the mystery itself, but it sure helps the audience to navigate through the story.

Horror: it relies on predictable yet effective jump scares, but the "monsters" are very well "designed." With a mix of CGI and makeup, every single scene involving these human experiments is nail-biting great. Whether that's a chasing or fight sequence, or merely a suspense moment where we can't really see the entire human body, the horror vibe is excellently implemented.

Comedy: such a heavy and bloody R-rated flick, needs some sort of relief. Comedy isn't precisely a predominant genre, but John Magaro's character carries an important role. You might be thinking "bah, he is just a bland comic relief character with no decent development," but you're wrong. Tibbet is extremely well-developed! He simply has a funny personality, and he does banter a lot, but throughout the movie, he keeps evolving as a character and ultimately surprises us in the third act. I also love Iain De Caestecker (Chase), and I congratulate him on finally getting a role in a big film!

Drama: Jovan Adepo (Boyce), Wyatt Russell (Ford) and Mathilde Ollivier (Chloe) are what I would call the movie's protagonists. They are the ones that carry most of the story. Adepo is the lead, and he is fantastic, as well as his two counterparts. However, it's due to the amazing characters' scripts that they are able to shine. Every single character in the film (well, except the Nazis, obviously) has a script meant for the audience to care about them.

Every death has an impact, either on the audience or the other characters. There's a ton of ethical dilemmas throughout their mission, and these three are always arguing with each other since everyone thinks differently. Their dialogues are very captivating, and they undoubtedly improve the screenplay. I rarely blinked due to the high level of entertainment and excitement. Story and character-wise, this is one of 2018's best. Pure entertainment AND well-written characters? Count me in!

However, it doesn't end up here. Technically, this movie is impressive and magnificent. I genuinely had my heart pumping hard after that opening sequence (am I repeating myself too much?). The score is intensely sumptuous, the cinematography is impeccable, and the visual effects are out of this world. The action stunts (chases and fights) are so realistic that you can feel every punch, kick, bullet and explosion like you were there.

Julius Avery works the camera in such a mind-blowing way. Even though some scenes require massive CGI, he still produces some one-take wonders. From Boyce jumping from the plane to him running away from explosions going off closer and closer, Avery sure knows his craft of filmmaking. I wanted to give this film an A+ so much, but I can't. I have one and one only minor issue that I can't just ignore.

I wrote above that it mixes each genre ALMOST perfectly ... Midway through the second act, I noticed that this movie wasn't going to escape the fact that it tries to tackle too many genres and tonally, it lacks a bit of balance. Going from such an intense opening act to a more slow-paced and dramatic story is a big downstep entertainment-wise. Even when the action returns, it's a totally different type of war action. Throughout the film, I felt like wanting a bit of "that" when there was too much of "this" and a bit of "this" when there was too much of "that."

Nevertheless, Overlord is one of my favorite movies of 2018, and it's going to make my life hard at the end of the year, organizing my Top10. It's a brilliantly structured story filled with remarkably well-developed characters and a phenomenal cast, led by Jovan Adepo. Julius Avery provides a captivating and intense rollercoaster of genres and tones, delivering a film with very different levels of entertainment due to the many styles present. His filmmaking craft is mind-blowing, and J.J. Abrams' production is visually stunning, at least. Watch it on IMAX so you can feel how powerful and intense the sound design is. You'll be captivated from the first to the last second. Enjoy it!
58 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed