Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
1,439 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
The most important film in MCU
Abdulxoxo2 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
As I was watching this movie today, I realized it's one of the most important film in mcu. It has tons of elements that are used heavily in future MCU films, eg

Fleshing out Hawkeye

°In this film we get to see the other side of Hawkeye, we learn about his family, who would played a vital role to his character's dark turn in Endgame.

°This movie also solidifies his relationship with Black Widow which makes her demise in endgame even more impactful.

°He also inspired Wanda to shake off her past and become an Avenger.

The arising tension between Steve and Tony

° Things started to get sour between Steve and Tony, after him and Bruce accidentally created Ultron and also Vision. And the destruction of Sokovia at the end of the movie is also one of the main reason for the Sokovia Accords, which are all part of the reason that split the superheroes in two sides in CW.

Intro of Scarlett Witch and Vision

°Vision and Scarlett are both introduced in this film, and they both would go on and become crucial members of the Avengers.

Thanos had enough

° The events of this film upset Thanos so much that he decided to "do it himself" which foreshadows the event of Infinity War.

Avengers as a unit

°It's also the first appearance of the Avengers functional as a team. They're not just meeting and building the team like in the first Avengers, they aren't split like in Civil War and Infinity War or broken like in Endgame. They're just out there taking on bad guys, hanging out, and fighting evil robots.

Hulk/Bruce banner story arc

°Bruce Banner started having problems transforming into the Hulk in this movie which keeps recurring in Infinity War, until ultimately resolved at Endgame.

°Hulk buster armor

°At the end of this film, Hulk left on the quinjet which from there, you know, Ragnorak.

Wakanda/ Black panther tease

°Klaw is first introduced in this film, he would go on to become one of Black panther's main villain. Wakanda and vibranium are mentioned as well.

Black widow's arc

°Flashback scenes of Black Widow's years of training might be further explored in the her upcoming solo movie.

Ragnarok:

°Heimdall first teases Ragnarok and the fact they will lose in Thor's vision, which prompted him to fly back home to Asgard.

Ironman to save everyone

°The visions of defeat he saw in this film haunt him, but he was, in the end, able to use that fear to defeat Thanos in Endgame, thus saving everyone.

°Captain almost picking up Mjolnir.

°The first mention of the word "Endgame".

At the time of its release it was met with mixed reviews mostly because it was too muddy, yeah it had to to tell its own story, all while setting up the next four years of Marvel films. This movie deserve nothing but our utmost respect. 🙌
61 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An enjoyable ride
r96sk18 January 2021
Cool seeing them all together again, even if I didn't massively enjoy it. It's good, nothing more or less in my opinion.

'Avengers: Age of Ultron' isn't too far off 2012's 'The Avengers', especially in terms of how I fell about it. I definitely wanted more from both, yet they are still satisfying superhero action flicks. I'd rank this narrowly below the aforementioned.

Robert Downey Jr. felt a little flat to me as Iron Man - he still has a decent amount of moments, just not as many as you get in his individual films. All the others continue to entertain to an equally suitable level, I didn't overly like the characters of Aaron Taylor-Johnson and Elizabeth Olsen but I also don't have any noteworthy negatives about them. The story between Scarlett Johansson and Mark Ruffalo didn't do much for me either.

With that noted, it is still an enjoyable ride through the 141 minute run time. The ending is intriguing, interested to see where that goes - I have a minor inkling about the mid-credits scene, given all the internet attention that has had - even for someone like me who knows very little overall.
26 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Messier, for sure, but still plenty of "Avengers" fun
Movie_Muse_Reviews8 May 2016
The task of bringing together Earth's mightiest heroes took Joss Whedon into uncharted territory with 2012's "The Avengers," and, despite the weight of the Marvel Cinematic Universe on his shoulders, the results were staggeringly entertaining. The task of making a sequel to that ground-breaking, monumental event film, however, and being expected to deliver on par or better results, is an entirely different beast.

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" was definitely built on the bullet point takeaways of "The Avengers," which are: Make time and space for wit, banter and humor for the sake of humor to prevent the film from taking itself too seriously; give each character a story arch and independent moments; choreography clever action sequences with well-timed glory shots. These components are in full force in "Ultron" and make enjoying the blockbuster as easy as shoving a lollipop in your mouth.

Yet "Ultron" is infinitely more complex than its predecessor. The number of heroes featured barely fits into a single action figure play case, meaning more subplots and back story, in addition to creating an arch of the creation and life of Ultron itself. With a plot that takes the Avengers from the eastern European country of "Sokovia" to New York to the African nation of "Wakanda" to Seoul, South Korea to Sokovia again, much of "Age of Ultron" is a non-stop blur.

The film opens with the Avengers leading an assault on a secret HYDRA facility where they have located the staff that Loki used to lead the Chitauri invasion in "The Avengers." When they secure it and bring it back to New York, Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) and Bruce Banner (Mark Ruffalo) discover that its power source contains a blueprint for artificial intelligence, which would allow Stark to proceed with his Ultron project, an initiative to create peace-keeping robots that could defend the world in place of the Avengers should another alien invasion occur. When Ultron (voiced by James Spader) becomes conscious, however, he interprets his peace-keeping instructions as an imperative to wipe out humankind.

Added to the mix are the Maximoff twins, Pietro (Aaron Taylor-Johnson) and Wanda (Elizabeth Olsen) – also known as Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch – who decide to serve Ultron, with the latter using her powers to give each of the Avengers dangerous visions that could tear them apart.

The fight scenes and action sequences are in such abundance in "Ultron" that it's impossible to remember them all, and the ones that are most distinct, such as Iron Man chasing down and taming a rampant Hulk using his Hulkbuster armor, are ancillary to the narrative of finding what Ultron is up to and stopping it. In other words – it's all for show. The creativity of the fight choreography also gets lost in the whirlwind of action. Captain America (Chris Evans) probably does 12 different awesome things with his shield, but they happen so fast you'll be hard pressed to recall any one of them in detail. Really clever sequences are only as fun as the build-up and payoff and those pieces are given no time to breathe.

Whedon does allow for pauses in the chaos, such as the swanky Avengers Tower party featuring the film's best scene, when each Avenger tries his hand at lifting Thor's hammer, or a quiet retreat to an unexpected safe house in the countryside, but it's simply a trade- off: instead of busy action sequences, we get character relationship dynamics and back story.

"Ultron" is inundating, to be frank, but for the everything-but-the-sink mentality, it's carried by its sense of humor and a cast whose members have each proved themselves time and again to be magnetic both on their own and as part of this team. Some of the novelty has worn off, but seeing all these characters together remains a treat that even the most convoluted of stories cannot entirely dismantle. Marvel Studios truly proves with "Ultron" the credibility that it has built with fans, to the point that even when it gets a little ambitious and mettles a bit more (you can easily see Whedon at odds with them in this final cut), its reputation remains intact and the fans placated.

As "Phase III" begins, adding even more characters to Marvel's cinematic universe (and even sliding Spider-Man into the mix) en route to the two-part "Avengers: Infinity War" slated for 2018 and 2019, it will be interesting to see if Marvel Studios barrels along into more unwieldy but delicious chaos, or reins it in a touch. Either way, should be fun.

~Steven C

Thanks for reading! Visit Movie Muse Reviews for more
48 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) Review - 8.3/10
sammielimehouse12 December 2020
This film isn't nearly as bad as some people make it out to be. While the story isn't as good as the first Avengers, the acting is still just as good, the action is even better, and Ultron isn't a bad villain, he's just an under-developed one. Honestly, the action makes up for most of the flaws of this movie and it also set up a lot of MCU films, or at least foreshadowed a lot. Movies like Black Panther, Avengers: Infinity War/Endgame, and Captain America: Civil War. Overall, this isn't a bad film, at all, but it is the weakest of The Avengers franchise.
30 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The son of Megatron and Skynet meets Tony Stark and his Amazing Friends
xamtaro14 December 2015
In 2012, there came a day unlike any other day where the worlds greatest heroes were united against a common threat and THE AVENGERS blew away audiences of all ages with the first ever comic book movie crossover. In 2015, there came another day unlike any other day and this time the world is threatened by a Ultron, the cynical critical atypical child of Skynet and Megatron...... No actually he's just a wisecracking artificial intelligence with delusions of godhood and all round evil. Turning on his creators, he threatens all life on earth with his sidekicks "illusion- woman" and "not-the-flash"....I mean, Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver, and it is up to the Avengers to take him out before he can usher in THE AGE OF ULTRON.

Instead of the robot dominated dystopian future that we saw in the comics, what we do get is more "the next few days of Ultron". No matter, it is an exciting few days with director Joss Whedon balancing the intercharacter dynamics with awesome action pieces from claustrophobic close combat, to a freeway chase, to the much advertised no holds barred beat down between the Hulk and iron man's new "hulk buster" Armour. All this is supplemented with beautiful special effects from Industrial Lights and Magic ILM. Flawless work befitting the movie's massive Budget.

In The villain, Ultron, the Writers have crafted a memorable though under utilised bad guy. Ultron could have been the vehicle to explore deeper themes, themes that were merely hinted at but never fleshed out. Instead, His cynical yet refined snarling courtesy of James Spader reminds me of the those magnificently passionate Super villains that were so common in Saturday morning cartoons of old.

And that is exactly what this is. AGE OF ULTRON can be described as a true live action cartoon. The dialogue is light hearted, the story is straightforward, the tone is fun and the action is immense. And this is not exactly a good thing. Intense scenes are interrupted and spoilt with poorly placed humour and once again the story does not seem to take itself seriously.

Fights are over-choreographed, more like some fancy ballet than an all out battle. The fact that it cuts to graceful slow motion once in a while only emphasises the dance like nature of the fights.

And yet the movie felt like pieces of it were cut out. The narrative does not flow as smoothly as the first with inexplicable scenes like Thor suddenly going off on his hallucination trip. Much of the premise and the characters development up to this point very much depends on the viewer watching prior marvel movies.

It is here that Marvel studio's continuity heavy Creative direction rears its ugly head. To know what is going on in this movie, one would have to watch the previous movies. Captain America the winter soldier, iron man 3, the first avengers movie. But perhaps that's the point? Force people to go buy the Blu rays or the video to rewatch and get up to speed. In the end, the real big winner is distributor Disney. Ka-Ching $$.

I like a good comedy. In in a big action blockbuster, I like to believe that the stakes are real, that the dangers faced by our heroes are real, that they are really fighting for the fate of the world. Instead, we get this cartoony violence, with equally cartoony superficial story, where heroes joke around with quick lighthearted quips in the middle of a fight scene where people could die. This kills tension. And if it weren't for the magnificent effects, action and direction, AGE OF ULTRON would have scored a bit lower.
91 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Behold, the world's largest conveyor belt
tieman645 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
"People stopped being people in 1913. That was the year Henry Ford put his cars on rollers and made his workers adopt the speed of the assembly line. At first, workers rebelled. They quit in droves. Now we plug right into repetitive motions of a hundred kinds." - Jeffrey Eugenides

Produced by Marvel Studios (now a subsidiary of the Walt Disney Company), "Avengers: Age of Ultron" is a gazillion dollar superhero movie. Most of the film consists of dull, unimaginative action sequences in which powerful "good warriors" battle powerful "bad warriors". These action sequences - which have no sense of style, tempo and which are totally devoid of tension - are rolled out like crude, Pavlovian commands; the chemical rushes cynically demanded by corporate candy factories.

Breaking up the monotony of these monotonous actions sequences are equally monotonous and equally mechanical scenes in which our heroes "talk", "reveal their personalities" and "share their feelings". These scenes exist, not because Marvel Studios has any interest in drama, characters or continuity, but because "films are supposed to have these scenes". In the Marvel universe, nothing really matters. The individual plots and over-arching plot lines of Marvel's films don't matter. Characters don't matter. These things are only present to present the illusion of storytelling. They are filler. The constituents of a factory assembly line whose sole goal is the procurement of money.

You can't have a Marvel Movie without a super-villain. This time around our villain's a Really Bad Guy who wants to do Really Bad Stuff and who ironically pokes fun at Conventional Movie Villain Dialgoue whilst actually totally adhering to clichés. This villain (spoiler?) is defeated. Along the way, the film "comically" delivers its obligatory "one swear word", but not before a room full of lawyers and marketing executives run up the data, salivate over pie-charts and double check with global ratings boards.

Marvel Studios has a history of roping in "irreverent" and "edgy" directors. Afterall, you can't sell cookie cuttered dough to zombies without pretending it's the work of a rebel. As such, "Age of Ultron" was directed by Joss Whedon, a geek-king with a flair for zany dialogue. But like Tarantinospeak, Woody Allenspeak, Mametspeak and Coenspeak, Joss Whedonspeak is now officially annoying. Indeed, everyone in Whedon's "Ultron" now sports the same voice. Every character, be they villain, hero, co-star, robot or computer, is an ironic, sarcastic, wisecracking master of zany one liners. This orgy of flippancy, non-sequiturs and "cool dialogue" reeks of desperation; cool stops being cool when everyone speaks cool.

Watching most Marvel Movies is a bit like being forced to watch a pornographic movie for a full two hours past the point of ejaculation. "Ultron" in particular bludgeons you with bludgeoning. It's filled with CGI muscle-men pounding and stomping, blowing up buildings and tossing cars back and forth, and then doing it again, and again and again and again, and then again in the sequels and then again on the directors' cuts, and then again in the reboots, and then again in the reboots' sequels and then again and again. And then a few more times. And then again and again.

Today, Marvel Studios now rolls like one of the world's largest conveyor belts; factory film-making as the epitome of the self-perpetuating capitalist machine, repackaging and marketing to every inch of the world. Art subservient to product cycles, product obsolescence and schizoid brains. And all the while, the Studio keeps expanding, pushing their movies in the summer, their TV shows in the fall/winter, and their streaming shows in the spring before the cycle is repeated all over again. With the new mantra of #ItsAllConnected - ironic, considering no Marvel show/series meaningfully connects to another - Marvel moves like the cinematic equivalent of malware. And now that Disney's acquired the "Star Wars" franchise, we can expect it to similarly start squeezing new "Star Wars" movies out of its mechanical orifices like diseased clockwork.

Incidentally, like most recent Marvel movies, "Age of Ultron's" chief villain is essentially a Western defence contract run amok. So we have another "anti violence", "anti military" Marvel film which gets its kicks from violence, mass murder and the flattering of whole cities. Lazily written and acted, the film finds actor Mark Ruffalo continuing to be excellent, soulful and layered. He plays the Hulk, a property damage loving green dude with magical pants.

3/10 – What was Ultron's age anyway? Was that dude even legal? Worth no viewings.
109 out of 178 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
VERY GOOD SEQUEL
andreascaloni21 April 2021
In Avengers Age of Ultron the Avengers fight Ultron, an artificial intelligence obsessed with causing human extinction. The movie is a mostly satisfying sequel. It's full of action and darker than the first one. Sometimes it has a great sense of humour, the main villain is well characterized and the final act is full of tension and emotional. However in the first half isn't always gripping and there are some ridicolous moments. It isn't as good as the first one but it's still a fun and entertaining ride to join.

Rating: 7,4.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Avengers: Age of Ultron is a damn good Superhero flick, excellent sequel!
ivo-cobra88 May 2016
Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) is a MARVEL damn good superhero flick and an excellent sequel! Yes it is miles way better than Jurassic World and Star Wars: The Force Awakens and Terminator Genisys I have enjoyed this film much better than Jurassic World, Star Wars and Terminator the new movies.

This film is fun, popcorn, Action and entertaining action sequel flick. I like the first one but I love this one much more. The first time I watch it, I did not like this film at all, it did not work for me, but the second time around this flick was awesome and it become one of my favorite MARVEL superhero movies. I love this film so much, more than the first Avengers. James Spader made the movie for me! So much better than Loki.

James Spader and Robert Downey Jr. played together in a teen movie Tuff Turf in 1985 and 30 years later they teamed together to star in a MARVEL comic book super hero film. I like Tuff Turf but Avengers: Age of Ultron is far way better film to me. I love this film so much and I will never get the backlash. Joss Whedon gave me everything I wanted in a sequel. This and the first film are in my top 10 films of all time.

I waited a long time for this universe and I am loving every minute of it. Superhero movies come out all time but something like this is what I love about movies.

Plot: Tony Stark creates the Ultron Program to protect the world, but when the peace-keeping program becomes hostile, The Avengers go into action to try and defeat a virtually impossible enemy's to get. Earth's mightiest heroes must come together once again to protect the world from global extinction.

I really enjoy this movie I don't get the backslash and a lot of people were disappointed with this sequel that it is not so good as the first film. Age of Ultron is in my top 3 favorite comic book films. Number 1 will always be Captain America: The Winter Soldier and number 2 will be Captain America: The First Avenger, I just love those two films: Captain America is my favorite superhero character in MARVEL comic books.

Captain America in this movie is the most decent hero in this movie, he did not want the leave the island with people stuck on it, he refused too, I have seen a hero in him.

People are keep getting upset over Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson), "oh look what they did with Black Widow." I saw the film and I am seeing her kicking ass or calm down the Hulk, which is a pretty ballsy thing to do. Specially for someone who has no balls and she is kicking ass and driving motorcycle, driving around shooting for Cap, helping them to get vision android to beat Ultron and she is the only one with no powers, except Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner), she has the to get the thing for them. I think it would be weird to kidnapped Thor, if you put Thor in the scene duh. I enjoy this movie much more than the first film, the first film I liked okay, I like the first Avengers film. This is a fun popcorn entertainment flick that I really love.

I like the romance between Black Widow with Hulk it was really good fast paced entertainment. I love Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff / Scarlet Witch I like the twist by the end of the film that she turn her side around when she found out that Ultron wants to destroy everything on this planet I love that. You have Aaron Taylor-Johnson in it from Kick-Ass film as Pietro Maximoff / Quicksilver sadly he dies on the end of the film, but he saves Hawkeye and a kid from Ultron firing bunch of bullets on them I thought that was pretty decent in the film. In my opinion Aaron Taylor-Johnson did a good job playing his character. I love that they return Samuel L. Jackson to the movie back as Nick Fury and that he help them out fighting Ultron. James Spader did a terrific excellent job playing Ultron.

Avengers: Age of Ultron is a 2015 American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics superhero team the Avengers, produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. It is the sequel to 2012's The Avengers and the eleventh film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).

You have a lot of action in it, I also love that Tony Stark, Steve Rogers, Thor, Bruce Banner (Hulk), Natasha Romanoff, and Clint Barton work together after Ultron failed to destroy them and they go in to safe house to Clinton's family, I like that. When Scarlet Witch (Elizabeth Olsen) touches Black Widow, Iron Man and Thor I like that you see a background of Natasha Romanoff's childhood, I like that. I love the African shipyard you see them on a ship and I love the last stand. I love that the Vision helps Avengers to destroy and stop Ultron from extinction. Btw I love to death Black Widow / Natasha Romanoff (Scarlett Johansson) she is so beautiful and charming I love her. Overall: I am giving this flick 10 out of 10 for me Age of Ultron is my #3 favorite super hero movie. I can't wait for the next movie: Captain America: Civil War.
121 out of 202 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Action followed by action then, surprisingly, some character development. Then some more action.
siderite21 August 2015
So everybody must be asking now: "Is it worth watching more than two hours of this just to get to the obligatory Thanos end credits scene?" and the answer is... yes. Besides making fun of War Machine - again - and completely ignoring characters like Pepper Potts and Falcon, there was nothing that bothered me tremendously about this film. Keep in mind that it is a comic book film with superheros that dress funny, though.

The villain is pretty menacing, the interaction between the Avengers goes well beyond killing enemies in each other's blind spot and the Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver addition was interesting, though kind of condescending. I mean, if they want to ban Tin-tin cartoons for racist depictions of African people, they should stop at one moment or another inventing countries with Slavic names and filling them with helpless women and children with names just as ridiculous and toy soldier police and army forces. I am just saying.

What I thought was better than I was expecting from an Avengers movie were the underlying character stories. Thanks to Scarlet Witch we see bits of our heros' histories, we get to know Hawkeye a little better and understand his role in a team of superpowered individuals, he see the romantic side of Black Widow and the Hulk... yes, you read that right... and we get to see Captain America and Tony Stark having ideological arguments that divide the team. Of course, they carry them with vibranium shield throws and energy beams, like men do... don't they?

I loved the character of The Vision, a freak hybrid between a servile AI and a full psycho AI, holding the power of an Infinity Stone and having a 3D printed body that is half alive, half vibranium. I share his view of humanity as queer pets that you have to enjoy during their short life.

What I didn't like is that they upped the ante of what the Avengers can do, just because they could. In the end this diminished the level of empathy that one can feel for superhumans like that and removed from the quality of storytelling. Also, another film in which artificial intelligence builds bodies and kills people. Why would it? Ultron's motivation was completely unexplored and his philosophy and references to Pinocchio made no sense at all. OK, it was meant to be insane, but even insanity has purpose and sense. Overall, I think the biggest problem with the film was that it had too much of a budget.

Bottom line: brainless fun, but fun nonetheless. Less humor than expected, with Ultron teasing an interesting character with his jokes, but then devolving to a classic villain in the sea of special effects that filled most of the movie. You get to know the Avengers more, as well, which was nice.
28 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Assorted Trivia for AV2....
A_Different_Drummer25 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Can this film possibly "not" succeed? No. Even if it were a bomb (which it is most definitely not) tens of millions of fans would see it anyway. So it was a guaranteed hit. Nice work if you can get it.

Best line? "I support your avenging." (Mrs. Hawkeye)

Second Best line? "You get hurt. Hurt em back. You get killed. Walk it off." (CA)

Third Best? "Well I was born yesterday." (you know who)

Honorable mention? "Beep beep" (Natasha on her cycle, mimicking her horn, trying to warn pedestrians)

Why did Spader get the Ultron gig? Because of his incredible work in Blacklist. (See it)

What's the best part of this (somewhat long) movie? The back-and-forth between the characters, a Whedon trademark. And of course the action scenes. Possibly the best ever filmed.

What's the worst part? The 40 minute "dead zone" after the Bond-style opening, where the Avengers try to make like it's Happy Hour at the local bar.

Which actor consistently shines? Downey. He is the smartass each of secretly wants to hang out with.

Which actor suffers the most in group play? Thor. The gravitas of being a God gets lost in team work.

Name a massively over-exposed actor who finally got under-exposed? Sam Jackson.

What could we have lived without? "Explaining" to the audience why characters like Pepper Potts were "unavailable" for the story (or possibly too expensive even for a quick cameo)

What is Whedon's greatest enhancement to the Marvel backstory? The romance between Natasha and Hulk.

What is Whedon's strangest tweak? Killing Pietro. The boys at the X-Men franchise will not be happy.

Is this a better movie than AV1? No, but it is just as good. (It tries harder but has pacing issues).

Who wins at the end? The studio. And Joss Whedon who BOTH wrote and directed what could be the biggest money-maker in history. Somewhere in Hollywood, JJ Abrams is actually getting nervous.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

UPDATED Jan 16 -- OK, so JJ deconstructed the original Star Wars script scene by scene (something no one else had ever bothered to do) and rebuilt it into the 2015 relaunch of Star Wars. And nailed it. The viewer experience, the pacing, is dead-on. And oh by the way produced the fastest film in history to hit 1.0 billion in ticket sales. So disregard the last line of the original review above. JJ is no longer nervous.
67 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
What a Shame, we live where Studio's take control
sam_smithreview26 April 2016
being a huge Marvel fan, and also Josh Whedon fan I was super excited for him to come back and do another Avengers movie. The first film was pretty brilliant. But with this film, Whedon wasn't given much air to breathe, with constant Studio interference and orders of certain shots to be re- done, or scrapped if not worse. Put in.

So, you thinking why is this film so bad, if you are a fan, you should love it. Well the film changes pace, very quickly and abruptly, which is a poor sign of movie making. The Characters do not act like they would usually act in the same scenario, the progression of the story is all over the place, Scene's that just have no weight or meaning to the film, but in there because it looks cool or is setting up another independent super hero movie, the Villain that is so smart, but doesn't use the internet and his ability to control everything just to wipe out everybody, but rather has this ridiculously stupid plan. The Hero's that are suppose to be smart, intelligent and some what Spanish do not see all of the stupid plot hole that get infiltrated.

The fighting was also a problem for me, it was the same. Once you saw it in the first Avengers, you see exact same thing in the second one too, and it doesn't even change a little.

Overall, this film is bunched up due to the constant interference by Studio as Josh has stated so many times now.
109 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not one of the top Avengers films
Top_Dawg_Critic10 September 2018
One user nailed it... underwhelming.

What also really bothered me was Ultron's voice and character. Seemed too childish and immature for a villain. His humor was also cheesy.

Still a decent film, but certainly not one of my favorite Avengers films.

7/10 from me.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Impressive Special Effects and Cast
claudio_carvalho6 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The Avengers raid a Hydra base in Sokovia commanded by Strucker and they retrieve Loki's scepter. They also discover that Strucker had been conducting experiments with the orphan twins Pietro Maximoff (Aaron Taylor-Johnson), who has super speed, and Wanda Maximoff (Elizabeth Olsen), who can control minds and project energy. Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) discovers an Artificial Intelligence in the scepter and convinces Bruce Banner (Mark Ruffalo) to secretly help him to transfer the A.I. to his Ultron defense system. However, the Ultron understands that is necessary to annihilate mankind to save the planet, attacks the Avengers and flees to Sokovia with the scepter. He builds an armature for self-protection and robots for his army and teams up with the twins. The Avengers go to Clinton Barton's house to recover, but out of the blue, Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) arrives and convinces them to fight against Ultron. Will they succeed?

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" is an entertaining adventure with impressive special effects and cast. The storyline might be better, since most of the characters do not show any chemistry. However, it is worthwhile watching this film since the amazing special effects are not possible to be described in words. Why Pietro has to die is also not possible to be explained. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Vingadores: Era de Ultron" ("Avengers: Age of Ultron")
34 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Never As Profound As It Thinks It Is
Theo Robertson28 April 2015
I really should keep up on Superhero movies . But there's a reason I don't - I simply don't like them . They personify everything I dislike about modern Hollywood blockbusters , lots of explosions , lots of stunts and lots of CGI . It's less like watching a film and more like logging on to youtube and watching gameplay of the latest state of the art computer game

AVENGERS AGE OF ULTRON gets off to the exact start I'm talking about . Most of the iconic Marvel Superheroes - and the audience are thrust in to an opening action sequence . It's very vague what this mission is , something about East European baddies in league with Hydra working on some artificial intelligence . Ignore the narrative because the opening involves lots of stunts , ramping and explosions with the occasional one liner thrown in . You want action you've got it . You want intelligent , stimulating storytelling ? Go and read a book . I can understand what the producers are pandering to but I found this pre-title sequence rather uninvolving and the rest of the film continues in the same way

One thing the film does try and do is merge high concept action with character driven moments . On paper it does have a relatively good cast and it'd be a pity to waste it on overblown action but it's not really an actors type of film and while the production team deserves some credit for trying to concentrate on character but it's not developed enough to be entirely successful and comes across as rather shallow

Despite this short review I'm big enough to stick up my hand and say this movie isn't produced for grumpy , middle aged men like myself , it's produced for younger people who can't get enough superhero movies and for this market the prospective audience will probably love it so much so that that'll be a contender for biggest grossing film of 2015 and we'll be getting more Marvel movies for the foreseeable future
67 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another Monumental Marvel Movie!
rannynm29 April 2015
The Avengers assemble once again go up against a new corrupt, A.I. Ultron (James Spader). As the troupe pursue their mission, we're given a deeper understanding of our favorite super heroes.

There are not enough words in the world to express how happy I am. As a Marvel fan, this film showcases some of my favorite comic book characters together in one plot line in a bigger and better way. When you are dealing with a sequel, as a filmmaker, you're pretty much trying to top yourself. Thankfully, the filmmakers have out done themselves here. We're given a superior conflict, more characters and action beyond epic proportions.

I love this movie not only because it's a phenomenal Marvel film, but also an outstanding film in general. A movie is supposed to grab the audience and transport them to a universe with characters that not only we look up to but also identify with. Marvel has successfully created this reality. Every time I see a Marvel logo on a movie poster I'm excited to be sent back, once again, into their universe.

Marvel is a genius entertainment company because they establish their characters in previous films. The Avengers are the protagonist. Every character is given their moment in the lime light but, they are not the main focus. They all share the screen and have their own personal conflict, yet they respond as team. That is not to say that there is no character development, there is. Former story lines help save time so that the writers can focus on perfecting the current story. This also leads to much stronger relationships between the characters.

For people who have no history with Marvel films, I suggest that you see some of the previous films that feature the Avengers. The reason is that you may miss a connection with the characters that can be resolved by watching previous films. Although you will enjoy the action and story even without seeing the previous films, the inside jokes and interactions between characters become funnier when you understand the past.

The action in this film is awesome! The word awesome is a very primitive word, but it explains everything. While I love to go to the movies and appreciate storytelling and 3 dimensional characters, there are times when I just want to see things go boom! Every Avenger, with his or her different abilities, works together and kicks butt. An example of this is when Thor hits Captain America's shield and causes a devastating explosion. You have to see it to believe it.

My favorite character is, Vision (Paul Bettany) an android created by Ultron. Bettany is originally the voice of J.A.R.V.I.S., Tony Stark's (Robert Downey, Jr.) A.I. companion. Bettany uses his fantastic voice to create Vision. I was excited when I heard he was going to be a new addition to the Avengers team. Not only is the acting and personality spot on, but the costume design is beautiful.

There are so many scenes that I adore, but my favorite is when the Avengers, "get acquainted" with Vision for the first time. This is the second A.I. the group has encountered and they're unsure if they can trust him. Vision is uncertain himself and gives a speech on why it doesn't matter because they all want to stop Ultron. At the end of his speech there is a comedic pay-off that shows which side Vision is truly on.

The moral of the film is, "The way to peace is not destruction." Ultron is built for one reason - to create peace in our time. Ultron is confused on how to fulfill that mission and believes the only way to achieve his goal is to wipe out the human race and start over. However, Ultron underestimates the soul of man.

I give this 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it to 11- to 18 year- olds. There is language and intense action that younger kids might not be able to handle. Check out this film in theaters May 1 and remember, a true Marvel fan stays to the end of the credits.

Reviewed by Keefer B., KIDS FIRST! Film Critic. For more reviews by youth, go to kidsfirst dot org.
41 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid, if slightly flawed, entry in the Marvel Universe
drew_atreides4 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
...Phase 2 of the Marvel movies had been batting .500 for me. I did not enjoy Iron Man 3 or Thor: Dark World, but really dug Guardians of the Galaxy and Captain America: Winter Soldier (Cap 2 is probably the best film in the entire Marvel series!)

Based on that, I don't think I am surprised that I came out of Age of Ultron with mixed feelings. Overall it is a solid entry, but it is by no means flawless.

The good:

Really liked the intro of Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver. I liked the horror-movie tropes tied to Scarlet Witch (she is a Witch afterall!) and Aaron Taylor-Johnson's Quicksilver had a lot of personality.

The action, of course, was great. And Hawkeye actually had something to do in this film.

The Vision: They did such an incredible job building mystique around this character.

The Bad:

Wasn't a fan of that extended scene at the Farm. That stopped the movie cold. I know some people say "It was necessary for character development", but the previous films had done such a poor job of giving Hawkeye any character that seeing him on the Farm did absolutely nothing for me.

The romance: Ugh. Talk about forced. I like Ruffalo's Banner. I really do. I was surprised how much i did in the first Avengers, cause i'm usually not a Ruffalo fan. But I just did not see any chemistry between Ruffalo and Scar-Jo. And where was the build-up to this? Last time we saw these 2 together Hulk was trying to smash Black Widow.

Marvel needs to work on their female-story lines.

Ultron was kind of a lame villain. I don't think there was enough build-up for him. He just sorta showed up and was evil.

Overall: Is it worth seeing in the theatre? Yes of course it is. But it is not without its flaws, and sure doesn't top Cap 2.
69 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Disappointing
miguelneto-7493630 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Disappointing, it summarizes Avengers: Age of Ultron, the film is not bad, it's cool just cool, it is frustrating because all the world expected to be better than the first Avengers Ultron which is one of the best villains of the Marvel Comics he is simply poorly executed in this movie, really the film beginning excited about the action scenes, the effects are excellent, the CGI movie is hardly exaggerated, Mercury and another character very badly used, as the scarlet witch for a future in this universe Marvel, the film is unnecessary scenes, the jokes are always in the wrong time it breaks the film's climax, and the end where the Hulk flees the ship hope to explain in the Civil War film, now the worst thing in the movie, Hawkeye it has more space than owed it gets to be ridiculous, he can tip the witch and the mercury that was really ridiculous, the final scene of the movie was good most not enough to thrill, Avengers: Age of Ultron is not even bad, far from it, more we expected so that was better than the first to disappoint. Note 6.9
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Strong sequel
ossie859 April 2023
Avengers: Age of Ultron is an underrated film that, while not quite living up to the original Avengers movie, still manages to deliver plenty of humor and superhero action. The movie brings back our favorite heroes, including Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, Black Widow, Hawkeye, and the Hulk, as they face off against a new foe - the artificial intelligence program known as Ultron.

One of the strongest aspects of this film is its continued focus on the relationships between the Avengers. We see a deeper exploration of the romantic relationship between Black Widow and the Hulk and get to see more of Hawkeye's personal life. These character moments add emotional weight to the action sequences and give the audience more reasons to care about what's happening on the screen.

The humor in the movie is well-done, with plenty of witty one-liners and comedic setpieces. Joss Whedon, who wrote and directed the film, has a talent for balancing humor with more dramatic moments, which helps keep the tone of the movie consistent.

However, the plot of the film is a bit convoluted, with lots of subplots and new characters introduced in a short amount of time. Additionally, Ultron, while an interesting and dynamic villain, doesn't quite measure up to Loki from the first Avengers movie in terms of character development and overall impact.

Despite these criticisms, Avengers: Age of Ultron is still an entertaining and enjoyable superhero movie. It's a fun ride that delivers on action, humor, and heart, and continues to explore the relationships between our favorite heroes. While it may not quite reach the heights of the original Avengers, it's still a worthy addition to the Marvel Cinematic Universe.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Same as the first movie (but with robots)
matt_hew10 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
It's quite an achievement to make a boring Superhero Movie so well done to all involved.

Remember the first average at best Avengers Movie? A baddie in control of the Tesseract uses it and an alien army to try and take over the planet. Whilst this is happening the Avengers are brought together where there are a few internal issues involving having their minds controlled &/or beating each other up, before joining forces to beat the alien threat.

Well....

This movie is about a baddie who was in control of the Tesseract which then becomes the catalyst for a new robot baddie and it's robot army trying to destroy the planet. This again creates a few internal issues involving the Avengers having their minds controlled &/or beating each other up, before joining forces to beat the robot threat.

It's just the same movie repackaged (again) which tries to be intelligent but comes across as dull.

Some of the Avengers presence have little or no no point in being in the movie (Hawkeye just being there for example to offer the others a weekend retreat to go to).

But as with the first movie and the upcoming Captain America: Civil War it seems as long as the movie is crammed full of as many Superheroes as possible and they all kick off at some point during the movie, then this is enough to keep an audience happy.

Stick with the X-Men at least they make an effort!
64 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A lackluster superhero flick
OllieSuave-00725 July 2016
This movie takes a long time to gain any steam, with a lot of all talk and no action in the first half of the movie. There is also little suspense and intrigue - just the superheroes pondering and conjuring their next mission, with Tony Stark and Bruce Banner creating a project called Ultron to act as a peacekeeping program serving as the movie's backdrop.

The Ultron project goes horribly wrong and the machine takes a mind of its own, threatening to rid the world of humans in attempts to "save the world" - something we've heard before.

We get to see action slowly trickle in during the second half of the movie slowly - lots of crazy CGI action during the rumbling climax. This film's plot sets the story for the next film, Captain America: Civil War, in motion. However, I thought this film overall lacked the entertainment value due to its extremely slow plot and lackluster story.

Grade D
21 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Avengers re-assemble.
coreyjdenford24 April 2015
Avengers:Age of Ultron my just be the best film of 2015 it started off great with a lot of action. Why I think this is the best superhero sequel ever.

Okay first thing this film is action packed there is a lot more action than the first one so basically the story is still there but the action literally takes over.

Second thing is the Hulkbuster now you may be thinking is it as awesome as it looks on the trailer the answer is yes...it is a lot more awesome than on the trailer and plus that action sequence goes on for quite some time.

Third thing Ultron now Ultron may have been toned down to how he was in the comics but in this film he is still as malevolent and vicious as ever but with limits obviously with it being PG-13. Ultron in this film is played by James Spader and he doesn't lack at all you can still tell that Ultron is one of the most dangerous villain The Avengers have ever faced.

Fourth thing the plot the film this time doesn't rely too much on it's story it's more the action that builds the film obviously there is still a story and it's a very good one there are some bits where the film slows down for it but that is really what a superhero film is about especially generation, when we rely on origin stories in superhero films.

Fifth and final thing does it feel like too much Disney? the answer for that question is no it doesn't see the first film really felt like it was too much Disney but in this film it's a lot darker than the first film because you see some of The Avengers literally feel pain. Plus the first film was more of a full on introduction to The Avengers and what they do. This film is far from Disney now and well in that case that's better I did love the first film too.

If you are a superhero fan and loved Ultron in the comics then you are going to love him even more in the film. This film was worth every penny and I think that well mainly superhero fans should go see this movie don't wait for it to come out on DVD just go see because it is amazing and is far better than the first. 8/10 must see superhero film.
53 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Avengers:Issue 2.
morrison-dylan-fan25 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
During the break I had from watching the MCU between The Avengers and Captain America: Civil War, (2012 & 2016-both also reviewed) this was the main entry I read that people had problems with. Catching up on the issues I missed in those years on Disney+,I got set to witness the age of Ultron.

View on the film:

Printing his final Marvel issue, writer/director Joss Whedon is joined by Guardians of the Galaxy (2014-also reviewed) cinematographer Ben Davis,and displays a winning eye for taking the action set-pieces in a increasingly ambitious direction, spread across the screen from the thrilling opening being staged as if it is one-shot.

Fighting with the studio for "The Farm" sequence to be included, Whedon blends the flawless glossy CGI Action of CBM with stylish whip-pans bouncing on The Avengers disagreements over how to take on Ultron.

Expanding the panels from the original The Avengers, the screenplay by Whedon makes the arrival of Ultron, Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver (played by the excellent trio James Spader, Elizabeth Olsen & Aaron Taylor-Johnson, all of whom bring a pulpy menace to the baddies role) feel like a natural fit to the MCU, thanks to the powers of the evil trio, making The Avengers have to question the reality of what they see and hear.

Continuing on from some of the themes touched upon in Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014-also reviewed), Whedon wraps his zany quips with a explosive threat from Ultron, who reveals to The Avengers that the days when they could take down one big End Of Level Boss are long gone,thanks to Ultron spreading his tentacles deep into the system, even into the very foundation of The Avengers.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Beginning to the End
ThomasDrufke30 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This is why I love going to the movies. For two hours, I can forget everything that sucks about the real world and enjoy watching earth's mightiest, (and gosh darn it funniest) heroes (you're welcome Cap for not using the other word). I've always been more of a DC guy, but Marvel movies are just pure entertainment. Joss Whedon may have given us the funniest Marvel movie yet. Whether it was the Thor hammer gag about getting 'it up' or not, Captain America's bad language issues, or Hawkeye poking fun at himself, Age of Ultron was incredibly fun. To top all that, and the first film, Ultron is loaded with action that feels like it's straight out of the comic books.

We open with the Avengers mid mission taking down Baron Von Strucker and the experimented on Maximoff twins. As the camera seamlessly weaves through the entire team we get Brian Tyler's brilliantly mixed score, which I was thrilled to hear they salvaged some of Silvestri's theme, that goes with each character. It was like the assemble moment from the first film was happening again within the first 5 minutes, you just don't get much better than that. We quickly get introduced to Scarlet Witch's nightmarish powers with Tony seeing his future of the Avengers dying at his own hands. I do feel like that's a quick nod to Civil War and the possibility of the team going separate ways. Iron Man started it all, so it does seem like the beginning to the end. Throughout the film we get to see different nightmare sequences that give us glimpses of Heimdall played by Idris Elba and the Ragnarok storyline. With Cap we briefly saw Hayley Atwell as Peggy Carter and a little bit of the dance we never got to see. Finally with Black Widow and her harsh upbringings as an assassin. On a side note it was cool seeing Julie Delpy in the flashbacks.

Onto the possibly the most fun segment of the film, the party scene. Not only did we get several laugh out loud jokes, we had jokes that I missed because everyone was still laughing from before. I'm not even sure Guardians was able to do that. The scene with Thor's hammer was especially entertaining. The look on Thor's face when Cap is able to slightly move it was priceless. Ultron's entrance is terrifying but also sort of funny? I wasn't expecting the humor to Ultron, and I'm not sure I needed it. Don't get me wrong James Spader was fantastic as the voice, but I think at times it didn't fit. The film does indeed go from one action scene too another, and if this isn't your type of movie, I don't blame you if it feels tiresome. But it never bored me as I don't think there will be a more fun movie this year. It's not like action is all we got, we were introduced to a new romance with Hulk and Widow. It's no Gwen and Peter or Pepper and Tony, but I liked the dynamic. Whedon definitely made us care more about each character this time around, as even Hawkeye became a bada**.

As a safe house, we were taken to Hawkeye's real home. It was a nice break from the action to spend time with real people without any powers. Hawkeye was just overall a much better character here. After Vision awakens with the mind gem, we head to the final battle. I was glad that this time they were able to find a way to get people to safety, with help from Nick Fury, what an entrance by the way. With so many characters using everyone else's weapons in the battle, it made for one huge geek fest. But it goes to show you how much credit Whedon deserves for balancing all the screen time. Infinity War will be an even bigger challenge, good luck Russo bros. Speaking of that, Thanos' brief but menacing mid credits scene was cool and is a huge tease. I can't wait to see how everything unfolds now that we also have a New Avengers team, led by Cap. Sure Quiksilver wont be around but Vision was really cool and Scarlet Witch was electric so I'm really looking forward to it. Plus who doesn't love a little more Anthony Mackie as well?

So there are definitely flaws to be talked about. Thor's detour midway through felt off, Ultron's humor is also out of place at times, and I can see where the action can be exhausting to some, and the amount of characters and cameos make it feel a little messy, but I just had so much fun at the movies. There are also times where things happen that feel like they should have a scene before, explaining it. I hope Joss Whedon puts out his extended 3hr long cut on the bluray. The film also feels at times that it sacrifices brains for action. But there's so much geek material here I don't think I can get too mad. I mean come on, who doesn't love that Hulkbuster fight!? I don't know how long superhero films will be around, so let's enjoy them while we can. What's next? Civil War is next, and I think you can already sense the tension between Cap and Tony. Sure, they end on good terms here, but they never really see eye to eye. Knowing how many are coming back (and possibly Spidey) gets me even more excited. It definitely seems like Avengers 2.5. Nevertheless, go experience this film in theaters.

+Hawkeye is cool again

+The main theme is back!

+New characters turned out great

+Hilarious gags

+Ultron can be terrifying

+New Avengers

+Insane action

-Some detours feel off

-Ultron's humor was too out of place at times

Critic score 9.5/10. Nerd score 10/10.
26 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Avengers: Age of Ultron
kaden_lewis21 June 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Why all the hate? I know this is isn't on the level of "The Avengers" but it was still really good. I enjoyed the plot and story of this movie, I liked how we were introduced to new actors, and I also liked that we sort of got s glimpse into the franchises future. I thought the plot of needing to stop a ultra peace keeping robot from trying to make the human race extinct for peace was really good, and I think James Spader did a great job playing the role. I also liked the story of the movie to go along with it. Another thing I liked was that we were introduced to Wanda and Pietro Maximoff (Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver). I also though the acting from Elisabeth Olsen and Aaron Taylor-Johnson was great. It sucks we had to lose Pietro, he didn't even need to die, I feel the writers were just looking for a reason to write home out. I also liked how we got a little look into the future of the franchise with the Avengers trip to Wakanda. The last thing I liked about this movie was when Wanda gave most of the Avengers their dream sequences, sure, they were a little weird, but I thought they were pretty cool.

All in all, this was a great sequel, and I have no clue why Marvel fans were so hard on it, I definitely watching it, if you have seen the first one.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Grossly underwhelming (spoiler free)
charzhino25 April 2015
Spoiler free review. Let me first start of by saying that I am not a Marvel ''fanboy'' or a DC nerd. The comic book genre of films have made it to my personal top 3 favourite genres in the last decade and the MCU has been a strong contributor to that rise. I hold the first Ironman, first Avengers and Captain America 1+2 in high regard. I did not like the direction they took with Iron Man 3 (more on this below) or Guardians of the Galaxy but Winter Soldier was a gem in terms of balancing solid action, drama and levity.

That being said, my initial thoughts on Age of Ultron (AoU) are quite negative. To me, its essentially a carbon copy of IM3. There are problems which strike you repeatedly as you progress throughout the film. The 2 biggest complaints I have with AoU is 1) the tone (comedy) 2) the script/writing.

So starting with the tone. I like to laugh as I'm sure most people do, but there is a time and place to exhibit your comedy writing skills in an action film. In AoU, its a constant, recurring and predictable theme. It's not limited to one character either, everyone is popping one liner jokes as if its the Expendables and yes, most are not funny. The timing of these moments of levity are horrible too, desensitising the viewer to any impending fear of death in battle. If the characters seem so relaxed in not worrying about possibly dying, then what suspense is needed to be held by the audience? This plagued IM3 in a bad way and its arguably worse here. The comic book films which achieved great success in this regard were XMen DOFP, The Avengers 1, Cap 2 even Dark Knight Rises! Can you imagine at the climax of Xmen DOFP if old Magneto and Storm and Bishop start pulling one liner jokes as the army of sentinels came charging at them? It would kill any tension! 2) The script. I won't say too much since this is a spoiler free review, but it really feels rushed and unorganised. I watched Fast 7 around 2 weeks before AoU and I got similar vibes. Again, its not the fact that the film is 2.5 hours long or has too many characters, that isn't am excuse since The Dark Knight and Xmen DOFP shows how to navigate these theatrical obstacles. There are a few completely unnecessary subplots in AoU and useless characters which do not impact the story overall. The villain himself, Ultron is another massive let-down in Marvels already growing catalogue of mishandled villains.

So as a summary, if you want mindless action and cool CGI, which this film does offer in the form of some spectacular visual fight scenes then you will like AoU. If you are after a darker, grounded and more moving story like the trailers promised, you will be severely disappointed. Final score 6/10 and I am being kind since Cap is my fav Avenger and they finally gave him some good screen time.
880 out of 1,369 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed