Menendez: The Day of the Lord (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
New dimension of exorcism
ali-79-9970331 November 2020
After a long time finally something good from Netflix in horror genre... Thoroughly enjoyed and twists kept me on my couch until the end. Good flick on Halloween and must watch for horror movie lovers....
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
a torturous twisted seanse
ops-5253530 October 2020
I didnt quite expect to see when i first started this devil excorsism alla' mechico. it has as usual a long slow intro, just as the originalos made in the 70's and you get this sound feeling that this must be a hysteric parent that wish to retain power as an adult towards a blossoming, wanna have fun, daughter.

but the excorsist of 70's are minced meat compared to this. i liked the second half very well, because it had so many funny, but also extremely violent phases that it almost came to be like laughing on adrenaline, and you get so confused considering who is the devil among the caracters.

so its demonology at its best, a well acted and produced religiou horror thinks the grumpy old man.recommended
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Whats with low ratings
eventlaunch1 November 2020
This is litrally one of the best excorcism movies I've seen since the last great excorcism foreign movie I watched well done part 2 please
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Intriguing Exorcism Film
Pairic31 October 2020
The Day Of The Lord: Menendez (Juli Fábregas) is a former priest, a boy died during an exorcism and he was imprisoned. He drinks whiskey, has nightmares, people appear to him, he speaks to a mysterious person on the phone. It's difficult to tell his realty from his delusions. A friend he met in prison visits and tells the ex-priest that his teen daughter Raquel (Ximena Romo) is possessed and begs him to perform an exorcism. Eventually Menendez agrees and the girl arrives at his house. But is she possessed or just an ordinary teenager acting up. Menendez uses a violent form of exorcism convinced that she is plagued by a demon who is taunting him. A violent and disturbing film, there are some scenes which might even distress a hardened horror fan. All of the film is shot in the priest's dark and gloomy house and there is only a thin vein of humour to relieve bleakness of the proceedings. Good performances by Fábregas and Romo. Directed and Co-Written by Santiago Alvarado. On Netflix. 7/10.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Better comedy than horror film
HorrorFlickFanatic1 December 2020
I've seen many possession films, but I don't think I've seen one in which the exorcism is conducted by Mike Tysoning a teenage girl. Lol.

I couldn't stop laughing when the priest repeatedly reminded the girl's father to read the Bible verses in a gringo accent to fool the demon. Lol, Then the priest reminds the man to forget the gringo accent because the demon already know he wasn't a gringo. Lol. Pure comedy. Olalay pinche gringo!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Maybe low reviews are lost in translation?
lavasecosebas3 November 2020
This film is well written horror movie ok. Moreover it is comedy... i think alot will be lost in subtitles because i havent read anything about that side of it.

Anyway awesome movie!!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not especially surprising but fun with unexpected comedy!
joncolley31 October 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Ok, I'm not sure if the comedy was entirely intentional but in the latter parts of the movie I got some real Evil Dead vibes from this and I loved it!

I thought I knew where this was going from the outset, overzealous priest turns out to be a monster but then the second half arrived and it finally got more interesting - in my opinion.

The girl in this is very sexy, and oddly enough she remains very sexy when she's in demon mode lol. But I like her demon, it's a wise cracking 'naughty' one and I honestly expected her to say at one point "I'll swallow your soul!".

This is the sort of movie which will probably get an American remake but it really doesn't need it (although I could imagine an English remake being quite fun but again unnecessary).

I really enjoyed it :)
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not your average exorcism
raywackko10 November 2020
Was a pretty decent movie. I mean i laughed alot at some parts couldn't resist. Starts out really interesting. The exorcism was unusual for sure i mean wasn't prepared for it XD had some comedic elements to tone down the violance won't spoil it its even harder to explain. It is violent for sure somehow i wish it had the same tone as it begins. Anyways i don't regret watching it something special. Watched His House yesterday regretted that one. This made up for Netflix in my eyes.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good...
RosanaBotafogo24 December 2020
A lovely film about possession, which I watched a long time ago, I don't remember the details, but passionate, intense scenes of possession, a great ending, little Ximena Romo, despite the baby face, is already 30 years old, excellent chemistry and performance of quartet, for a low budget, with single location, a very good film came out...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
for me should be 8 stars..just balancing the hate
JosetteBryn15 November 2020
Kept me in suspense and disturbed till more than half the movie.. even the eekiest scene was funny
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprising horror story
rromanoc-9481312 November 2020
Love July Fabregas on this film. I must admit I don't usually watch horror movies, but he and the other three players are just great. I didn't expect the outcome at all... Needed to hide myself for a while... I recommend it absolutely.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just awful
andreiiac7730 October 2020
Terrible script, unecessary gore and zero creativity. Great cast though.
5 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not good.
erhanipekciler21 November 2020
Some scenes were so funny. It made me laugh really. Overall not a good movie. When it finished, I asked myself, what did I watch? Too much violence, even more kind of pedo and incest scenes made me disturb..i am not sure about second part..
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
So confused about the film
nargizmmli15 November 2020
The movie is a new perspective for exorcism. The effects, surrounding, and acting is good. However, I felt lost in the story. Not a waste of time, but not an interesting film.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really bad
saffetyenigun-783-2566383 November 2020
I didn't think of it even for the worst, but it's a really bad movie. Give back my stolen time.
2 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Torture porn!
antrikshnarang-439-8905581 December 2020
It's pure filth. This can't be classified as a movie. It's a snuff film, torture porn. Can't believe I sat through this crap. Definitely need to see a shrink now.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible just horrible
elenaphysics2 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I watched this movie reluctantly. It was not chosen by me I had no idea what was going to happen Well I must warn you. It is between scary and ridiculous. I did not watch the ending though so I do not know if she got rid of the demon but I could not care less and I just could not sit through the whole movie. I really like the fact that Netflix makes movies in many languages BUT this movie was awful, disturbing,disgusting and not good at all . I do not like exorcism movies. I kind of despise them but I have watched some decent exorcism movies. This one was not.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Whats wrong with you guys
kennyvanmeirhaeghe20 November 2020
Finally a good Netflix horror movie ! Evil dead VS the original excorcist
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed