George Strayton - News Poster


Blacklisted Writer Walter Bernstein Seeking Re-Election to WGA East Council, Beau Willimon Running

The Writers Guild of America East has announced 20 candidates for its 10 open council seats, including 94-year-old Walter Bernstein and five other incumbents.

House of Cards” creator Beau Willimon is also seeking a seat.

Bernstein, who was blacklisted by the Hollywood studios during the 1950s, and Willimon are among 16 candidates for the seven open Freelance seats along with Timothy Cooper, Marin Gazzaniga, Jo Miller, John Marshall, John Auerbach, Chris Kyle, Richard Vetere, Kyle Bradstreet, George Strayton, Oren Moverman, Jenny Lumet, Andrea Ciannavei, Danielle Paige and Terry George.

The four candidates for the three open Staff seats are Cath Twohill, Gail Lee, Kathy McGee and Patrick Mason.

Besides Bernstein, the other incumbents are Auerbach, George, Lumet, Mason and Vetere.

Bernstein received an Oscar nomination and a WGA award for the script for 1976′s “The Front.” The WGA East awarded him the Ian McLellan Hunter Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement in Writing in 1994 and the Evelyn F.
See full article at Variety - Film News »

Michael Winship to Run Unopposed For WGA East Presidency

Michael Winship is running unopposed for a fourth two-year term as president of the Writers Guild of America East.

The WGA East made the announcement Monday, three days after the WGA West announced Christopher Keyser was running without opposition for a second term.

WGA East Secretary-Treasurer Bob Schneider is running for re-election unopposed. VP Jeremy Pikser is opposed by Jeff Christman for the VP slot.

Five incumbents are seeking freelance seats on the council — Bonnie Datt, Henry Bean, Bernardo Ruiz, Susan Kim and Courtney Simon. Seven other candidates are running: Zhubin Parang, David Atkins, Robert Levi, Michael Lannan, Amy Sohn, Norman Steinberg and George Strayton.

Three incumbents are seeking the three open staff seats: Duane Tollison, Phil Pilato and Sue Brown McCann. Jeff Christman and Matt Nelko are also running.

The WGA East, which reps about 4,000 writers, will hold its annual membership meeting and election on Sept. 19. The New York-based
See full article at Variety - Film News »

Wgae Announces Council Candidates

New York – The Writers Guild of America, East (Wgae) announced today the 2013 nominees (order determined by lot) for its Council election. The term is for two years from 2013-2015. There are nine (9) open Council seats (six Freelance seats and three Staff seats) in this election. The twelve (12) candidates for the six (6) open Freelance seats are: Zhubin Parang, Bonnie Datt (i), David Atkins, Henry Bean (i), Bernardo Ruiz (i), Susan Kim (i), Robert Levi, Michael Lannan, Amy Sohn, Courtney Simon (i), Norman Steinberg and George Strayton. The five (5) candidates for the three (3) open Staff seats are: Duane Tollison (i), Jeff Christman, Phil Pilato (i), Matt Nelko and Sue Brown McCann (i). Guild President Michael Winship and Secretary-Treasurer Bob Schneider are running for reelection unopposed. Vice President Jeremy Pikser is running for re-election and faces Jeff Christman. The Wgae annual membership meeting and election is scheduled for Thursday, September 19, 2013. Related: Wgaw Unveils
See full article at Deadline TV »

See also

Credited With | External Sites