Koombiyo (TV Series 2017–2018) Poster

(2017–2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
156 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
So addictive...!!! One of the best dramas
Jehanperera22 October 2017
Started watching this a few weeks ago and we were instantly hooked! We live abroad and impatiently waiting for the next episode in YouTube every week!This is one of the different types stories that I have seen. Simply live the plot and also the two main characters.This TV Series has simply everything: great characters, superb cinematography, a great soundtrack. worth watching it..
142 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very impressive TV series.
dccreation4723 October 2017
This is the best TV series I have seen in Sri Lanka, The script, acting, colors, dressing, language everything is excellent. Few hours ago (10.00pm or early) started to watch this, and I was thinking just a 1 episode and I'll stop it now its 3.30am and i just finished watching the last episode. The last time I was this much excited when I was watching Prison Break and Breaking Bad. And felt that excitement we all felt in Breaking Bad. I just don't know what to tell it just awesome, highly recommend to all the crime TV series fans. Wish you all good luck and all the best to everyone in Koombiyo and everyone behind the hard work. Thank you for giving a quality TV series to watch in a time like this.

Thank you.
70 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Simply this is awesome
hgrajayasekara23 October 2017
Once you watch the very first episode, then you will watch them all without a breath. It's full of heart touching dialogues and the way of expressing the sad truth of the society is at its best. At a point, each one of us stuck in our lives and we all have to go beyond that point by breaking the rules and doing the bad which we promised not to do.
60 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finally a good Tele to watch in Sri Lanka
sanura-hettiarachchi22 October 2017
Compared to all other TV shows in Sri Lanka this is definitely one of the best I have ever watched, hence rating this 10 to encourage the creators of this amazing show. There is a long way to go if we compare this with the international standards. But we are proud to have good creative people like you and thankful for this. I love the characters and the way they make us understand how ridiculous some of our social values are. A must watch if you are a Sri Lankan. I think you should add subtitles for those who might enjoy this in other languages. Cheers to the cast and the team! Keep up the good work!
48 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This will be a landmark of Ceylon TV series
xxmithilaxx23 October 2017
It illustrates how social system make (fucked up) a talented educated breed in to a criminal level, It may translated to English in near future but to understand these episodes you need bit more Asian cultural touch. The best TV series ever I watched , so addictive. we need more in this quality.
36 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Well crafted, thumbs up!!
deshanr22 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The show has been crafted very carefully with attention to story,character building and cinematography.

The story is about a small-time "con-artist" called "Jehan" that becomes an accomplished "consulting criminal" as the show goes on. He also prefers to keep a balance between his work and his own moral codes.What is thrilling to watch, how he manages to maintain the balance with insidious "consulting" work brought to him.

And the other main role named "Priyantha" who is Jehan's assistant, has some unique qualities in his character that captures audience's attentions.The performance even outshines the main character more than a few times.

So far the story has been about several "consulting" work they manage to pull out, each runs through one or two episodes.The main story line is yet to be revealed (17 episodes have been released by the time writing this) and there have been only hints of it.Like the unexplained scene at the very beginning where a mysterious man gets killed by a gang while Jehan is watching. Who could be Jehan's previous assistant or merely something Jehan planned.

All in all show is an absolute thrill, highly recommended for binge watching!!
56 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best TV series in Sri Lanka RN
hpnminukshi23 October 2017
Checked out the series after some major hype on social media. The hype was worth it. Binge Watched all the episodes put so far. Excellent cinematography and amazing characters. I am hooked on it. Simply love it and I hope that there will be more realistic material like this in future. Great job team which created this masterpiece
65 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Never thought that it will be this good
janeshkumar8922 October 2017
So far 18 episodes(each around 20 minutes) were released. I watched all 18 today. Great choice of actors, acting, musics, scenes, dialogues, makes it amazing. It is a combinations of sarcasm, comedy, crime scenes, real life scenarios..etc. I never though that I will be able to see a this kind of quality TV series in a Sri Lankan TV again. Hope they will maintain the quality in upcoming episodes and end it before get boring.
48 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent serial in Srilankan televisions after many years
skumara-2304222 October 2017
One of the best Sinhala serials watched so far. Hoping that team will keep the same spirit throughout the 57 episodes. Keep it up guys. Thumidu & Kalana marvelous acting mates and its completely natural. Again thanks for Koobiyo team specially Laka.Keeping our fingers crossed for more seasons to come.
48 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Never been so addictive to a Sri Lankan drama
chinthanaz2 November 2017
I just started watching the so-called nice drama just on the second week after one guy almost forced me to watch the first episode. It got me bound to it and I ended up watching all four episodes in one go. I must say I am a critic and I find mistakes in almost all movies and dramas, and I must admit, it is really hard to look at Koombiyo on a critic's perspective. The drama combines superb acting by almost all cast members, the near-perfect script written by a genius, nicely done directing and many more. Koombiyo has made vast strides in Sri Lanka's teledrama scene in its short presence so far, and even forced its broadcasters (who did not even have their own youtube channel) to focus on the bigger audience on the web. Being one of many who fell in love with Sri Lanka's TV drama industry again because of Koombiyo, I've been promoting this whenever and wherever I can, free of charge.. Cheers to the creators of Koombiyo..

PS. You should really work on adding English subtitles to the youtube playlist. I'm sure the audience will grow out of control..
17 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Story
rajapakshaa23 October 2017
Watched this from the first episode amazing story with super actors and actresses.perfectly suits to Srilankan modern society.cant wait till next episode comes.specially Priyantha and Jehan who came from rural area to Colombo and trying to fight for their life with all sorts of problems
50 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent TV Series
ashanx23 October 2017
One of great Sri Lankan TV series.This one is better than most of the Indian TV series.One of the MUST WATCH Sri Lankan TV Series.This shows the real talent of the Sri Lankan actors. Specially THUMINDU DODAMTHENNA and KALANA GUNASEKARA.Jehan and Priyantha Shows the real situation of the Sri Lankan youth generation,Most of the well educated and educated youths does not have proper jobs to suits their education level their for they have to done some nasty things to keep their lives as well.
45 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really worth it to watch.
denuwanonline22 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Started watching this a few weeks ago and we were instantly hooked! Superb acting by the main two actors, including the rest of the cast & Hats off for the script writer/ Camera/Editor and of-course the Director and the producer! Please keep the good work up cause the Quality has always stood alone!
27 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
10/10 Stars
madhawaz24 October 2017
I downloaded all the 18 episodes. This is an interesting tele-drama that I watched after a long time in a Srilankan TV channel. It is a combinations of sarcasm, comedy, crime scenes, real life scenarios, etc. The producer and director has done a superb work to come up with good music, dialogues, actors, and acting scenes. This will change the way of Sri Lankan teledramas to a whole new path.

Thumbs up!
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best modern TV series ever
danushka-8658523 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Nothing to say... "biting ants hardly".. This drama is the most powerful weapon to hit modern culture also artificial minds.Drama truly direct our minds to actual world..

we hope koombiyo isn't another mega TV series.

All the best koombi team.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent acting and well written
niroshinic6 November 2017
Excellent acting and well written.

One of those shows that you can't wait until the next episode :) Kalana , going good as always.

Thumidu , after long time.

This show is Adventurous, and a little humor all in one.

It's great and well worth your time.

Keep up the good work!!
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fascinating and Great work!
shiwanthah23 October 2017
Koombiyo is the first Sri Lankan drama to get into the IMDb top rated. Maybe only drama to reach IMDb.It addicts people to story with only 1st episode.May this is the beginning of Sri Lankan TV series art.Greatwork ITN Sri Lanka thumbs up and hats off.👍👍I am inviting all who still didn't watch this fascinating drama to watch this.Definitely you will love to it.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An excellent teledrama
thilanaraj23 October 2017
Not a great fan of sinhala dramas but, this koombiyo teledrama has changed my mind completely and now I am so addicted as waiting for more episodes. The main reasons I like koombiyo are the script which tells the loopholes in the current system and how people are struggling to make a living, the camera angles and the quality of the actors who show case the struggles, feelings, caring and etc. I hope, there will be more sinhala teledramas like this and kudos to koombiyo team.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Deadly ADICTED
konara23 October 2017
This is a great T.V. Series which is with a very practical story...By this the describing very well about the current situation Truly. The expressions of the actors , backgrounds covered areas situations are very suitable at the moment. last i would like to tell this .. THIS IS A MUST WATCH SERIES
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's so ADDICTIVE !!! and an Excellent production.
wijesinghe23 October 2017
I have never done a review for a TV Series ever, but this amazing TV Series Koombiyo made me write one for the first time.

The story line is excellent and the dialogues are razor sharp and spot on. Each character in this speaks about reality of the society and we completely forget we are watching a drama. instead we feel as we are experiencing it in real time.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Historical land mark in Sinhala TV series
spriyantha200222 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is the first ever TV series came up to the top of IMDb rankings.And also the series comes out of the traditional Sri Lankan TV series structure and made a slight change with its own identical mark.There are many more Sinhala TV series linked with the Sri Lankan society.This TV series managed to come towards IMDb rankings on the top but with less votes with very high star ratings.We have to wait and see how the ratings change with the time and votes.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A new era in the television cinematography in Sri Lanka
ifham-1247322 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Koombiyo TV Series is simply an "out of the box thinking" from the traditional TV series plots in Sri Lanka. The down to earth characters, displaying real-life problems with good camera angles makes it all the more worthy to watch. The entire story is based on two people who come to the capital of the country to build up their life amid all the challenges. However, their approach is not conventional, rather strategic and mingled with entrepreneurship. This has been one of the groundbreaking TV series in the country which attracted and detained a massive crowd from the first episode itself.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
SL artists have finally reached their peak
dimuthunimesh1 November 2017
Nice work with great deal of patience by the Mr.Lakmal and unbelievable acting by Mr.Kalana Gunasekara. Finally we've made an amazing work which can truly take the world. Amazing editing, stunning VFX and most of all thrilling story make viewers reincarnated. HATS OFF for the Koombiyoo crew.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the Best TV Series in Sri Lanka Recent Years
cjjesus24 October 2017
This is my number one choice out of all TV series in Sri Lanka during recent past. It has all the qualities to reach the international standards. With compare to other Sri Lankan TV series Koombiyo make things happens continuously. I wish they wont be considering to make it Mega drama by just dragging the story.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Series After Long Time
hansa-pvt24 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
this is the best Sri Lankan TV series i have watch after long time Well done Guys we need more Series like these other than typical ones & imported its so nice to watch sri Lankan 5 Star Grade TV series i never missed any episode from this series After long time we are so happy to watch world class sri Lankan series
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed