American Reunion (2012) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
181 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
Surprisingly Awesome Movie
simonthm9 March 2012
Caught a preview screening of this movie tonight in NYC. I am 26 years old now, so I was in 8th grade when the original came out.

Thought the first two were awesome but thought the third noticeably drifted away from what made the first two special.(A little too much Stifler).

For American Pie 4, when I saw the preview I was excited to see them all back together, but I didn't know what to expect. I know Hollywood loves destroying sequels and I didn't know how they were going to create a story line out of characters that really haven't been together in forever.

Fear not. I though this movie was almost as good as the original. Two hours of non-stop cracking-up, but none of it was forced. They brought back all the characters, but in a way that didn't seem thrown together or in-genuine. It was about 2 hours and 15 minutes long, but not once did I think this was dragging. They did a nice job explaining where everyone has been and it didn't really seem awkward.

The best part of it is, the story is about all 5 of the original guys, and their relationship with women and sex at their current juncture (31 years old). Each have their own issues (too married, have kids, hate their jobs, hate their lifestyle, etc.) and the movie is kind of about them all resolving their that over the course of a reunion weekend. It's the American Pie which is most similar too the first one. All the old couples from high-school (Oz/Heather, Kevin/Vicky, Jim/Michelle) re-hash their past feelings.

Another great thing about the film is that Stifler's character is written back in the style of American Pie 1 and 2, which I loved. His part is not over bearing like the Wedding. Kevin, Finch (and Oz) play much bigger roles than they did they did in the third.

There a couple new characters but none of them are annoying or take up too much of the story, all those parts are well cast. Jim's Dad and Stifler's Mom are hilarious on screen together. Jim's Dad is the funniest he has ever been- but again- not in an over the top way. All in all, it's a well-written, well-rounded film with some good plot twists. Tons of references too the old films. Literally, all of the obscure characters from the first two make an appearance at some point.

BOTTOM LINE: 9/10. If you are a fan of the American Pie films (especially 1 & 2) your going to LOVE this movie. Worth the $.
193 out of 241 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Still Funny After All These Years
cadillac2023 March 2012
I was 16 when the original American Pie came out. It was a film that spoke to me greatly. It was my generation's Ridgemont High, you might say. The sequels too, were enjoyable. But to say that the series didn't wear itself thin might be an understatement. And don't even get me started on the direct to DVD creations. However, American Reunion surprised me with a couple entertaining trailers, and nostalgia grabbed me by the balls. Having had the opportunity to see an early screening, I am happy to say that this is the series I remembered it being.

There's nothing too outside the norm for an American Pie series film. We find the original cast living life over ten years after the original film. Jim and Michelle are having a few marital issues and raising a kid. Stiffler is working a job as a temp, dealing with an a-hole boss. Finch has become a mystery of sorts. Oz is a big shot sportscaster with a supermodel girlfriend. And Kevin is a stay at home husband, slash architect. The group returns for their high school reunion and reconnect with each other and their fellow classmates. But this is a film that is as much about the audience seeing it as it is about our favorite foursome. As stated, the film isn't remarkable in the plot sense. Unlike the previous films, there isn't a big endgame to cling to. There's no goal of losing virginity like the first film, finding true love like the second film, or having a successful wedding like the third film. Instead, these characters just deal with being back in their hometown and their own individual issues.

If anything, the film is highly nostalgic. It's filled with characters and situations reminiscent of the previous films. It still manages to surprise with many of it's shenanigans, from the boys having to get out of some awkward tight spots, to Jim once again finding himself in extremely embarrassing situations. Heck we even get a few truly surprising moments that are also very laugh out loud. But for the audience that grew up on these films, it will be like a trip down memory lane. It's fun seeing all your favorite characters return, from the underused ones to all of the main cast. Even seeing characters like Oz or Vicky, whose real life counterparts haven't had much of a career since the American Pie film, are pleasant to see again. And they all do a great job of reprising these characters. Best of all, the film is hilarious, with plenty of laugh out loud moments.

My biggest qualm with the film is it's lack of a strong central plot. Nostalgia only goes so far and there's really nothing to cling to here in terms of something these characters are working for. By comparison, there was the ever present goal of the guys losing their virginity. Here, their personal issues seem meager. Yes, Jim and Michelle are having issues, but you never really feel like it won't work out. Knowing these characters, you already know they love each other. The same goes for most of the others, whom you always feel will come out on top. This despite a few surprises. And with the whole movie revolving around the up coming reunion, an event which doesn't seem to have much affect on the direction these characters take, there's never a real sense of character growth. Instead, you're just hanging out with the boys again, watching them get into trouble.

But this is okay. It's okay because the movie is funny. Much of what happens resembles the kind of humorous situations from the other films. There are some truly laugh out loud moments and the surprises will have you howling. Despite my nostalgic interest in the film, I found some genuinely fun and surprising moments. For fans, this should be a no brainer. The film is definitely worth the watch.
126 out of 157 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
American Reunion Screening Review
ironman200823 March 2012
I was lucky enough to catch an advance screening last night at the Mall of America in Minnesota. This movie will not disappoint anyone who is a fan of the original movies or the characters. It has all of the gross-out humor, sexual tension, and most importantly the heart. It doesn't break in any new ground, but gives great closure to all of the characters. The laughs also are spread out well from start until during the credits. In face, I think the first 3 minutes was the funniest I've ever seen in a movie. Even my wife who is just a casual fan laughed more at this movie than any other comedy I've taken her to. Stifler is back!!
76 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
American Pie at its best
Emre3 April 2012
Going to keep this short, because it's my first review, and I don't wamt to bore people.

Saw an early screening today in Amsterdam, and I was really excited because the trailer promised a lot. And you know what? It was amazing!

Simply because they made it as good as the original and the second movie. (I liked the first two but I personally think that the third one drifted away from the original theme a bit)

I also liked how they made Stifler return to his original state. Crazy as always, doing things the way he wants to do. The other thing that I found good was that they briefly showed what everyone does after high school and at what position they are at the moment.

All in all, great film (what else could you expect from these guys), I'd say go see it, definitely worth your time!
100 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best slice of pie for last
bryanh258520 March 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I saw an advance screening of American Reunion in Chicago tonight. Sean WIlliam Scott and Jason Biggs both attended and spoke with the audience before the movie and were very grateful and genuine about the movie. And were very funny too.

This was the perfect way to end the series. And I hope they do end it here, because it was perfect. NOT that I wouldn't see American Old Folks Home, but let's not let it get to that. All the characters were just as great as they were in the first 2 films. Oz, Kevin, Finch, Jim, and of course the man who comes with most of the laughs Stifler are all back. As well as pretty much every single speaking roll from the original movie. I will say this is as good if not better than the original. The story is great and very realistic to what most of us are going through today. We hate our jobs, we're married or in some kind of middle aged rut. We still just want to be the kids we were in high school but it's hard because as much as we don't like to admit it we have all grown up.

Never fear though with all the boring life stuff, the gang is all back and come with many many fun moments and get themselves into quite a few pickles. I'd say as many as the first 2 movies combined. But it doesn't feel forced or like they threw it in the movie just because they felt they had to. Everything flowed naturally and kept me and the entire audience laughing from beginning till the credits rolled.

All of the characters end up in a great place at the end, and I can thoroughly say that this will be a classic. No doubt about it.

Ton of laughs, it had heart, makes you feel like you can relate to these guys more than ever. I've grown up with these guys and we all have friends like this. I was sad it ended so soon, even though it was over 2 hours. It was still sad to see the guys go one last time.

Overall American Reunion was on par if not better than the original. The original will always be a classic in our eyes, but this will be a close second.

To the next step

10/10
67 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The boys are back
Brandon Melock7 April 2012
Being an American Pie fan since the beginning, I was excited about American Reunion. The boys are back for another crazy, sexual, and over- the-top adventure.

Since the last film in 2003, I thought they wouldn't be able to perform as well together. But from start to finish, they played their roles as if they never left.

This movie will definitely keep you laughing, especially if you are a long time fan. Not to mention Jim's dad finally got the screen time he deserved.

Now, I don't think it was as good as it could have been. The plot, as mentioned in other reviews, was plain. But all in all, It was an amazing sequel to the series. Better than the first? I don't think so. But as good as the first? YES!

I do recommend watching the last three American Pie movies before going to see this. You will understand the movie much clearer, and not to mention the little surprise(s) will have you rolling on the floor laughing.

Cons: It wasn't dirty enough. The jokes were hysterical, but I wanted more! I wanted more F bombs, sex jokes, and pie humping! But I guess that is what the previous Pie films were for ;)

If you are a fan, you will enjoy this film. You will NOT be disappointed.

10/10 stars
67 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A fitting end to a series that defined my generation
LoneWolfAndCub5 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I remember not being allowed to see American Pie when I had just turned 13 as my parents deemed it too raunchy. Being the young rebel I was I found a way to see it anyway. To this day it, and the two true sequels, remain some of favourite comedies. Sure, the American Pie 2 and American Pie: Wedding weren't as good as the first, but they all provided copious amounts of good-spirited yet raunchy and filthy laughs with characters you really liked. After a slew of shockingly bad direct-to-video sequels I was extremely excited to see the gang return for one final film in American Reunion. These are characters that have been gone from the screen far too long if you ask me, and their return, although not as good as the first, is still a hilarious trip down memory lane.

It's been awhile since the gang have been together, 13 years to be exact, which is the year their high school reunion takes place. Jim (Jason Biggs) is married to Michelle (Alyson Hannigan) with a son, Oz (Chris Klein) is a sports news reporter and engaged to model Mia (Katrina Bowden), Finch has dropped off the radar (Eddie Kaye Thomas), Kevin (Thomas Ian Nicholas) is married and an architect and Stifler (Seann William Scott) is a PA at a big firm. When they meet up for their reunion, they are once again up to their old shenanigans.

Writers Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg stick to the same formula which made the others so successful, and it worked. The situations these guys get themselves into are weaved into the story well, nothing seems forced. All the actors do a fantastic job of bringing these characters back to their old selves, it's like they were born to play these roles. Obviously the movie is somewhat predictable, with certain characters ending up with another person. By the end, American Reunion has come full circle, and for the people who grew up with American Pie as a teenager it is nice to see it wrapped up as well as it has been.

3½/5
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A good concept that was done right
siderite21 July 2012
This is a true sequel: it expands on a previous story and makes it better. American Pie was never a great film and the many reincarnations of the same story did not do it good, but American Reunion almost fixes everything, giving it a true human dimension. In my opinion, it is this film that makes American Pie a classic. I just hope they don't turn it into another franchise. Let it rest, people! You got it right, don't mess with it.

Other than that, the same crazy antics, part felony, part madness and the same awkward situations, but with a more adult touch. Everybody is married, with children, but at heart, they are still kids. That is what this film is all about.
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The best American Pie Movie
kwon234ioud129 March 2012
American Pie was great. The sequels weren't so good. They were juvenile and fell flat because the humor was too obvious and dumb. But American Reunion was awesome! It had great believable storyline, character development, and well-placed physical humor like the original American Pie. It brought back the nostalgia of the high school years of the '90s while commenting on current times.

I brought a friend who has never seen the American Pie series, and she laughed throughout the entire movie. Seann William Scott aka "Stifmeister" carries American Reunion just as he did in the original American Pie.

Sometimes you can tell a movie is going to bomb when you see the trailers. If the trailers are really funny, chances are the comedy is going to be a dud because all the funny moments are shown in the trailers.

Trust me. The trailer does not do this movie a justice for a reason. You can not fit all funny moments in the trailer.

***Movie contains graphic images*** Word of advice: wait until the credits end for a nice surprise
44 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A reunion I was so glad to attend!
DJRMewzique4 April 2012
There is really not much to say here except that the return of Stifler and his posse....and just about every single memorable character from the first three films...are welcomed back with open arms in "American Reunion." After three absolutely sensational, immature-but-awesome comedies about sex, masturbation and fart jokes (somewhat ignoring the somewhat mediocre offshoots "Band Camp," "The Naked Mile," "Beta House" and "The Look of Love"), I really did not know if, over a decade later, with all the actors and characters older, they could recapture the crude magic that made the first three instalments such comedy classic.

Guess what? They did.

It is now thirteen years later and the crew converge upon their high school, all grown up now, for their, you guessed it, high school reunion. And yes, the film relies heavily on nostalgia and clichés about friends, sex and lost love, but the writing here is so great, it really doesn't matter. The film continues the series' reputation of being politically incorrect and walking the line of taste while still managing to present it all in a way that makes the audience laugh out loud despite themselves. All the main characters returned, played by all the original actors including Jason Biggs, Alyson Hannigan, Sean William Scott, Chris Klein, Thomas Ian Nicholas and Eddie Kaye Thomas. Jennifer Coolidge is still as much a MILF as Stifler's mom while Eugene Levy, the only one to appear in ever single incarnation of these films, continues his signature role of Jim's dad. Even Tara Reid and Mena Suvari are back in the mix.

Loads of ridiculous situations, a disgusting hijink and fantastically hilarious comedy ensues as the gang gets back together, having aged stupendously (Klein's body has gotten even more porn-worthy) and making this long-awaited return well worth the time and effort. And if this film makes the box office it deserves, we may just get invited back to the party one more time. And I'll be there with bells on.
54 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Nutshell Review: American Reunion
DICK STEEL5 April 2012
It was 1999 that American Pie launched what would be a series of teenage sex comedies, given a relatively cost effective formula loaded with nudity and toilet humour, that exploded at the box office and made everyone sit up to take note which of its cast members would go on to make it big. The film spawned two more films that would culminate in a wedding, before going direct to video in the many spin offs lie Band Camp, Naked Mile, Beta House and Book of Love that had very little links to the main characters. It's almost a decade already, and it's perhaps time to put those spin off films to rest, and bring back the original cast and their characters to the big screen in a logical reunion. And why not, given that the individual cast members never really made it to the big league, that coming together in a show of unity may rekindle memories of an audience who grew up with them from 1999's original, and in some ways provide one last shot in the arm for their individual careers.

And so it's a warm hello to old friends with whom we have last left off without much of a closure for all the characters, and like a real reunion, we discover just what our friends have been up to during the course of their absence in our lives. Some are successful, others not, and some are depending on what definition you're using. There's Jason Biggs as Jim Levenstein who's still married to Michelle (Alyson Hannigan) with a kid in tow and having trouble with their non-existent sex lives, Oz (Chris Klein) being a successful television sports anchor and celebrity with a model girlfriend (Katrina Bowden), Kevin (Thomas Ian Nicholas) who's also happily married but dreading a very routine lifestyle filled with TV and more TV, who would have thought Finch (Eddie Kaye Thomas) being very much of an all round adventurer, and Stifler (Seann William Scott) the jock who, well, according to unwritten rules, finds himself in between jobs, getting really nowhere in his career, and still bearing a grudge towards Finch for nailing Stifler's Mom (Jennifer Coolidge).

Some things never change too, as we usually find out during meet ups with old friends, old flames and once rivals, that when we rekindle the past, we'll at times tangent into the what ifs. And there are plenty of such situations that make up the narrative of Reunion, with Jim having to fend off the advances of his neighbour Kara (Ali Cobrin), whom he babysat a long time back and is now a nubile 18 year old eager to lose her virginity to Jim, and both Oz and Kevin discovering old feelings with their exes Heather (Mena Suvari) and Vicky (Tara Reid). Stifler faces challenges at work especially that threatens to cancel his attendance at the school reunion ball, while Finch seems to get onto a real relationship with Selena (Dania Ramirez).

There's also the return of the evergreen favourite, Jim's dad (Eugene Levy), now a widower but still finding time to talk about sexuality very openly to an always embarrassed Jim, and that of a slew of supporting characters from the earlier films that I will not name to contain the surprise. But it's a full reunion as the filmmakers pulled out all the stops in order to make sure of a proper representation rather than a half-hearted event, in order not to short change the audience. And surprisingly though that directors Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg seemed to have restrained themselves a lot from their Harold and Kumar days, and like touching a holy grail of teenage sex comedies, treated the material and characters here with a lot of respect rather than going for the jugular because getting the team back together again with a valid excuse will seem like a long way ahead.

But when the jokes came, they came fast and furious since we have Stifler in the party and ensuring that his posse of friends get the best deal out of their short weekend stay in town, and this balances out with more dramatic moments which can be seen coming from a mile away. Stifler's party forms the centerpiece where the you-know-what hits the fan, and for all the amount of nudity in the earlier movies, American Reunion would win for being the tamest of the lot, toning blatant nudity down by a lot of notches, and keeping things in relative PG mode as the narrative chugged along drama rather than comedy, for the most parts of the second half anyway.

The first American Pie film garnered an R21 rating here, and this one, although having full front male genitalia on display, male on male kissing, the requisite foul language and subject matter that will earn it an R21 easily, its M18 rating perhaps also reflected a relatively loosening of ratings here in Singapore, although this remains to be seen whether one off, or gets sustained and gradually loosened up even more as time goes by. Still, American Reunion, whatever the rating, is definitely for franchise fans (whether considering the direct to video titles or not), and I really enjoyed how it went full circle in the group's reunion in their final scene together. If you're a fan, then what are you waiting for?
36 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Welcome Return
jsummers8821 March 2012
My school was handing out tickets for a special screening for American Reunion tonight, I just got back from the screening. I was never a die hard fan of the American Pie series, but I've always found them to be quite enjoyable. I still feel the same way when I was watching this film. I'll be honest, I thought this one wasn't going to be any good and I thought it would be toned down, I'm glad to be wrong this time around. I'm not going to go much into the plot except that it's simply a reunion as all the characters are here to return, which it what you'd expect coming into this. It's just as sweet and crude as the previous three. Just like the other films, Seann William Scott is still the best part of the film. The rest of the cast did just as good as they did with the previous films. If you're a fan of the previous films, you'll still find something to enjoy. If you never were a fan, this isn't going to change your mind.
37 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
A Collection of Every Reunion Cliché Ever Used In Cinema
Greg Smith8 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
WEEKLY MOVIE REVIEW: American REUNION

MINI-REVIEW: A Collection of Every Reunion Cliché Ever Used In Cinema

RATING: Don't waste your time. (Rating System: "See it in theaters," "Wait for the instant download," "Don't waste your time.")

Jim Levenstein (Jason Biggs) and his bride Michelle (Alyson Hannigan) of 5 years have a two- year old son and the zip has gone out of their marriage. They vow to have some together time at an upcoming 13-year high-school reunion. When Jim arrives, he meets up with his buddies from high school: Kevin Myers (Tomas Ian Nicholas), Chris "Oz" Ostreicher (Chris Klein), and Paul Finch (Eddie Kaye Thomas). They have all achieved some degree of success.

The couple are staying with Jim's father, Noah (Eugene Levy) who offers unwarranted marital advice.

The four buddies are enjoying a night out a few days before the reunion when an old, but unwanted friend appears: Steve Stifler (Seann Willam Scott). Stifler still lives life as though he were in high school and works as a temp at a major company. Later, Jim meets newly 18- year-old Kara (Ali Cobrin) who is hot for Jim, who was her babysitter all those years ago. Can Jim and Michelle rekindle their love life? Can Jim stave off the advances of young Kara? Will the other guys meet up with their old flames? Will Stifler cause more trouble with his high- school pranks?

Yes.

This is a wholly predictable and unimaginative retread of an American classic: "American Pie," which first hit theaters 13 years ago. THAT movie was original and took a fresh look at the coming of age story. And if you haven't seen "American Pie" recently (or ever) I recommend you go back and see it again. Because you'll have to do your homework to keep up with the plot in this sequel.

And be warned: there are plenty of boobs and penises to be seen in the film. Not that there is anything wrong with that. You should know that it is coming at you.

Everything you expect to see is telescoped in the first 20 minutes of the film. Jim has an encounter with the young girl, Stifler makes juvenile pranks, old flames kiss, someone isn't who he says he is, the married couple survive, and everyone realizes that high school is now behind them and the best of times are right now. And Eugene Levy is still one of the funniest men alive.

So for sophomoric comedy and a predictable plot line borrowed from Romy & Michelle's High School Reunion, Family Guy, and just about every sit com ever written, I recommend you don't waste your time.
19 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Seems like the series has lost their relevance and is simply being surpassed by other movies now days.
Boba_Fett11389 April 2012
Really, it's important to say that I actually was a big fan of all of the previous American Pie movies but this latest establishment did absolutely nothing for me!

The first "American Pie" movie, made back in 1999, was one that changed the genre, or at least sort of brought back the teenage sex comedies, by making it fun and daring again. The series, in my opinion, continued in good form, until this movie. Out of all the American Pie movies, this is the absolute most redundant and less innovative one.

It's maybe also partly because of it that ever since the first "American Pie" movie, tons of similar movies got made and the bar got actually raised- and the genre reinvented again by a couple of other genre movies. This movie does absolutely nothing to try to raise the bar again, or become a relevant movie within its genre. Or maybe I'm just getting too old for these sort of movies and type of comedies but I highly doubt that, since I actually do like to watch genre movies like this one, from time to time, such as most recently "Project X", for instance.

The main premise itself actually sounded quite good and promising; having a reunion with all of the characters from the first movie in it, 13 years after the first movie and 9 years after "American Wedding". But the thing is; the movie does absolutely nothing with its concept.

I don't feel that any the characters have progressed at all. They are still all the same and don't look to have matured very much. It would had been interesting to see how their lives progressed and eventually ended up all but the movie really doesn't know how to handle this. What's the point of having the characters look back, while they haven't changed one bit. It already makes the main idea and concept of the movie an incredibly flawed one but there are far more problems with this movie.

It just simply isn't a very well written or made movie. One of other problems with its story is that it wants to have far too many subplots in it. It also makes a movie called "American Reunion" shockingly little about an actual reunion. It doesn't even ever look or feel that some of these guys hadn't seen each other for years. It's just the same old, same old, with as a difference that we get to see a bunch of 30-year old's doing teenage stuff, which isn't all that compelling or tasteful, in my opinion. It certainly also makes the comedy of this movie more lacking as well.

And because the movie tries to focus on so many characters and their story lines, none of them ever work out well enough. The movie doesn't develop or resolve any of them properly or satisfying enough, while the movie obviously did had some good ideas in it.

Another thing with this movie is that you first need to have seen at least the very first movie. This is not a standalone movie. It very much is a sequel that relies a lot on it that its viewers are already familiar with all of the characters and what happened to them in the previous movies. It actually is important to watch the previous three movie, just prior to this one, or else you will miss a lot. Literally almost every character from the first "American Pie" movie pops up into this one, even if it's for just a couple of seconds. And even while I was a big fan of the first movies, I had absolutely no idea any more who all of these people were, or why they were relevant for this movie at all.

A disappointment really and that is coming from a person who loved the first American Pie movies!

5/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Terrible movie if you haven't seen the others.
Growing up, I was never interested in watching raunchy comedies and R rated movies. As I grew older however, they became more and more interesting to me. I am here to review this movie as nobody else can, seeing as how everyone I talked to has seen at least one other American Pie movie. This is a terribly done movie ONLY if you have not seen any of the others. Sitting through this I was bored to tears and hardly laughing at all. I am told that this is because I haven't seen the others and didn't understand the jokes since they all reference previous incidents. The first time the gang was together on screen, I thought that Stiffler was the antagonist, trying to tear everyone apart. In order for a movie to work, I think that you shouldn't have to see the other movies in a series in order to understand the current one. I think that they should all be original and introduce characters in their own way instead of relying on the audience to automatically understand them. That being said, everyone else I have talked to said it was just as good as the original, so if you have seen the other American Pies, go see this movie. If you are a "Pie Virgin" like myself, stay away.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Funny Reunion!
namashi_119 May 2013
The fourth installment in the American Pie theatrical series, 'American Reunion' is indeed A Funny Reunion! High on laughs & gags, this 2012 Box-Office Blockbuster is surely worth watching!

'American Reunion' Synopsis: Jim, Michelle, Stifler, and their friends reunite in East Great Falls, Michigan for their high school reunion.

'American Reunion' begins & ends, smoothly. Its got the attitude, the rudeness & the vulgarity, the American Pie movies are known for. Even the clever one-liners are damn good. Jon Hurwitz & Hayden Schlossberg's Screenplay is adult-rated & hard-core. Their Direction, on the other-hand, is decent.

Performance-Wise: Seann William Scott is awesome. Once again, he steals the show! Jason Biggs is very much in the mood, while Chris Klein, Eddie Kaye Thomas & Thomas Ian Nicholas are wild. Alyson Hannigan, Tara Reid & Mena Suvari are efficient. Eugene Levy is fantastic.

On the whole, 'American Reunion' is certainly a delight.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The lowest form of cinematic expression.
prakian18 May 2012
Yeah. The title pretty much sums it.

Cheesy dialogs, the same old awkward situations that eventually lead to dramatic stupid dialogs, and then things are suddenly better.

I'm not saying the first ones were good for something, but this one gives a new meaning to the term generic movie. This is so bad that the actors seem to do it with a sour taste in their mouth.

If you expect the same old basic aborted Hollywood script, that says nothing, then this movie is for you. Otherwise avoid it. It's not even funny when it should be funny. I come to think that the recent study that correlates being fat with being stupid (in US) has a direct and harmful consequence over many things people produce. The market will continue to make these kind of movies, because stupid folks are ready to pay money. Just because the ratings are good, doesn't mean this movie deserves more than one star!

Avoid it. And yeah, this is not a subjective opinion, because American Reunion is garbage, fact!
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
American Reunion - An Epic Return For An Epic Ending To An Epic Series
This_Movie_Guy27 March 2012
You will laugh from beginning to end, and none of the laughter or jokes were forced. The movie just flowed perfectly. If you have seen any of the American Pies up to 3, you need to see this movie. It is worth it to go see it in theaters. I say this because once it hits DVD's it will not be the theatrical version and that is the one you want to see and even then, things are cut out. It's worth the money to go out and see it. I usually say a certain word is overused and overrated, but I am going to use the heck out of it. My tag line for any magazines or promos would read "An Epic Return For An Epic Ending To An Epic Series."
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Couldn't have asked for a better reunion!
travsta_9224 March 2013
I would have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this film from beginning to end. Now, of course this is a bias opinion coming from an immense fan of the series. Although I just couldn't help but be impressed with how well the reunion turned out and here is exactly why I think this:

It was a very great move to have professional writers that were already passionate fans of the series get on board for the reunion. It perfectly depicts the concept of growing up and the realization of where their lives have become at the age of 30. There are a lot of sequels these days that end up just trying to rehash what the original possessed but offering nothing further. Thus I was very pleased that American Reunion presented as a tremendous movie in it's own right whilst having everything that made the first 2 movies lovable and providing a lot of interesting story lines that make plenty of room for great jokes and heart felt moments.

All in all I highly recommend anyone watch the movie. I understand that some people have different opinions and have certain boundaries when it comes to gross-out humor but I definitely think the heart felt moments certainly outweigh the rest while still being wildly hilarious and clever. It is a brilliant nostalgic throwback that provides everything that you would have wanted as a fan of the franchise.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Why???
sirable116 October 2013
I don't understand how viewers would actually admire this film? Honestly, I think the series of American Pie went down hill soon after the spin offs are made. The original American Pie film (1999) was quite a good teenage film for it's time. It was a funny, serious and had a deemed message on the society areas within American high school. Although there was problems within the film itself, such as Christopher Klein's terrible acting, Jim's father being too involved in Jim's sexual life and as such areas are deemed to be unrealistic. Nevertheless, that film was quite good and I would given it a positive review.

I was expecting American Reunion would have the satisfying outcomes of the first film with now all new lives with the main characters with children and as such made their lives where they are at the moment.

This foolish decision turned out to be one of the worst experience I've ever had in the history of cinema for my personal viewing. From context such as acting, characters (which are just a repeat from the first film), storyline and the dialogue itself is probably the worst in cinema. Viewing the entire film was somewhat the same experience as Alex DeLarge from 'A Clockwork Orange' was viewing the harmful videos during the therapy session.

Jim and his gang are now mostly married and have children of their own. They are aged probably in their early 30s. The storyline goes from Jim and his friends hitting on young teenagers (~ aged 17-19) is somewhat a bit creepy to say for the least. Chris Klein's character, Oz, was even more worse than his performance within the first film. It seems like every time whenever he's trying to say part of his dialogue, it's either he's not tempted to do so or he has no skills in acting whatsoever. Either way, most actors within the film are like this. It seems like the director don't give one damn about it, it's just a come and go if you'd like to say just in one shot.

This film's a mess from the ground up through every bit of the context within the film. It seemed that throughout the viewing of this film, it seemed that the context in areas of acting is deemed to be equal as a porno acting. I think my IQ level decreased when I first viewed this film.

With it's un-original film, please don't go near this film.

0/10
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Weak-age
Bmore198411 October 2012
Seeing the crew back together was fun. The core characters are still likable, and the actors for the most part deliver. Stifler, like he's done throughout this franchise, nails some genuinely funny moments. The lack of an engaging story was the undoing here. The writers had so much to work with but, unlike the first film, create only a thud. The story lines concerning Oz-Heather and Kevin-Vicky are so much on the back-burner that they become nonexistent. More attention should have been devoted to them. Less on the tiresome plot of Jim and Michelle and their martial problems.

Still can't understand why these characters were constantly commingling with high school students. Its was unnecessary and awkward. They're adults now, just like their fanbase, and no one will cry if they party with... ummm... adults.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Not overly fresh or witty, but enjoyable all the same.
Troy_Campbell4 April 2012
Disregarding the countless straight-to-DVD duds that tenuously hailed themselves as "sequels", Reunion is the fourth instalment into the ultra-crude and hugely popular American Pie franchise. The cast are all 13 years older, but that adolescent giddiness they possessed back in 1999 when making the original (and by far the best) Pie thankfully hasn't been lost. It's a shame then that the material they're working with is half-baked. Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg's screenplay is lacklustre and derivative, relying on rehashed gags and goodwill toward the familiar characters to tickle the funny bone, rather than anything fresh or witty. Still, it's a major bonus to have basically everyone from the first movie return, including MILF guy #2 and the Sherminator, and veteran comedians Eugene Levy and Jennifer Coolidge are fantastic as Jim's Dad and Stifler's Mum (their end credits gag is the funniest of the film), so I couldn't help but watch this with a smile on my face.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Why did the make it??
Westeire30 June 2012
OK, Group of teenagers American pie was .... Struggling for the right word... OK it was funny.. Kids do dumb things and the make a movie about it.

This latests instalment. To be honest, what a waste of money. I would not have watched it for free.

I suppose its the American humour thing. The movie never took off to be honest. I presume we will see it on netflix within a year.

Another movie showing that when you grow up you can still act the idiot.

The whole thing lacks imagination..
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
predictable and boring at times
DR. JOHN LERMA8 April 2012
The movie was OK..... 3/10. it was all too predictable. the cast was good, but the plot and subplots were dismal at best.

The fathers struggle was not touch on enough. this could of been a major turning point for a future movie.

The realities of having a baby were good in some parts but overall lacked more funny parts.

The ending was the best. It slightly pulled on your heart-strings and a desire that all relationship problems would end this way.

Stifler was the executive producer....enough said. he is the funniest character and should either remain doing what he does best or spend more time learning the dos and don't's of a producer.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
just didn't think it was a good film
alexis-doran30 May 2012
i really wanted to like this film but i left feeling very underwhelmed, i thought it could of been so much better, the jokes were cheap and just not funny in my opinion, it just felt to me like they were trying too hard to make this funny and a lot of the scenes were just re used scenes and plots we'd seen before. I know a lot of people may disagree with me but i thought this film could of been a hell of a lot better, they have a great cast of people and i'm sure the actors are talented enough but some of the interactions just seemed boring and forced, it felt like they were just doing this for the money and didn't really care about the characters or i could just be talking complete balls here, judge for yourselves but i certainly wouldn't choose to pay to see this movie again.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews