IMDb > American Reunion (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
American Reunion
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
American Reunion More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 18:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 176 reviews in total 

177 out of 224 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly Awesome Movie

Author: simonthm from nyc
9 March 2012

Caught a preview screening of this movie tonight in NYC. I am 26 years old now, so I was in 8th grade when the original came out.

Thought the first two were awesome but thought the third noticeably drifted away from what made the first two special.(A little too much Stifler).

For American Pie 4, when I saw the preview I was excited to see them all back together, but I didn't know what to expect. I know Hollywood loves destroying sequels and I didn't know how they were going to create a story line out of characters that really haven't been together in forever.

Fear not. I though this movie was almost as good as the original. Two hours of non-stop cracking-up, but none of it was forced. They brought back all the characters, but in a way that didn't seem thrown together or in-genuine. It was about 2 hours and 15 minutes long, but not once did I think this was dragging. They did a nice job explaining where everyone has been and it didn't really seem awkward.

The best part of it is, the story is about all 5 of the original guys, and their relationship with women and sex at their current juncture (31 years old). Each have their own issues (too married, have kids, hate their jobs, hate their lifestyle, etc.) and the movie is kind of about them all resolving their that over the course of a reunion weekend. It's the American Pie which is most similar too the first one. All the old couples from high-school (Oz/Heather, Kevin/Vicky, Jim/Michelle) re-hash their past feelings.

Another great thing about the film is that Stifler's character is written back in the style of American Pie 1 and 2, which I loved. His part is not over bearing like the Wedding. Kevin, Finch (and Oz) play much bigger roles than they did they did in the third.

There a couple new characters but none of them are annoying or take up too much of the story, all those parts are well cast. Jim's Dad and Stifler's Mom are hilarious on screen together. Jim's Dad is the funniest he has ever been- but again- not in an over the top way. All in all, it's a well-written, well-rounded film with some good plot twists. Tons of references too the old films. Literally, all of the obscure characters from the first two make an appearance at some point.

BOTTOM LINE: 9/10. If you are a fan of the American Pie films (especially 1 & 2) your going to LOVE this movie. Worth the $.

Was the above review useful to you?

113 out of 142 people found the following review useful:

Still Funny After All These Years

Author: cadillac20 from Culver City, California
23 March 2012

I was 16 when the original American Pie came out. It was a film that spoke to me greatly. It was my generation's Ridgemont High, you might say. The sequels too, were enjoyable. But to say that the series didn't wear itself thin might be an understatement. And don't even get me started on the direct to DVD creations. However, American Reunion surprised me with a couple entertaining trailers, and nostalgia grabbed me by the balls. Having had the opportunity to see an early screening, I am happy to say that this is the series I remembered it being.

There's nothing too outside the norm for an American Pie series film. We find the original cast living life over ten years after the original film. Jim and Michelle are having a few marital issues and raising a kid. Stiffler is working a job as a temp, dealing with an a-hole boss. Finch has become a mystery of sorts. Oz is a big shot sportscaster with a supermodel girlfriend. And Kevin is a stay at home husband, slash architect. The group returns for their high school reunion and reconnect with each other and their fellow classmates. But this is a film that is as much about the audience seeing it as it is about our favorite foursome. As stated, the film isn't remarkable in the plot sense. Unlike the previous films, there isn't a big endgame to cling to. There's no goal of losing virginity like the first film, finding true love like the second film, or having a successful wedding like the third film. Instead, these characters just deal with being back in their hometown and their own individual issues.

If anything, the film is highly nostalgic. It's filled with characters and situations reminiscent of the previous films. It still manages to surprise with many of it's shenanigans, from the boys having to get out of some awkward tight spots, to Jim once again finding himself in extremely embarrassing situations. Heck we even get a few truly surprising moments that are also very laugh out loud. But for the audience that grew up on these films, it will be like a trip down memory lane. It's fun seeing all your favorite characters return, from the underused ones to all of the main cast. Even seeing characters like Oz or Vicky, whose real life counterparts haven't had much of a career since the American Pie film, are pleasant to see again. And they all do a great job of reprising these characters. Best of all, the film is hilarious, with plenty of laugh out loud moments.

My biggest qualm with the film is it's lack of a strong central plot. Nostalgia only goes so far and there's really nothing to cling to here in terms of something these characters are working for. By comparison, there was the ever present goal of the guys losing their virginity. Here, their personal issues seem meager. Yes, Jim and Michelle are having issues, but you never really feel like it won't work out. Knowing these characters, you already know they love each other. The same goes for most of the others, whom you always feel will come out on top. This despite a few surprises. And with the whole movie revolving around the up coming reunion, an event which doesn't seem to have much affect on the direction these characters take, there's never a real sense of character growth. Instead, you're just hanging out with the boys again, watching them get into trouble.

But this is okay. It's okay because the movie is funny. Much of what happens resembles the kind of humorous situations from the other films. There are some truly laugh out loud moments and the surprises will have you howling. Despite my nostalgic interest in the film, I found some genuinely fun and surprising moments. For fans, this should be a no brainer. The film is definitely worth the watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

95 out of 133 people found the following review useful:

American Pie at its best

8/10
Author: Emre from Netherlands
3 April 2012

Going to keep this short, because it's my first review, and I don't wamt to bore people.

Saw an early screening today in Amsterdam, and I was really excited because the trailer promised a lot. And you know what? It was amazing!

Simply because they made it as good as the original and the second movie. (I liked the first two but I personally think that the third one drifted away from the original theme a bit)

I also liked how they made Stifler return to his original state. Crazy as always, doing things the way he wants to do. The other thing that I found good was that they briefly showed what everyone does after high school and at what position they are at the moment.

All in all, great film (what else could you expect from these guys), I'd say go see it, definitely worth your time!

Was the above review useful to you?

69 out of 90 people found the following review useful:

American Reunion Screening Review

Author: ironman2008 from United States
23 March 2012

I was lucky enough to catch an advance screening last night at the Mall of America in Minnesota. This movie will not disappoint anyone who is a fan of the original movies or the characters. It has all of the gross-out humor, sexual tension, and most importantly the heart. It doesn't break in any new ground, but gives great closure to all of the characters. The laughs also are spread out well from start until during the credits. In face, I think the first 3 minutes was the funniest I've ever seen in a movie. Even my wife who is just a casual fan laughed more at this movie than any other comedy I've taken her to. Stifler is back!!

Was the above review useful to you?

66 out of 94 people found the following review useful:

Best slice of pie for last

Author: bryanh2585 from United States
20 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I saw an advance screening of American Reunion in Chicago tonight. Sean WIlliam Scott and Jason Biggs both attended and spoke with the audience before the movie and were very grateful and genuine about the movie. And were very funny too.

This was the perfect way to end the series. And I hope they do end it here, because it was perfect. NOT that I wouldn't see American Old Folks Home, but let's not let it get to that. All the characters were just as great as they were in the first 2 films. Oz, Kevin, Finch, Jim, and of course the man who comes with most of the laughs Stifler are all back. As well as pretty much every single speaking roll from the original movie. I will say this is as good if not better than the original. The story is great and very realistic to what most of us are going through today. We hate our jobs, we're married or in some kind of middle aged rut. We still just want to be the kids we were in high school but it's hard because as much as we don't like to admit it we have all grown up.

Never fear though with all the boring life stuff, the gang is all back and come with many many fun moments and get themselves into quite a few pickles. I'd say as many as the first 2 movies combined. But it doesn't feel forced or like they threw it in the movie just because they felt they had to. Everything flowed naturally and kept me and the entire audience laughing from beginning till the credits rolled.

All of the characters end up in a great place at the end, and I can thoroughly say that this will be a classic. No doubt about it.

Ton of laughs, it had heart, makes you feel like you can relate to these guys more than ever. I've grown up with these guys and we all have friends like this. I was sad it ended so soon, even though it was over 2 hours. It was still sad to see the guys go one last time.

Overall American Reunion was on par if not better than the original. The original will always be a classic in our eyes, but this will be a close second.

To the next step

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 84 people found the following review useful:

The boys are back

10/10
Author: Brandon Melock from Fort Myers, FL
7 April 2012

Being an American Pie fan since the beginning, I was excited about American Reunion. The boys are back for another crazy, sexual, and over- the-top adventure.

Since the last film in 2003, I thought they wouldn't be able to perform as well together. But from start to finish, they played their roles as if they never left.

This movie will definitely keep you laughing, especially if you are a long time fan. Not to mention Jim's dad finally got the screen time he deserved.

Now, I don't think it was as good as it could have been. The plot, as mentioned in other reviews, was plain. But all in all, It was an amazing sequel to the series. Better than the first? I don't think so. But as good as the first? YES!

I do recommend watching the last three American Pie movies before going to see this. You will understand the movie much clearer, and not to mention the little surprise(s) will have you rolling on the floor laughing.

Cons: It wasn't dirty enough. The jokes were hysterical, but I wanted more! I wanted more F bombs, sex jokes, and pie humping! But I guess that is what the previous Pie films were for ;)

If you are a fan, you will enjoy this film. You will NOT be disappointed.

10/10 stars

Was the above review useful to you?

50 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

A reunion I was so glad to attend!

8/10
Author: DJRMewzique from Canada
4 April 2012

There is really not much to say here except that the return of Stifler and his posse....and just about every single memorable character from the first three films...are welcomed back with open arms in "American Reunion." After three absolutely sensational, immature-but-awesome comedies about sex, masturbation and fart jokes (somewhat ignoring the somewhat mediocre offshoots "Band Camp," "The Naked Mile," "Beta House" and "The Look of Love"), I really did not know if, over a decade later, with all the actors and characters older, they could recapture the crude magic that made the first three instalments such comedy classic.

Guess what? They did.

It is now thirteen years later and the crew converge upon their high school, all grown up now, for their, you guessed it, high school reunion. And yes, the film relies heavily on nostalgia and clichés about friends, sex and lost love, but the writing here is so great, it really doesn't matter. The film continues the series' reputation of being politically incorrect and walking the line of taste while still managing to present it all in a way that makes the audience laugh out loud despite themselves. All the main characters returned, played by all the original actors including Jason Biggs, Alyson Hannigan, Sean William Scott, Chris Klein, Thomas Ian Nicholas and Eddie Kaye Thomas. Jennifer Coolidge is still as much a MILF as Stifler's mom while Eugene Levy, the only one to appear in ever single incarnation of these films, continues his signature role of Jim's dad. Even Tara Reid and Mena Suvari are back in the mix.

Loads of ridiculous situations, a disgusting hijink and fantastically hilarious comedy ensues as the gang gets back together, having aged stupendously (Klein's body has gotten even more porn-worthy) and making this long-awaited return well worth the time and effort. And if this film makes the box office it deserves, we may just get invited back to the party one more time. And I'll be there with bells on.

Was the above review useful to you?

40 out of 61 people found the following review useful:

The best American Pie Movie

Author: kwon234ioud1 from United States
29 March 2012

American Pie was great. The sequels weren't so good. They were juvenile and fell flat because the humor was too obvious and dumb. But American Reunion was awesome! It had great believable storyline, character development, and well-placed physical humor like the original American Pie. It brought back the nostalgia of the high school years of the '90s while commenting on current times.

I brought a friend who has never seen the American Pie series, and she laughed throughout the entire movie. Seann William Scott aka "Stifmeister" carries American Reunion just as he did in the original American Pie.

Sometimes you can tell a movie is going to bomb when you see the trailers. If the trailers are really funny, chances are the comedy is going to be a dud because all the funny moments are shown in the trailers.

Trust me. The trailer does not do this movie a justice for a reason. You can not fit all funny moments in the trailer.

***Movie contains graphic images*** Word of advice: wait until the credits end for a nice surprise

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

A Welcome Return

Author: jsummers88 from United States
21 March 2012

My school was handing out tickets for a special screening for American Reunion tonight, I just got back from the screening. I was never a die hard fan of the American Pie series, but I've always found them to be quite enjoyable. I still feel the same way when I was watching this film. I'll be honest, I thought this one wasn't going to be any good and I thought it would be toned down, I'm glad to be wrong this time around. I'm not going to go much into the plot except that it's simply a reunion as all the characters are here to return, which it what you'd expect coming into this. It's just as sweet and crude as the previous three. Just like the other films, Seann William Scott is still the best part of the film. The rest of the cast did just as good as they did with the previous films. If you're a fan of the previous films, you'll still find something to enjoy. If you never were a fan, this isn't going to change your mind.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

A Nutshell Review: American Reunion

7/10
Author: DICK STEEL from Singapore
5 April 2012

It was 1999 that American Pie launched what would be a series of teenage sex comedies, given a relatively cost effective formula loaded with nudity and toilet humour, that exploded at the box office and made everyone sit up to take note which of its cast members would go on to make it big. The film spawned two more films that would culminate in a wedding, before going direct to video in the many spin offs lie Band Camp, Naked Mile, Beta House and Book of Love that had very little links to the main characters. It's almost a decade already, and it's perhaps time to put those spin off films to rest, and bring back the original cast and their characters to the big screen in a logical reunion. And why not, given that the individual cast members never really made it to the big league, that coming together in a show of unity may rekindle memories of an audience who grew up with them from 1999's original, and in some ways provide one last shot in the arm for their individual careers.

And so it's a warm hello to old friends with whom we have last left off without much of a closure for all the characters, and like a real reunion, we discover just what our friends have been up to during the course of their absence in our lives. Some are successful, others not, and some are depending on what definition you're using. There's Jason Biggs as Jim Levenstein who's still married to Michelle (Alyson Hannigan) with a kid in tow and having trouble with their non-existent sex lives, Oz (Chris Klein) being a successful television sports anchor and celebrity with a model girlfriend (Katrina Bowden), Kevin (Thomas Ian Nicholas) who's also happily married but dreading a very routine lifestyle filled with TV and more TV, who would have thought Finch (Eddie Kaye Thomas) being very much of an all round adventurer, and Stifler (Seann William Scott) the jock who, well, according to unwritten rules, finds himself in between jobs, getting really nowhere in his career, and still bearing a grudge towards Finch for nailing Stifler's Mom (Jennifer Coolidge).

Some things never change too, as we usually find out during meet ups with old friends, old flames and once rivals, that when we rekindle the past, we'll at times tangent into the what ifs. And there are plenty of such situations that make up the narrative of Reunion, with Jim having to fend off the advances of his neighbour Kara (Ali Cobrin), whom he babysat a long time back and is now a nubile 18 year old eager to lose her virginity to Jim, and both Oz and Kevin discovering old feelings with their exes Heather (Mena Suvari) and Vicky (Tara Reid). Stifler faces challenges at work especially that threatens to cancel his attendance at the school reunion ball, while Finch seems to get onto a real relationship with Selena (Dania Ramirez).

There's also the return of the evergreen favourite, Jim's dad (Eugene Levy), now a widower but still finding time to talk about sexuality very openly to an always embarrassed Jim, and that of a slew of supporting characters from the earlier films that I will not name to contain the surprise. But it's a full reunion as the filmmakers pulled out all the stops in order to make sure of a proper representation rather than a half-hearted event, in order not to short change the audience. And surprisingly though that directors Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg seemed to have restrained themselves a lot from their Harold and Kumar days, and like touching a holy grail of teenage sex comedies, treated the material and characters here with a lot of respect rather than going for the jugular because getting the team back together again with a valid excuse will seem like a long way ahead.

But when the jokes came, they came fast and furious since we have Stifler in the party and ensuring that his posse of friends get the best deal out of their short weekend stay in town, and this balances out with more dramatic moments which can be seen coming from a mile away. Stifler's party forms the centerpiece where the you-know-what hits the fan, and for all the amount of nudity in the earlier movies, American Reunion would win for being the tamest of the lot, toning blatant nudity down by a lot of notches, and keeping things in relative PG mode as the narrative chugged along drama rather than comedy, for the most parts of the second half anyway.

The first American Pie film garnered an R21 rating here, and this one, although having full front male genitalia on display, male on male kissing, the requisite foul language and subject matter that will earn it an R21 easily, its M18 rating perhaps also reflected a relatively loosening of ratings here in Singapore, although this remains to be seen whether one off, or gets sustained and gradually loosened up even more as time goes by. Still, American Reunion, whatever the rating, is definitely for franchise fans (whether considering the direct to video titles or not), and I really enjoyed how it went full circle in the group's reunion in their final scene together. If you're a fan, then what are you waiting for?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 18:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history