IMDb > "Two and a Half Men" (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Two and a Half Men"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Two and a Half Men" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 26:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 255 reviews in total 

397 out of 500 people found the following review useful:

Ruined

1/10
Author: killer1h from United States
21 September 2011

Where once stood a proud and mighty hilarious comedy with Charlie Sheen now stands a terrible pile of garbage with Ashton Kutcher. If they had simply traded actors and kept the writing it would have been excellent, but does anyone else get the feeling that the writers left with sheen? Or it might be the fact that Charlie knew how to act in TV shows as where kutcher... well come to think of it where was he a good actor because in all the movies I remember him in he's always this really dumb guy who just walks around clueless. Perhaps he figured that would work on shows too, it didn't. Being a slacker in your movie carrier doesn't give you license to be an idiot in a beloved series, but thanks for ruining that for us well done producers you just firebombed a good show. 1/10 since season 9.

Was the above review useful to you?

273 out of 370 people found the following review useful:

It was just bad

1/10
Author: rockjade from Canada
20 September 2011

The writers should have been fired. They made Charlie a drunk that was funny and now they made the "New "two and a half men just sucked. It was painful to watch. It was not funny at all. Our whole family hated it. Will not be watching your show any more. Do not blame Charlie for what your writers made him. So the only people that lose here are the cast and the only winner is no one because we lose a good show. Ask Charlie really nice to come back and maybe you will get back your good reviews. Making him a drunk that looked for whores was done by your writers not him. He just took the role beyond the TV screen. Which really helped out your ratings. But now you have nothing but a mess on YOUR writers hands.

Was the above review useful to you?

222 out of 273 people found the following review useful:

charlie come back

1/10
Author: contact-950-192374 from Germany
2 October 2011

10/10 with charlie 1/10 without him....

its like taking the motor out of a lamborghini and replace it with 2 pedals for the driver. its not a lamborghini anymore. face it.

the whole concept of the show is based on charlies character. it makes absolutely no sense to continue without him. the only reason they do, they want the money so hard, since two and a half men was the most successful TV show. a lot of people say sheen went crazy, i say: charlie was right when he flipped out and offended the producers. it doesn't look like they love what they do, they just love the money. he wants double the money? pay him and get him back, only way to rescue a sinking boat. the show will be cancelled soon, if they continue like this.

Was the above review useful to you?

254 out of 370 people found the following review useful:

most creative joke writing I've ever seen in years

Author: yoshu from RTP, NC
16 April 2004

This show flat rocks!

Charlie Sheen has a reputation for being a wild child, John Cryer plays the perfect neurotic boob, and the writers play perfectly into the juxtaposition of the two. Toss in a juvenile (Angus Jones, aka Jake) and the scenes become flat hilarious, as the adults attempt to deal with often raunchy mature topics, while keeping the kid in the dark.

This show has some of the best creative writing I've seen in years. No clichéd 'dumbed-down for the masses' or hackneyed pratfalls here, all are setup and timed with perfect execution by the players. Some of the darkest, driest and quick-witted performances on TV in years, very reminiscent of the quirkiness and off-the-cuff repartee of Woody, Norm, et.al. on Cheers. One of the best original laughs on TV these days, hope it survives for a long time! A real treat, amidst all the dumbed down humor that's seems to prevail everywhere else.

Was the above review useful to you?

102 out of 116 people found the following review useful:

The show should have been canceled.

Author: romet6 from Tartu, Estonia
21 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The show was awesome with Sheen. Without him, it's done.

Watching the first episode of the latest season, I would say that they couldn't have done much more to completely destroy the show. They brought in a completely different type of personality, one that I personally have no interest in.

Don't get me wrong, I have nothing against Ashton Kutcher or his acting but he simply doesn't fit in this role. They should have tried to work things out with sheen or they could have just cut their losses and canceled the show.

Would they really expect any of the old fans to keep watching this?

Was the above review useful to you?

208 out of 330 people found the following review useful:

THE ONLY DECENT NEW COMEDY SERIES ON TV

Author: gregorybnyc from United States
19 July 2004

I love this show. It's funny, bright, irreverent, and like nothing else on the tube these days. Charlie Sheen was an excellent save in SPIN CITY, but he's perfectly cast as the lazy, womanizing single guy who writes ad jingles for a living, and whose space is invaded by his nerdy brother, Jonathan Cryer, and his ten-year-old son, Angus T. Jones. While Sheen does warm up to his nephew, he's doesn't turn all saccharine and start acting like an uncle should.

Instead, he's a wonderfully corrupting influence and the two of them often collude against the father. I've only seen one posting about Melanie Lynskey's brilliant turn as the female stalker who is always looking through Charlie's deck door. It's about as funny a regular gag as Carlton the doorman on the old Rhoda show and Candace Bergin's endless line of incompetent secretaries. She's adorable and makes the character both hilarious and creepy. Well done.

Holland Taylor is perfect as the insufferable mother both sons love to resent. Her self-involvement is hilarious. The name of the splendid comic actress playing Sheen's housekeeper is Conchata Ferrell, a veteran of TV sitcoms (Hotl Baltimore). It's wonderful to see her back in action.

Favorite episode was the return of an ex-flame of Charlie's. Only she is now a he, having had a sex-change operation. When it's discovered that "he" has spent the night with Charlie's mom, I could barely contain myself. I was hysterical with laughter. Then Conchata Ferrell's bit as the housekeeper who begs Charlie, offering him free housekeeping for a month, if she can be there to witness his telling his mother that the he was formerly a she! Priceless.

Wonderful cast. Wonderful, crisp writing and well-observed situations. This one has all the hallmarks of a sitcom classic and I hope it runs for years. I was never much of a Charlie Sheen admirer, but he's evolved into a first-rate comic actor and he leads this first-rate ensemble with low-key charm and expert delivery.

Was the above review useful to you?

185 out of 297 people found the following review useful:

Funniest Show on TV

Author: (ks1u@prodigy.net) from United States Quaker Hill, CT
6 March 2006

This show has more laughs per minute than any other sit com. I have not laughed as often or as intensely because of any TV show in decades. The casting and acting is superb and the writing creative and hilarious. If you don't laugh at this show, sell your television and see a doctor, because something ain't right. The characters are diverse and quirky, the subjects always seem to push the limits without offending, and I only wish the show was on more than once a week. It's the kind of show where the actors must go home, collect their checks and wonder why they are paid so much for doing something they enjoy so much. I envy them, we should all be so fortunate in doing something that brings this level of humor into the lives of others. For this I extend my sincere appreciation to the cast, writers, directors and producers.

Was the above review useful to you?

67 out of 78 people found the following review useful:

Two and a Half ...The wasted season??

1/10
Author: David from United States
20 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I just watched episode one of the new season. None of it made sense. Why would Charlie marry Rose? Why would Rose push him in front of a train? Why would a stranger buy Charlies beach house and allow Alan, Jake AND Berta to stay???????? The question of why lingers, the quality of the show has taken a huge hit. Ashton Kutcher just plain doesn't fit, it's like taking a jigsaw puzzle piece that doesn't fit and trying to jam it into place, it won't work, and neither will Mr Kutcher. My wife and I have watched this series from day one.....that all stops now. It seems that Mr Lorre has lost his way, sure Charlie Sheen was a pain in the proverbial a....you know, but he was a vital piece to the puzzle, Mr Lorre should suck it up and bring him back. The only other option really is too cancel the show. Sure they could continue on with this sham, but the ratings will go down, week one everyone tuned in too see the circus, now that the circus is over, who will return to watch it again...not us.

Was the above review useful to you?

67 out of 86 people found the following review useful:

Bring Back Charlie Sheen

1/10
Author: glmrtndrthy from United States
26 November 2011

It went from my favorite show on television to my not watching it anymore after the first new episode. Gratuitous nudity, bad chemistry....need I go on?

Now, I like Ashton Kutcher, he is just in an untenable position trying to replace the genius of Charlie Sheen, as well as, the character of Charlie Harper.

The interaction between Charlie, Alan, Jake, Berta, Evelyn, and all the other regulars cannot be recreated. It just doesn't work for me without the chemistry that was there prior to this season.

I don't approve or disapprove of Charlie Sheen's personal lifestyle. But, the show was HIS and his alone. He is irreplaceable.

Please find Charlie alive and living in Encino...

Bring him back.

Was the above review useful to you?

129 out of 216 people found the following review useful:

Best ever!

9/10
Author: chibifiedeyes from Australia
19 October 2006

I love this show! It's an amazing mix of dirty humour and amusing 'real life' situations. It's very enjoyable for a laugh and some fun!

The entire show appears to be dedicated to making the audience laugh at the character's dilemmas and it is very amusing to see how everyone's situation entwines and makes into a large but hilarious plot!

The entire cast is very amusing and their voices, attitudes, appearances and body language portray their characters to their full potential.

I DEFINITELY recommend that you watch this show. At least watch several episodes to get a taste of it. I can almost definitely guarantee you'll be hooked!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 26:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history