IMDb > Le guerriere dal seno nudo (1973) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Le guerriere dal seno nudo
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Le guerriere dal seno nudo More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

23 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

To call this movie strange is putting it mildly.

Author: Nozze-Foto from Philadelphia, PA
18 May 2002

This movie does NOT take itself seriously, I figured that out in the first three minutes. An opening title informs us "This movie happened, if it happened at all, about 3000 years ago." That means it takes place in 1000BC. What's wrong with that? Well the heroes are Roman soldiers and the Roman empire did not begin until 750BC. Therefore these soldiers represent an empire that will not even exist for over 2 centuries! I'll bet no one went to see this movie for a history lesson though. The real heroes are Amazon warriors who have to mate with men once a year or they will die out. Practicing selective breeding they only mate with tough Roman soldiers and they make love while chanting "Men are pigs, men are filth." (Which is something I and the other girls in my sorority did in college. I guess some traditions never die.) No monsters, dragons or giants. The battle scenes are okay and there is a mud wrestling scene that all the men will enjoy. If you want a plot that makes sense, or at least pretends to, try any of the HERCULES movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Lots and lots of chicks and loads of flesh.

9/10
Author: david_barnett1
20 September 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I would say that this otherwise acceptable bit of sword and sandals with a feminine twist ( and loads of wholesome female flesh) was spoilt by the rather weak and disappointing ending.

I loved the two fight scenes between the two rivals for the four year term of office as queen (!!) especially the second and nude fight which led to a tender reconciliation between them.

But it was marred for me by the way the men had to get their own way in the end. Shame!

I only recently obtained the DVD of this old movie after looking out for it for a while. It's a bit scrappy in parts, but worth watching. I suspect some scenes have been lost altogether.

It's a shame there isn't more of this escapist stuff out there full of voluptuous bimbos! As another reviewer has said, the fight scenes are very well done.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

The best movie about Amazons I've seen this week

6/10
Author: bensonmum2 from Tennessee
29 February 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I can't believe I've watched two Italian Amazon movies in one week. How much cheese can one person stand? Compared with Battle of the Amazons, however, War Goddess comes out the clear winner. I actually enjoyed the movie much more than I probably should have. War Goddess tells the story of the Amazons selecting a new Queen through competition. Once selected, the Amazons prepare themselves for their annual visit to a nearby army for the purposes of mating. Love with a man is forbidden – procreation is the only purpose for these visits. But the new Queen does fall in love and ends up risking her empire for the sake of a man.

I suppose I could go on and on pointing out the good and the bad of the acting, the fight scenes, technical aspects, the score, the decision not to take the subject matter too seriously, or any number of other things one generally discusses when writing a user comment. And while I actually found this movie above average in many respects (probably due to Terence Young's direction as much as anything), something tells me that's not the reason the average person sits down to watch War Goddess. As unbelievable as this may be, the real draw is . . . hold on . . . are you ready for it . . . NUDE AMAZON WRESTLING! Shocking, huh? Imagine that, the real attraction is a couple of well-built, nice-looking females engaged in NUDE AMAZON WRESTLING! War Goddess features two – that's right, two – very nice scenes of NUDE AMAZON WRESTLING! If that's not your thing (and I don't understand why it wouldn't be), the rest of the movie isn't that bad. But who cares when there's NUDE AMAZON WRESTLING!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Le Guerriere Dal Seno Nudo (1974) *1/2

2/10
Author: MARIO GAUCI (marrod@melita.com) from Naxxar, Malta
5 March 2006

A sexually-liberated (if not terribly explicit) peplum which inconceivably attracted an assortment of talent - director Young, cinematographer Aldo Tonti, production designer Mario Garbuglia, composer Riz Ortolani - but the result is jaw-droppingly awful, so much so that I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard (for all the wrong reasons) during a film! The warriors of the title are man-hating (i.e. lesbian) Amazonian women who must go through the 'humiliation' of mating once a year with strong men (settling on a garrison of the Greek army, despite their well-known reputation as homosexuals) in order to bear females to continue their line!

It's well and good that the film doesn't take itself too seriously - as can be witnessed from the self-deprecating text which opens and closes the picture - but that doesn't excuse the sheer insanity of some of its concepts: the Amazonians being able to avoid an ambush or detect an intruder in their camp because one of them is allergic to males and has a sneezing fit whenever she senses their presence; the mating is preceded by a ritual of anti-male chanting that is supposed to 'insulate' the women in the call of their duty, thus making submission (even if temporary) to the opposite sex tolerable. Also worth mentioning are the Olympian challenges between the two armies (which the men invariably lose?!), not one but two all-nude wrestling matches - no doubt inspired by the notorious male equivalent which forms the centerpiece of Ken Russell's WOMEN IN LOVE (1969) - between the current Amazonian Queen and her jealous and scheming rival (belatedly revealed as her own sibling, but which doesn't prevent them from subsequently becoming lovers!!), the stupid mugging of a love-struck servant girl who drinks an aphrodisiac prepared for the Queen by the conspirators...not forgetting the ludicrous art direction (everything in the Amazonian court, including the Queen's throne and scepter, seems to be made in the shape of an axe for no apparent reason!), the incongruous costumes (from the much later Roman Empire era), or the battle scenes in which the fighting Amazonians are barely-concealed stuntmen in drag!!

Apparently, LE GUERRIERE DAL SENO NUDO (which literally translates to THE BARE-BREASTED WARRIORS but was known internationally as THE AMAZONS) was a rival production with the equally irresistible-sounding LE AMAZZONI - DONNE D' AMORE E DI GUERRA aka BATTLE OF THE AMAZONS (1973), directed by Al Bradley...er...Alfonso Brescia!

Was the above review useful to you?

Following amazons in a silly story

Author: tony_le_stephanois
26 May 2015

What can one expect of a film about raving amazons from 1973? I expected something really terrible but it wasn't at all as bad as I expected. The basic story of a competition between two female leaders is kind of silly, but it has not at all the campy weirdness one would expect with all these big breasted women doing naked oil wrestling, throwing javelin, riding on horses, sleeping together, fighting, et cetera.

There are even sincere dialogues, nice looking sets and mass fight scenes. It has the looks of an expensive film. The story line of Antiope finding affection of a man, and being troubled by it, is not very interesting, but believable in a sense, also thanks to the reasonable acting by Angelo Infanti. All other acting is not very good, but never the cringing kind of bad.

But how to watch this? It is not too bad to get the predicate 'camp'. It is not funny enough to be a comedy (only a slight bit, when women are torn between aversion and lust for men). And it is certainly not factual to be enjoyed as an historical drama, as many others already have pointed out.

And what about an erotic film? There are pretty women in it, often naked. But the characters themselves HARDLY seem to enjoy sexuality. They have to ENDURE it in order not to die out. Which was perhaps the whole joke of the film, I guess, but only director Terence Young could have told us that. I rate this 5/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

An immensely entertaining female warrior romp

8/10
Author: Woodyanders (Woodyanders@aol.com) from The Last New Jersey Drive-In on the Left
2 March 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Fiery Antiope (well played with admirable gusto by gorgeous blonde stunner Alena Johnston) becomes queen of a mighty tribe of formidable Amazon women and enforces a strict code to keep them strong. Bitter rival Oreitheia (a suitably fierce portrayal by lovely brunette Sabine Sun) tries to have Antiope dethroned. Further complications ensue when Antiope has to mate with charming and noble Greek king Theseus (an engaging performance by Angelo Infanti) and winds up falling in love with him. Director Terence Young relates this wild and melodramatic tale of savage conflict and inflammatory passions at a swift pace, stages the exciting battle sequences with considerable aplomb, and loads this flick with a pleasing plenitude of tasty bare distaff skin (the definite highlight occurs when Antiope and Oreitheia participate in a ferocious anything-goes catfight clad solely in their birthday suits!). Moreover, we also get a few vigorous rough'n'ready swordfights, a memorably steamy wrestling match between two delectable half-nude honeys, and even a little lesbianism to further spice up the already delicious cinematic brew. Of course, having such luscious ladies as Helga Line, Rosanna Yanni, Malisa Longo, and Luciana Paluzzi in sizable supporting roles doesn't hurt matters in the least. The expansive cinematography by Aldo Tonti and Alejandro Ulloa gives the picture an impressively massive sense of scope. Riz Ortolani's full-bore robust'n'rousing orchestral score likewise hits the stirring spot. A really fun flick.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful and outrage women.

10/10
Author: Henk Plomp (dvdplomp@msn.com) from Rotterdam (Netherlands, Europe)
8 November 2004

First: this movie is from 1973 and not 1974. The sequel is made in 1974 "Amazzoni - donne d'amore e di guerra, Le" and not in 1973. There is also an third movie, a comedy made in 1975.

The movie "Guerriere dal seno nudo, Le" have I seen in the cinema when I was 15 years old. At that time the movie was rated 18 years but lucky that I get in. Why this movie was rated 18 years have I never understood. You don't see any pornography or parts of human body in blood. But maybe the idea that the Amazon women must killed the men after they have mate. Also they killed the babies when it's a boy but you don't see anything.

It's now 30 years later that I've seen the movie but still it's in my mind. The beautiful women who fight in a training camp and battle against men. Never have I seen so professional women fighters as in this movie. They fight with sword and are dressed in a erotic war clothes. There a an lot of Latin look-a-like women in this movie and is a pleasant to see them. The sexual parts of the movie are not very great. You see some parts of nudity and that's it. Enough to see the movie with your children if you want to tell them how children became to this world.

The 2 sequels of this movie: The second is poor follow-up and have not satisfy me. It go about killing more men without any reasons. The third is great but have an another kind of genre. It's a comedy about an karate fighter and a large men who come in the area of the Amazon women. In a funny style they fight against the Amazon women. It have impressed me not very much. IF SOMEONE KNOW THE TITTLE OF THE THIRD MOVIE, PLEASE LET ME KNOW.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Highly erotic

10/10
Author: Billoux from France
5 August 2010

The storyline is rather stupid, with the silly anti-Women's Lib back ground (women can not do without men, see…). But the movie in its original full unrated version contains two or three of the most erotic soft core lesbian scenes ever. The women are strong but very good looking (this was shot before any silicon stuff came to pollute nudity). The camera work is of course excellent (director Terence Young). The first memorable scene consists of a topless oil wrestling fight to decide who the next queen will be. There is also a long savage nude fight with the same competitors which ends with cute kissing. This probably the only mainstream movie to picture women wrestling with a strong erotic overtone.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

"War Goddess" Depicts Realistic Amazon Warfare

10/10
Author: slaw5648 from United States
13 February 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"War Goddess", a 70's vintage sword-and-sandal movie that depicts life in a strong Amazon nation, is worth watching for two reasons. First, although it was remastered onto DVD from several VHS versions, it does a good job explaining how an Amazon becomes a warrior, how the nation was ruled, and, how the Amazon army fought.

Unlike other Amazon movies that portrayed women warriors as bimbos or inaccurately dressed with little fighting skills, "War Goddess" depicts women dressed as a warrior should be dressed, with the light leather armor of the time. And, you will be most impressed with the three battle scenes that show a high amount of training in horsemanship, throwing the javelin, and fencing with the short sword. Sadly, they aren't shown wielding the labrys and their shields are round and not half-moon. But, their bravery and ferociousness in battle are great examples of what a real Amazon of the Bronze Age would be like.

There is some gratuitous nudity which I didn't' care for, but overall, this movie was fantastic. You can rent or buy it from Netflix, Blockbusters, and Amazon.com.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Lousy especially from a directing point of view

1/10
Author: HEFILM from French Polynesia
3 December 2010

There is no sense of fun or logic or pacing to this "movie." The first half is pretty much as bad as they come, then Luciana Paluzzi shows up for about ten minutes then the rest is lousy again. Terence Young, Bob Simmons both did some of the best Bond films, Simmons being stunt man/coordinator. I hope they were off drinking and whoring around and aren't responsible for most of this movie because that's about the only explaining it. There is virtually no style to the film, barley even C grade film school work and F grade acting other than Paluzzi who does her own dubbing-but sadly keeps her clothes on. All the fight scenes are poorly done with people pretending to be impaled on spears and the ladies struggling under the weight of their own armor. Certainly women can be athletic but I guess none could be found to be in this movie. Humor? The fact that it's unfunny when it's supposed to be doesn't make it a success. It's just so shoddy. Composer Riz Ortalani at least doesn't shame himself and turns in a fun main theme and a few other good tunes, but his music is choppily edited. There is a fair amount of mostly brief nudity but most of it is shot from far away with no erotic or exploitation generated--it's like they didn't' even care about showing off the nudity. Best scene is a naked fight during a thunder storm which has a bit of style and exploitation, almost nothing else in the movie works. It's inept, though the sets and number of extras are large what they do with them is poor. 2 decent glass matte paintings. The DVD from world class bad filmmaker Fred Ray is full frame scratched up choppy and froze in my DVD player when I desperately tried to fast forward to the next badly staged battle scene or through the horribly acted non funny talk scenes that outnumber battle and gratuitous nude scenes--this print is missing the opening "joke" titles other reviews refer to. It's just about totally worthless. Lead non actress has large natural breasts and no ability to carry a scene let alone a whole movie, lead dark haired villainess has large fake ones. A few dolly shots, very few,are the only attempts to direct a scene and again the cast of women can't act and can't fight and the nude scenes are usually shot so blandly--there is just virtually no reason to watch it. Shockingly it's listed as Terence Young's (fill in the blank for the title as there are several to choose from) perhaps the producers insisted on using this credit or for some reason Young actually wanted to possess this film in that way. Wow, hard to believe he ever did anything worthwhile from seeing this, it's almost beyond understanding--other than perhaps whatever big parties the cast and crew may have enjoyed and their pay checks--too bad they kept all that fun to themselves. I'd really like to know what they were thinking, or perhaps they were hoping the movie would go unseen, Sad sad. Young has made other bad films but rarely one so inept and clunky.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history