IMDb > "The West Wing" (1999) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"The West Wing"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"The West Wing" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 22: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 216 reviews in total 

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

I love it.

10/10
Author: jhsteel from London, England
15 April 2005

I am a very late convert to this wonderful show, but now hooked, I am determined to see all the episodes. Who could have believed that a show about US politics could be so funny, perceptive, entertaining, moving, thought-provoking, addictive, all at once? I love almost all the characters, for various different reasons, and this is certainly an ideal administration, rather than anything like reality as we know it. A contributor said there wasn't an equivalent in British TV - may I respectfully mention the late great Yes Minister/Yes Prime Minister? Although a pure comedy, the characters of Sir Humphrey and the PM were so wonderful, dialogue so clever, political points so well put, that it's a close second (and oh so British too). The West Wing works beautifully as a comedy, but has so much more as well.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Let the viewers vote

Author: dan-vervynck from Canada
13 April 2005

I live in Canada and the politics and the politicians here are quite boring. My wife and I have watched "The West Wing" since day 1 and enjoy it very much. We also follow American politics more so than we do our own. The race for the next President on the show is very exciting. We feel the writers should set up the series so that the VIEWERS can vote for the next President. "The White House belongs to the people and their voice should always be heard and represented"! The writers are talented enough that they could have more than one outcome in place to comply with the viewers choice. Another popular program has it's fans vote for their "American Idol" and they make money in doing so. Why not do the same sort of thing for the future President of "The West Wing"? Their are many loyal fans of the show who am I sure would get involved and this could make the upcoming fall season even more anticipating than it already is. Thanks for giving me an opportunity to give you my suggestion.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Keep this show around, we need more

10/10
Author: doctor_selar (doctor_selar@hotmail.com) from United States
9 April 2005

When I heard that Aaron Sorkin was leaving I didn't think the show could last, but this was the best season yet. Alan Alda and Jimmy Smits are both incredible. If real politicians could be as compelling as these two men, the apathy so many of us feel towards the political process might begin to fade. Unfortunately I see the future of politics continuing down the path of divisiveness and polarization that has become the American Way. At least on Television we can see a country that has statesmen willing to serve the entire public, instead of talking heads serving special interest groups. I hope that NBC will keep this wonderful show on for at least one more administration.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

West Wings fate

Author: chrisrtait from United States
28 January 2005

West Wing's introduction of Jimmy Smits is wonderful. He brings fun to the show and all the intrigue of a minority candidate. It is the wish and hope of all America that makes this show even more watchable. Every hater of the show should be ashamed. It helps all of America decide on issues as it brings them into the forefront of our mind every week. What an inspiration? I am a republican but I still love it!!! How can you argue with a show that tackles tough issues on both sides. From gun control to the death penalty. The West Wing is provocative because it deals with what if's. It doesn't go easily and is done with a movie style feel. It doesn't spare expense and goes all out to appease its hungry following. This show is important for our society.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

TV at its best

Author: Donal Cullen from Brantford, Canada
8 January 2005

We have been watching "The West Wing" on DVD as each season comes out and it is one of those shows that show what really can be done on TV. We are currently on season three and it just gets better and better. The writing is extraordinary and the acting superb. I read that Warner Brothers have invested a lot of money in this show even though the audience figures have not justified this outlay. Well done Warner Brothers! As with all shows there are some faults (notably the parts played by Moyia Kelly (dropped after the first series) and the particularly annoying Annsley Hayes but other then that a superb piece of TV. I read somewhere that Sorkin left the series after a dispute so I am fearing the worst for the future seasons. Am I right to be worried?

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

One of the Finer Pieces of Television

Author: gigasloth from Canada
20 September 2004

I'm sorry but I had to bump the other guy off the screen.

Look the West Wing is a solid show. It is humorous (what other show has character's accidentally sleeping with call girls and presidents riding their bikes into tree?), very dramatic and well acted (Season 2 finale will make you cry) and chock full of action (Season 1 finale...).

I've talked to Republicans who love this show simply because it realisticly portrays government. Look at the goofs and trivia: sugar packets and limo doors. Barely a mention of something they get wrong concerning the working of the government.

This show will get you excited about politics, or at the very least television. Say whatcha want about Season 4+, I'm eagerly waiting for the next to air on CBS.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

"Mal Karma" couldn't be more wrong

Author: esolochek from Wisconsin
1 August 2004

The West Wing does not always show the Presidency in a good light...take any of the show plots from the President lying to the American people about his M.S., and the moral struggle of the state-sponsored assassination of a known-terrorist, and the Vice-President having an affair, not to mention his alcoholism, and the President wrestling with whether or not to call off a federal execution and on and on and on...what the show does do is show this particular President, not the government or the office as a whole, as one who always strives to do well...he makes mistakes, wrestles with moral uncertainties, learns from them and moves on. Furthermore, I can assure you that I am not some fanatical Yankee...i think "prehistorical ape" is too good for GW. Also, the West Wing is NOT a show for fanatical GW supporters. The show is far too liberal, and at times, blatantly anti-conservative (one of the finer points of the show if i do say so). I don't think anything, not even if Jed Bartlett were the real president, could make the US look good right now. However, the dialog is very fast paced, very intelligent and jargon-filled.

The humor is dry and quick-witted, and, moreover, brilliant. If you are trying to watch the show through a translation, I can certainly see getting lost very easily. But, in English, The West Wing is the funniest, most intense, smartest, and more perfectly written show on TV.

I don't know what role John Wells has in the show, if any...but Aaron Sorkin created the West Wing, not to mention Sports Night, and both shows are absolutely perfect.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Amazing

Author: jeanewins from Tacoma, WA
21 May 2004

To the person who had negative comments about West Wing. Yes, the show is fast. This means that most of us can drink a soda, make a comment, and still understand what is happening. Apparently this is a little difficult for you, so may I suggest you cut back on the comments so that you can follow.

I am curious if you have watched the show where they had previous Presidents comment on the show and how it compared to their job. They agreed that the show very much followed how their life was in the White House.

The show takes on real issues. The reality of the show is what brings many people back. Not so much in the situations, but in the little quick facts that Martin Sheen and others bring up.

now go watch "Jackass" the movie. Probably more your speed since there is practically no dialog, and it's quite real.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

I joined the party late but I'm here to stay!

Author: martysgirl1 from Scotland, UK
15 February 2004

I seen my first WW episode April last year and even though I didn't get much of it (or the rest of that season for that matter) I was immediately drawn to it. So I continued to watch season 3 then season 4 arrived and that was when I became hooked. There is no writer better than Sorkin, no ensemble better than this one and no show better than the The West Wing.

It's amazing in every aspect. I have no seen all of season 1 and 2 and those seasons showcase someone of the best TV ever. In the Shadow of Two Gunmen, Two Cathedrals, Noel and In Excelsis Deo to name a few. The writing is funny and dramatic, the acting is always great and the directing is amazing.

I don't know how many compliments there for this show. There a few glitches in continuity a few times but it doesn't bother me because it's just a fun show.

My favorite show on television and on that's very hard to beat. I give you, The West Wing.

10/10!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent

Author: Joe (joeb311@hotmail.com) from Anaheim, CA
30 September 2003

Did I mention I think this show is excellent? I am, unfortunately, a late bloomer with regard to being a Winger. However, thanks to the Bravo channel airing the show's previous four seasons, I have been able to catch up with what's been going on in Aaron Sorkin's White House.

Yes, the show is extremely fast paced. I suggest you do what I do and tape the show while you are watching it. Then, you can play it back once or twice so that you catch the one-liners that snuck by the first time.

It's not a show for everyone. Some may find the quick lines and fast paced action too frustrating to watch. I think this is one of those shows that you either hate or you love. I don't see any middle ground here. But, you owe it to yourself to give it a try. Trust me, it's not all about boring politics. There are enough non-political plots to keep your interest.

So far, my favorite episode has been one that takes place at Christmas time (I believe it's from the first season). Toby pulls some strings to provide a military funeral with an honor guard for a Korean War Vet who is found deceased in a DC park. The final scene mixes footage from a White House celebration with a children's choir in attendance singing `Little Drummer Boy' with footage from the military funeral Toby arranged and attends at Arlington Cemetery. If this scene doesn't bring tears to your eyes, I suggest you contact the people from `Guinness' as you are somehow surviving life while having no heart.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 22: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history