No photo available. Represent Thomas Narcejac? Add or change photos at IMDbPro
Down 11,157 this week

Thomas Narcejac (1908–1998)

Thomas Narcejac was born on July 3, 1908 in Rochefort, Charente-Maritime, France. He was a writer, known for Vertigo (1958), Diabolique (1955) and Eyes Without a Face (1960). He died on June 9, 1998 in Nice, Alpes-Maritimes, France. See full bio »

Hollywood Romances: Our Favorite LGBTQIA+ Couples

Check out some of our favorite LGBTQIA+ couples in Hollywood.

See the gallery

Fall TV Guide: The Best Shows Coming This Year

IMDb's guide to the most anticipated new and returning TV shows coming this fall.

See the full list

Related News

These Stars Are on the Rise

These stars are on the rise. How many have you seen?

See the gallery

On Prime Video

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 51 people
created 15 Sep 2018
a list of 51 people
created 23 Jun 2015
list image
a list of 9 people
created 05 Jan 2011
a list of 62 people
created 29 Jan 2014
a list of 74 people
created 25 Nov 2011

Do you have a demo reel?

Add it to your IMDb page

How Much Have You Seen?

How much of Thomas Narcejac's work have you seen?

User Polls

Known For

Vertigo Writer
Diabolique Writer
Diabolique Writer


Jump to: Writer | Self
Hide Hide Show Show Writer (59 credits)
 2012 La main passe (TV Movie) (novel)
 2012 Bad Seeds (novel L'âge bête)
 2011 The Perfect Stranger (TV Movie) (novel)
 2010 Les amants naufragés (TV Movie) (novel)
 2005 Cerná karta (TV Movie) (novel Carte vermeil)
 1996 The Victims (novel - as Boileau-Narcejac)
 1996 Diabolique (novel "Celle Qui N'Etait Plus")
 1995 La présence des ombres (novel "D'entre les morts")
 1994 Meurtre en musique (novel "A coeur perdu")
 1993 Volchitsy (novel "Les Louves")
 1993 House of Secrets (TV Movie) (book "Celle Qui N'Était Plus")
 1993 Entangled (novel "Les Veufs")
 1991 Krug obrechyonnykh (novel)
 1991 Body Parts (novel "Choice Cuts")
 1991 La grande collection (TV Series) (novel "Celle qui n'était plus" - 1 episode)
- Les démoniaques (1991) ... (novel "Celle qui n'était plus")
 1990 Das Geheimnis des gelben Geparden (TV Movie) (novel)
 1990 Tote leben nicht allein (TV Movie) (novel La Tenaille)
  V comme vengeance (TV Series) (adaptation - 1 episode, 1990) (writer - 1 episode, 1990)
- Champ clos (1990) ... (adaptation) / (writer)
 1990 La mort a dit peut-être (TV Movie) (novel)
 1990 Six crimes sans assassins (TV Movie) (novel)
 1989 La vie en miettes (TV Movie) (novel La Vie en miettes)
 1989 L'ingénieur aimait trop les chiffres (TV Movie) (novel)
 1987 V klestích (TV Movie) (novel)
 1986 Rückfahrt in den Tod (TV Movie) (novel "Terminus")
 1985 Letters to an Unknown Lover (TV Movie) (novel "Les Louves")
 1984 Gesichter des Schattens (TV Movie) (novel "Les visages de l'ombre")
 1982 45 kaiten no satsujin (TV Movie) (novel)
 1981 Histoires de voyous (TV Series) (novel - 1 episode)
- Opération Primevère (1981) ... (novel)
 1981 Carte Vermeil (TV Movie) (novel)
 1981 Les panthères (TV Movie) (short story)
 1981 Leiche auf Urlaub (TV Movie) (novel)
 1980 L'âge bête (TV Movie) (novel L'âge bête)
 1978 Ztrácím te, lásko (TV Movie) (novel "A coeur perdu")
 1975 La porte du large (TV Movie) (novel)
 1975 Au bois dormant (TV Movie) (short story)
 1975 Jo Gaillard (TV Series) (writer - 1 episode)
- La peur (1975) ... (writer)
 1974 Reflections of Murder (TV Movie) (novel "Celle qui n'était plus")
 1973 Témoignages (TV Series) (1 episode)
- Le suicidé (1973)
 1969 Misdeal (novel)
  Malican père et fils (TV Series) (writer - 3 episodes, 1967) (adaptation - 3 episodes, 1967)
- La rançon (1967) ... (writer)
- Le petit jardin (1967) ... (adaptation)
- Les trois voyages (1967) ... (adaptation)
- Mise en scène (1967) ... (writer)
- Escroquerie (1967) ... (adaptation)
 1965-1966 Le train bleu s'arrête 13 fois (TV Series) (novel - 13 episodes)
- Menton: Le fugitif (1966) ... (novel)
- Monaco: non-lieu (1966) ... (novel)
- Monte-Carlo: Un mari dangereux (1966) ... (novel)
- Beaulieu: le piège (1966) ... (novel)
- Nice: Cabine 2 (1966) ... (novel)
 1965 Théâtre d'une heure (TV Series) (novel "Les Louves" - 1 episode)
- Trois femmes, un homme (1965) ... (novel "Les Louves")
 1965 Les survivants (TV Series)
 1962 Crime Does Not Pay (segment "The Fenayrou Case")
 1962 Where the Truth Lies (novel - as Narcejac)
 1961 Spotlight on a Murderer (adaptation - as Boileau-Narcejac) / (dialogue - as Boileau-Narcejac) / (original scenario - as Boileau-Narcejac)
 1960 Faces in the Dark (novel "Les Visages De L'Ombre")
 1960 Double Deception (novel - as Narcejac)
 1960 Meurtre en 45 tours (novel "A coeur perdu")
 1960 Eyes Without a Face (adaptation - as Boileau-Narcejac)
 1959 Un témoin dans la ville (novel)
 1959 Douze heures d'horloge (writer)
 1959 Meurtre au ralenti (TV Movie) (story)
  Armchair Theatre (TV Series) (play - 1 episode, 1958) (novel - 1 episode, 1958)
- Murder in Slow Motion (1958) ... (play)
- The Web of Lace (1958) ... (novel)
 1958 Vertigo (based on the novel "D'Entre Les Morts" by)
 1957 Demoniac (novel 'Les louves', 1955) / (screenplay)
 1955 Diabolique (novel "Celle qui n'était plus" - as Narcejac)
Show Show Self (7 credits)

Personal Details

Other Works:

Novel: "D'Entre Les Morts" (filmed as Vertigo (1958)) See more »

Alternate Names:

Boileau-Narcejac | Narcejac

Did You Know?


French mystery novelist, often in partnership with Pierre Boileau. A student in literature and philosophy at the Sorbonne, he was a teacher before commencing his writing career in 1951. A specialist in macabre, intricately plotted suspense stories, much of his work has been adapted by such noted directors as Alfred Hitchcock and Henri-Georges Clouzot.

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed