Flavorful Origins (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
28 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
MASTERPIECE
eli-bermudez14 February 2019
This series is a visual feast. Episodes are only 10 minutes long, but I keep going back to rewatch almost every scene. Can´t recommend this enough. Love it.
14 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent docuseries about the foods in Chaoshan region.
kontrabassist-8597921 February 2019
The visuals are beautiful. The English voiceover is probably what people are annoyed by---it really isn't good, but really, when are these voiceovers ever good? Watch it in the original Chinese and it is great. The subtitles are accurate! I'm learning so much in this docuseries!
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful artistic details
lechau-0264021 February 2019
Great stories are being told one morsel at a time. Each episode is only 13 minutes and they are artistically very well done. I love the close up and slow motion shots of food. It's very interesting to see the layers of food we eat. How it looked close up. How it's being prepared. Usually, you just eat and takes it for granted. You don't really think or see how much craftsmanship is being put into a simple ingredient such as fish sauce. This show gives me a whole new perspective on the food I eat daily. It's a great show and I can't wait for more!
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing show on the beauty of Chaoshan cuisine (Recommended to watch the original narration)
kongchenhwa17 February 2019
I presume the voiceover in English is bad as what the other reviews have said. But the original narration (Mandarin) is amazing, the Chinese choice of descriptive wordings coupled with the amazing way of filming entice me even when I'm full! Chaoshan is the next destination to visit!
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Interesting and informative
robertspear-290125 July 2019
I just hope that Netflix creates another season in another region.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
If you like a bite of china you will like this
pauldesilets5 May 2019
Great documentary that focuses only in the food and not the people, something that a Bite of China has failed at in the past two seasons.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just amazing
flowheavenly20 December 2019
Filmed in an elegant way, this is a feast for the eyes! Recommended for foragers, chefs and herbalists. As an instructor of Chinese herbal medicine, I 'll even recommend this to my students. It is a cultural treasure. Watched it with subtitles (no voice over).
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Slow it down!
tiaspikes17 February 2019
Beautiful cinametogrphy and great content. I wish each episode was longer so they can take their time with showing the people and food in the areas. Each scene feels rushed. Great concept for good show by Netflix.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yummy and great tv
kjetil197924 November 2019
In every episode they highlight a new ingridience, how they harvest it and how to prepeare it. Also you get to know more about chinese culture, especialy the area they are showing. Since the chinese cousines are differerent from each other there will hopefully be many more seasons. Im hooked.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Love this show
esswood10 September 2019
This show is not only visually stunning, but the depth of understanding you will gain is up there with a culinary education course. I cook with a lot of these ingredients, and it was really interesting to learn about them in a more in-depth format. I love watching this before bed, since it's actually pretty soothing and relaxing to watch.

The only improvements would be the voice over, and making the episodes longer.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Same sound effects for every food
fitlife-8754119 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This show would be much better if the sound effects for everything wasn't a slurping goopy sloshy sticky wet noise. Mixing soup? goop noise. Sprinking salt? goop noise. Grinding tea leaves? goop noise. Tearing dried radish apart? goop noise. Lifting a spoon very slowly out of a soup? raining goop noise. It gets re used over and over and over again. Hire a new sound guy for season 2 if you make one.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not At All What You Expect From Netflix's Hype Blurb
tesswysko17 March 2021
Based upon the title, the exotic looking food in the provided photo, AND the blurb on Netflix, one is led to assume that this would be a show where each episode they would go to a different location around the globe, to scope out the bizarre and interesting street fare that is known to the region. This however is NOT the case, not even close! Each episode is more of a human interest documentary, where they bring in 2-3 people, usually elderly who've been doing it for decades, first episode one woman had even won a Michelin star, and have open air restaurants, NOT just like street corner/farmers market style booths, and tell their LIFE STORIES!!! So, the food isn't exactly street corner food like it's presented, and the stories are only about 10% about the food, none of which I saw was exotic by the time I gave up because I wanted to see a show about street food, NOT human interest stories, this stinks of entrapment Netflix!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful! Magnificent!
pamelatakeshige14 December 2020
I have enjoyed every single program that I have watched and if I can I want to try every single dish! I am always happy to watch a new episode!!! This is such an amazing series. I hope it continues on for several more years! The photography is beautiful and the information is so on point. China certainly does have a wide range of wonderful ingredients and wonderful dishes in these different areas.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure representation
emelie-jutterstedt24 November 2020
What I love about this documentary is that it's straight on and truly authentic. I found myself waiting for the narrator to explain the taste and texture of the food by comparing to something I recognize (like the western/eurocentric person is use to...!) Then I realized that's the whole point - real representation of the cuisine and it's origin. And people, skip the English voice over! For some reason though, the female voice isn't subtitled!?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Visually enticing
pamelatakeshige23 November 2020
This is an amazing show about the food culture in China. I don't understand Chinese so I'm listening to the English. It is so well filmed and so interesting! I want to try every dish that is mentioned and I want to get all the ingredients that are talked about, that is just how interesting this series is.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
IT MAKES YOU HUNGRY AND LEARN FOOD ORIGINS
alijajarnstal22 November 2020
It has a amazing videography with very new and unheard origin stories. If you want to just lie down in the sofa and watch something calm then it is the show for ya.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Culturally informative, visually sumptuous, narration hatred overblown
charly-4711 April 2020
The first impression is the striking photography, skillfully employing panoramas and aerial drone views, to meticulous unhurried close-ups. Then the food itself, starting with basic ingredients through preparation to final consumption. The stories entwine these settings and foodstuffs with people and their histories, equally fascinating and revealing. Finally, I don't share the dislike of the narration -- about which some comments here border on revulsion. It is fine to my ears. As an English-only speaker and reader, I cannot compare the translation to the original.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I adore this show 100%
hashimoto321426 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Beautiful settings, real people, delicious food what's not to love about everything?! Its a beautiful show and I hope they do many more episodes in many different locations. I'm so pleased to have found something so beautiful both in culture and cinematography!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Poor Narrating
sitruc199717 February 2019
Visuals are enjoyable to see, but the narration is poorly done and makes the show hard to watch.
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A short documentary
tuantranquoc18 April 2021
Not bad but not good yet ;) It's short enough and the colour-themes are good :)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Informative, but be warned of the squelching.
japanese_isle4 December 2020
This shows pretty fun. Every episode you learn about different cooking techniques of the same ingredient in different cities within a state/county?/region of China. Knowing about the technicals about why it works is honestly fascinating. However.

While the show is a bit over produced. (ok, over produced is an understatement). And the narrator is trying to do a movie trailer announcer voice the entire time. My issue comes in with the sound design, another review has mentioned it but every. single. food. makes a squelching gloppy slime asmr noise. Potato, soup, meat, water, noodles, frying or boiling. Kneading or grinding. It made me want to tear my ears off. I mean, still watched, its a very fascinating show but Im sorry to say that as interesting as it was I got grossed out by a lot of the food. So if you are sensitive to that kind of thing. Be warned.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Added info to previous review
emelie-jutterstedt24 November 2020
... the female voice was the visual interpretation which obviously shouldn't be subtitled lol. My bad.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Terrible voice over / dubbing job
damian500013 February 2019
Boring, drab, 3rd rate voice over. Couldn't even get past 3 minutes before turning it off. If Netflix had dubbed this as they dub their other foreign series it might have been worth watching.
6 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Terrible voiceover!
smariedoucet15 February 2019
Content was great but horrendous voiceover work! Drap and poorly put together sentences
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
English Translation/VO Horrible
play_burnman17 February 2019
I wanted to enjoy it, it's certainly pretty, but the voice over brings the whole thing down, couldn't even finish the first ep. It's poorly translated/written and delivered.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed