Dreamcatcher (2021) Poster

(2021)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
I'm cancelling Hulu for recommending this
stevefrank829 July 2021
I don't know what bothers me more: that I actually spent an entire hour (how long I was able to get thru the movie) or that Hulu had the gal to have this movie showcased in my recommendations.

I rarely give 1 star reviews. This may be my 3rd (out of a few dozen) one. But it deserves it. Actually, it doesn't. It doesn't deserve the one star. It owes ME stars!

Please don't watch this. I won't waste any time taking about the plot, or the acting, or the cinematography, or the directing, or the sound effects. It was awful. All of it. Not one redeeming quality.

Again, take my advice and pass on this one.
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Sexy people do stupid stuff, then die...
faolanredwolf22 March 2021
This is an odd movie. The cast is clearly trying their best, some are better than others. The cast is over all a mixed bag talent wise but nobody is awful. That said, nobody acts like real people or talks like humans. Overall it seems like the makes of this movie don't understand how anything functions or how things work in general. It's like the movie was made by aliens with only a basic understanding of the world. The movies a bit slow and not in a good way, I'd give this one a miss it I were you. There are better slasher movies out there and they have dumb hot people in them too.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring!
ScottBaoio10 March 2021
Really boring. Bad script and directing. I wish I could have gotten my time back! Nothing in the movie is good so I honestly just skip it
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I really tried to like it
giannahreeves23 July 2021
This is the first review I have ever written, but I just need to warn people. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME. My mom and I watched for almost an hour in complete confusion, waiting for something to happen that would make it all make sense, but that didn't happen. It wasn't scary, there was no plot, the acting was mediocre at best, and overall, it was just incredibly boring. You know how some horror movies are so bad they're entertaining, well this isn't one of those. It's so bad that it's intolerable. The underground music festival atmosphere had so much potential, and it was almost a crime to see it butchered this badly. In conclusion, seriously don't waste your time, I'm genuinely angry that I did.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Confusing, weird, and a complete waste of my time
jeb-8883412 July 2021
The first 15 minutes of this movie are fairly typical of a low-budget horror film. They introduce the main characters, add some family drama, a bit of peer pressure, and the character who is secretly crushing on his best friend. Fast forward to when the main characters get to the nightclub and it all goes downhill. Each minute that passed, I just became more and more confused. Aside from the plot making no sense, the characters are not realistic in the slightest. Don't watch this movie!!!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Dreamcatcher
JoBloTheMovieCritic9 July 2021
3/10 - weak acting and storytelling made this a complete and utter waste of a really cool setting for a slasher and left me hopeful that another (better) slasher will come along and take advantage of the underground music festival setting as its killer's playground.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sleeping pill
ounicobob3 June 2021
Senseless movie The idea must be good at is birth, but that's all. The realization of the movie is nothing less than awful!

Some characters just appear from nowhere, changing the plot, the male characters are all standard model and all of sudden someone new appear and you don't even notice, Brewster the irrelevance is so big that you think it's the same last boring character Not recommended at all Best watch Sharknado, more funny.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
2 HOURS I CAN NEVER GET BACK BUT MAYBE YOU CAN
paintingstars-260682 July 2021
I created an account simply to give people the warning I wish I had for this movie DO NOT WATCH AND DO NOT BUY.

I've always been a fan of horror and this one is a complete and utter miss if you ask me. The acting is quite alien and forced, the characters actions frustratingly stupid and illogical at times and the characters themselves are all incredibly boring at best and hatable at worst. Now In some horror this works in the viewers favour because the movie is made more enjoyable counting the minutes for their brutal deaths, but there's hardly any killing, when it does happen it's unexciting and most of the movie is spent with the directors trying to be artistic in ways that just make you want them to get on with it or skip ahead. Which I admit I did. I tried to give it a go since my family had paid money to watch it, but halfway through I started to skip to get on to the plot and the promised horror. However even when the killing happened, and the big twist I was left unsatisfied and wishing I had given up earlier on the movie if it was just going to be this bland anyway.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bargain Basement Version of "Scream"
crankyasianman2 August 2021
Why did some studio greenlight this bargain basement inferior version of "Scream "? Watch "Scream" instead. Avoid this crap.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Yawn Central!
chazzatl7329 July 2021
This movie began with bad acting and it continues with bad acting. You can easily predict the killer and the plan from the get go! This is not scary and is not entertaining!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pretty sure I'm done with Hulu after watching this trash.
elchaerjamal1 October 2021
Boring, predictable, waste of time. Doesn't make any sense and the story is lacking heavily. I wouldn't waste your time. And Hulu should know better then to recommend this 2.0/10. Best thing about it, is the title of the movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
yeah the reviews didn't lie about this one
johnsmithjanuary-2008121 September 2021
Atrociously horrorable flick. Yeah you see what I did there. A ten year old child could of come up with a better dialogue and script. You won't make it 7 1/2 minutes into this one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't Get Baited by the Mask...
hellodon22 August 2021
I watched Dreamcatcher tonight on a different app, one that gives a brief description and shows what I thought was the IMDb score...but I was wrong. It said 6.0 and right now this has a 2.6. I should have come here first like I usually do.

Directly after watching this, I was browsing my stuff on Hulu trying to find something good to watch after this monstrosity, and there I ran into this movie again - and forgot I had started watching it there months earlier and turned it off a little passed half way (where it is still paused)...which I usually don't do no matter how bad a flick is. I'll typically see it through...but I gave up on this one previously before seeing it all tonight. I had apparently blocked that memory? I've watched some really bad horror stuff...when you pick a bad random horror movie and just let "tubi" auto-play from there, you're sure to see some crappy movies. Some with charm, some just bad.

Dreamcatcher was a special kind of bad, though. It barely told a story that could be followed. I initially rewound the first 25 minutes after the "agent" and the group of people were talking because I truly had no idea what the conversation was about. She was offering to pay them for what was either a bribe to shut up, or to work at a party the next day. I still don't know.

The electronic music barely ever stops once it starts and that was just brutal. I understand the movie is at a music fest but it was just way too present. I had to set tv audio to an enhanced volume option for speech and turned on closed captioning.

At this point it's pretty clear I was dialed in to this movie. I gave it an honest shot this time and watched the whole movie...I have spent way too much time trying with Dreamcatcher. I felt the need to at least let others know...but it looks like everyone else here has done the same and tried to warn others. I regret not looking here first and will learn from that mistake.

One of the other reviews here talks about being annoyed with one of the characters saying "magma cum LAWD" and pronouncing "laude" wrong and basically calling the actress stupid for "never hearing that before". Yet this reviewer said "MAGMA" instead of "magna"...which made me laugh. Complaining about someone else then making just as dumb of an error when trying to flex their own intelligence. That was more entertaining than the movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Trash movie
qxvkjq4 August 2021
This movie is boring , and has no pay off. I hope the writers,producers, and directors involved have learned from what is most likely the worst work of their career.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
G-A-R-B-A-G-E !!!
johnharapa5 July 2021
This film tries to be something it's not - a movie!

This is like a slow moving train wreck.

UTTER GARBAGE - DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY !!!!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Why
syphgyh13 July 2021
The thing that annoyed me the most, besides the horrible acting and script was that one of the girls said "magma cum LAWD" instead of pronouncing it the correct way "laude" (law-dy). Obviously the actress has never heard that term or was never magna cum laude. Or just dumb. Where did they find these people??
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If you are obsessed with horror films,,,THIS IS A MUST SEE!
kayteeseabury13 March 2021
You will fall in love with the cast, music and there are many plot twists that will keep you on the edge of your seat.
1 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
horribe!
samanmamadi22 September 2021
I can't believe I wasted my time watching this! Everything about this movie is horrible. A complete waste of time!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed