Muse (2019) Poster

(IV) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
I had it all
nogodnomasters17 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Harry Newman (Jeffrey Charles Richards) write crime murder mysteries. He is rather scruffy wearing wife-beater shirts. When his daughter dies suddenly, Harry goes to his country home to write his memoirs. He meets Eloise (Emily Price) who reminds him of his daughter Ethel. Harry has some reality issues.

I liked the Stephen King isolated writer story more. If watching Emily Price do head turns a few dozen times is your idea of entertainment, by all means, this film is for you.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Another boring movie.
deloudelouvain21 June 2019
I'm always wondering why people make such boring movies. It's just a waste of time and money. Nobody will care about this movie after watching it, unless you're related to somebody that has something to do with this movie, and even then I'm not sure. It's slow, boring and alot just make no sense at all. I had difficulties staying awake if I have to be honest. And it's not the couple good shots that will make me change my mind. The acting wasn't always great either, not terrible but not great either. Don't waste your time with Muse, that by the way should not be categorized in the horror genre.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The nine and ten star reviews are all accounts created and used solely to upvote this film. Legit reviews average 1.5 stars
random-707788 December 2019
This film is awful amateurish and cringeworthy. It is a labor to sit through.

That people associated with it or in it felt the need to come here and shill reviews tells you how bad it is.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring as...
contactmaz9 June 2019
A boring film that moves at such a slow pace, you could watch one bit, go and make a coffee, then come back and missed very little. Acting is awful, and where the hell did they get these so-called 'actors' from? They have no idea how to act, no emotion or energy in delivering, that it was shocking! How can directors waste their time being involved in such poor projects and how can people waste money producing such a pathetic attempt of a film? Oh right, producers and actors are probably still in film school (first year), and cost-wise, not much. If they spent more time concentrating on proper acting and script-writing than on film shots and music, maybe, just maybe, I'd give it a 2.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
stylish nothing
msalkin-4667722 March 2019
All the gorgeous classical music and director's shots can't save this turkey. The denouement shouldn't surprise anyone with a modicum of knowledge of well-worn script plots. Filming in the pitch dark (Harry could afford a chateau in France but not the electricity?) didn't provide an air of foreboding as much as it frustrated this viewer who had to squint to see what was going on: at most time, stylish nothing.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why can't directors just make endings to movies anymore that make sense?
markneil-3544827 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
SEMI SPOILER ALERT!

Complete and utter waste of time because of the ending.

Director leaves you with 3 endings, depending on which one of the fantasy/dreams/hallucinations is real. Too afraid to make a SINCERE ending, they make believe they are giving you something "intellectual" to think about and all they give is garbage.

Pass on this one. You'll thank me.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Extended film student short
deadpoetlive26 April 2019
When you are the director, writer, editor, producer and cinematogapher and only show promise in one of these fields maybe it is time to focus your abilities in a single direction. Overpowering and displaced music at the beginning before any empathy was gained towards the protagonist was irritating. Mostly poor acting, though the lead did not do terribly with what he was given. Sometimes an atmospheric mood was reached only to be constantly undermined by over indulgence in 'some' good cinematography and over repetition. Confused writing yet predictable 'twist'. For a proper study in grief try 'Three colours blue'. Annoyingly at least 4 of the current eight reviews are almost certainly linked with the film (only review and joined at same time) otherwise I may have marked it higher for some of the beautiful (if randomly edited) shots.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Psychological thriller about grief
jhawk-9805625 March 2019
This stunning film was sadly categorized as a horror film--it is not. It is a psychological thriller about the depths of grief. As someone who has known the depths of grief, this film took me to my core. It does not follow the typical American plot scheme or resolution but is a European film that lingers as a beautiful poem that haunts or as a mirror that reveals what others cannot see. Rich performances are complemented by photography that blurs reality as grief does, Worth watching.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a wonderful movie
francterr29 March 2019
This is one the best movie I have watched lately! Really nice story and fantastic actors!!! 10 out of 10!!!
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful movie
duff_man-7699329 March 2019
Excellent plot, fantastic staff. Much recomended. The story is heartbreaking and really well performed by all the actors.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really nice movie!!!
nicolagigliotti-9089929 March 2019
Hey guys this movie is really good! Watch it! I really appreciate the plot and the quality of actors! Spot on!!!!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Deeply emotional thriller
autumn-gold21 April 2019
Heartbreaking psychological thriller. Emily Price is breathtakingly beautiful as Ethel/Eloise. Jeffrey Charles Richards portrayed a doting father, broken by grief..
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful lead actor, terrible light
majormusiclover6 May 2019
Enjoyed the movie, very suspenseful and kept me on the edge of my seat. This is one of those movies that you think about days after! The only thing that distracted me from enjoying the movie was that some of the scenes were to dark to see things clearly on a computer monitor. But the gorgeous locations in other scenes make up for that problem. Kudos to the lead actor Mr. Richards who made me feel all the feels. He took that character and let me feel what it would be like in his shoes. Fantastic job Mr Richards and I hope to see him in other movies
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Subtle Intrigue
ccandruby21 April 2019
The combination of leads Jeffrey Charles Richards and Emily Price makes for a sustainable intrigue threading throughout the film. With minimal cast, the story slowly unfolds revealing great pain endured by Harry, portrayed beautifully by Richards. Silent in dialogue, an array of musical choices enhances a build up of emotion as Richards reveals true anguish, line for line, in a seasoned face of despair. Watts-Joyce is a refreshing face lighting up scenes with her beauty and delivery. Complete opposites in scenes together, Price unknowingly pulls at heart-strings as Richards' character labors between past and reality. Richards delivers one scene after another with fluidity in natural dialogue creating an effortless match with Price, both actors believable and true on film.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed