Altered Carbon: Resleeved (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
28 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Kovac Gets Around
keikoyoshikawa19 March 2020
Season 1 of Netflix's Altered Carbon was good. Season 2 not so much. This stand-alone anime is set in between the two seasons. I'm happy to have more of Takeshi Kovac, but this animation is just so-so.

Good: Very nice CG animation. It's well-done and beautiful to look at. The actions are somewhat average, however, in terms of excitement or originality.

Bad: Cliche story. A bit boring. Half way through I kind of guessed the ending. Not much character development. Not much of a mystery either, it turns out.
35 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than Altered Carbon Season 2
royhectorkabanlit19 March 2020
Definitely much better than the Season 2 of the Altered Carbon series. First off, the animation is beautiful, it looks like a combination of 2D and 3D animation and the colors just pop out.

The thriller aspect is easy to follow, and the action scenes are stylish with amazing viewpoints, and they are also relatively violently graphic. My complaint though is that there some obvious holes in the plot, and the technology seems a bit outdated.

When Altered Carbon was written in the early 2000s, Cloud Storage was almost unknown, not as common as it is now so they should've incorporated that into script. Still good enough to watch overall.
33 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Animation with Mediocre Story.
AbhiSh4ke19 March 2020
All my stats are for the animators the movie looks absolutely gorgeous. The story is pretty straight forward. Voice acting is good. It's a stand alone story so don't expect any deep dive into AC lore. All in all a good watch. (For Quarantined Folks: Stay at home, stay safe & stream Netflix.)
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Good animation quality but poor story quality
conway_lai21 March 2020
The characters and premises are borrowed from Altered Carbon TV series (not book), but seems like the storywriter(s) do not understand the characters. There is no envoy intuition at all in this animation, characters run around doing normal (wrong) things. Takeshi Kovacs also doesn't behave like the character in the book nor TV series. I was disappointed with this.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Superficially Altered Carbon, all the anime cliches
andrew-659-15293320 March 2020
All the worst parts of the anime genre are present here. Cliched characters, ridiculous action, terrible script, wooden voice acting. The animation is technically OK and smoother than traditional anime but the staging and 'camera' angles bring nothing new. Stylistically it's all Ghost in the Shell which is to say Japanese Blade Runner. The plot is similarly derivative with portions copied from Season 1 of the Netflix live action series. Ultimately it's all rather boring.
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Well, it was an anime...
stopeeper19 March 2020
Over the top action, good visuals, rather predictable melodramatic story, a whole bunch of annoying characters, and a little girl. There's always a little girl.
22 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Dreadful
dana-16321 March 2020
Giving this a 5 for the beautiful animation style, only marred by kludgy movement. Action scenes were surprisingly good for animation.

The rest though, forgettable. Hamfisted, zero subtlety, everyone insists on re-iterating plot points out loud, and what's with the girl grunting every 30 seconds?.

Painted up to look like Altered Carbon, but missing all the good bits.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The colorful and brutal action in Yakuza world
dbjohn-9944019 March 2020
Again, the story of eternal life. The colorful and brutal action in Yakuza world is impressive.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
great animation, bad storyboard
mfknina25 March 2020
Really disappointing. i have expected much more bc the show is amazing, kovacs wasnt well played and neither his role in the movie. it was trash
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Typical Anime
masewise20 March 2020
Horrible little girl that the plot revolves around needing to be saved by every other character

Do they think we like annoying characters?
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Mediocre anime very loosely related to books and tv show
fletcher-alex24 March 2020
It was a decent anime show but aside from the character name Takeshi Kovacs and stacks being used, wasn't really anything to do with the Altered Carbon universe. Takeshi Kovacs wasnt remotely similar to the character in the tv shows or books. Not sure what the creators were thinking, seems likely they hadn't read/ watched the original material
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good action, beautiful scnes, shallow story, emotionless characters
Mathizsias223 March 2020
It has been said a dozen times by now, the story is full of anime tropes and is cliched to no end. While that doesn't make it bad, it just loses points for having no originality and it didn't need the AC brand slapped on it.

The pros of the film are the visceral and kinetic fight scenes. What it achieves with its neatly and beautifully choreographed fights, it can't fix with the lack of human emotion from any of the characters or the story.

This should've been a shorter story on something like Love, Death, Robots - without the AC brand.

Ps. This still a better time investement than S2 of AC, Anthony Mackie had even less emotion for the entire season of AC S2 than any of the lifeless characters in this film. I guess that 500k per episode wasn't enough for the Marvel actor.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
makes me want to see more altered carbon
metintomas-6382220 March 2020
I mean s3 . animation could have been better Netflix really need to be a better animation studios further the story and the fights were breathtaking. Just this if you liked the series
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
altered carbon resleeved
marmar-6978023 March 2020
Altered carbon resleeved is a anime film that is based on series that i never saw and so i ended up going blind in this film,and i ended up not being impressed or enterteined by it,this film feels same like many others before it,it has some staff that just didnt work for me,girl character was annoying for me with her non stop screaming and crying and not doing anything on her own,animation is also very weird to me,maybe that is the way how is in show but it just looked off and honestly weak,voice acting was also in moments bad expecely since i watched dubbed version,this movie didnt satisfayed me in bigger picture
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The Further Adventures of Takeshi Kovacs.
cheathamg20 March 2020
An animated feature films based on Altered Carbon but set in between season one and season two. Kovacs is made to take on a dangerous mission by the yakuza boss Tanaseda. He gets involved with another yakuza gang while trying to protect a young girl. A beautiful CTAC agent gets stirred into the mix. Edgar Allan Poe isn't there but a very Poe-like character in the form of a Japanese hotel clerk is. The story is quite cliched but there is a lot of blood and gore action. If that is what you like, then it's a good movie. That brings us to the question of the animation. It's CG, but it's not good CG. However, it's good enough to make you think that maybe Altered Carbon should have been animation to begin with. It does make you think about the original Ghost in the Shell. If this film had been made as well as Ghost, it could have been something really worthwhile. There are a couple of narrative hints thrown in at the end that make an animated sequel possible. If so, maybe they'll get their act together a little better next time.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Mediocre Anime at best.
muthergamer23 March 2020
The animation style was the only redeeming thing about this The story line was a bit boring and the action over the top and not even in the tongue in cheek manner of "over the top" as in other well liked Anime such as JoJo's Bizarre Adventure or Mob Psycho 100. I gave it a generous 4 because I liked the animation style.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
So boring I gave up half way
KeimoLantio23 March 2020
The action choreography is OK-ish, but the characters are either boring or annoying. The CGI animation is soulless and feels more like watching someone play Grand Theft Auto than a movie. Everyone hated AC season 2 for a reason and this animation is just as bad.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Mediocre Story. Altered Carbon Series is much more than this
ustaadian3 April 2020
The story was pretty straight forward. It did not had twist and turn which made us fan of Altered Carbon Series. Overall, there was nothing in particular altered carbon about it.

I would give 8 stars for the animations, but 4 or less to the story.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Writers on strike. Generic story with beautifull animations
maskygen25 March 2020
First of the bat, it's on the same writing quality as Season 2 of Altered Carbon.

What I liked: it's beautiful, the city is fascinating, the camera movement is nice, the fights are awesome.

But, after 15 minutes you start to realize is not Altered Carbon, is just your basic story you've seen thousands of time, no philosophy underneath, it doesn't follow the cannon. All you have is a samurai infused anime story, which is bad and the characters are bad, no depth what so ever. Just waiting to finish.

It could of been great, it what the hook but the bait was rotten.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty Good When You Don't Decide to Hate it Before Watching
raptchur22 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
The reviews for this are obviously pretty biased. Basically every negative one comes from people that don't understand/like anime and just label everything as cliche.

Yes you geniuses, everyone guessed the ending when Taneseda asked Kovacs about the laugh.. It was obviously implied. Sorry that you need a surprise ending for something to be deemed good or not "cliche" as you so love to say. Which is a bit cliche....

The movie was entertaining and tbh was a lot better than season 2 of Altered Carbon. If you don't go into it hating Japanese, anime, and aren't looking for a sherlock holmes story (which apparently most were for some reason) then it's an easy entertaining watch. Just don't expect to know all that is going on if you haven't watched the series
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Weak sauce animation style... and too little action
0w020 March 2020
First off: I watched the dubbed english version. The dub was fine and nothing amazing but nothing bad either.

I dislike the animation style used in this movie... it's a 'borderlands style' of animation, which honestly is a crude and weak sauce way method of animation... it looks OK, but it's a cheap art-style. I'm not saying they should have gone for the $50million disney-like style of animation, but they should have chosen a better-looking animation style for sure.

As for the story: This is mostly a drama story... sure, there are a handful of fight scenes in this movie, but honestly the majority of the 1hr9mins runtime is dominated by drama and talking scenes. That's honestly what makes "FF7: Advent Children" such a brilliant animation: It has more action and fighting scenes then dialogue.

Overall, the movie was OK, but with a different animation style and more fighting scenes, this movie could easily have been an 8/10 movie.
6 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
dumb, blood-soaked thing that has little to do with the series
cherold6 April 2020
From the beginning, Resleeved feels like a poorly thought through example of flash over substance, as we see a city with several huge naked-lady holograms in the city. The city has evenly spaced red light districts? The only companies that use holographic technology are porn companies? Come on.

The story itself starts pretty good, with a little girl on the run and Takeshi Kovac hired to protect her. But things slow down once things get to the luxury hotel it all takes place in. There's a definite video game vibe, both in endless hallways and in endless villains. And while the series had a martial arts approach to the action, this is lots of guns and people getting cut in half with swords and blood flies in loving slow motion.

The central story is okay, but there are a number of loose ends and unexplained motivation (including those of the person who hires Takeshi).

This appears to be the pilot for an anime series; it does not deserve to get picked up.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good visuals, good plot twist, bad development
fjmsoftware29 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Visually this looks great, I have zero problem with this animation style. I liked the main plot twist but it was given away too easily, too soon, way before we're shown the characters figuring out what was going on.

Action-wise it could've been OK but the final fight was unnecessarily violent, long and with too much psychotic screaming. There was considerable stupidity in the hotel AI's interventions, first the use of excessive firepower to bring down smaller enemies, then the use of entertainment explosives to somehow bring down the biggest 'boss' of the whole movie. Also stupid how TK after looking incapacitated could suddenly get up from the floor and stab the 'boss' right in the one vulnerable spot in his armor, which happened to be right in the middle of his abdomen with no protection over it.

There's not much character development, the writers must have been relying on us watching this as a continuation of the Altered Carbon TV series. Still, it felt too thin, it was missing some more low-energy, low-aggression story development, it could've helped to add about half an hour of non-fight scenes to it.

Overall, I would definitely watch more of this style of animation, but would not be too happy to see more simplistic stories and characters doing so many stupid things as we saw here.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Top visuals, so-so story
SubtleFury29 March 2020
Visuals are top notch, and so is the fight choreography. But the story is pretty standard, bordering on cliche. There's just not much interesting or surprising happening, which lets down an otherwise great looking film.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring
ckhor-8960026 March 2020
Stopped watching after 20 minutes as the story was boring.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed