A Christmas in Tennessee (TV Movie 2018) Poster

(2018 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Whatever state or country you live in, romance fans, you will love it!
inkblot1126 December 2018
Allison (Rachel Boston) inherited her Dad's longtime bakery in White Pines, Tennessee, a small, lovely town near the Smokey Mountains. Her mother Martha (Patricia Richardson) helps with the shop and with Allison's young daughter but she is still grieving the loss of her husband. Thus, when the friendly letter carrier comes to deliver, Martha doesn't respond to his smiles. Allison, too, doesn't have a beau. Alas, business is slow and bills are being hard to clear. Then, when Allison's little girl writes an essay about the bakery's problems for a school project, the teacher comes calling. Only, the letter sails off into the sunset! Almost at once, a lady (Caroline Rhea) who resembles MRS. CLAUSE, comes calling and places a large order. Things are looking up. Yet, trouble starts afresh when businessman Matthew (Andrew W. Walker) and his snooty partner come calling with plans to buy out the downtown and convert it to a resort/shopping complex. Allison won't sell but could the handsome investor get around her refusal? This lovely romcom has much humor, sweetness and romance. Boston and Walker are very beautiful, talented folks who are wonderful as the main characters, while the supporting cast is marvelous as well. Needless to say, the scenery in Tennessee is lovely and costumes, script and direction are nicely done. Whatever state or country you live in, escape to a fine Tennessee romance!
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This movie is NOT set in the past
joshua16913 December 2018
One reviewer here mistakenly thinks the movie is set in the 40s or 50s due to an antique cash register and some other antiques and then complains about all the "out of period clothing" other anachronistic items. This person turned off the film as a result. This person failed to figure out a few old items surrounded by dozens of new items, like microwave in bakery, new cars parked in driveways, lots of modern clothes and hair styles, etc indicates a moderrn setting. Anyway sure the film is a typical lifetime Christmas offering. It's nothing extrodanary. If you like that sort of thing you will enjoy it. I did. If you don't, you won't. The addition of Santa is always a welcome addition for me. I WANT TO BELIEVE
38 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
babycakes-4526912 December 2018
I loved this, perfect for the whole family. Always enjoy anything with Rachel Boston, and this was the cutest Christmas movie I've seen this year so far. Good job!
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
More of the same
Jackbv12310 December 2018
I waited eagerly for this movie because the totally vivacious Rachel Boston is one of my most favorite actresses and Andrew Walker ranks high for me also. Throw in a cute kid and you should have an automatic winner.

The acting was fine. The chemistry between Walker and Boston was OK, but could have been better if the movie had spent more time on them and less on the business conflict. The business aspect of the story is one of the more used plot devices in Christmas movies and that aspect of the story was totally predictable and not only uninteresting, but a little annoying.

On the other hand, there was a Santa angle on the story that did add a little spice to it.

Overall, I was disappointed mostly because I wanted more from Walker and Boston and just a little less of the ominous tone brought about by the Scrooge-like boss and backstabbing assistant. It actually creates some extra suspense even if everything was still predictable. However there is still plenty for people who enjoy this type of movie to like.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Unexpectedly good movie
santababyinc16 December 2018
Somewhat cheesy, somewhat sappy, but cute plot. The big bad developer angle has been hackneyed to death - so no points there. I was probably more impressed with the acting of the supporting cast than the two leading roles. Patricia Richardson was wonderful and Caroline Rhea was fabulous in this film. Would love to see these ladies in more Christmas movies. Best Mr. & Mrs. Claus cast ever. The cast playing the teachers and the neighbors were impressive also. The lead actors did well when there was slight banter between them but there seemed to be no believable spark.
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sugar and spice
TheLittleSongbird26 December 2019
Others have summed up 'Christmas in Tennessee' very well, both its good and not so good points. The former of which there is thankfully more of, even though it is a long way from flawless it does well in achieving its primary aims of being light-hearted undemanding entertainment and a pleasant enough diversion. It is not easy with every Hallmark/Lifetime Christmas film to not take things too seriously and take it for what it is, dependent on how bad the flaws are, it was thankfully easy here.

As far as the Hallmark/Lifetime Christmas films go, of which there are countless existing and some are (much) better than others, 'Christmas in Tennessee' is one of the solid high middle ones. If the story was balanced a little better than it was, with the different story elements being equally focused and the right ones given primary focus, it could have been one of the best and was quite close to being. There was more than enough to it to make me feel satisfied watching.

'Christmas in Tennessee', as said, could have balanced its story better. The business angle is focused on too much and at the end of the day didn't end up fitting that well with the rest of the film. It complicated the storytelling somewhat and the film lost its momentum. A shame because the romance and Santa elements are handled very nicely but could have been utilised more, particularly the romance.

Some of the dialogue is on the soapy side and because of not being focused on enough the romantic chemistry didn't feel fully formed.

The acting is better than average though and often quite good for this sort of film, where this component has been a mixed success (meaning either extreme of good or bad or uneven). The two leads' chemistry does have enough moments of charm and doesn't look awkward. The Santa plotline is where the film is at its strongest, with it injecting much spice and warmth without getting too sappy. The story is not perfect but it didn't feel dull generally and was light-hearted and heart-warming.

While not awards-worthy (nor is it that sort of film), the production values are pleasing and for a made for television film there is nothing really amateurish about it. The music is a pleasant listen and is used well, while any comedy didn't feel overdone and the more serious ones not ham-handed or too sickly.

Overall, quite good. 7/10
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great movie
kenishaliyanage1 September 2019
It was a great Christmas movie and shows how even a little kid could make a difference.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Kate Moyer
jzh-3107927 March 2019
I loved this movie! I especially loved Kate Moyer as Olivia! She was perfect!

Enjoyed all the actors in this story and the parts they played, good job!
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun Holiday Movie
parksidedrive8 October 2019
An enjoyable holiday movie with a solid story and great cast. Some of the cast members are long time favorites. Mr. and Mrs. Claus are not to be missed. The daughter is cute without being toooo much. Her expressions when she sees Santa is perfect. It says Merry Christmas.

However, I am concerned with Andrew Walker's drawn appearance. He has lost weight and looks almost sickly in this feature. The thin appearance has aged him. I hope all is well.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sugary! Plus needed subtitles
Janet161220 December 2019
There is so much sugary, sweetness in this film that it was nearly making me ill!

A typical predictable, Christmas love story made for Hallmark, a nice little story and watchable - just. Unfortunately, rather than concentrating on the story, the negatives and were too much.

The kids with their smurf like voices and poor acting was too much.

Scenes people were exiting a shop straight on to the 'ice' and 'snow', high heels and not one slip! Also the baker walking out in a blizzard in a tiny jacket and short skirt. I know, it's film get over it.

Love the way the 'baker' has her hair flying around when she's serving. Her mum is 'rolling' pastry, again with their hair not tied back.

Unfortunately, some of the actors spoke to fast sometimes in either a high pitched or nasally way. Livi's mum was sometimes intelligible; I had to rewind a few times. All I heard at one times was muzbeprobred - she was actually saying: 'must be proof read'!
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ho Ho Hum
chiltonsjillfreeport18 December 2019
Rachel Boston and Andrew Walker are two of Lifetime's best, likable and solid.

It's too bad their story had to coexist with not one, but two cliched subplots.

It's a coin toss as to which trope is more overused in this genre: the 'real' Santa as hero, or the big developer versus the sincere but failing business owner (who is nearly always a single parent and/or carrying on a family tradition).

Here, the convoluted business struggle really dragged on the romance, despite nice chemistry between the leads.

What tied this film to any particular Tennessee setting is anyone's guess?
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
White Pine
jaidenlindsey29 December 2020
As a girl from white pine, tennessee, this move is WAY different from our actual town! Although, it is a really cute movie and I loved it lots!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Tennessee?
domer-8823925 December 2018
Not a single Tennessee accent to be found. The only things that connected this movie to Tennessee were the standard weather alert blizzard's-closing-the-airport scene and a snippet of "Another Tennessee Christmas" (o.p.b. Amy Grant).
8 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sugar, Spice & Everything Nice
Luvhallmark2 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I tend to miss most of Lifetime's Christmas movies because I'm too focused on Hallmark but lately HM has had some very strange actors and actresses - not TV appealing to me. After Christmas when the weather gets colder, I typically go to Amazon and search out my favorite actors and see what I may have missed. I came upon this movie from 2018 with RB & AW, I love both but any chance I get to see AW, I'm in lol. I did enjoy seeing 3 other actors not including AW who all starred together in Snowed-Inn Christmas which was a very nice surprise for me! As far as this movie goes, I liked it but it definitely seemed rushed, not enough time spent on main leads and the development of their characters, it was like boom, handsome man swoops in to take the entire town away and it's people and bam, lets put up a big beautiful destination ski resort. Despite it all, because I'm a sucker for Christmas movies and for RB & AW, it was a hit with me 😊
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It's Tennessee and no one has a southern accent
wizdomii28 November 2020
It's Tennessee and no one has a southern accent. Need I say more?
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ridiculous clothes and props - totally incongruous for the supposed era!
eb99912 December 2018
I watched five minutes of this film and realized that it was cheaply and lazily made. The first scene with the old cars and antique cash register seemed to indicate a time period of the 1940s or 1950s at the latest, but almost nothing fit, especially the clothing! Children did not wear colorful, pastel clothes and tights didn't exist! This was also true of young women - skinny jeans - are they kidding? Also hair was not long and unconfined. Any adult woman would have such hair up, in a bun or something similar; and a child would have her hair in braids or barrettes. Also, it may be politically incorrect, but I doubt that an African-American woman would have had a position of authority in a grammar school. Nor would she have been on such easy terms with the white heroine. This is not predujice, it's simply the truth of the period.

Anyway, I was so disturbed by these obvious inaccuracies that I had to stop watching the film. I wouldn't have been able to enjoy any part of the story. My whole time would have been spent decrying the incongruities! Also, any youngster watching this film would get a totally wrong impression of the period! How could any responsible movie maker(s) fail so completely!
5 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Formulaic, Soft, and Pointless
fboldak916 December 2018
Did you see that Lifetime/Hallmark movie with the C list 90s actress and the generic white guy? You know, the one where they have different agendas initially and then one overcomes their superficial hang ups to forge a lasting relationship.

Seriously, if you've seen one of these vacuous wastes of time, you've seen them all.
10 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Cute Holiday Movie
sirenamartel7 January 2022
I love Andrew Walker and Rachel Boston. I just wish they had focused more on the romance part. And if you're going to have both Patricia Richardson and Caroline Rhea in the same movie, give them more screen time! The plot about the big bad developer wanting to take over the small town has been done toooo death. Surely the Hallmark script writers can come up with something better. Even so, all of these great actors did a wonderful job with a flimsy script.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed