The Legend of the Five (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
28 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
How does this get made?
chrisliz5729 August 2020
Coming to Busselton, West Australia for the Cinefest Oz weekend has been exciting except for one 93 minute time heist; The Legend of the Five viewing. Excruciatingly confusing, boring, ill conceived, badly acted, unoriginal ..... a film lacking any redeeming features. The age group this film is aiming to attract, adolescents, we're walking out. I leave this review with a couple of questions ....... why is a reputable film festival including such tosh in their program? And finally, how on earth did this tosh get made?
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Adults beware
crapmeoff3 July 2020
Firstly, it's a kids film. Just remind yourself of that when you watch it.My 10 and 13 year olds loved it. I did not. The characters were annoying and miscast. Javier Torres (played by Nicholas Andrianakos) was a useless character. Probably the hunk character for the girls, but I was hoping he would be killed off. Owen Clarke (played by Leigh Joel Scott) looked like a 30 year old guy. At least he knew things that helped. Kaylee Liu (played by Deborah An) was the arty type who 'grew up'. Yawn. Caitlin Fisher (played by Gabi Sproule) was the bimboesque girl that grew a backbone. She was the most interesting. Zoe Caldera (played by Lauren Esposito) is the lead character. Funny that her sister/mother is the Executive Producer and she is the co-producer. I think another relative is the 'best boy'. Her accent ranged from Australian to American, depending on the scene.

Once you resign to the fact that things don't make a heap of sense, feel free to enjoy the special effects, because boy I had a hard time understanding the flow of the story. The best part was I got a choc-top ice cream!
21 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoid at all costs
thereviewman610 July 2020
This movie had potential, but felt like it was directed and scripted by a bunch of 10-year-olds making a home movie with a budget. The acting was so unbelievable it almost felt laughable and I could have sworn the directors picked some actors from their local high school drama class - the ones failing the subject of course. I went to the cinema with an open mind and unfortunately waited anxiously for the movie to end. I was left disappointed and annoyed.
19 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Opportunity missed
eliza-8019510 July 2020
I think Samuels had a decent concept here, and with the luxury of the backdrop of the beautiful Australian Blue Mountains, it should have been a winner. Overall the production let it down for me. The talent misfired all over the place but I will keep a watch on Gabi Sproule, something intriguing there. The rest, not so much, the 'lead' was very disappointing despite the LA hype. Obviously family favours through this production, sad given how many unemployed true professionals are available. But hey, it's a kid's movie so I was hoping my nine year old would enjoy it regardless. Unfortunately he found it confusing (I agreed) and too much with the CGI that could have been toned down, it jolts you out of whatever carriage the movie manages to generate. We didn't stay to the end so I didn't get to see how this was funded. I hope Samuels gets another opportunity with some better production support to get it to hang together in a coherent fashion. A misfire all round given some of the ingredients and the opportunity.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Back ache from forcing myself to sit through the whole movie
monelisalatu17 July 2020
I just spent a good 20 minutes setting up an account and verifying emails in order to get on here and leave my review. This movie has scored -1/10 from me. Don't waste your time. Adults, save yourself... from the first scene where the main character is on a phone call to friends, the acting was extremely poor. I mean, my interest in the movie was gone. Then her father enters the scene and another cringe worthy moment between father and daughter when they express their love for each other make me want to puke! My 5 year can act better than them and she's very convincing. I was very sleepy in this movie during the movie, even my 8 and 10 year olds were getting restless. Save yourself the disappointment and money and skip it. $55 I will never get back and 2 hours of my life I will regret.
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It was a nice try...
jessthereviewer86411 July 2020
The story was very inconsistent and the acting was absolutely woeful. The concept was okay but the scripting and story line didn't carry through.
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
LOW BUDGET FANTASY DISASTER
movieguy300016 October 2020
Aussies should steer clear of making anything fantasy or sci-fi, or horror, we cant do them well. Bad script, terrible and uninteresting characters, bad CGI / VFX. It was shot very well, Ill give it that. Actors were poor choices except for Lauren Esposito, she just passes but at least great to look at. Dont waste your time.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible acting
rfsf-fatica1 August 2020
Give this one a miss. Unconvincing and bad acting, not sure what happened with casting on this one. Poor visual effects and no depth to the story or characters.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Watch for a cringe
Josh-4936114 July 2020
If you want a movie to cringe to watch this one. The storyline doesn't make sense and the acting is as weak as it comes. Even the kids will find this one confusing and cringe worthy.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible
amandalonergan16 July 2020
Was so bad - bad acting - my daughter and I walked out before it finished - was ridiculous movie
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
If you're taking the kids, make sure to bring a pillow
tim_dunn046 July 2020
The problem with the reviews written on this page is that 3 of four seem to be written by family members of Nicholas Andrianakos. "A Masterpiece" writes Jordan Andrianakos "the most outstanding part of this brilliant movie is Javier Torres played by the dashing Nicholas Andrianakos" Seriously the two best performances were by Gabi Sproule and Leigh Joel Scott. Unfortunately this movie is a very poor mashup of Jumanji and Lord of the Rings.
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This is a terrible movie
samuelbeaman-2769518 July 2020
This was a very bad movie. I thought the idea was really good and it started off really well, however, as the movie continued it ended up being a basic movie and a cross between Jumanji and Predator. The acting was shocking and the movie was put together really badly, the movie was all over the place and I didn't know what was going on. My mate and I ended up predicting the whole movie!! Overall, this is a very bad movie and I highly suggest you don't see it.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just run and never try to watch this!!!!
shuvra12424 September 2020
Its a copy (tried) of Jumanji, but total crap, CGI like 70s! NO acting skill, NO graphics, NO story, NO budget! Just they want to make a movie and they did it! Someone gave 8/10 review, i wanna say him, get a life man and stop watching movie, u need some IQ for understand what is good and what is bad!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Kids flick with laughs and amusement
irenechristian-321311 October 2020
You could hear the kids laughing in the cinema whilst we watched this film on the big screen. Safe family film, that appeals to its child-friendly audience. Great landscape shots of Australia.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Finally an Aussie-made kids film!! One to watch with the littlies.
avatar737324 October 2020
A good kids holiday film and an impressive showcase of the beautiful Australian landscape. I particularly enjoyed the darker undertones towards the end and the comical lifts of characters like the gatekeeper. One to watch with the littlies!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Beth Champion Stands Tall in Aussie Fantasy film
phantombry19 July 2020
While the plot was a little hard to follow at times, overall this was an enjoyable experience. On the positive side, the visual effects were very good and the settings visually appealing. The script and premise was good but the editing left the viewer more than a little disappointed. There were plenty of magical moments but something was missing .Beth Champion's was the stand out performance and worthy of a second viewing. Tiriel Mora's character (Marduk) while strong could have been developed further to provide the flow, clarity and connection of the plot. Of The Five, Leigh Joel Scott and Lauren Esposito's performances were good. Deborah An, Gabi Sproule and Nicholas Andrianakos delivered their lines but needed more direction. In what for most would be a bewildering experience they seemed at times disinterested. The scene between Lauren Esposito and Gabi Sproule was good. Further character development would have enhanced the viewer's interest. Well worth a look!
7 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid effort for an aussie flick
turningcogfilms19 July 2020
About time we got some aussie fantasy! im wasnt the biggest fan, but i took my three kids and they loved it. my daughter is taking her friends to see it again so it must have strucka cord! Some of the cgi is a bit goofy and some of the actors arent great but it all comes together. even havier lands some zingers! Maybe not one for the adults but my kids already asked for it in dvd. if youre gonna go see it maybe send the kids in alone and go get a coffee!
6 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Enjoyable Aussie Film !!
vassilikatsakis23 July 2020
Was very pleased to see a solid fantasy film come out of Australia, it was a comfortable watch and satisfied my expectations as it was advertised. Can really see children enjoying this one, Great stuff.
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
GRAND IDEAS... LOW BUDGETS..... SELDOM WORK.
daryldemarco-752-1771776 January 2021
Insufferably bad, but somewhere in the mire of bad there was some good ideas. GRAND IDEAS LOW BUDGETS SELDOM WORK. There's very little to like about this....
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Probably not as bad as you think
faradaygrean8 December 2020
I guess it depends on who you are.

Five high school students on a class trip get transported to a fantasy world. On their quest to return home they discover they are elementals.

I'll watch anything. But appreciate where it's coming from .And, although it's low budget, it could be WAY worse (Riddle Room -a 2016 movie that was REALLY not worth it! Or The Girl- w/Michael Biehn and Tia Carrere- really OH SO BAD!).

This seemed like a high school play production done outside. The story has potential but the writing could be a little more elaborate.

As it opens, the main character is struggling with her mother's death, but holding it together for her father, who enters the scene. It's hard to tell what the actor's motivation is in the scene. Is he angry? Is he abusive? No? Oh, he's supposed to be sad? Good thing that's his only scene. Bad thing he's in the opening.

The acting was amateurish. Gabi Sproule, in my opinion did best- and this was her only credit on IMDB. The main actor is listed as a producer, her mother as executive producer. Also Joanne Samuel, the director, has her son (Jesse Ahern- also a producer) to do film editing, music editing and supervise visual effects. Although it could have been better, it could have been worse. The ending leads us to believe there could be a part 2. If it happens a better writer, director and editor could greatly improve the ratings.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
scene fade is so abundant its annoying
skibo-7100811 October 2020
The movie certainly shows the love for fading in and out, and the stupidity of the characters/kids is unreal and resembles Japanese anime in extreme ignorance.

The director should go back to school as there is nothing intelligent about this movie. However, the actors are actually halfway decent for their roles despite being made to look like they have an IQ of 60.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
There are better movies for 10 year olds...
arnoldsharja28 September 2020
I'm sorry, i don't know why I watched it... not sure what was the idea behind it? Seems like a high school project with some money for special effects, done by the schools IT department. Nice try.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not bad, good for a Sunday afternoon.
shadowmoondjinn27 September 2020
Not bad, but not good. I just felt like there was so much more that could of been done, and the ending feels like were the story could really start to be interesting. I am not sure if this was ment to be a start of a series or what.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do not even attempt to get through this one
donovancar26 September 2020
Poor acting, bad editing, confusing. Just stay away. The End.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do Not Waste Your Time
thehumanx25 September 2020
A movie for a kid that even a kid would find it boring! Poor acting, poor story, poor screenplay, poor editing, poor cinematography. Everything I can think of. Not sorry for being rude.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed