Rootwood (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Utterly bad
adeleysim9 December 2019
Everything about this movie is bad. The writing is bad, the acting is bad, and the plot is bad.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Fire whoever thought this was a good idea.
future_release25 November 2019
"Someone wants us to do a documentary about a legend that's circulating Hollywood but didn't get into exactly what the legend is......"

We all should have given up at that point.

I watched it so you don't have to:)
28 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
As interesting as watching wood rot
MikeHunt107525 November 2019
The actors in this are god awful. Have they even acted before? From the opening scene it's like instant boredom from two actors with no personality or charisma talking to each other in slow motion. It just keeps getting worse with more and more boring dialog exchanged that id rather watch paint dry rather than watch their horrible performance with not one shred of realism to their conversations. It sounds scripted, and badly scripted at that.

It's amazing the film quality and editing seems proffesional. But it's not enough to redeem anything about this monotone snorefest rip-off of the Blair Witch Project, but set somewhere just outside the Hollywood hills.

No good kill scenes either, nothing for gore fans, no creepy bits, no scary parts, and not one thing worthy of qouting. This movie offers absolutely nothing to anyone into this kind of genre and I wouldn't even recommend watching it for free even just once. Its flow is slow, the few characters have no charisma, the diolog is not natural, and its just a god awful movie.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
i don't even know where to begin...
christiancarden27 November 2019
This seems like a horrible class project. the "students" are clearly in their 30s-40s... and are the best worst actors in this "film". the secondary female character and the movie producers couldn't possibly be actual actors... they must be relatives of the director or something, maybe they won a contest or something idk but if they are actors i'm a deer. the writing is god awful, the photography and music occasionally make sense so that's the 2 stars. the basic plot is just preposterous, the characters spend the whole movie making the absolute worst and least likely decisions any real people would make. i'm seriously curious how many people actually read this script and said "yup this will be an amazing movie". hellen keller would have passed on this. honestly just astounded this exists.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
God Awful Crap
ferdmalenfant25 November 2019
OMG who spends money thinking they can get a return on this garbage but then again, he or she didn't loose much I'm sure. A few times I've said, "worse movie ever" this one is "worse attempt at a movie EVER!" Only one positive thing...Elissa Dowling, you can act but don't use this film on your resume.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
more like rotten wood
tasoschars25 November 2019
The acting is not bad...is horrible like the movie....the script got holes like titanic and is sinking fast before u say rootwood....i ve seen bad films before...but this takes the cake for lame..dont even think to give it a go.....
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Makes Blair Witch look like a 9 x Oscar Winner
nancyjowade28 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Fair does, Blair Witch in its day was ground breaking, in 1999 found footage was a relatively new concept and was even refreshing however if you don't want to end up watching a screaming chick running around the woods all snot and tears again then this is not for you. I was enticed into watching by the rating and have to wonder if it's folk merely scoring up for kicks, I watch horror most days of my life and it's getting harder and harder to find things that scare this is not one of them. It's only saving grace is the plot twist towards the end, however the acting of all bar the main three characters ruins even that. I recommend you don't waste your money
15 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I don't know what the **** that was
beachbabesarah24 January 2020
What started out as a rather strong movie just slowly dwindled and then failed. The acting was subpar at times, especially by Felissa, but I found Elissa's acting good throughout most of the movie. The genuine chemistry between the two main characters is the only reason this is getting above a two. It felt like they were actually friends.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Out of idea
ks-605009 February 2020
The awful acting in the beginning to the end just not the worst. The creature outside wood n kill is not creepy and scary. Can't make something new then don't make it.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Dreadful - don't bother
ojaneoo29 November 2019
Barely made it to 10 minutes in - clunky, poorly directed, lame.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the worst films I have ever seen.
psxexperten26 November 2019
This was just awful. I created an account just to warn you all. The writer deserves a d...ck.of the year award for writing this POS. Absolutely silly rubbish. Garbage acting, Garbage writing, and garbage plot. A total waste of my time and money watching this farce of a movie. Where is all the wanker friends of cast and crew who always give 10 stars? Did they refuse to help out this time?
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
0 stars
jayjayvis26 November 2019
I wished all of them would of died in the first 5 minutes. Absolutely worthless, ridiculous and done in an unskillful inept way. Avoid at all costs!
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I'm sorry, but HORRIBLE MOVIE!!!
leidilat20 April 2020
I love found footage horror movies, but this was beyond awful. I hate giving movies bad reviews because I know that was someone's blood, sweat and tears. When it comes to this movie it was just tears!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Letdown
christophersrayburn11 July 2020
I have been wanting to see this for over a year since I heard about it. So I guess I set myself up for high expectations and was completely let down. Towards the end I liked it a lot better then.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
No ..just No! This is really bad
sschwedes5 May 2020
Please see the review headliner. Don't want to waste another second on this. I was fooled by the high ratings.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Curse of the Wood Devil
nogodnomasters28 May 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Will (Tyler Gallant) and Jessica (Elissa Dowling) do a podcast on the unexplained. They are hired to film a documentary about the Wood Devil. The story goes a woodsman made a pact with the devil to save a forest and he is there to protect it from intruders. Only God can make a tree and only the devil can keep the wood up. They take along Sarah French for eye candy. She is supposed to be the camera person, but I never see her with a camera. They never set up for shoots.

Some of the film seemed professional while other scenes were first-time mistakes. We don't need footage of passing houses or your RV's mirror when there is nothing to see. The restaurant scene was a complete waste. When it comes to found footage, less is more.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Everything Is Ready. The Question Is....Are You????
wandernn1-81-6832742 September 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This one starts out with a couple of radio hosts who host 'The SPooky Hour'. And a listener who propositions the duo on being involved in a documentary They then go to meet with this listener/ documentary maker. At least it tells us the location ' West Hollywood', so right there we know not to expect much from this movie.

So they meet, and wowzer if they just aren't all down to go right now!!! Will and Jess, they are DOWN! But first, they're gonna go to MARCELS!!

So finally on Day 4 they get out into the WOODS to investigate this legend..... 'The Curse of The Wooden Devil' Bahahaha.

So they find this old metal water tank. Littered with graffiti and painted with drawings and such. They find names painted on there in blood. They find this noose hidden in a tree stump and start freaking out over finding it.

-1 Star for freaking out over nothing so far

Okay so Erin, the blonde she gets disappeared, and Will and Jess they roam around because they don't know what happened to her.

But about an hour in when Jess and Will find the noose in the trailer...and they start blaming Erin and then Jess starts blaming Will? Oh my , that's just some bad story lines and some horrifying acting right there.

-1 Star for in the trailer scene with the noose.....

And then Will finds that he has a shot of a creature on the camera. OMG ERin was RIGHT!! SHE SAW THE CREATURE !!! OMG OMG!!! CALM DOWN JESS!!!!! Listen to Will!!!

So then after running around like an idiot being chased by this 'Wooden Devil', Jess who hides with a flashlight turned on, she finds this setup in a big drainage pipe, where she gets caught finally by the creature!!! But it's fake!! It's the documentary filmmakers who set it up! And the creature reveals himself as a man in a suit! But then!!! The REAL WOOD DEMON shows up??? And kills everyone!!

-1 Star for the really ridiculous ending.

It's really hard to believe that movies like this get made. 2/10
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Dont watch this alone
billycumcamp25 December 2020
Watched this with my dad, we laughed way harder at the scary parts than probably intended , Im giving this 2 stars just because its too funny to be a 1 star, watch this with friends so you can rag on it.

Plot summary: 40 year old teenagers horrified because they found a rope
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
GARBAGE
gingerwitch-186043 December 2020
This wants to be a found footage style film, but it is not. The story is weak and the acting is awful. The ending is a twist on a twist and you don't know what is real which makes it even worse. It was a great concept that was terribly executed. I know this is a low budget horror film, but save your brain cells and do not bother with this one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Watchable and rather enjoyable if somewhat flawed effort
kannibalcorpsegrinder2 April 2020
Getting the scoop of a lifetime, a pair of podcast hosts on local urban legends head off into the woods with a friend of theirs looking for a local legend called the Wooden Devil, but when they start to believe someone or something is in the woods with them must try to get away alive.

This here was a solid and enjoyable enough effort. One of the more enjoyable elements is the general setup here, for not only their filming of the documentary but the backstory of their assignment. A truthful small-town-sounding story about their belief that he had sold his soul and has now started to haunt a section of the local forest, this is perfectly acceptable fodder to get this going. As well, the stories and evidence about the disappearances from the area serve as a fine enhancement of the local legend that would spawn such an undertaking here, making this one quite worthwhile in the setup. With that taken care of, the film's scenes of the group out in the woods mix a fine sense of playfulness and genuine eeriness. The banter between the girl and the guy where she's trying to put the moves on him against his knowledge gives this a light atmosphere where the advances are lost on him yet causes scolding looks from her friend. These are infrequent enough not to be annoying and balance out the creepier elements that serve this one quite well, as the abandoned home made of twigs, the memorial adorned with names of confirmed missing persons and the noose inside the tree have solid suspenseful attributes. The other really enjoyable aspect to be found here is the chilling final half. Graced with the appropriate creepy build-up about the forest not being safe, there are some genuinely terrifying moments with the sight of various body-parts moving when you aren't focused or least expecting it. Keeping the creature to shadows for the duration of an extended nighttime chase in the woods lit by flashlight with an already terrified individual enhances the scare factor even more by giving off the kind of partial glimpses that later provide a complete picture, which manage to give this enough to hold it up for the most part. There are a few minor factors involved here. Among the biggest issues here is the strangely out-of-character outburst about the missing friend ruining the potential footage for the shoot rather than being more concerned with their upset and traumatized friend who just went missing when that wasn't a problem beforehand. As well, a truly problematic issue is the series of twists and turns offered by the finale, oftentimes twisting on itself in a new twist for no reason and simply doing so for no purpose as none of it makes any sense in the slightest. This is confusing in the extreme and ends this on a sour note with all the flaws being packed into the final minutes.

Rated Unrated/R: Graphic Language and Violence.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Just when you thought it was safe to go back into the woods . . .
BandSAboutMovies7 April 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Just down the road from Burkittsville, on the outskirts of the New Jersey Pine Barrons, two college students-grungy fanboy William and the purple-haired, retro-hippie geek girl Jessica-host "The Spooky Hour," a podcast about paranormal phenomena and urban legends. One of their fans is Laura Benott, a Hollwyood film producer who thinks they're perfect for her pet project: a documentary about the curse of The Wooden Devil, a mysterious creature who haunts the Rootwood Forest on the outskirts of Los Angeles-and is responsible for the disappearances of dozens of campers and curiosity seekers.

And our Shaggy and Thelma see dollar signs and fame. So you know what that means: buy extra Scooby Snacks, call Daphne (in this context: the Kardashian- fashionista, Erin), and load in The Mystery Machine (in this context: a film equipment-stocked camper). We're going to hunt for some mythical, legendary witches and devils of The Blair Witch Project (1999) and The Last Broadcast (1998) variety. (And don't come a knockin' for any ghouls from The Evil Dead, not in these woods.)

So who's this Satanic agent of Pan in this found footage-cum-mock-documentary hybrid tucked inside a traditional narrative film: a forest ranger who pledged his soul to protect the woods-and became The Wooden Devil. (All expositional, natch.)

As is the case with most found footage romps and mock-documentary chronicles, there's a lengthy (30 minute) set up-much of it in handheld or ear-perched POV shots-of "character development" until we get to the first sense of the "horror" of The Wooden Devil: a paint-peeled image of a devil on a remote, graffiti-scrawled water tank and a blood-stained noose found in the knothole of a tree. Eventually, Erin starts ranting about seeing some "bat creature thing" off camera and Will and Jess-stumbling around in the dark with POV cameras rolling-find the ubiquitous stone circle with a symbol made of twigs at its center. And that damned noose keeps showing up in the most unlikely places.

Rootwood is a film that takes its time; it rolls out like an old, low-budget Drive-In horror film of the '60s and '70s (watch for twisty ending: for all is not as it seems). This is a film that dispatches with the CGI-painted shock-scares of today's modern horror and goes for the well-shot in-camera effects (courtesy of lush cinematography from Thomas Rist, he of the German-language documentary Let It Bleed: 40 Years of the Rolling Stones) with everything just on the peripheral, in the shadows. In today's big-budget, major-studio horror landscape, it's a nice chance of pace to see filmmakers take the mystery-suspense route. The well-scored music and crisp sound effects by Klaus Pfreundner and Tim Heinrich, respectively, add to the slow-building foreboding.

Director Marcel Walz received recognition for previous project: a 2016 re-imagining of Herschell Gordon Lewis's 1963 cult classic, Blood Feast. Screenwriter Mario von Czapiewski made his debut with the 2012 German-produced/language feature Cannibal Diner. Felissa Rose (Laura Benott, the film producer) got her start in the business in her early teens as "Angela" in 80s cult favorite, Sleepaway Camp. And you horror hounds have seen scream queen Elissa Dowling (Jennifer) around on several low-budget films of the SyFy Channel variety; we previously reviewed her 2015 film, We Are Still Here.

To say Rose and Dowling are the hardest working ladies in show business is an understatement: Rose has a mindboggling 30 films in various states of production; Dowling's working on 17 films of her own. Sara French (Erin the fashionista), in thirteen short years, has already appeared in 75 low-budget direct-to-DVD films. Professional ex-hockey player Tyler Gallant is relatively new to the acting game and shows a lot of promise in front of the camera; I can see him appearing on episodes of two of my favorite TV series: Blue Bloods and Law and Order: SVU, sometime soon.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
My Review Of "Rootwood"
ASouthernHorrorFan17 April 2020
"Rootwood" offers a new crypto baddie in the form of an urban legend surrounding a wood devil. The story is more straightforward typical mockumentary, paranormal exploratory fare. It does break the monotony with some nice third person footage. The concept is intriguing, however the execution of the plot feels a bit messy. Far too much dialog and unnecessary exposition.

The acting has moments of quality, but there are some moments where the cast seem affectively removed from their characters. Still, "Rootwood" has some cool indie film royalty attached to it, which almost forgives the flubs found with the film. I did enjoy the twist, with a cheeky revelation in the final scenes.

The horror leans heavily on a creepy, atmospheric tone, with some cool locations. The night shots are sweet, chilling moments that become the major focal point. I wish more of the film was shot at night. There isn't much in the way of kill sequences, most happen off screen and we never get to enjoy the carnage of the situation. But, the creature concept for the wood devil is awesome and worthy of further exploration.

Overall "Rootwood" misses a lot of momentum as it gets started. To much time is spent building characters that are weighed down by too much dialog and exposition. It takes 55 minutes for anything exciting to happen but what we do get is a spooky urban legend, creepy creature concept, and Felissa Rose. Horror fans of indie, low budget filmmaking should check it out. It has some cool stuff worth watching.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Love it!
jaslynkohrp27 May 2020
Scare factor totally hit the mark for me. Quite intensely built up, overall enjoyed the movie much!
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent movie
jessicagaletti26 May 2020
Marcel Walz does it again with an excellent movie! Loved the direction. It will definitely keep you on the edge of your seats.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed