The Terrible Adventure (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Great Family Movie!
craigahrens17 June 2021
What a terrific, fun, family film. Our kids are older (33, 31 & 23) so it's been a while since we've watched a kid movie. But kid movie or not... this was one terrific film and my wife enjoyed from beginning to end. Bravo folks, well done!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun Family Adventure Film
JGReviews11 June 2021
The Terrible Adventure is a fun family adventure film. I haven't seen many indie kids adventure movies before, but it is kind of refreshing since I feel like many Hollywood kids movies can get a little repetitive and lack the original, creative vision that is so necessary for the genre -- perhaps other fellow parents will agree with me after watching the same stories over and over again. The child actors are cute and charming in the film as well. My son enjoyed the film and I'd bet that your kids will like it too.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
fun for the whole family
williamgway28 May 2021
A wonderful comedic film that works on all age levels. We had several age groups watching and all enjoyed. Well acted and written. Its simply a fun movie. I recommend.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Delightful
directortim201212 June 2021
Every once in a while you need something really fun, silly and for kids or the kid in your adult self. In a deadly serious world, this was the perfect start to my weekend. Thank you to The Terrible Adventure. I had a ball!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
great family fun
mich1elle30 April 2021
This is a very fun and enjoyable movie, one that the whole family can enjoy. Many laughs were had watching this one.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun!
artistgp22 September 2021
A super fun adventure for the entire family. Great choice for a weekend family viewing with pizza, laughs and excitement. Sweet poster too. Definitely recommend, especially if you enjoy indie films that are a different flavor than the typical hollywood flick.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Certainly worth watching - you'll be glad you did!
jimborussell12 June 2021
Excellent casting and chemistry between the characters. This is why I love indie movies because they are so much better than what Hollywood churns out. Certainly worth watching - you'll be glad you did! A fun family film - highly recommend!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Fun Movie for Kids with a Good Message
baccaruda121 June 2021
This one starts off with a quote from Greta Thunberg and the plot follows along that path. It's definitely geared toward a young audience, and it's message resonates well. The adult characters are played as caricatures which works for the intended younger audience. Well shot, enjoyable, and the kid actors are pretty darn good too.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun Comedy for Kids
NickRizzini15 June 2021
If you are looking for a film to watch with your kids, or to just have them watch it by themselves. This is perfect! It was a lot of fun, and put me in such a good mood. Both kids are very talented and the story is fun and well written. A big thumbs up from me.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun and zany caper!
moviezagogo7 September 2021
This is a modest but fun and zany caper film suitable for the whole family. I admire everything it sets out to do, and with an environmental message for everyone, not just the kids. There's no secondary market for smithereens!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolute Fun, Fun, Fun!
skinnyrie16 June 2021
We enjoyed watching this Indy Gem!!! I have one Niece and two nephews over, we popped this movie on and we are HERO's! Lol. They laughed and stayed engaged the entire time. This movie was solid and something the entire family can enjoy together. They have already asked if they can watch it again. It's staying on my saved list always lol. We all simply Loved it!!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Looks more like a b'day present to those kids than a real movie
emiliano9996 June 2021
Maybe there is a market for this kind of production where parents with a lot of money pay a movie crew to appear in a low budget movie instead of a big party or a trip to a amusement park, and maybe there are companies with some scripts and very skilled pitching abilities to make someone to waste some bucks in things like this.

Poor kids, there is a moment where they look already tired of staying before the cameras, maybe thinking it was better to go a week to Disneyworld or staying at home watching better, entertaining, real movies.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Family Friendly Film with Indie Heart!
againstthenight21 June 2021
Absolutely awesome seeing a family-friendly film done with indie spirit! The filmmaking was really special - very much looking forward to seeing more from Kel Thompson!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Family Funny Drama!
anjanipandey11 August 2021
Enjoyed watching and highly recommended. Excited to see Florida in the film.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Why is this so cute????
michelleharriswade17 June 2021
OK so if you have kids, you will want to sit down with them and watch this. My kids are older and I enjoyed this movie. This was funny and a Great Adventure to watch and just enjoy. They had me at the Ice cream truck. Even the storyline was cute and creative. Great cast with two Super talented young leads to carry the movie. Well Done. I'm sure my little nieces will want to watch this one over and over.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious, Inspiring -- Great for the Kids and Earth Day
urbfash22 April 2021
The highly comedic film sends a great message about the power and perseverance kids who take a page out of the playbook of young environmental activist Greta Thunberg. This is a great film to watch for Earth Day!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Powerful message for kids!
caseyesollock27 March 2021
I love this movie because it empowers kids to use their intelligence to solve big problems. (In a VERY fun way!) This is good, clean fun in a world full of negativity. Kids (and adults) will walk away feeling like they CAN "save the world", right here, right now. Empowering the next generation to use critical thinking skills, take charge, and solve problems is of utmost importance. You will enjoy this movie with your kiddos!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
There's nothing terrible about this adventure!
trtrchro24 March 2021
Featuring some of the best comedic talent South Florida has to offer, this film is every bit as zany as it is heart warming. Funny. Inventive. Fast paced. A lot of care was put into this on every level. The movie feels bigger than I thought it would. When you least expect it, the action kicks in, and the scope of the story becomes epic. It's pretty cool though that with all these larger than life characters and set pieces, there's really a small, intimate story at play here. I highly recommend.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Really Great Film For Kids and Entertaining for the Whole Family
antiquecameralover19 April 2021
Rarely do you find a film that is funny, light hearted and has a good message. My whole family and I really enjoyed the story and had many memorable moments and great belly laughs. I even recommended it to my sister's family. It is highly recommended and one of the best films I've watched with my kids in recent memory. Also it's worth noting that the cinematography is really phenomenal and shows so much of Florida!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fun and Energetic
freddytalk8 May 2021
This was such a fun film. The kids loved it but so did I! Great characters. Definitely kept the kids entertained.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Terrible Adventure (2020)
privatedia19 May 2021
Such a creative kid movie! It has everything a child wants to imagine, in a secret adventure starring a brother and sister ( who are a real brother and sister in life!) charming little actors, they are. Filmed entirely on location throughout Florida, with some scenic views from above from the airplane they requisitioned! From one quest to another, they are never deterred from doing the right thing, even though they could get discouraged, they turn it around into a win win for big kids, and small kids alike! Watch this movie 🍿 with the whole family for a fun night of pretend, and a secret moral to the story.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie for the family!
dionices26 March 2021
Olivia is adorable and Jackson has a lot of potential as an actor. Hope to see him again in the future!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed