Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Charming and educational
amy-tibor18 October 2018
Wonderfully inspirational series filled with beautiful scenery, foods, colors, information, and just... warmth.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Read the book instead
kortrantala12 October 2018
Was really excited for this after reading the book a few months ago and being surprised to see it featured on Netflix out of nowhere. The book is extremely educational and totally breaks the mold of traditional cookbooks. It thoughtfully details why these four elements are so important, how they impact food and then how to actually use them in across all of your cooking. All of this was lost in the show. This was just another standard 45 minute food-porn montage with all of the education stripped. Disappointed, but it didn't impact my view on the book. Go pick it up now.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Best cooking show in recent years.
georgepd24123 October 2018
Extremely informative and entertaining. Samin, is an engaging cook, and provides so much information,for even the most experienced cook.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great food show
Jessicanu9415 October 2018
This was such a good food show compared to some others. I learned great tips and I binged it all in one night.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Enjoyed the show
lynn-0960615 October 2018
I was seeing something different on some foods we are not familiar how they are harvested in different regions. I have never tried miso but she was even surprised of the process of how it is made. OK I particularly enjoyed the acid segment. Both my parents are both from Yucatan loved how they showed the true region and flavors.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't Miss This! Insightful birth of basics in 4 areas with ease and intensity abroad!
rjccmb14 October 2018
Can't say enough! Normal people who are experts yet not intimidating, and the focus is beautifully explained, just like you are there! This I believe is one of the Best shows I've ever seen... the hostess of this show is so down to earth & tuned in so much that she can capture a picture with feeling and flavor for anyone! It's educational & it's defined by the people, the region, & the truth behind the food. It's so authentic in the filming and positioning of the food, the process, the history, the identification of the ingredients and their delivery of transformation from the process to the table. Such a beautiful show I feel like I'm there with them. There are layers to the show with history & romance of food!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Never Read the Book
masercot18 October 2018
Saw this featured on Netflix. Most cooking shows lately have been very disappointing. I was expecting this to be the same. I was all kinds of wrong.

To start with, this show doesn't try to dazzle, it just shows. The narrator doesn't look like an achorwoman or model... just a woman who likes to cook and wants to understand food. The people she visits are cooking Jedis who work through smell and sight... cooks who've made the dishes shown many many times in their lives.

I've only seen the first of the series but, if the rest is even a bit comparable, it should be a great watch.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I loved it
mhdreiling13 October 2018
It's just the food show to binge-watch these days. It's a simple concept: food, cooking and travelling through different places and cooking cultures. It's already been done before by many others, but here it is charming and engaging through the always kind, humble and clever voice and presence of Ms Nosrat.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very very good cooking show!!
emmschopping19 October 2018
Samin Nosrat is a very skilled chef, she 'feels' the food and can bring the emotion that comes with discovery so naturally. She is real! Nice aspect is that most of the cooks are female. That's different from a lot of other cooking shows. I hope that there will be more episodes in the future.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Informative, authentic and entertaining.
mik_bonjour14 October 2018
The charming host takes us on a culinary journey exploring the basics of cooking. Through her natural contact with all the people she meets, we get to experience cooking made in the traditional way while learning a thing or two in the process. Everything packed in an amusing and entertaining manner, largely thanks to Samin fun and curious mind.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Could have been fabulous
gormatthews10 November 2018
Another documentary spoiled by unnecessary music. Music competing with dialogue adds conflict to the viewing experience. A bit of music indigenous to the areas Samin visits would be fine as introduction, but, by the end of the 4 episodes, it was nonstop, competing with dialogue and visuals. Too much at once!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Food ingridiants explained in simplest form
sohailparvaiz13 October 2018
Every one is making complex food programs but samin makes it easier. Food is not complex enjoy each ingridiant, thats the message.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Just plain boring
bmaryano-6156325 October 2018
I'm a die-hard foodie and have traveled widely to experience the finest cuisines. I have tuned into all sorts of cooking/food programs. With eager anticipation, I watched episodes 1 and 2, but found the show boring!! It drags on slowly, is replete with foreign language speech with subtitles, and has a non-photogenic host whose personality is unpolished for TV. This show is just bad TV.
1 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good wet up to a bland finale
tylersandelin20 October 2018
Was great until the last episode where it completely abandoned the principle that the show was based on. Definitely frustrating if not confusiy.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed