The Crumbs (2020) Poster

(2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
84 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Gothic horror
mitch-5095520 December 2020
Inspired by the mad scientist genre of the fifties this lengthy excursion into horror territory features a bizarre family who entice visitors to their bed and breakfast but only in order to pursue their perverse medical experiments. A fine attempt at a classic gothic horror.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Quirky
jaston-0126020 December 2020
This is a great film. It was quirky. I like that in a film. I also liked the twists.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thumbs up!!
ta650420 December 2020
I really enjoyed this movie. Definitely worth watching!
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Do You Have A Reservation?
NUDavis859-114 November 2020
A bold movie that tells it from the perspective of the killers who dare to cross their paths. The characters are captivating and you'll be craving to know more of their story, even though there is plenty here to digest. The dynamics between killers were interesting as we explore each person's stake in the situation and how they bounce off each other. If you're looking for a unique tale to explore the predator instead of the prey, then you need not look any further.
26 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
You never know what's coming next!
Dougolf1110 November 2020
What a perfect movie for 2020. Family is how you describe it. And The Crumbs have an interesting description. You never know what's coming at you next. Proceed with caution!
25 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Are you hungry?
jaz-0009220 December 2020
I don't want to spoil your experience, so just enjoy the ride.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Loved this movie
floresplumbing20 November 2020
This movie is great. Great acting and love the story line. 👍👍👍👍
26 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun Flick.
desertshark-4565219 November 2020
Warning: Spoilers
** very minor spoilers ** First, I had to say this in response to writers of user reviews who obviously didn't get it: The characters change their accents ON PUPOSE! Dummies. (They're pretending to be locals, but they aren't.) It's quite obvious and the reviewers who attributed the accent switching to 'bad acting' are either morons, or just write reviews without actually paying attention to the film.

Now that I got that off my chest...

This is not what I would call a true "horror" film, but it doesn't really fit into any other genres. It's weird, unexpected and fun. A real "grind-house" film vibe. Creepy, suspenseful and humorous but hits a surprising emotional note once or twice. No big scares or crazy gore, but you'll be waiting to see who's next! The acting from the core characters is uniformly good with one or two amateur performances from ancillary characters. (Just what one would expect from low-budget indie films like this.)

Cons: Sound quality is sometimes lacking. Hard to make out bits of dialogue without turning on subtitles! The visual production value is adequate but leaves you wanting in the special effects department. A bit more blood would've made some of the violent moments much more effective! A few afore mentioned performances from the guests/victims were a bit lacking but most were quite good. Some of the plot points/characters don't get "paid off" (like what was the point of the homeless dude?)

Pros: The four main characters were really well acted. The story and characters were crazy original and unexpected. The ending "pays off" the movie as a whole really well! Final verdict; this was a really groovy little flick for fans of truely independent Grindhouse type films. Recommended!
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
If you like chainsaw massacre ?
lewasdellgad-7088321 December 2020
You'll enjoy this film not too gruesome like chainsaw massacre but good suspense 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great atmospherical horror
idarbo14 November 2020
This is a very raw and granular horror indie film. I decided to take a chance and was pleasantly surprised. It has a unique vintage photography that gives it a disturbing visual atmosphere. Great acting and good plot twists keep you invested till the very end.
22 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Crumbs
smjwebster20 November 2020
Very good movie great cast weird twisted plot I didn't expect I've even watched it twice I loved it
19 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Creepy and scary horror.
amra-0784420 November 2020
Old school horror theme. Think Venus fly trap. The victims never suspect what horrors await them inside. Get the popcorn and enjoy.😊
19 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WTH IS THIS MOVIE?!
patriciatalaman25 November 2020
They shouldn't have released this OH GOD my eyes!! MY EYES!!! Awful movie. Torture to watch. Are you people in the comments friends with the team or what???
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good find
nsdave-8879021 December 2020
Enjoyed it from beginning to end!! Definitely a must watch for anyone ..
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable if slightly overlong effort
kannibalcorpsegrinder8 November 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Living out in the middle of nowhere, a deranged family use a bed-and-breakfast as a cover to attract unwitting guests to the place so they can experiment on their bodies, but when their activities start to draw unwanted attention from outside sources they try to keep their experiments a secret as they carry them out.

This was a pretty solid and somewhat enjoyable if slightly flawed effort. One of its stronger elements is the engaging build-up to this one with the slow-burn dynamic that sets everything in order. With an enjoyable start that gives the group a fine reversal on a home invasion attempt which gives an idea of their ruthlessness and criminal ingenuity to take them on and overcome the unprepared group. Since this follows them for a large portion of the film, their strange inner-dynamics come into play rather nicely as the series of attacks that show them seducing, drugging, killing and then experimenting on the rash of victims that show up to make their special age-reversing serum offers up a great deal of fun. The old-school formula here of following along with the family and getting to know them rather than the series of faceless victims is a nice touch which makes the film feel quite fun with the information we get around here. Likewise, the film scores rather nicely with the series of explosive outbursts that occur in the second half. With the rapid succession of guests that are shown being taken out and killed to be used for their experiments, the grand reveal about the nature and process to be utilized here add a dark nature to everything much like the series of familial relationships that are brought up which gives the process itself a much-needed boost. The back-and-forth nature on how to carry it out with the various acquisitions of new bodies to be used and the debates over the timeliness and necessity of the operation at that point which gives this one a rather nice back-and-forth series of twists that help to build the action up nicely. The low-key finale, which might be somewhat less exciting and frenetic than it should be but still manages to get quite a fun reveal included, also manages to work quite nicely with the inclusion of a solid theme on the importance of family that is slowly weaved throughout the film but becomes quite prominent in how much it plays into the action. Overall, these hold the film up for the most part. There are some issues to be had with this one. One of the biggest flaws is an overlong and drawn-out pace which gives this a far longer running time than necessary with this running afoul of either unnecessary scenes or just going way beyond the point of necessity. Most of the meals they share or the luring in of victims who have arrived tend to be quite obvious in the latter part where it serves the film to include them but yet run on more than they should. It's mostly the interactions with the various guests coming into play around the guests who tend to skirt around the unnecessary scenes with the idea about what they're doing quite easily yet running on too long for its own good. This mostly comes about due to the rather clumsy narrative structure where it falls into a repetitive pattern where someone arrives and they tend to it only to have someone else arrive and the process keeps going so it can feel quite unnecessary to keep hammering that point home as many times as it does which is what makes this feel so long. Otherwise, there's a lot to like here.

Rated Unrated/R: Graphic Language and Violence.
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Slow
elliotandfriends24 October 2020
Very slow pace snd way too long. Lost interest really quickly. Decent concept but there really wasn't any surprises. Needs an edit job.
22 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Interesting
angelalmiller20 November 2020
It was a good show, and had a interesting plot. I enjoyed it.
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Weird Indie Horror
GilbertS-8531 October 2020
Frickin weird, but in a good way. Reminds me of the days I would watch a stack of VHS movies looking for the one bizarre gem. Well, here it is - your weird indie horror. The characters definitely grew on me. And yeah, "the rub has a wonderful savory flavor." Just right in time for Halloween. Hells yeah!
18 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dreadful, dreadful, really bad
traceytak5 December 2020
Terrible acting, wooden and amateur. The British accent would be laughed at here in Britain, it was Americans trying to crucify it, that was the horror aspect to this film. I see the cast and production team have all left high scores and good reviews for this film but was that only to sell it to Amazon? Just dire.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent.. well worth watching!
robynsnest-4836220 November 2020
Absolutely excellent! Definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat!
17 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Satisfyingly Creepy
tamarailawrence4 November 2020
Lots of cool characters, very creepy family. You'll be kept on your toes!
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Refreshing
kyerhys19 January 2021
I really enjoyed this as a horror movie fanatic. Characters were all portrayed really well, it felt very unique and it's one I will definitely remember. Recommend!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
CREEPY BUT STILL WORTH A WATCH .for the lead actors
pocsatishsk17 January 2021
Well perfomed by Chelsea Jurkiewicz and Mario olsen... both has given a very solid performances..... especially chelsea jurkiewicz expression are noteworthy...
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great new indie
bruceweech20 December 2020
Interesting and quirky. Fun to watch. Take a chance and see what you think.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I look forward to more movies from this team!
jimborussell30 October 2020
Engaging, creepy and entertaining. Sometimes our imagination is worse than what you see, and this film gets inside your mind - in the best way. This film will take you on a creepy journey and put you on the edge of your seat. The suspense, intensity and delivery are well done. I look forward to more
22 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed