A Christmas Prince: The Royal Wedding (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
60 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
The slapstick over the top Dad!😠
vjenee1 December 2018
I have a perpetual look of disgust in any scene he is in. He is absolutely cringeworthy. So much so that I'm not sure what else is going on in the movie as I'm only 10 minutes in but I'm ready to call it a wrap. To switch an actor for a cartoonish nut is unforgivable. Oh! We've hit the wedding planner scene🙄. That's two cartoonish nuts.
40 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible
ShadowTek1 December 2018
2 stars for Rose McIver, that's it as she was the only good thing about this dumpster fire.

OK The first one was not that great, but well.. It was a typical been done 20 times better already unoriginal type fair, but it was still OK I guess. This garbage takes a dump all over it.

They took Amber's father from the first movie who was a good kind smart strong guy and replaced him with an unfunny disgraceful bozo JarJar Binks type fool and don't even get be started on the designer clown. They were so bad and so over the top it was painfully unbearable to suffer through.

Not sure what the director was thinking but he should find a new line of work.
40 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I just can't even...
lrodgers-4032811 December 2018
Who are these delusional people giving this movie anything above a 4?!?!?!? I really liked the first one but this is just so horrible it's painful. These poor actors were given the worst script on the planet to work with. You'd be better off just taking a cheese grater to your face
14 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Completely different feel to the first film
MissTea913 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
It might as well be a completely different cast and production. The two main characters had no chemistry at all compared to the first. The 'new dad' was annoying and the staff in the palace minus Mr Zabala were not likeable. Apart from this, it is a must watch if you enjoyed the first one, just don't expect too much
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Dad Recast?!?
annbiagi6 December 2018
I hate the new dad they recasted. He's too stereotypical, "New York New York" kind of attitude and doesnt carry the calm, grounded acting father from the first one. He simply ANNOYS me and really makes me not want to watch it. Or skip all the parts he's in. I dont need his comedic attitude. I love the cheesy, loving, collected father which is what I related to with the first one. Not this all out-there kind of guy. Whatever I'm 15 mins into and already hate the dude.
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Brilliant garbage
leoniemathews1 December 2018
Just like part one of this hopefully never ending series, the sequel was a dumpster fire of bad acting, awful writing and cheesy storylines - and I enjoyed every second of it. I don't watch these Hallmark-esque movies because I expect much depth, I'm looking for kitschy entertainment and that's exactly what it provides. Rose McIvers wide-eyed performance saves every scene she's in, which helps, since Indian Jason Derulo is one of the most unlikable stereotypically gay characters to ever be on a screen. If you want to spend 90 minutes with your brain in the "off" position and laugh at the absurdity, this is the movie for you.
27 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not Sure It Rates a 2
corthel30 November 2018
I am watching this movie and am approaching the middle it. One of the worst written movies ever. The ridiculous Indian designer totally destroys any possibility of this movie being worth the waste of my time. The idiotic brides's father is nearly as bad. A diner 'cook' and a 'chef' are 2 different things!! Beyond all this, Indians and Americans alike should be highly insulted by these 2 characters. The only reason I'm watching is because of the beautiful Romania architecture and winter scenery.
21 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not as charming as the original
gdonaldson-8579230 November 2018
Usually family sequels are fun and run close to their originals, this film lacked everything it's original had. A poor script, motionless characters and Ben Lamb whose performance lacked any appeal despite he winning is over in the original. Rudy Ambers Father was played by a different person wasn't the right choice he played a goofy larrikin rather than the loving supportive father. Why the change??? Never the less I could go on and do a full users review but it would be a waste. I sincerely hope they do another original cast more energy and a better more entertaining engaging script. 'It's a no from me tonight'
27 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
What in the jingle bells happened?!
sarahcavanaugh1 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
My daughter and I loved the first one, so we naturally couldn't wait for the sequel. Did we expect very much? No, it's a cheesy Christmas movie. But we were so disappointed with this.

I can understand replacing actors in a role, but why change the character? The dad was a strong, supportive, loving, and wonderful person. They made him an absolute buffoon in this one. He's ridiculously unlikeable in this!

Also, why did they make her friends so bitter and unsupportive this time?! Her venting to her friends should be met with support, not making her feel guilty since they are either unemployed or hate their jobs.

I could go on and on about the wedding planner and his asinine antics, but I just want to forget this character even exists.

The storyline was a bit of a mess. It's like they sat in the writer's room and decided to throw in every conflict they could think of. It just like felt like it was too much trouble going on.

On a positive note, Amber didn't change. Her heart still leads the way in love of family, and she still rocks her sneakers. The royal family didn't change, and are still very accepting of Amber. The chemistry between Amber and Richard is still tops!

Bottom line, if they would have toned down the antics and kept the characters with their original traits, I think this would have been a lot better.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
If you expect it to be exactly what it is... then you won't be disappointed.
laura_brasen2 December 2018
Sure it had a soap opera plot, but I knew exactly what I was asking for when I started watching this movie. Of course it's now an amazing, meaningful Oscar-winning movie, but I don't understand how people even expect that. I mean did you read the title?

As a cute, typical, royal romance and Christmas movie, I think it delivers. Yeah it's cheesy, but of course it is! I watched the first one and it's the same thing! I think it's a charming, cheesy, Christmas romance. That's what I wanted to watch when I started the movie, and that's what I got!

NOT DISAPPOINTED. And Rose McIver is adorable!
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
So bad it's good.
ladyuna-241109 December 2018
This movie is so bad, it's like they were trying to make it terrible. So bad in fact, that the rest of my family and I are planning on having a hot cocoa night and watching it just so we can make fun of it. The plot was so ridiculous--it's a disaster because she can't write a blog? Oh heavens? Whatever will she do?! I'm an independent woman, I insist on writing a blog! Combined with the fact that they recycle the plot line from the first one--another evil family member tries to take down the royal family--surprise surprise--and the kitschy lines they made the actors recite, presumably as a form of punishment--the whole thing ends up being a huge insult to anyone's intelligence. I could go on, but you're wasting precious time--go make yourself a cup of hot cocoa--and keep the rum ready--you're going to need it to get through this one!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A parody of a society and relationships
tjfp1 December 2018
This is an excellent example of how not to make a movie. The roles are stereotypical and the love and affection between the characters are not believable at any level.

The production paid no attention to details in costume (some look so cheap, her wedding gowns as an example).

The conversations about how to govern the country are... horrendous. Do not watch this movie.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
DO NOT!
alengusa1 December 2018
Waste your life on this... I will never get back this Friday evening, learn on my mistakes!
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
They spent all the film budget on the sets
ScoobySnacks663 December 2018
A spectacular fairytale castle and gorgeous Christmas sets, like all the recent Netflix Christmas movies, but the acting and script are more painful than a raging case of Christmas hemmoroids. If you can appreciate this movie for the mindless fun that it is, you'll enjoy it. I'd give it a 7.5 but I couldn't stand the gay Indian wedding planner or the old biddy security butler. They almost ruined the film.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How to kill brain cells in 92 minutes
kami1122 December 2018
If you have brain cells to spare, I highly recommend this movie. It will do wonderful job for you..

I think that the best part of the movie was when a journalist princess did the investigation and when she wrote "fishy" on piece of paper. I mean, she would probably forget that something is fishy so I think that was really good and intelligent thing to do!

Btw. who would want to be princess in this age? Even more in some Aldovia (who is making up this names?? Did you notice that all kingdoms are ending up with "ovia"? Maybe that is a definition of magical place; like kingdom of Poopovia)

Furthermore, who ever came up with original personality of princess "fishy" father should get a "Poopovia" reward for best character or at least a nominee. Great stuff.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Netflix didn't even try this time
dianebwith9 December 2018
A Christmas Prince was cute and well done. I think Netflix cut all the corners to get this sequel out hoping to ride on the success of the first movie and it didn't work. The characters: so over the top stereotypical. The plot: so/so. The acting: so/so. It bothered me that Amber is marrying into a royal family and is completely taken aback that there might be some protocol expectations. I had to fast forward through a lot of it as it was so unenjoyable to watch.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Failed writer saves economy
brettmottin9 December 2018
Have you ever wanted to see how a failed writer, her uninteresting friends, and a crippled princess save a nation's economy? No? Then don't watch this movie. The plot is awful from beginning to the end. Not only that, they reuse the garbage from the first movie. Cab gets stolen? The stealer will be important. Also she wears converse to her wedding. Watch a good Christmas movie instead like Die Hard. Even the bloopers were bad.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Bloopers are the best part
leandacarr7 December 2018
I know Christmas movies are cheesy to begin with but this movie felt really forced, and not as well done as the original. Everyone/Everything seemed forced and the best friends backgrounds were weak - wtf is a noodle chalet and why do they need security?? The only thing that made up for this was the few mins of bloopers at the end where you actually see them act as human beings and not as the robots they are in the movie. Also they could've put more makeup on Rose's temples as her veins are very prominent and looked like she got hit with a tire rod in her forehead :(
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not as good as the first, but...
BeltaneEve4 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Like others, I was annoyed by the complete re-cast and change of the father in this movie. Rudy was possibly the only character in the first film that wasn't a stereotype, so I guess they figured if they were going to expand the part they needed to go with someone who could play it more over the top. The wedding designer character was silly and the subplot about the missing money was like something out of Scooby-Doo, with an 'investigation' that hinged on some ordinary working guy who sent a card critical of the royals somehow conveniently knowing all the info needed to bust it wide open. Still, though, it was mindless fun, just as the first one was, and I'm almost hoping for a third installment with a pregnant Amber getting into hijinks in the palace and an unplanned Christmas birth in the hunting lodge with all of the standard Nativity cliches in place.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I expected something better...
yanac-524402 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The plot for this movie is LAZY. It relies on character changes, non-issues, real-life affairs (Meghan Markle), and scenes from the first movie. The plot was probably decided on after just a few minutes of throwing out ideas...

One of the biggest disappointments in this movie is the copy + paste from the original movie. Cab-stealing, Amber almost killing somebody with an arrow, and sleighing were all reused even if they played no big part to the plot.

They rewrote Simon's character, the guy who tried to steal the crown in the first place. He was portrayed to be very sketchy in all of this movie, and we were supposed to expect him to be the bad guy once again - except he wasn't. The bad guy in this movie is a new character who is apparently significant to the Kingdom but unknown to us until halfway in the movie.

My biggest gripe, and I know I'm not alone on this, is the complete re-cast and re-written Rudy character, or Amber's dad. I am not opposed to actor changes, but the fact that this character is in at least half of the scenes is really disheartening as he is a goofy, stereotypical New Yorker that does not resemble in any way the loving, wisdom-filled father we were given in the first movie.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring
lpohl891 December 2018
Nothing really happens at all... and Rose McIver has the same facial expression for 75% of the movie... hard pass
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
As sweet as Christmas Cake
wooclarke1 December 2018
This low budget Christmasmovie is as sweet as Christmas Cake, the story is twee but engages the audience. There are no Oscar winning performances but the Characters set up a romantic Christmassy indulgence. A great film to snuggle up with the kids to watch as Christmas approaches.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Muddled
hjalsayegh30 November 2018
Wedding bells are ringing and our couples are to be wed on Christmas.

Also there is an issue with reforms. And new plans to modernize the country. And progress verses tradition. And a union strike. And not one but three fishes out of water story arc. Something something artists are all pretentious something.

Oh and I think there was something about a wedding and Christmas or other in that mix.

Personal favorite, The butler is called Zibala which in arabic literally means trash... and they keep saying it!

Too many threads attempting to fill up the run time. Muddled and board lines on unwatchable. Go back and re-watch the first one. It was charming at the very least.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The royal mediocrity
TheLittleSongbird9 December 2018
Will admit to not being much of a fan of the first 'A Christmas Prince', which was one of those semi-watchable on-the-fence sort of films with nothing particularly special. Decided to see 'A Christmas Prince: The Royal Wedding' on Netflix as somebody who loves Christmas and many festive films, just in case anybody is wondering why the film was seen in the first place.

'A Christmas Prince: The Royal Wedding' didn't work for me, as a follow up and as a film on its own, and definitely the inferior one of the two. It was not from personal opinion a terrible film with a few good points, but it was at best a mediocre one, with the worst flaws being insultingly bad, that has all the flaws of the first 'A Christmas Prince' while amplifying them and having more on the way. Actually did want to at least sort of enjoy the film, not watching it trying hard to dislike it, have never done that with any film that comes my way with the genuine intent to always be fair.

Starting with 'A Christmas Prince: The Royal Wedding's' good things, the picturesque scenery is lovely as is the outside and inside of the castle which makes one want to stay there. The photography is neither drab or garish, though finesse is not a strong suit. The music is a pleasant listen and is infectious.

Rose McIver gives an appealing lead performance and Alice Krige is the picture of elegance and dignity. The best acting comes from Honor Kneafsey, a bright spot in the first film too, who brings a lot of charm and heart absent elsewhere.

However, the rest of the acting ranges from bland to awful. Ben Lamb is much less comfortable or engaged here, here stiff and going-through-the-motions, while his chemistry with McIver isn't there this time round and completely fails to gel or sparkle. None of the rest of the characters are interesting here, Simon is completely pointless while the villain is both underwritten and cartoonish. Coming off worst are a re-casted Rudy, who is very irritating, and especially the insufferable and quite insulting character of the wedding designer/planner which near-single handedly ruined the film.

The script achieves the not-easy feat of having twice the amount of grating cheese and mawkish schmaltz that the first film was peppered with. The story is muddled from trying to cram in too many story elements, all completely stale and some unnecessary, very thin and padded in some stretches, is littered with predictability and contrivance and the frequent lapses in continuity and credibility-straining gets on the nerves fast.

In summary, mediocre at best but not a waste. 4/10 Bethany Cox
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Netflix can do better.
evelyn-838718 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Despite the first film being predominantly cheesy, there was some kind of charm and energy to it. With this sequel all of that has somehow vanished. Evidently lacking in budget, the same rooms of the palace are overused making the film feel confined to the set, rather than giving the prospect of a bigger picture. In addition, the costuming and makeup is also lacking, the wedding dress being one of the biggest factors in this, its plain and flat and the lighting does nothing to help bring any magic or royalty to it. On the makeup front, possibly one of the biggest errors is the obvious foundation line on the close ups during the wedding ceremony, something that could have easily been corrected and reshot. The scripting is another factor bringing the film down as it feels rushed and lacks research. More so, however, is the overacting and stereotypical character of the wedding planner, the cringing is unbearable. Generally the performance of everyone seems a little lax in comaprison to the first, there is little chemistry between the couple, with everything feeling like it lacks some true emotion. However, the acting of the girl who plays the princess is possibly one of the best out of the group.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed