Roe v. Wade (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
64 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
So bad it's not even good to watch for laughs
Ithilfaen29 June 2021
I don't know what's worse about this "movie"
  • the appallingly amateurish directing
  • the high school level writing
  • the Youtube parody acting


or the number of alt-right reviewers falling over themselves in the reviews trying to make this pass for a masterpiece.

Look, pro-choice or pro-life, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but when you try to pretend that a movie" which makes SNL parodies look like Scorcese movies, with nutjob conspiracy that makes Charlie Sheen sound sane and reasonable, is the best thing ever, you just embarrass yourself.

I have seen more convincing pro-life arguments from FOX News, and that's saying a lot.
65 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
1/10
Analog_Devotee28 April 2021
All bias aside, this is still an awfully made film. Value your time more than I do mine and skip this mess.
36 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
"Roe v. Wade" Is Absolutely Awful on So Many Levels
einnoc101 April 2021
"Roe v. Wade" follows Dr Bernard Nathanson (Nick Loeb), the narrator of the 1984 anti-abortion film The Silent Scream, from his first interaction with abortion in 1949 - when his girlfriend at the time terminated her pregnancy - to his conversion to a virulent anti-abortion stance in 1985." .

The 2020 "Roe v. Wade" is co-directed by Nick Loeb and Cathy Allyn. The writing credits go to those two and Ken Kushner. Vewers are subjected to 112 minutes of poorly staged treacly, unconvincing monologues, delivered by a motley crew of actors from a very bad script.

Among the veteran actors are Robert Davi ("Die Hard") as Justice Brennan, Jamie Kennedy ("Tremors: A Cold Day in Hell") as Larry Lader, Steve Guttenberg ("Three Men and a Baby") as Justice Powell, William Forsythe ("Cold Pursuit") as Justice Stewart and Jon Voight ("Midnight Cowboy") as Justice Warren Burger. Former Fox news personality Stacey Dash ("Sharknado 4: The 4th Awakens") appears as Dr. Mildred Jefferson.

Dr. Bernard Nathanson, the lead, is portrayed by Nick Loeb (Loeb is also the writer/director and producer). It seems to be Loeb's vanity project for personal and philosophical reasons.

The character of Larry Lader (Jamie Kennedy) convinces Dr. Nathanson, who is, at first, very enthusiastic about earning blood money by providing abortions on demand, to perform them. The script unwisely has Nathanson (Loeb) and the others in the room sing a song about abortion as follows: "There's a fortune/In abortion/You never bother/The real father."

None of the people in the scene can sing and Loeb can't act. The scene is excruciatingly bad, but it's not the worst in the film.

The writer/director/producer and actor are all Loeb. Loeb's tuneless off-key serenade was just a small taste of the bumpy road ahead. It was really a chore to get through the scene with the actor reading as though he were an unborn fetus.

Speaking of "determining when to bear children" and having a pro-choice right to determine what happens with your own body, there has been speculation that Nick Loeb's desire to make this film stemmed from his failed 4-year relationship with Sophia Vergara ("Modern Family"), which ended in 2014. (A year later, she would marry Joe Manganiello).

Vergara and Loeb, when a couple, froze her fertilized eggs, undergoing IVF together in 2013. In 2017 Vergara filed legal documents to block Loeb from being able to use the embryos without her written consent. Loeb fought for the right to bring the embryos to term via a surrogate. Recently, a California judge has permanently blocked Loeb from using the embryos without Vergara's permission. The entire dispute embodies, in a microcosm, the film's main theory about who should have total reproductive control.

Despite my Catholic upbringing, I think women deserve a choice in what happens to their bodies (and their eggs). The ultimate decision should be between the woman and her physician, with strict guidelines (as has always been the case), not a decision by a group of old white men like those portrayed in this film, or by just one party in an IVF scenario.
152 out of 275 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Taking liberty with the facts
mkconway-0298023 March 2021
At the end of the movie reads a disclaimer "The persons and events in this motion picture are fictitious. Any similarity to actual persons or events is unintentional". So what did I just watch?
145 out of 226 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lies, more lies and nothing but lies
MacArthur_Parker16 April 2021
I'm actually quite surprised this wasn't the doing of Pure Flix or a similar company. Nick Loeb may as well be the new Fred Phelps the way he's brainwashing the easily manipulated.

The entire narrative is built on not just outright lies but also by an array of has-been talent who clearly needed money. You don't need to even be well-versed in the decision to know when the movie's spewing nonsense.

In a similar manner to last year's Never Rarely Sometimes Always (except that film is extraordinary, Roe v. Wade is extraordinarily bad), it's inspired me to give back... to Planned Parenthood.
52 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible, poor and very biased
rogeriogodinho2 April 2021
Terrible acting, poor production values and a very biased POV.

I'll the NYT sum it up for you: "Roe v. Wade" paints pro-life rights activists as "the masterminds of a mercenary anti-Catholic conspiracy. They were in cahoots, we're told, with Hollywood, the news media, Protestant clergy and rabbis, with the latter singled out in a caricaturish scene."

What else you need to know?
115 out of 222 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The opposing view...
ezgolucky4 April 2021
One of the few movies that lean the more conservative view of the controversial subject. Out of the sea of overwhelmingly liberal leaning flicks, this is one adds the conservative voice. You may not agree with it, which I mostly do not, we as Americans should welcome a counter view...
75 out of 162 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Very bad
CrimeChauncey11 April 2021
Aside from the blatant propagandizing, the film is just poorly made. Clearly they didn't feel the need to spend much money on it because they knew that the dumb hogs that like this kind of garbage would lap it all up regardless of how it looked.
43 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Creepy counterfactual fare crammed with has-beens
Hagar714 May 2021
John Voight, Stacey Dash, and a slew of other Hollywood washouts pay their light bills by delivering hilariously bad performances in a movie selling a QAnon-level conspiracy theory about abortion. According to this "film," there's big money to be had in the abortion industry and women wouldn't even care about it except for the fact that two men manipulated their minds back in the 1970s. It's embarrassingly bad propaganda, with a script written by Captain Exposition and performed by at least three actors you thought were dead, but it takes itself very seriously and thinks that you should too.
31 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Complete garbage
cwhitehead-483394 April 2021
When the man who's terrorized his ex girlfriend for years to force her to use their embryos against her will so he can control her for life is in it, you know it's garbage. Biased, untrue, terrible acting (worse than a school psa) and just complete waste of film...and that was the first 10 mins.
86 out of 168 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Even worse than I was told
thetallbrow21 April 2021
There really isn't a redeeming quality to this movie. The cast is made up of a bunch of Hollywood has beens who people long ago decided they didn't want to watch anymore because their content was almost as bad as this movie. Meanwhile, the story they seek to be telling is that Jewish people (they make a point to mention they're all Jewish several times) were behind abortions and were doing it for money, or simply because they're evil. I expect nothing less from the Catholic League though.

Just utterly trash and completely uninspiring. They're entire concept is simply "everyone lied to you!", "the Hollywood elite want to murder children!" And of course the classic "The rabi's want to kill children" I really just say clearly enough how anti-Semitic this nonsense is. From the fake scream video, to the buckets of gore, the representation of the Jewish community, and more... there is nothing here. It doesn't deserve one star, it deserves to be destroyed.
54 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Heavily biased and poorly made
missjennyo4 April 2021
The writing, acting, and directing were wildly inconsistent. The movie was told from one (very biased) side by one (very biased) writer/director/producer/actor. If you are anti-abortion, can overlook serious production flaws, and wish to see movies that pander to you, you might enjoy this movie. If you are pro-choice or undecided and/or are looking for an unbiased account of events or a well-made film, you will be sorely disappointed.
113 out of 194 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
There is a reason this isn't a documentary
briezyg7725 April 2021
This Movie is full of bias & I guess with the current hate in this country spend by social media these writers and directors thought Hey Let's make and entire Movie of our opinions & feelings! A women's body is hers and if you watch this Movie remember it's a movie not a documentary!! You should watch it because you need to be able to understand what people other then you think... even IF it is false! All women should be able to choose for themselves and if you beliefs say no then for you that is your choice. Each women deserves to choose for her body and herself!!!
33 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Revisionist History
kenwood-5410616 April 2021
This movie lies to advance a position. Oh wait, I mean "the events are fictitious", so they are not lies if they are telling you that is invented claptrap. I think that Roe V. Wade lies on shaky underpinnings, the 'right to privacy' which was fabricated from the fourth amendment. But hell, couldn't they have presented this from a factual retelling of the events, and made this a more factual (and more cerebral) movie? Nope. Bad guys are just murdering children to advance their specious aims and good guys are fighting for humanity against satan. Sigh.
41 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely great movie
david-214-5327953 April 2021
Really makes you think about Roe Vs Wade. After fact checking the movie my stance on abortion changed 360 degrees, it made me completely rethink my previous views on abortion. Don't believe me watch the movie and check the facts yourself.
102 out of 247 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brave, historic and TRUE!
hines-200014 May 2021
Surely the negative reviewers on here did not even see the movie. Mostly 1 or 2 sentences saying the movie is a lie without a shred of evidence. Everything about this movie is factual. It is actually their lies that continue today with HHS Sec. Xavier Becerra repeatedly denying the existence of the law banning gruesome partial-birth abortion. We know he lied because as California attorney general he voted against this law. Also, it was Obama who unwittingly (but accurately) coined the term 'fake news'. As a bonus Roe V. Wade clearly showed how corrupt the media is. If anyone thinks they will get anything close to the truth from the mainstream media they're living under a rock.

I never thought I would see the day again when I could say all-star cast when it comes to a verboten topic in goosestep Hollywood. This was truly a superb cast with the heart and soul provided by Nick Loeb, Stacey Dash, and Joey Lawrence. Other notable performances were of Justice Warren Burger (Jon Voight), Larry Lader (Jamie Kennedy) and Sarah Weddington (Greer Grammer).

The Chief Justices were portrayed by the renowned acting talents of Robert Davi, William Forsythe and Richard Portnow. They were joined by Steve Guttenberg and John Schneider who not only have wonderful acting credits but also serve their communities with distinction. My favorite among the remaining cast was Tom Guiry as Father James T. McHugh.
31 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
AWEFUL
kthickman-565125 June 2021
The most biased movie I've ever seen. It distorts facts with its pro-life point of view*, and makes no apologies for it! This movie isn't based on a true story, it's based on a story they want everyone to believe! Unbelievable and tasteless.

* I'm not a strong supporter of either view.
33 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Far-Right Fever Dream Disguised As Fact
herteld19 April 2021
For a movie with a tag line that promises "truth" coming out, this thing plays out like the screen writers did zero research and just speculated on what things might have looked like, from the perspective of a particularly ignorant alt right troll.

It's not just a bad movie, it's a bad movie filled with outright lies, misrepresentations and thinly-veiled political soap box speeches.

Unless you give them credit for having the names of the people involved correct, there's basically no truth to any of this, and if you're going to completely abandon reality, just make your own movie. Don't represent your utterly fiction as a docu-drama.

Also, these people actually WANTED to be associated with the likes of convicted felon Roger Stone and professional bully Milo Yianopolis. If that doesn't tell you all you need to know to pass on this, you should be ashamed of yourself.
43 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Poor reviews are just a result of politically motivated people!
sbeharry0627 April 2021
This is a good movie, people just want a movie about abortion that suits their personal and emotional views and the mainstream opinion. It is a GREAT Movie, support it and watch it!
62 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible
ameliawinterzz10 April 2021
A bad movie that some gross misogynist made with a bunch of insane far right nut jobs.
38 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
MASTERPIECE on every level
frank412215 May 2021
A star-studded cast delivers a magnificent film of historic proportions. Only a great talent pool like this can make a story like Roe V. Wade so captivating. Delivering the hard facts on such a somber subject is a daunting task, nonetheless this cast delivers in dramatic fashion. For the sake of our world and our future the task was crucial. Bless you forever Cathy Allyn, Nick Loeb and the producers for delivering a winner for humanity. Our pro-life heroes continue fighting the lies, murder of the unborn and racist eugenics of a corporation like Planned Parenthood that becomes so monstrous that evil becomes the only truth. When young women like Norma McCorvey are abused by their lawyers and led to death's door by the grotesque lies and perversions such as misusing the words 'planned' and 'parenthood' for untold malevolence. Also portrayed quite well was the heinous lies of the mainstream media ready and willing to deceive young women into a dystopian world of eternal ruination, whilst they mock them at their lavish cocktail parties. Stacey Dash as Dr. Mildred Jefferson was brilliant in her passion and presence. Joey Lawrence as Robert Byrn was a part he was born to play. Of great significance were the roles of Justice Warren Burger (Jon Voight), Larry Lader (Jamie Kennedy), Sarah Weddington (Greer Grammer) and Father James T. McHugh (Tom Guiry). The Chief Justices were portrayed by the legendary Robert Davi, William Forsythe and Richard Portnow. Great to see Steve Guttenberg and John Schneider who serve our communities wonderfully on and off the screen. The entire cast prevailed against an insurmountable task and made Roe V. Wade a masterpiece. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS MOVIE!
24 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The persons and events in this motion picture are fictitious. Any similarity to actual persons or events is unintentional
mjmayerhofer-272292 April 2021
At the end of the movie reads a disclaimer "The persons and events in this motion picture are fictitious. Any similarity to actual persons or events is unintentional".
53 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's obviously the liberal trolls of reddit banded together to downvote this movie
mhocksbig21 September 2021
This movie shows the conservative side of abortion so of course the left have banded together to leave as many negative reviews as possible. If you have an open mind or are even slightly pro-life then give the movie a watch.
14 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A controversial movie that keeps its hand hidden... for some of its running time
bob-the-movie-man24 March 2021
Roe v Wade was a controversial vote by the US Supreme Court in 1973 over whether abortion should be legalized across the US, following its earlier legalization in New York state.

Following an early personal tragedy, Dr. Bernard Nathanson (Nick Loeb) is a leading abortion advocate, making a tidy living by performing abortions in New York. Together with writer and journalist Larry Lader (Jamie Kennedy) the pair lobby for the "Right to Choose": to legalize abortion across the country. They 'recruit' Norma McCorvey (Summer Joy Campbell), under the pseudonym of Jane Roe, to headline their case.

Against them are the 'Pro-Life' lobby headed by Dr. Mildred Jefferson (Stacey Nash) with Henry Wade (James DuMont), the district attorney for Dallas County, being the opposing plaintiff.

Positives:
  • It's a brave team that put a movie together about such an emotionally charged subject, and Nick Loeb and crew should be congratulated for being brave enough to do so.


  • As in "The Trial of the Chicago 7", this was subject matter from the era from the US 1960/1970's that I was completely unaware of, so I didn't know where the movie might go (no spoilers here).


  • The movie plays its cards pretty close to its chest for most of the running time as regards whose 'side' it is on: pro-Life or pro-Choice. You see each team working their own corner, and the facts for and against are provided to the viewer (which Nick Loeb asserts have been thoroughly fact checked).


  • The film comes to life most in some of the legal debates between Professor Robert Byrn (Joey Lawrence) and his students. These were the scenes which I enjoyed most, and Lawrence delivers one of the better acting performances in the movie.


  • There's fun in seeing a lot of 'old pros' appearing in cameos as the supreme court judges: Jon Voight ("Mission Impossible"); Bond villain Robert Davi ("Licence to Kill"); Corbin Bernsen ("LA Law") and Steve Guttenberg ("3 Men and a Baby").


Negatives:
  • There's no polite way to say this, but as a relatively low-budget movie, some of the supporting performances are on the decidedly ropy side.


  • I wanted to see more of the legal debate between the members of the Supreme court.... but I suspect the shooting time available with these 'big name' actors was limited. That's a shame.


  • This is not a "Trial of the Chicago 7", and the script is NOT by Aaron Sorkin. It generally lacks polish. And there is way too much "Oh, hello --Insert full title and name of character here--" which is distractingly unnatural (just use sub-titles!).


  • Those familiar with my blog will know of my UTTER HATRED of voiceovers in movies! This is deployed throughout (by Nick Loeb) and irritated me enormously. More "Show".... less "Tell"!


  • The movie doesn't know when to quit. There is a natural and dramatic "end point" to the story. But the movie tacks on multiple 'epilogue' scenes. Some of these are interesting and informative, showing broadcasts of the 'real-life' participants. Others are superfluous, and lessen the overall impact of the message. IMHO, it would have been better to end at the natural end-point of the story, then 'do a "Sully"' by dropping the real life photos and interviews as insets into the end-titles.


I'll sometimes put 'warnings' for sensitive viewers into my reviews. As the subject matter is abortion, then this may naturally self-deselect certain viewers. But to be clear, the movie does 'go there' in two short, almost subliminal, scenes that will almost certainly upset any parents that have been through any form of pre-natal loss. Watcher beware.

(For my full graphical review, please check out One Mann's Movies on the web or Facebook. Thanks.)
23 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Truth Behind Roe V. Wade
chadrlynch13 May 2021
It's important to get the truth out with the complete Left-Wing biases blatantly being expressed by the mainstream media news nowadays. This movie accurately shows the actual truth behind the very controversial Roe V. Wade case. Protestors on the Left tried very hard to restrict free speech by trying to prevent this movie from even being released. Media platforms will no doubt suppress the ability for many potential viewers with even being able to find and stream it online. I applaud this excellent movie, and the outstanding actors that helped make it. It's a must watch for anyone interested in the actual history of this extremely controversial case!
28 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed