Team Marco (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Wonderful heartwarming and sweet movie with laugh out loud comedy
rannynm19 November 2020
Team Marco is a wonderful, heartwarming and sweet movie. This family-friendly fun comedy will have you laughing, bring you joy and inspire you to seize each day.

This movie is about a boy named Marco (Owen Vaccaro) who is insanely addicted to video games. When his grandmother dies and his house nearly burns down, his grandpa, Nonno (Anthony Patellis), moves in. Nonno is extremely bothered with his grandson's obsession with video games. Nonno will not stand for this and takes measures into his own hands. He decides to take away all of Marco's electronics and forces him to play outside. Nonno teaches Marco his favorite sport - bocce ball. Can Marco and his team of friends beat Nonno and his gang of neighborhood Italian bocce ballers in a bocce ball tournament?

This movie was written, directed and produced by Julio Vincent Gambuto, and it is his first feature film. This story is inspired by a real-life experience. About four years ago, when Julio was visiting his nieces and nephews, he noticed that his nephew, Marco, didn't even greet him when he arrived at their house because his head was buried in his electronics. This sparked the idea for his movie. The film takes place in Julio's beloved hometown, Staten Island, NY. It was filmed on location, which was very important to Julio. He loves his hometown community and was passionate about it being filmed on Staten Island. My favorite characters are Nonno and Marco. I really like the performances of Anthony Patellis because of his dry sense of humor and his love of family, which shines through. He is very entertaining while playing the cranky grandpa battling technology. Owen Vaccaro convincingly plays the "pre-teen techie" Marco. I can relate to his love of electronics and his struggles trying to balance Nonno's desire for conversation, friendship and connecting through Nonno's favorite sport, bocce ball. My favorite part of the movie is when Nonno is trying to figure out the Google Assistant.

The main message of the movie is to be present when around your family. This film shows technology is not always bad, and in fact connects us. It also reminds everyone that, while technology will be around forever, your family will not be. Cherish the time you have with your family.

I give Team Marco 4 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 6 to 14, plus adults. Reviewed by Katherine S., KIDS FIRST!
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic movie for the whole family
vittorio-1325 December 2020
It does not matter if you are not Italian. This movie brings a point to all families how you need to get away from the computers and enjoy life.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nice & Light Hearted Movie, But...
asolomon-4619123 May 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Enjoyed the movie which made for a few laughs and some family entertainment but, but, that kid Marco has the most irritating whine ever, that got on my nerves.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Laughs and tears in this family treat
sg104200223 November 2020
Family matters. Heart-warming story so needed today. Marco and his grandfather's relationship feels honest and real. Wonderful homage to Staten Island NY's forgotten borough too. Watch with the whole family.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great family movie!!
AnaBH122021 November 2020
Wonderful movie for the whole family! Love the relationship between Nonno and Marco. My kids sat and watched the whole movie without interruption... I give it 10 stars!!!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great family movie night!!!
eventu-6358426 November 2020
We watched Team Marco as a way to kick off the holidays. What a Beautiful reminder about the importance of family and tradition. Technology has made such strides that we have isolated ourselves from what matters most. These past 8 months have made us hungry for more connection, more hugs, more laughs, more tears together. Those are the gifts that Team Marco generously gives to the audience. The story was sweet, the characters believable, the home movies tender. Gather the family and Invest an evening in this life-affirming film.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must see!!!!!
marisa-1819929 November 2020
I have 3 kids and when we sit down to watch a movie there is never a good family movie. Until now! Team Marco is a great family movie. We all enjoyed it!! We laughed, we cried. It is a great feel good movie. Something the year 2020 desperately needed! This movie makes you realize we all have to pick our heads up from the phone. Life is right in front of us. Make this your next family movie night . You will not be disappointed!!! #TeamMarcothemovie
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great family movie!
canvas-6918429 November 2020
Perfect for the whole family. My 5 and 8 yrs old kids loved it from beginning to end.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Heartwarming family film
jtt-7913730 November 2020
A well-timed film for the little ones to watch with their grandparents around the holidays. Can't recommend it enough!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must Watch Holiday Movie
ccain-7500730 November 2020
Team Marco made me smile! It's the perfect holiday film for everyone. The humor reaches from age 5-100, and the takeaways of the story are impactful across generations. It's a conversation-starter, and a lovely, joyous experience!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wholesome, heartwarming, and fun!
amaliakristine3 December 2020
This is more than just a family flick- it's a good movie for anyone, especially now when we can use a little cozy comfort. :) It is funny but does not ignore the real conflicts of complicated family dynamics and of growing up.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watch TEAM MARCO now!
JosephCallari28 November 2020
What a delightfully charming film! You'll laugh and cry all at the same time. Great writing, directing and acting. Make some popcorn and curl up with your family to enjoy this fun filled family movie. I highly recommend it.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Family film especially now during Co-VID
apope-566-7178822 November 2020
This is a beautifully paced, well cast, amusing film for the whole film, especially those overly into their video games. emotionally resonant and relevant to our times. Bravo to this first time feature director!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun, timely, life-affirming family movie
marcforget26 November 2020
I really enjoyed this film, especially at this time of division and illness and unease. It's so much fun to watch, has a simple but important message, and reminds us of what matters. The actors are great, the script is funny, and it has the funniest delivery of the word "Facebook" I've ever heard.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gets better the more you watch!
nagw25030 November 2020
Each time I watch this movie I catch something else to appreciate. Heartwarming with strong morals and big laughs. Just make sure you have tissues ready, because it's a tearjerker.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just watched Team Marco AGAIN!
debcleary31 December 2020
What a beautiful screenplay. The characters are so well defined. It reminded me of my own Italian family, quirks and all The story moves you effortlessly thru this family's journey dealing with sensitive issues. The movie was filled with love .I was laughing and crying and cheering them on Perfect for family viewing. congratulations to everyone involved.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this movie. Perfect for the family
ellerz-689-30772528 November 2020
Loved this movie. Funny heartwarming and great for all ages. Great one to rent with the whole family for the holidays.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A fun, heartwarming film about the relationship between grandfather and grandson
albertlanzillo18 December 2020
Team Marco is a story about what's important in life. A poignant lesson in the time of COVID-19 and a thoughtful reminder of the value of family, our elders, and living life to its fullest. Marco's grandfather Nonno is full of good laughs and witty lines as he navigates the 21st century in an outstanding performance as a first generation Italian living in Staten Island.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Team Marco's reviews are fabulous for a reason!
bettina-2730 November 2020
Hands down my FAVORITE new (soon to be iconic) family film, but the adults in your life will love it as much as the kids. Belly laugh-filled, eye-misting, and timely! Brilliantly acted across the board, with the loving touch of writer/director Julio Vincent Gambino evident in every frame. I've already seen it twice, and since I coach a LOT of young actors, I've recommended it to ALL my students and their parents. Just pure joy. And besides, didn't you get your fill of real-life horror by living through 2020 (if you did!)? If you love it, do take the few minutes to rate and review it, as it's the new way for films to get the word out. This film deserves it!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Team Nono
TrueMovieFan2211 April 2021
While I thought that Team Marco was a sweet family film, The movie begins with the death of Marco's grandmother and then a scene that helps Marco's mom decide that her newly widowed, elderly father, Nono, needs to move in with she and her son Marco. The mother is recently divorced and having a hard time as a single mother of a precocious, often rude child. Generations clash over almost everything such as gluten allergies but especially when it comes to Marco's indoor video game activities.

Nono, who is a bit of a rebel and often argues with both his daughter and Marco, has one thing that makes him happy in this time of grief. He has been playing bocce with a group of his friends for years and after convincing his daughter to let him watch Marco during summer vacation rather than spend money on camp, he takes Marco's video devices away just as Marco is trying to complete a video game that his absentee father created in order to go with him to a video game convention, and refuses to return them until Marco can learn how to play outside and make some real life friends his of his own.

We don't really see the group of kids who become Team Marco until almost half way into the film. We do get to see Marco and his "frenemy" Fred (who pretty much steals every scene he is in) a few times but not nearly enough. The older men are fun and likable enough but we end up seeing a lot more of them than we do of the team of kids that Marco eventually recruits Fred to enlist for him.

There is literally a montage of the kids learning and practicing bocce to establish the team's bonding and sadly, that's it. We don't get much more than a very one dimensional characterization of the bonding and relationship. .

A conflict arises and Marco has to decide what is most important. And while it's a nice moral for everyone in these very "tech" times, it is mostly fluffy, stereotypical, formulaic and flat.

The character of Marco, while well acted, doesn't come off as likable at all. So much so that when you should like him at the end, your just happy he learned a lesson and will now possibly shut up.

I went into this expecting more of a kid team bonding movie kind of in the vein of The Bad News Bears or The Sandlot but that isn't what we got at all.

I'm not sure who the targeted audience is for this movie but if you wanted to hold the attention of kids, you should have had the team get established a lot sooner.

Team Marco should have been titled Team Nono.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed