Foods That Cure Disease (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The one star reviews did not watch the movie
smiledaydream9 August 2021
The one star reviews did not watch the movie. There is a series of people who state they did not watch the movie and gave her one star review based on their political opinions. One person claims they watched an hour of the movie and then talks about only subjects that do not appear at all in the movie in particular in the first hour. Again. People have opinions about food and then go after a movie they didn't even watch. I actually watch the movie and I don't agree with every single thing in the movie but that doesn't have anything to do with it. The doctors are very clear. They do an excellent job of interviews. I find the cooking being intermix very interesting because I don't need to watch the whole movie today. I can watch it anytime I want because it was only four dollars to buy it. So I'm Actually watching the movie in the movie house pretty obvious signs of food that's been stated over and over by so many sources with slight variations. And it has really good cooking ideas. I could attack like the silly reviews that this guy uses a little more salt than I would use but that would be absolutely silly. He says that's to taste and your choice. I like to watch a wide range of movies about plant nutrition because I would like to live longer and it's important to see little ideas about the cooking preparation and even storage. It does take more work to work with vegetables around to work with processed products and that's why this education is important to me.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Squandered Opportunity
chrissso3 October 2019
This video consists of two distinct narratives ... blended into a single documentary. One is comprised of interviews with some of the biggest names in the Whole Foods Plant Based movement (T Colin Campbell, Caldwell Esselstyn Jr, Thomas M Campbell and Michael Greger) on the benefits of such a diet ... while the other features a wonderful whole foods cooking demonstration/instruction by narrator and director Craig McMahon.

It's an ambitious undertaking ... all told the video is over four hours long ... but there is a huge problem. The doc bounces between interviews and cooking so much it becomes distracting and even annoying. It's like trying to have a serious conversation with someone that keeps changing the subject. This is disappointing because both narratives had great potential.

I wish McMahon could have foreseen this unfortunate synergy and in turn released both halves individually ... as compatriots ... in the same package ... because this would have been really instructive and beneficial.

More so, had this documentary been available on DVD this would not be a problem as DVDs have chapters while the Amazon Prime viewing app on Roku does not ... which means you are constantly fast forwarding.

In the end the interviews are OK ... but it's the cooking demos that make this worth enduring a little frustration. Sorry Craig ... please consider a redo.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This docu should be made compulsory viewing for every man, woman and child
agasi99920 August 2020
This is the documentary Big Pharma doesn't want you to watch. And take that from someone who works in Big Pharma! Watch this even if you are currently on a plant based diet. This will change what you thought you knew about nutrition. This documentary should be made compulsory viewing for every man, woman and child. Even as someone who's on a plant based diet Ive realised there is a lot that I need to change. Its long but definitely stick to it as they also show some recipes in between.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I thought I knew everything about eating healthy!
dannair20 August 2020
I thought I knew everything about eating healthy and boy how wrong was I!! This is a long documentary however there are some delicious plant based recipes in between. Stay with it...I think its only fair to spend 4 hours on educating yourself on a topic that will probably stop you from an early death.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Some interesting information,very biased, use your loaf
louisadawes25 February 2020
There was some great information and recipes, I wish the guy had offered more of an argument, it was incredibly one sided, the whole meat and animal products are bad for you, using the states vsJapan isnt really fair. I'd like to have heard their opinion on why countries like Iceland who consume lots of diary and fish and one of the healthiest diets in the world, and dont eskimos eat nearly all animal fat? What about them, how do they do it? I've lived with people from Portugal who literally pour olive oil on their veg and they are healthy as horses and are living till their 90s Couldn't the people who suddenly went plant based heath increases be due to cutting out processed food and refined sugary crap? As long as half your plate is veggies salad or fruit and I cut out the crap I dont think they'll be a problem, fingers crossed !
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great documentary!
johnzocco30 June 2019
A lot of people seem to hate this documentary just on the basis of it being about whole plant based eating without oil. Whatever, I enjoyed watching it. Lots of cooking videos. Very helpful for those who want to transition to a vegan lifestyle and how to cook whole plant based foods.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do your research
chrisstea22 June 2019
One of the doctors made a claim that there was a study done in Spain that got a sample population of individuals with perfect cardiovascular health and were randomly given a mediterranean diet with olive oil, a med diet with nuts and a low fat diet. His bold claim was that after 5 years the 2 groups with the med diets were dying or had heart related issues. I actually looked up the study called the PREDIMED Study and found that the exact opposite was true: diets that were rich in olive oil and nuts reduced their risk by 30% and there was criticism that the low fat group was altered. To disagree about a study is one thing but to go on and lie about the conclusions of that study on camera, they stated the exact oposite of what was concluded from that study.
12 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Slow at times, but hang in there!
petrirahikkala3 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The documentary advocates whole food plant based diet and does a superb job doing it. The message is scary - most likely you are not eating what you should be. Converting to a whole food plant based diet can be extremely hard. Craig McMahon presents lots of mouth watering recipes that are super healthy for you.

I kind of wish the documentary was split into sections of information and expert interviews and a separate cooking part. Now you get them mixed up. Also some of the cooking parts are progressing a bit too slow, but during many of them you do get nice hints.

I really believe this is the truth. Also Dr Fuhrman's Nutritarian diet is quite well aligned with the information presented here.

I think as a documentary this would deserve 7 starts, but because of the importance of the message they are telling I'm giving this a 10.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Long but fruitful
ebainink6 September 2019
You pay a lot of money to go on a weekend retreat that teaches lifestyle cooking with prominent lectures. I watched this for FREE on Prime Video. Lots of cooking demos that deconstructs complicated recipes that meat eaters enjoy into simple, healthy, inexpensive meals. Loved that they got THE prominent, credentialed, decades of experience, rockstars of medical research and medical practitioners to explain the science and outcomes from Cornell University, etc of the 40 plus years of the China Study and scores of the most recent research. Yes, probably newbies should look at Forks Over Knives or Diet Fiction or the soon-to-be-released Game Changers first. THIS is practical and informative and the cooking demos are fabulous. I watched in four sittings.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed