Hidden Man (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
17 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
A ridiculous farce that went on and on.....
MovieIQTest16 September 2018
We watched it and we just couldn't help shaking our heads and looked at each other with embarrassed sneers. At those moments when we traded our looks, the only thing floated over our subconsciousness was: "WTF?!" "What's going on?" "Is it necessary to ridicule themselves with such out-of-control pointless crap?" The whole movie just felt so boring, so pretentious, so exaggerated, so aimless, so twisted, so abnormal. When the absurdity went on and on, we just felt tired and decided not to watch, hanging on and forced ourselves to sit through to the end was just so inhumanly cruel. Yeah, there were people who always gave us some independent reviews with high ratings to show they were the designated few who were privileged and smart enough to understand what's going on in an absurd randomly patched-up junk, they can always get something out of nothing from a going nowhere, a dog jumping around and trying so hard to bite its own tail film. Well, lucky you, enjoy the tosh and have nice digestion.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The director want to say too much, but he don't want the audience to understand.
yoggwork18 February 2019
The director want to say too much, but he don't want the audience to understand. There's too much drama on the roof and it doesn't make any sense. Some of the first passages are quite good, but the latter is pure self-liberation. Audience? It does not exist.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
fast paced, funny, creative, playful & romantic
Blue-Grotto13 November 2018
A real man never boasts, but speaks from the heart. 100 years ago a young man, Li, who follows this advice, narrowly escapes being shot, a burning home and certain death. Unfortunately his relations are not so lucky. Adopted by an American father and raised to be a fighter and spy, Li relishes the chance to return to China and avenge the murders. It is the 1930s and the situation is made more complicated by the Japanese occupation. While Li speaks from his heart and is a good man, it is not certain - even to him - where his loyalty lies; to mission, vendetta or, upon meeting beautiful women, love.

Hidden Man is fast paced, funny, creative, playful, romantic and sexy in addition to being an martial arts action film. The stunts and twists in the plot are varied and unexpected. The creative, refreshing and ingenious film makers employ decoys, historical touchstones, competing interests, biking on rooftops, prominent roles for women, grenades and other surprise weapons, medical references, throwbacks to classic action films and more. Despite showing marks of censorship (hardly showing any skin, for example) and proceeding too fast at times, Hidden Man is thrilling and fun to watch. It is the final film of a trilogy. Seen at the Toronto international film festival.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Stanley Kubrick meets Quentin Tarantino
TheBigSick15 July 2018
This is a very solid neo-western. Jiang Wen, once again, proves that he is the most talented filmmaker in China. The tension arises right from start, and does not end until finish. The length of this film is 137 minutes, but you never feel it that long, as it is rather compact, fast-paced and intense. The multi-angle, quick-cut editing, which used to be a trademark of Stanley Kubrick, appears frequently in this movie. The inherent strong violence is neutralized by the underlying sly humor to a large extent, and this characteristic was the signature of Quentin Tarantino.

Liao Fan, who had been underrated for a long time, proves again to be the best actor of his generation. His performances are just impeccable that he is simply unrecognizable for his particular role. The production design, I have to say, is unique, with many of the scenes set on the roof. The sound editing and cinematography are also noteworthy.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Master piece movie
xiaohei-8011212 May 2019
Director and writer spend a lot of effort to this movie. U have to understand China history to understand easter egg in this movie. It's make no sense in many way but very strange that u start to accept by its unique way with beautiful sound track of telling stories to u. U have to watch a few times to discover the hidden message in this movie and u can go to school become history teacher.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Lose Focus
e-7073313 July 2018
As usual, Jiang Wen served as the director, screenwriter, and actor of the film, but this time he seems to have lost focus. Occasionally, the aura is reminding the audience from time to time that the movie is relatively safe and relatively interesting. The lantern-style character rushed to show the world view to the audience, so Jiang Wen's quick editing with full tension turned into a rush in the film. Seeing the end, I feel that it is a sloppy ending in the sense of reason, and the sensibility feels "finally over."
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A very interesting movie
z-5971311 May 2020
Warning: Spoilers
From a fan's point of view, I think it makes sense. It reminds me of "sunny days", like those children in the courtyard watching Soviet movies. Secondly, the open air is also the location of the film. At night, the screen lights up. I watch movies and the great wall lights up in the distance. It's a wonderful experience.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Jiang Wen-style arrogance
ParisImpressionH-Y-13 January 2019
The work is full of a weird taste - Jiang Wen-style arrogance is infinitely magnified by his own hands in this film - it is hard to swallow.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Funny and nothing
c-4947912 January 2019
The personal style is strong, the performance is disastrous and the pacing is chaotic, but it's still kind of funny to watch
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Old Beijing
jingtuzi3335 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Well although i personally don't like the director very much, i like how it represented Beiping (Beijing's one historical name for only a short period). Old time , old style, old Beiping, worth seeing.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
disappointing
andreiz2k17 September 2018
I am not familiar with Jaing Wen's work and went in with no expectations. A Taiwanese friend passed me her ticket telling me that it's Chinese with Japanese historical and cultural references, and while that is not untrue, it's not what I would describe it. An indulgent description would call it a parody or self-parody, but I don't have the background and familiarity with his work to justify it.

I felt the first jolt to run out about 10 minutes in, and it's been a struggle to watch until the end. The story is convoluted and hard to follow, dialogue is fast and furious, and while I get it that the director may be going for parody, the net effect is cringe.

The hero is nonetheless played by an actor who is supposedly some kind of sex symbol, and he appears bare chested, which may be redemptive for some audiences; it might also spark a parkour renaissance in China (or at least boost the sales of Assassin's Creed).
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Kevin Spacey is missing
desiree_ran10 February 2019
I can't resist the ROC and the old Peking flavor in this film. Liao Fan's performance shows the real calibre of his acting skills.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loosely masterpiece, you might miss the point
mtocm-139-58808114 July 2018
Jiang Wen, one of best directors in East Asia, doing his best in this new flick, slow paces but all in all fulfilled at last. Music memes Stanley Kubrick, action memes his own previous works, he now becomes some kinds of master "meme-ist". Combining comedy, r*pe and revenge stereotype, this is a great plate, but not for everyone.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Total garbage
MoebiusNu1 February 2019
Movie is complete mess. Incoherent scenes, tempo, editing, and dialogues. But I guess the director couldn't be criticized due to his presence in China. Such a waste of all the talents in the movie.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
movie is sooo jiangwen
f-5555315 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Social satire.perspective one.revenge of Litianran perspective two game between qinfeng and qianlong.maybe there are negative comments. but it is jiangwen 's style describe an normal history story in an unnormal way.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Too subjective that many audiences may not understand what it whats to say
bofan-zhou13 July 2018
This movie tells two stories: the revenge of a boy, and the revenge of a man. In my point of view, that man who got all his teeth extracted is the true hero of this movie.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I like this movie
b-4094524 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I have watched this for 8 times, and it's really enjoyable. For me,a native Chinese audience, the pace of dialogue may be a little fast, but not difficult to follow. I think it just says something about "what should the youth of China do" at that historic time when "devil on the doorstep". Hesitation and delaying seems ridiculous. And it's unnecessary as well as dangerous for our youth to get involved in CARDS PLAYING of those "marvelous people". Those people are silly indeed, and even failed to do such simple bad things. The hero Li Tianran had been educated in both Eastern and Western, but he still didn't know how to revenge until he met the tailor Qiaohong. Love made this miracle turning a boy into a man. The scene on the roof is so romantic. Another key point for this movie is the Peking City (or Peping at that time). Director Jiang Wen hides his love for the city behind lots of weird people and things. I had almost ignored the man sweeping floor in hospital, the man selling meat,and another one burning coal at street corner. Together with those opium abusers, followers of Japanese invaders, and spies of different forces, they all mixed in this city, drawing a strange, weird, but somehow "harmony" picture. Maybe it's not too weird to describe Peking or China at that time, as the director said "the truth of life can be stranger than your imagination". I have found some people might be offended by this movie, for its criticizing on Chinese,Japanese,Westerners, and movie-critics. That was rather more funny for me than just watch a movie. I watched a real social reaction...lol
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed