Polterheist (2018) Poster

(II) (2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Ghostly gangsters
TheLittleSongbird19 September 2019
Despite the cheesy title, there was a little bit of potential in 'Polterheist'. Comedy, horror and crime sounded very intriguing together, although they don't always mix perfectly, and highly appreciate all three of those genres on their own (especially crime). The premise was suggestive of it being an unsettling and entertaining film, or at least have the potential to be. The cover/poster looked quite creepy and not too silly at all.

'Polterheist' however was a mess on the whole, another waste of decent potential and have said more than once that one of my pet hates is good potential wasted. There are things that don't always make me proud to be a Brit, and watching 'Polterheist' is one of them (can think of a heck of a lot worse though, like the terrible political state we're in at the moment). There is plenty however that does make me proud, like some of the greatest literature ever written, great classical music composers and some immensely talented singers and performers amongst others.

The only real thing that stopped me from giving 'Polterheist' a lower score is there is some unintentional humour that did raise a smirk that did stop it from being a dreary experience.

Otherwise, apart from the odd moment of slick style the camera work tends to be erratic and the editing repetitive. The sound too often telegraphs what is going to happen prematurely, so nothing really surprises. Actually thought the dialogue to be quite clunky and forced, the supposed dark humour lacking wit and coming over as strained. The horror with the vengeful spirit is neither unsettling or entertaining, instead being very bland and more silly than scary (also thought it unnecessary), and plays third fiddle to the comedy and crime elements.

As for 'Polterheist's' crime element, there is no tension or suspense, not even surprises, everything is too easy to figure out and when there are any attempts to complicate the story it becomes unfocused. All three elements fail individually and make for a very muddled and unbalanced experience meshed together. Many other films and such do a far better job at the pulls no punches approach, which was pretty gratuitously done here. Didn't get anything from any of the characters, the direction struggles to balance the different elements together and the actors never really look comfortable.

In summary, a mess but not a beyond redemption one. 2/10
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
nonsense, psychic crime drama
ops-5253527 April 2019
Neo-noir, pre noir or pernoir, its definately not fitting in anywhere, but the moral is simple. the last laugh,is the best laugh, or redneckmidlandians vs. psychic chick its doomed from the beginning. its about a stash of non certified diamonds that are flown into england from somewhere, the mafia that expects it,are fooled around by several other tribes, and the mains, aka the loosers, uses the psy-fi to sniff up the money meant as payment and of course the diamonds.

the story are at the level of a 13 yrs old written english exam, with a horrible language, and implosive use of violence. the acting are a c-level, and so are also the filmo and edit. the pace are like flyfishing, its on turbodrive,then it drifts slowly and so it repeats itself over and over.

in the end the crooks get crooked and the beast is gone, and the grumpy old man thinks the best one won. can i recommend it .no definately not
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Beware Fake Reviews
ian100027 April 2019
Rather like the recent "revelation" that Amazon is full of fake reviews, we find a similar ghostly phenomenon here. There are a number of glowing reviews for this title, created by persons who joined IMDB in 2018, and have submitted a single review (for this movie). One would almost suspect a master plan to promote their own movie...

Anyway, I actually enjoyed this movie. It's a great idea (reminds me a bit of "Cleaver", the movie within The Sopranos. It's not great, and the cast (I note an Emmerdale actress) have limited talent on display, but it made me chuckle, and I do enjoy bungled heist movies.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Who funds these?!
symphy7310 May 2019
One word just about sums up this movie Better Off Racing In No Gear
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great comedy that pulls no punches.
knocky-smith7 May 2019
This was great! If you love low budget, indie movies, like I do, it's a must watch. A Gangster/comedy, primarily a comedy, but doesn't pull any punches like other comedies tend to do. Plenty of great twists and performances. Loved it.
1 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
GERBILSTUNTS...
jenreese20 January 2020
Your review of "polterheist" may or may not be accurate but who cares? Your blatant extortion attempt and threats to get your own way or to be right, (who knows when it comes to people like you) shows what type of person you are. You have the character similar to Veruca Salt. No shame, no dignity. Or integrity. Or any redeeming qualities whatsoever. What a waste of air and space you are.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Such a stellar film!
julie_lynn_mortensen1 April 2019
A fantastic and truly original script, handled expertly by director David Gilbank and performed with total virtuosity by the actors. Bravo!
1 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wonderfully black humour & performances
ben-427-95098521 January 2019
Polterheist manages to have a great story idea and excellent execution with some very memorable performances. The humour is pitched just right, and the characters are interesting and engaging. What more could you ask for?

Thoroughly enjoyed watching this at a film festival and would happily watch it again. Definitely one of the better U.K. indy films out there.
2 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
one more star for unplanned accidental funny moments
p-lipiec13 January 2019
It would like to be "Snatch" but it's not. :D The taste is not the best. Complication of plot is pretty simple. Solving out is very much predictable. Anyway I loved Polish gang for its absurds. Generally it's so bad that becomes interesting.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Reviews by cast
gerbilstunts9 March 2019
Why members of the cast think they can get away with fudging the reviews is beyond me. They haven't put any effort into concealing their identity. hayleybentertainments? which is a stripper for hire company, and, hayley b in the cast, who stars as a polish stripper, or others signing up and the day later leaving their one and only review.

Here's a 1 star for the cheek. Remove the reviews and I may give this dreadfully paced, rather bland but generally inoffensive film the 3 stars it deserves..
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Top notch thriller with bags of laughs and a surreal supernatural twist
markrathbone-7119219 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Gritty, Northern, funny, scary gory and a whole lot more. Tariq and Boxy are two hapless crims from the badlands of West Yorkshire doing their best to find some stashed loot hidden by the guy they just killed. Much hilarity ensues on their quest! Sterling performances from all the cast, great authentic dialogue and an all round great film. This deserves a massive audience.
2 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Original, Raw British Gangster Comedy
maddalenapiras7 March 2019
This film is witty and surprising, it's full of great characters and has that edgy feel of a good British film. The plot keeps you hooked and guessing throughout. Despite the film being labelled horror/comedy, the comedy supersedes the horror so don't be put off if you're not a horror fan!
2 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Locating the stolen money gets a little ... trickier!
CMasterman-17 May 2019
Based upon the original short this feature length film shows the originality that UK independent film making can still provide. Taking the base premise of gangsters trying to locate missing money, the twists & narrative turns are layered well maintaining the films pace. Gritty shots of urban streets & explosive acts of violence show the influence of Get Carter (1971) The cast deliver good solid performances with Jo Mousley inhabiting the role of Alice Moon & the dead Frank exceptionally well. Sid Akbar Ali & Jamie Cymbal are a great pair of mid level gangsters. The character of Uday (played by Pushpinder Chani) is another level of deranged & outlandish violence; as such he is probably the least believable character. Gun, knife & cricket bat stand-offs pepper the drama with darkly comic dialogue & action (especially paying for parking ...) The visual effect of ghosts is particularly well conceived & executed. It is thanks to video-on-demand, Netflix, Amazon & other streaming services that smaller films like this can get the greater audience they deserve. And this is definitely a film that is worthy of viewing. It is to the great credit of the cast & crew that films like this can be made, & I look forward to seeing more from director David Gilbank. (I can only imagine what he could have done with just a tenth [£4 million] of the budget for the 2000 version of Get Carter!)
1 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Highly recommended
jackoncc17018 May 2019
A British gangster movie shot in the style of Reservoir Dogs, with a touch of The Exorcist and a hint of The League of Gentlemen thrown in for good measure, all neatly packaged in a northern sense of humour tin.

With characters complimenting each other through the sometimes violent, brutal and yet very funny scenes and a seriously slick production providing the perfect combination, Polterheist is lifted onto another level...........another spiritual level.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun action-comedy with surprising depth
glowingthreats30 January 2019
I went into this movie expecting a typical Hollywood-style action romp - over-the-top action scenes, cliché characters making witty banter, unrealistic twists and turns, you know the drill - great production quality and very entertaining, but just that, lighthearted, ridiculous entertainment. And while it WAS very entertaining, I was pleasantly surprised at the gritty realism of it. By this I don't only mean the gory violence (it is pretty violent), but also the genuine portrayal of socio-political issues and personal stories. The main characters all feel very real, which is partly due to the great script and partly due to the superb performances by the actors. I'm not going to say more, but these touches of reality gave weight and a tragic tone to the film. These are never in the forefront, and the director thankfully never tries to push any message into our face.

Altogether, I recommend this movie wholeheartedly to anyone who doesn't mind gory scenes. It's very well-made, hilarious, exciting, thoughtful and a bit sad.
2 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Guns gouls and gangsters
grumpytrollarts26 September 2018
Bradford bad boys trying to use the supernatural with consequences. Enjoyed the humour and the darkside of local mobsters.
3 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Direction!
theatreonwax31 January 2019
Making a feature is in itself a huge undertaking. Actually pulling it off into a coherent and entertaining film is another. This is spot on. Wonderful diverse cast and a great premise beautifully directed by Dave Gilbank. A social statement on these divided times. Brilliant!
3 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Top class
hayleybentertainments27 September 2018
Must see film set in Yorkshire with a brilliant cast
5 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Gangsters, guns & comedy
georgedrake15 October 2018
Polterheist throws two small time gangsters in to a race against the clock to recover stolen loot from one of their "colleagues". The only problem, he's dead!

Seeking the advice of a psychic medium they contact him and so the mayhem ensues. Laced with tongue in cheek humour and surprising twists this film had me laughing and guessing all the way through.

I particularly enjoyed the performance of Pushpinder as Uday, Bradford's own "bad man" who puts the pressure on the two haplessly dimwitted whilst enjoying the luxuries of his grandeur.

I would definitely recommend!
5 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A rollercoaster romp of a movie thru the streets of Bradford
bruadarachmarketing1 November 2018
This is UK independent cinema at its very best... comedy meets gangsters meets the supernatural all set within the gritty, industrial landscape of Bradford. The acting is superb with Pushpinder Chani's Uday arguably stealing the show as one of the most unlikeable gangsters in living memory. Some great LOL moments and a hell of a lot of creative directorial licence makes this a film you really should see.
3 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Must See!!
fionasmith-316893 November 2018
Excellent movie.

I saw it last night and was very impressed and would give it a 10/10 for sure. I was even lucky enough to meet the Director and some of the cast. Great talent.

Exciting, gripping, funny and very well written. I love gangster, comedy and a bit of dark. A must see!

Great the DVD is out as perfect for a Christmas stocking filler.

You will really enjoy this movie.
4 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very cleverly made film
eddiebaldwin3 November 2018
Enjoyable from start to finish. Can't help failing for the characters good and bad.

Director/Producer Dave Gilbank's perception of life in a northern city maybe classed as stereotypic by some but in reality he's not too far from the truth. The story is cleverly executed helped by some wonderfully talented actors and camera shots. No spoilers alerts from me other than to say you won't be disappointed.
3 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny, fast and a little bit frightening...
juneltaylor4 December 2018
This is a great film. I'm not heavily into this genre but Polterheist is a gangster movie like no other I've seen! I loved its humour and overall vibe, and great to see Bradford as the backdrop. The villains are from all different cultures, which I loved, and the brilliant musical score reflects this. In fact the music is one of this film's strengths, along with the acting, great script, good direction etc. All the elements pull together to create something really quite special considering this is a low-budget indie. Huge praise goes to the wonderful award-winning Gemma Head who co-wrote the script. Some of the best lines are hers, so I'm told. Her brilliant cameo role also reflects her versatile acting ability too. She is sadly missed. Well done to all who worked on this film. Looking forward to the next one from this lot!
1 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yorkshire Meets Tarantino
TalL9413 March 2019
An absolutely fantastic film with a very unique concept! It's lovely to see something so creative that has been filmed locally. Top notch work from the cast and crew, keep an eye out for these names because I can guarantee they'll be popping up again very soon!
4 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed