Christmas Survival (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Not bad at all
kq99929 September 2019
For a Christmas movie with a well used storyline...that being just as the title says - Surviving Christmas with the Relatives - it is quite enjoyable. Not as silly or madcap as most...it is a good little timewaster to watch with the family after Christmas day winds down.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining and amusing
foxall-2109728 November 2019
If you're British with a dysfunctional family, or, enjoy British humour, it's brilliant. If not, c'est la vie.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
SUPER Sweet, entertaining, and had great casting ---- SPOILERS_----
arthousefilms-68-9397178 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was a delight to watch!! From the very first frame until the very last one, it delivered smiles and a great feeling all around.

The acting was superb! That physical casting was a little off between the two sisters, unless I missed something in their relationship where they had different parents. But even so, it was still super nice to see their acting together.

I LOVED ALL THE RELATIONSHIP DYNAMICS!! The two parent leads (the home owners) were superb. All the others were incredible also.

To be honest, I bet this film would be a difficult and boring script read due to the ensemble slice-of-life style. But the writer and director were the same person and he really had a handle on bringing his vision to life. Every nuance, every detail, added to the overall emotional transport this film delivered.

There were so many memorable scenes that were a blast to see unfold.

It was so fun watching every single actor in their roles. Even the twins had me in hysterics.

************ SPOILER ALERT **********

The only reason I gave this film a 9 instead of a 10 is that it's wrap up after Christmas was not very compelling. I was hoping for more of an electric culmination of events, but it just kind of go solved in a non-dramatic way.

Still, it is a great film that I will love to watch again and again. Kudos to the director for creating his vivid vision and kudos to the actors for being so charming and awesome!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Well...?
dustinbarr1 November 2019
The cast was virtually flawless...The plot? Hard to find one. Who were the main characters? What was the story? When you get to the end of the movie you're left thinking, "So what?"
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad
caffeinequeen1820 December 2019
Not bad for a tv Christmas movie. A little grittier than most and though it's not something to watch over and over, it kept me watching to see what would happen to these characters. As others have commented, not everyone is like able, but that's how it is in a family. I prefer a more realistic story than overly nice (unreal) Christmas stories.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
NOTHING TO UNWRAP HERE.
fionastaun19 November 2019
Comedic timing missing by the biggest Santa bag. Good actors but absolutely horrible as an ensemble. Too bored to write more.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Just another awful Christmas with the fam
apryla-5879514 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
English family hosts Christmas and it goes badly but then everything ends perfectly because of course.

Here's the part that is infuriating...the sisters in this film get an inheritance but there wasn't as much money as they thought. The one boring ugly sister and her Marky Mark Wahlberg look alike husband sink every last penny into her childhood home fully expecting that she will inherit the home free and clear while pretty and vain movie star sister will inherit investment money but oops turns out the investments aren't there anymore so now they both have to split the house which means selling it. Both sisters are friendly until this happens and then the claws come out. They spend the rest of the movie furious with one another UNTIL movie star sister finds out her TV show is renewed and she will be making a ton of money so now she won't be needing her share of the inheritance. They are all happy and hugging and acting like two seconds ago they weren't about to come to fisticuffs and write each other out of their lives. RIDICULOUS! How is that genuine?! So stupid!

One last thing-I chose this film because Joely Richardson was in it so I thought that would give it a little more credibility but nope she's just acting in anything anymore apparently. She's found herself in the place every movie star eventually finds themselves-too old for main character or starlet parts but too young to give up completely and settle for old person roles so they take on drivel like this. She was totally out of place in this and it was embarrassing.

This wasn't the worst film I've ever seen but I certainly don't recommend it. This is just another terrible Christmas film.

For the love of God people! Christmas films are a huge industry so why can't someone come up with something original and not totally stupid or lame?! Stop churning out crap we don't want to see! Such a waste!
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Had potential
ben-matters16 December 2019
A disappointment. The storyline had potential but unfortunately fell short.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Eh
blahblahblah9121 November 2019
I did notice the video game sound the kid was playing was '80's Atari Pac-Man lol
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The first few minutes is a good indicator
qui_j26 November 2019
The first few minutes says it all. Absolute tosh from the start and only gets worse. Don't waste your time!
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Survive this movie
nkdiddy22 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I honestly thought Kirk Cameron's Saving Christmas was cringey. I'm willing to bet the writers and Director took notes from Kirk himself. This movie has no plot, no relatable dialogue, a dreary story that's about as heartwarming as the turkey they cooked outside in an oven with no explanation to how they cooked it. This movie fails on all counts. You know absolutely nothing about the characters, they're not relatable, not beleiveable, and the timing/delivery of lines makes this movie even more unbearable. If someone ever gave this movie any other rating aside from a 2 and below needs to get their head examined for a possible concussion. Christmas movies should be joyous and fun. This is the opposite of fun. This movie will kill your Christmas spirit deader than the Ghost of Christmas past and there it shall remain. Holy hell it didn't even end on a good note. The credits couldn't have shown up fast enough. At least we knew what to expect in those credits. Absolutely abhorrent. DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE. WATCH SOMETHING ELSE. THIS MOVIE WILL SPOIL YOUR CHRISTMAS.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
What was the plot line
christageno-actor30 December 2019
Some of the actors were good. But it was like different characters playing individual roles that never quite became an ensemble. There were so many individual plots that nothing was interesting. Truly nothing was interesting about this film.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Xmas movie
rmckenzie74727 November 2019
I thought it was much better then Most people are saying. Great Holiday fun. Good story, good acting, what else do you want from an Xmas movie!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Very tired boring movie
rlgouge17 November 2019
Why did they have to show a guy snorting coke. It added nothing to the story. Ols storyline. I only watched for Joely Richardson .
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Xmas movies are generally 5 stars and that's good for them.
dylanjk28 November 2019
This is boring and has one swear word so far.... So not so family friendly .
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
You can't survive this movie
don_kihotis22 December 2019
Pointless and meaningless movie. Time wasting and very difficult to watch it until the end. If you manage to do so though, you end up looking at the rest of your family with a weird expression like: "what have we watched now"?
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Different than American a Christmas movies, refreshingly so.
gatorgus4828 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Deserved a 7, but the low scores are ridiculous. Well acted, quite amusing in parts, and more real than most.

It ended a bit too neatly, but showing people with warts and all. People are messy.

But, nicely done and better than most American Christmas movies.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
2hrs of my life I will never get back.
gregpowrie24 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Sweet suffering Christmas stuffing. Avoid this at all costs. (In our case £4.49 ) I don't even know where to start, but here are some comedic "highlights". I would say spoiler alert, but that would imply there was anything to give away...

1) Lets laugh at the hard-working Poles, as they botch up renovations, get drunk, run from the job, then return as heroes.

2) Lets chortle at the small dog that accidentally swallows a viagra, and needs a cold shower.

3) Lets marvel at the entirely believable relationship between the two sisters, where one is an absolute cow, and the other insists on running around in a nightdress in a mansion that is supposedly sub-zero.

4) Lets applaud Patricia Hodge's agent for presumably negotiating a decent fee in a movie where she says and does nothing.

5) Lets guffaw at the addict son who defies the odds in 24 hrs to become a budding entrepreneur, under the guidance of another addict/sleazeball who doubles as husband of the year by the end of the film.

The large, unslaughtered turkey, "Gobbles" serves as the perfect metaphor for this slice of seasonal nonsense. It didn't even snow.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I promise to never watch anything written by this person again
hmb-5177824 December 2019
The writing is just terrible. Every single person is literally awful. Even the children, who go around collecting for charity, only to keep the money.

If you write yourself, this writer is a tosser.

2 stars for casting a number of Miranda alum.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Racist
bethgreenb16 December 2019
I don't usually get worked up over stuff, but this is pretty bad. In the beginning of the movie the despicable character, Trent, talks about fancy cars while he's drinking Scotch and smoking cigars with his brother-in-law. You get the idea that he's a real and then he says, "I'm a Jew." In the rest of the movie you find out he's a rich drunk who can't hold down a job. He takes Viagra one night and when he gets rebuffed by his wife he finds a cousin and hits on her. Despicable. The movie should be banned.
1 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
1 star is too generous
ifinkivgonecrazy3 December 2020
This is the most boring film I've ever had to endure. Do not waste your time. I would've turned it off had it not been for my stubborn husband saying he wanted to watch a Christmas movie. Again, please do not waste your time!
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed