Late Life: The Chien-Ming Wang Story (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
A peek into the life of a baseball star
cjh-9050421 October 2018
I enjoyed this documentary, it gave the audience a real look into the rise and fall of sports celebrities and the weight that they bear. This is especially special because Chen is not only a popular pitcher in the U.S, he bore the weight of his home country, Taiwan, as the "Pride of Taiwan." Not only is this an inspiration to aspiring Taiwanese players, but for any aspiring sports players who, with enough grit and determination, can make it back into the major leagues.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Simple movie with an inspiring true story.
estherlin-386004 November 2018
To be honest, It's not a super fancy movie but it's absolutely a GREAT one telling the true story of a significant Taiwanese baseball player - Chien-Ming Wang.

I am not a baseball fan, so I didn't really know his story before I watched the movie; however, I literally feel/understand his frustration when I saw the movie - He was trying so hard to prove he could still make it, for YEARS, and he didn't quit before he reached his limitation. I wasn't a fan of Chien-Ming Wang, but now I am.

It simply represents the Taiwanese spirit, and Wang's story encourages me to keep fighting for my dream and NEVER give up. You can find tons of inspiring stories out there, but it's not that easy to find a true one that makes you feel 'This is real, and I am gonna fight for my life too'.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How you face with up and down thru his story
chrischen-6395414 March 2019
I cried, for all those sweet memories for CMW's fantastic Yankee journey, it was whole TWness people's stories, it was also each of their own story, we miss the old times when we were young, so I cried. But also cried for watching his the one and the only purpose- to pitch again. Who wouldn't struggle and be pain and fear to lose everything? he fight for that with his unique character, also gave audience lots of courages.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You can find yourself represented here
laanmar31 May 2018
The Chien-Ming Wang Story looks at first tailored for beisbol fans. However, you will soon realize that in reality is a master piece about human nature, about how we all have fight against odds to achieve our dreams whatever they are for you. This story talks about you or will inspire you to be the best you can ever be if you never give up.

Beautifully crafted into a documentary that unfollow classic rules about person-specific story telling. From the golden years that you could imagine to be mainly featured, the story take you into the uncertainty of the fallen years that came after.

The most appealing aspect to me in the narrative is the uncertainty about where Chien-Ming Wang could end up. It is after all a featured documentary with an unwritten story until the very end.

Highly recommended for beisbol-prone audiences, but I personally recommend it for everyone else looking for inspiration in their lifes.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Authentic and inspiring behind-the-scenes story of a once superstar athlete
brhsiao1 July 2019
You really get to "meet" Chien Ming Wang in this documentary.

I've been a fan of him since the time I was living in Taiwan during his peak years as a NY Yankees Ace pitcher. Like most people, I knew of him as the celebrity athlete, "National Hero of Taiwan", "Pride of Taiwan", that we see on TV.

However, the movie does a great job of exposing the Chien Ming Wang as a normal human being going through struggles and adversities just like we all do in life.

The film takes us through his journey of his rise to success with the Yankees, but mainly focuses on the after-peak years of his careers in the minors, fighting to climb back into the big league. It is truly inspiring and great to learn of the humble and persistent side of him all because of his baseball dream.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great directorial debut of a documentary
isabelchen-8132628 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I really enjoyed watching the documentary as I had not known what to expect of what I would see of Chien-Ming Wang. I remembered back in Taiwan people would always talk about him, how he was making a name for himself by playing in the major leagues, yet I had not caught into the fevering passion people in Taiwan had for him.

I loved being able to see a documentary of his late life, because it shows a reality of what had happened after his shoulder had been hurt: not being signed in the Major Leagues and finding himself in striving to do what he is determined to do. The whole film really brings the embodiment of a passion project: upon meeting the director and cinematographer of the film, it was evident to see that these people were enthusiastic in telling the story of a Taiwanese sports legend.

Very, very heartwarming, home-y feeling of a film.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't forget to turn English subtitle on. I thoroughly enjoyed this film.
cyhbostonlover28 April 2019
75% of this film is in English and 25% Mandarin. I understand both languages and thoroughly enjoyed every dialogue and the story as it unfolds. It was emotional and inspirational. Wang's struggle in his career as told by the director is something even a non-sports fan can relate to and it lifts you up and inspires you to do more to achieve your own dream. I saw someone complaint that he could not understand what CM Wang was saying in the film. Before you play this film, kindly, turn English CC on. I attach the instruction on how to do so from Netflix's website here:

Select a TV show or movie. Select Audio & Subtitles. Select your preferred audio or subtitle options. Select Play.

It's not so hard. Now sit back and enjoy this beautifully shot and edited documentary, elevated by great visuals and scores. It was nominated for best documentary of the year by the Gold Horse Awards which is equivalent to the The Oscars in the Chinese speaking world.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Authentic and inspiring behind-the-scenes story of a once superstar athlete
brhsiao1 July 2019
You really get to "meet" Chieng-Ming Wang from this documentary.

I've been a fan of him since I was living in Taiwan during his peak years as the NY Yankee's Ace pitcher. Like most people, I've only known him as that celebrity athlete that everyone sees on TV.

However, little do people recognize, like everyone else in this world experiences, he goes through struggles and adversities in life too. The movie introduces the normal human that Chien Ming Wang is, and it is truly inspiring and emotional to see the humble and persistent side of him.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A touching piece for anybody who are pursuing their dreams far away from home
ijulee26 May 2019
This documentary is about Chien-Ming Wang, the former ace of the NY Yankees. No this is not about his most glorious years when he won 19 games in each of the two consecutive years. This is about his struggle after an injury.

For any sports fans, the story line is way too familiar. What made this movie special is that it not only told a story where a baseball player tries to make his dream come true again, it also told a story where a foreigner (Chien-Ming Want is born and raised in Taiwan) who wanted to have a career in the US had to overcome all the different challenges. This is a touching story because not only the sports fans, everybody who moved to the US to pursue their dreams or careers would relate to.

Chien-Ming Wang is an introvert. He has this quiet demeanor. He was criticized for not being aggressive enough. Not outspoken enough. Not bold enough. And yet his decision to stay in baseball after a potential career-ending injury was bold and aggressive and against-all-odds. When he pitched he was so focused and intense. The director did a great job catching both the quiet guy and the laser focused pitcher. The whole film feels real. It is inspiring.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must See For Pitchers & Yankees Fans!
murphaa3 December 2021
What a heartwarming and heartbreaking story about such a great pitcher who had injuries take away his career but thankfully never stole his dreams! Guy Proved many people wrong and came away with a great ending in a way...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dope?
geee_diddy6 April 2022
This was an inspiring documentary. It highlights what it takes to be exceptional. No magic. No gifted attributes. Simply tenacious, focused, hard work and an indomitable spirit. Tremendous.

Random thought: Considering Taiwan's cross-strait relations with China, and Chen-Ming's status as a national hero in his country - was he ever tested for drug-induced tendonitis?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The story is fine but...
bstee-130 March 2019
This is a well shot film, the visuals are very good. It seems the story very good as well but the target is clearly not for Anglo Speakers or the film is unfinished. There is nothing at all wrong with a film targeted toward his market and his speakers. But 75% of the film is in English and we never have any clue what he is saying without translations. We have to assume it is something good. We have to assume it is something inspirational for this target audience, but it comes off as unfinished or incomplete when marketed in then English speaking sports section of films on Netflix.
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed