The Faceless Man (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
28 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
It was a difficult experience.
gothic-fiction29 August 2020
Well, call it what you want but this one doesn't go down too smoothly. Perhaps misunderstood, but most likely a mess of random scenes, coming from a first time director, The Faceless Man makes sense only if you decide to watch it and appreciate it from the exact point of view that the director had.

If you go in expecting an Aussie horror, usually a slasher that is a tad bit brutal, you fill find some elements of that here, but the execution makes it look like a C movie. After a very difficult first and second act, where action blends with - i guess humor- the third one will manage to make sense, just a little, more of a way to tie them together and offer some closure to what you watched.

I couldn't recommend this to anyone, to be honest, not even to our Aussie friends, but if you do decide to watch it, expect to feel like you're on drugs and don't bother for things to make too much sense.

Cheers!
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Laughable and cliche ridden
darthsidious502 October 2020
Warning: Spoilers
How do films like this even get made? Poorly written,very poorly acted,poorly directed. There is nothing in this film that i would recommend to anyone. No memorable moments. You can see where certain scenes were lifted from other films and just thrown into this one (the torture scene in Reservoir Dogs was done so much better and more memorable. Stereotypical bad guys and poorly acted over the top Russian villians. This film comes off as a poor mans Guy Ritchie type film. Its a shame that legends like Roger Ward and Andy Mcphee are in this because the are just such great actors and have done better work. Just avoid.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Rubbish no. 1
ks-6050018 September 2020
Low visual effect and class d production. Story is a mess with pointless killing and no supporting. Pay me money I won't watch.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Underwhelming if watchable mishmash of genres
kannibalcorpsegrinder10 September 2020
Trying to get over her cancer diagnosis, a woman agrees to join her friends for a weekend getaway of drugs and partying, but when the town of locals starts to become hostile towards them it becomes the least of her worries as a bizarre figure from her nightmares also starts hunting them.

This was an enjoyable if somewhat flawed effort. When this one works is mainly due to the genuinely creepy and chilling imagery of the titular creature that is shown stalking her. The creatures' presence is featured when she's alone with blinking lights, a distorted hellish soundscape and the barest hints of something otherworldly stalking around her with the excessively long fingers and claws grabbing at her while she's unaware of it being there. These are then preceded by explosively violent blood-vomiting that creates a wholly creepy experience. As well, the film's second-half scores well with the sense of action featured here. As the various forces here begin to converge on the town, with the locals coming to get far more physical about their disdain for the friends' presence there and the criminal gang leaving a trail of destruction shooting anyone they come across this picks up in intensity. Once they get to terrorizing the friends and working in the attempts to get their product while featuring enough glimpses of the figure chasing her, this one gets intriguing and enjoyable when it matters making for a lot to like with the extra bloodshed and action featured here. There are some problems to be had here. The main issue here is the film's overlong running time that tends to come about due to additional sequences or way too many subplots than necessary. The opening at the doctors' office is far longer than needed to sell what's going on between her and her father which could've been trimmed slightly to get to the point faster, much like the cafe they visit which are both required scenes but take too long. As well, the subplot about the drug-runner following after them could've been eliminated as this one manages to intrude on the other plotlines involving the psycho town or the supernatural entity chasing them. The other issue with this one is the complete tone shift throughout that indicates it doesn't know what it wants to do. The inclusion of the various subplots here strike up several different tones with the drug-runner feeling like a crime drama, the psycho town is a black comedy and the creature is a true genre effort and it's never smoothly integrated at all, especially with the creature being the shortest one here and coming off like an afterthought as there are very few scenes with it. These are what hold this one back.

Rated Unrated/R: Graphic Language, Graphic Violence, drug use and a Rape scene.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring, lackluster
GerryofNorVA3 October 2020
This is director James Di Martino's first feature film and he's got a lot to learn. Most of the actors' performances were sub-par and the pacing was its own horror. And what's with the lazy writing, James? WAY too much use of whatchamacallit and even thigamajig by the supposedly threatening bad guys. And finally, the obtuse anti-drug messaging by those that clearly look like drug dealers, just too much that doesn't make good story sense.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
You Don't Bring Drugs Into My Town!!!
wandernn1-81-68327417 January 2021
At least 3 different characters in this really had a problem with people bringing drugs into their town!! And whoa some nifty speeches about the TOWn as well. Nifty I say!!! Oh WOW how bad this movie was. It really should have stayed in Australia.

And I'll tell you another thing, I've heard the expression 'Go Pound Sand', but pounding sand with a fist was actually DONE in this 'movie'. And that's something I've never seen in a movie so this movie really has to get at least 2 stars! 2/10
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Pacing is clearly just a concept to the director/editor.
TokyoGyaru17 January 2021
I had to utilize my 15-minute rule, so I gave up. The director let scenes linger for FAR longer than they should have. The first scene: We GET it, she hates the guy! But, no, it goes on forever, repetitiously, awkwardly. The party of lames is when I finally gave up. I couldn't care less about these boring people at their bland party, but the movie makes you spend so much time with them, suspended in that moment. Even the main character criticizes the party. When I agreed with her, I knew I was done. It needs to be re-edited.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Barry is the best characeter ever
carolyn29819 September 2020
I must say Barry the C*** was the coolest character I have seen in recent memory. Oh by the way he fixes problems. Too many references
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A memorable Aussie horror
eddie_baggins26 May 2020
Filmed in and around Melbourne, The Faceless Man is an Ozploitation genre mash-up from the mind of debut feature film director James Di Martino, that sees horror embodied in a horrifying new way thanks to its titular creation, that was born out of the director's own personal experience dealing with cancer, ensuring The Faceless Man is more than just a simple gore-filled black comedy.

It's not to say there's not humour, claret and oddball characters to be found here, as The Faceless Man's inspiration from films such as The Evil Dead and Get Out is apparent throughout (plus a lovingly staged nod to Reservoir Dogs interrogation scene) but Di Martino's film has more beneath the surface that makes it a far more enjoyable ride in the long run, as this crazed creation takes us on a wild journey to the fictional town of Orange Lodge.

Centred around a group of friends drug-fuelled trip to the seemingly rural and relaxing Orange Lodge, that quickly showcases itself as a town overtaken by a bunch of bloodthirsty and far from normal residents, that are led by Roger Ward's King Dougie, The Faceless Man follows familiar genre tropes but also works hard to subvert expectations, as Sophie Thurling's cancer survivor Emily Beckman not only deals with angry crime bosses and upset locals, but fear incarnate in the form of the gruesome looking Faceless Man.

A monstrous and wonderfully crafted creation that is one of the most memorable "big bads" created in an Australian film in some time, Di Martino uses the Faceless Man sparingly but effectively as he begins to torment Emily and her friends as their fears come to life in horrifying and spine chilling ways.

There's nothing overly subtle here as the film is more than willing to confront the beast that is cancer head on, while also lopping heads and introducing us to characters such as Barry the ***(very naughty word) in what's an eclectic array of themes, subjects and ideas and while it doesn't always gel in the most efficient of ways, when The Faceless Man expertly combines its mixing of the surreal with the darkly comic and confronting, it showcases a filmmaker in the form of Di Martino who has here showed himself to be a director unafraid to take risks and do things his own way.

Di Martino is also ably supported by his game cast of Australian acting staples such as Ward (a member of the original Mad Max), Snowtown breakout star Lucas Pittaway and Andy Mcphee as inappropriate joker Eddie Silver Beard, headlining a jam-packed cast list that features a great collection of up and comers and long serving veterans, ensuring that The Faceless Man is a step above its other independent counterparts that often feel rough and unrefined in comparison.

It's truly a journey unlike any other, a local offering that feels born entirely out of the energy and determination of its filmmaker and while there's a lot to be desired in a refinement sense, you can't help but have a great time on The Faceless Man's wild 90 or so minute journey.

Final Say -

Sure to please gorehounds and fans of pitch black horror comedy, The Faceless Man is a memorable debut from Di Martino and one of 2019's most unique Australian offerings.

3 cups of coffee out of 5
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Strange..
Stanlee1073 September 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Wow, for a film that promotes the anti-drug message, it is ironic that you may need to do drugs to enjoy or maybe understand it.

The film seems so random although the twist at the end seemed a bit forced or an after thought to include. The horror element had promise but it never truly realised. The multi storylines in this film is far too convoluted to make for great viewing.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Original Horror Film With Plenty of Twists and Turns
garciasisters7 November 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed this movie because it's original and well made. The Faceless Man has just the right amount of horror and dark humor that mash up very well together. We found the movie entertaining and we'd watch it again. The Faceless Man monster was done well as it stalks the main character - the effects used where great and the story/plot/dialogue was strong. We recommend this movie for horror fans.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
More than just a creature feature
joan61319 September 2020
The subtext is there from the first shot. The Faceless Man means so much more than the creature. Now I could be going into this too deep and perhaps I am. There are many aspects to The Faceless Man that require an additional watch to piece the film together. For me the many layers adds a lot of depth that is not often seen in general horror films.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A cult classic
Richard202016 September 2020
Wow. This was a huge effort. I had no idea what I was in for with this film. Never heard of many of the actors and from a first time writer-director. While my rating can be subjective I must say this film balances so many genres and references and for my money it works on such a high scale. I will say this. In a few years this film will be a very popular cult classic.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!
brooketomlinson-113 September 2020
Absolutely Brilliant! The Faceless Man is the perfect mix of horror, comedy and action. The combination of the storyline, cinematography and acting is truly incredible! Couldn't take my eyes of the screen. A must see!!!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Masterpiece of creative originality
filmguy45014 October 2020
The Faceless Man is an Australian horror movie from James Di Martino, making his feature-length debut. It deals with a group of friends heading out for a getaway and running afoul of a violent gangster, a biker gang, finding lots of drugs, and being haunted by the titular creature.

If that sounds like a lot of things, well it is. Di Martino does not lack ambition and luckily, he has the acumen to back it up. The Faceless Man seamlessly jumps from one style (the dry, dark humor and violence of the gangster) to the other (the fear of cancer coming back) with relative ease. Each person (or group) represents a specific tone and when all the tones come crashing together it is chaos... in the best possible way.

Of course, if the cast were not up to the task, all the ambition in the world could not save Di Martino (nor could the 8-minute tracking shot that opens the film). Happily, the director lucked out here, as everyone is amazing. They all understand the strange combo that is this movie and deliver appropriately. This means that the horror is reacted to with real scares, the comedy gets big laughs, etc.

The true star of the film is the Faceless Man himself. The makeup effects on the creature are top-notch and on their own, would make one believe the budget was much higher than it was.

The Faceless Man is hard to pin, but it is very much worth your time.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Too many references
mark8956619 September 2020
I liked the film overall but there where a few too many nods to other films. This however may work for some people moreso than myself. Hard hitting subject matter
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
From Down under comes somthing bizzare
naeem-4269216 September 2020
This film is as crazy as it comes. Just when I thought I worked it out it threw curve ball after curve ball. At times I struggled to understand the different genres and then just sit back and enjoyed the ride. Some great solid scenes and while I dont think everything worked well it was memoriable and I had a good time overall. A cult classic
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Intriguing Aussie horror
BandSAboutMovies5 September 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Emily is a recovering cancer survivor of three years. To celebrate completing her treatments, her best friend Nina plans a weekend getaway at a remote country house with four of their closest friends.

Yep. It is party time-complete with drugs and booze. . . .

And it goes from bad to worse pretty quickly for the sextet-as it normally does for (unsympathetic) spoiled, life-is-a-perpetual-party city kids who "vacation" out in those parts where they don't belong in the first place-especially when a biker gang shows up. And you act like CENSORED at the local roadside diner. And smart mouth the local law enforcement. And the owners of your cabin rental don't like you. And your friend stole a briefcase of blow for the occasion-and the gangster-owner wants it back. Oh, and there's a serial killer, aka The Faceless Man, on the loose. And the cabin is haunted (maybe) and ties into the murderous nom de plume (who may be bogus). Oh, (there's a lot of "ohs" in this movie) and Emily's having treatment withdrawals and puking bile-accompanied by hallucinations of a spindly-fingered creature leaving blood-scrawled messages on mirrors. And the hallucinations and who-done-it murders-and-kidnappings of the others follow in quick succession.

Do the devil-may-care city kids deserve to have the collective Devil after them: the townsfolk, the bikers, the gangsters, their own drug-induced mind-CENSORED, and the serial killer? Yeah, even Emily the cancer survivor. This is a film where (because of great writing and acting) you end up identifying with the villain-antagonists (but the "good" city kids are their own worst antagonists).

You wouldn't expect a film that markets itself as a horror film-with a protagonist that's a cancer survivor-to run the gauntlet from slasher to comedy, fork off into a crime drama, and veer into the new-giallo supernatural. But, thick Down Under accents aside: it all works in a Tarantino-pulpy meets a (lighter touch) Shawn of the Dead-kind of way where the detailed set design reminds of Kubrick's The Shining meets the color palate of a Dario Argento giallo. And keep your eyes open for the Tarantino "diner scene" and "interrogation scene" from Reservoir Dogs, along with the "basement bondage scene" from Pulp Fiction, and your ears open for the Carpenteresque scoring.

In the acting department (the entire cast is good) the two standout performances (among the affable, oddball-arced characters) (for me) come from actor Daniel Reader as the local redneck thug Barry (he's so cool-feared, he has his own logo-coffee mug) and Roger Ward (yes, Fifi from Mad Max) as the gangster King Dougie. (Reader is relatively new the screen; he's amassed twenty-plus credits in ten year across shorts and support roles in Aussie features; but I'd like to see him cross the pond and find work in larger, better-distributed American films.) All in all, The Faceless Man is an effectively-directed and expertly-shot feature film writing and directing debut by James Di Martino. We look forward to seeing more of his work in the streaming verse. And you'll read those reviews first, on B&S About Movies.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprised me at every turn
adam82618 September 2020
Having read mixed reviews across the net. I did not know what I was in for. Was this a serious drama? was it a comedy? Was it a horror? Once I sat down and watch it and stayed for the ride. I realized that this film is a rollercoaster ride of emotions. A film like no other and a journey that would stay with me for some time. The artistic approach and the interpretation of some scenes may be jarring to some. But for me it was a highlight of a film that did not hold my hand.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Australian humour and incoherent randomness
aeongale3 September 2020
I don't know where to begin. As a movie with a well developed narrative and strong character motives it fails miserably. It's like a long violent episode of Fat Pizza, or Psychovillie if you're British. I can't think of an American equivalent. But it's enduring and I got some laughs out of it. Sadly it's not really about the faceless man, he's just tacked on at random intervals, which is a shame because the design is very well done. It's about young city dwellers clashing with country folk while a drug dealer is on the hunt.

At one point they get served filtered coffee by a waitress and that simply doesn't happen in Australia. Apart from that, it's a good cheesy effort in... making whatever this is.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nice one
casablancafilmcorner29 December 2020
It was a nice experience. Everyone performed very well.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I quite enjoyed it!
nirmalbabyvarghese29 December 2020
The opening shot, which lasted nine minutes, was truly amazing. Everyone performed very well, especially Roger Ward, Sophie Thurling and Brendan Bacon. Expecting a lot more good movies from director James Di Martino.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"That'll be $95.00"
haskel-7295115 December 2020
Well....there is a LOT going on here. A little too much honestly. This movie is as confusing as it can be for quite a while because- well, there's too damn much going on. It does all come together, and it's a fun, bats-- crazy ride when it starts to. Recommended for horror fans with patience and those with a taste for offbeat ultra dark comedy.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful Australian horror
jaydend-8292430 October 2020
A must watch horror, The Faceless Man delivers exceptional quality and quantity of horror elements that viewers will love. Can't recommend enough!
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
My first Aussie horror film and I was blown away
joe-4754518 October 2020
Warning: Spoilers
From the start of the film , the story captivates the audience and keeps you on the edge of your seat whenever the faceless man made an appearance. I usually find horror predictable but this caught me off guard several times. Amazing cast and amazing crew Would recommend watching
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed