The Perfect Date (2019) Poster

(I) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
238 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Ok if you're not seeking innovation.
LukeCustomer212 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoyed this one but what holds it back is any sort of non paint by the numbers story. Noah Centineo plays "Brooks Rattigan" (come on guys come up with a real name) a good poor kid who has set his sites on Yale and the good life. While doing this he comes up with the idea for an app to be like a task rabbit for dating. (actually good idea). However, he soon finds that he is losing himself to pretending to be whomever for the app and some of his real life friends are getting tried of being stood up and ignored. My only thought on this was it didn't seem that Brooks was doing anything wrong per se. The script sort of had to twist itself around to have the "dark moment" and his friends came off a little selfish not to let him have this new thing in his life. Of course, he does learn that yearning after the good life and Yale has its drawbacks and isn't all it seems to be. There is a romance with Laura Marano "Celia" but it was definitely very BFF. I didn't get any sort of romantic vibe.
68 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It's the same. But the same is good for me
nrppaul17 April 2019
It's literally the same as all other Noah Centineo movies. The same writing and plot line and storyline of all teen Netflix original movies recently. Same aesthetic, same soundtrack, same morals and same story. But, I loved it lol. If you're after something new and innovative, this isn't it. But if you're after a feel-good teen romance movie with that aesthetic and cute adorable Noah Centineo dorky smile? Then this is a nice hour and a half for you
46 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Predictable and Cliche but overall cute
sketchpoetjon12 April 2019
Aside from its obvious predictability i found this film to be cute and heartwarming.The actor who plays the protagonist often plays these kinds of roles but does so quite well. The awkward quirky eventual love interest is adorable at best. Gay black friend is a nice change from the usual token black guy however i found his acting somewhat weak and his part was rather small. Perhaps if he were given a back story and some more depth to his character the movie could have shown a little more meaning. Don't get me wrong the message was a nice one but maybe a little too basic and let's face it he still has some growing up to do. He mentioned he was 18 but learning 1 lesson does not maketh man.
39 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Probably a 6 but I watched it on a good day...
heather_cloude13 April 2019
This is nothing original but if you're looking for a feel good movie then this would do okay. It's actually pretty cute albeit very predictable. I really liked the character of Celia. To be honest, this would be a hit if it were an 80s movie.
39 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Predictable and cringe worthy
giuliacypriano13 April 2019
I almost fell asleep 3 times while watching this movie. Do yourself a favor and watch something worth your time. The characters have very little chemistry and poor personal development. Besides their storylines being shallow, it was even more unbearable having to watch another stereotypical "I'm not like other girls/I'm sarcastic and wear combat boots" trope on screen. Even though I like Noah Centineo, it gets tiring seeing him play the same roles over and over again. He can do better.
97 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun, light and entertaining
Sacotra15 April 2019
I'm very confused by all the bad reviews here, and so early after the movie's release. Almost like some kind of co-ordinated outpouring of disappointment. Hmm... What did I miss?

Anyway, I feel like most of the poor reviews are unfair, particularly any in the 1-3 stars range. I'm giving this movie 8/10 because it does what it sets out to do well. It's a light, fun entertaining comedy, as focused on friendship as romance. Of course Noah is not a 'great ak-torrr' (certainly not at this stage) but he does what he's supposed to do perfectly here - which is to be gorgeous and charming and funny. If that's not what you're after, then this is not the movie for you.

Overall this is a nice, comforting, escapist way to spend 90 minutes. No one dies or gets sick, no animals are hurt, everyone is pretty. It's fun.
43 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It's pretty bad.
bribrown719 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Netflix, you can't just throw Noah Centineo into a subpar movie and expect no one to notice. This movie was seriously rushed. Some of the characters' actions just didn't make sense. Who kisses someone literally 3 seconds after a public breakup, and asks them to a dance even though they've met like 3 times? No one! And would it kill Noah to put forth some effort? You can't play the same role in every film. Also, there was no character development for anyone except Brooks, a sorry excuse for a plot, and no chemistry between the male and female leads. Throw the whole movie away. It only got 4 stars because I managed to sit through the whole thing.
33 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ok "Critics" Calm Down....
colleencanada16 April 2019
Is this movie predictable? Yes. A little cheesy. For sure. A mashup of teen movies before it. Oh Hell Yeah. But even for a cynic like me, I have to say it was a sweet little movie. And hey, it has the right message-look after your friends and family, be true to yourself and here's a novel idea-embrace something positive. It was refreshing to see something innocent..
71 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Standard Rom Com formula but very charmingly done
julian_t_ward12 April 2019
Yes, this is a rom com by the numbers, fully up to date with fun and games around dating apps. But the two leads have genuine charm and spar off each other with believable chemistry. Whilst probably not a film that you will remember in years to come, you will nevertheless have a very enjoyable 90 minutes watching this.
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable
BlueSkies76514 April 2019
The Perfect Date is a coming of age teen rom-com. For this demographic it's a relatable movie with a positive message.

It's predictable. You know how most of the movie will play out. However the characters are likable and this keeps you engaged. The Beverly Hills 90210 vibes is also cool.

Light watching. If you got Netflix it's worth watching.
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Tries too hard to be inoffensive
ginocox-206-33696815 April 2019
The Perfect Date (2019) looks and feels like a television program.

It begins with high school senior Brooks (Noah Centineo) discussing an overly long college admissions essay with a guidance counselor, who advises him that he doesn't know himself. Rather than embarking on an odyssey of self-discovery, he stumbles into a scheme in which he will serve as a paid escort, adopting whatever persona the client desires. This venture proves dramatically dissatisfying, in large measure due to keeping the encounters strictly G/PG-Rated, but also because it is all too easy. He has no learning curve, as he easily slips into various roles. There are no disasters and no outrageous requests. Nor does his escort work interfere with his studies, his job at a fast-food restaurant or his social life. None of his clients become jealous or possessive. The whole scheme seems at odds with his dramatic goal of self-discovery.

I never particularly liked Brooks. The character is initially self-absorbed. He doesn't have clear objectives. He wants to attend Yale instead of UConn, but doesn't know why or what he plans to do with his life. He's just kind of there, more forgettable than sympathetic.

The two female leads are also uninteresting. Both are what might be termed chick-flick leading ladies: pretty, but not stunning; feminine, but not devastating; strong, self-assured and outspoken. Celia (Laura Marano) emerges from a Cinderella transformation looking pretty much the same. Shelby (Camila Mendes) doesn't have a look or personality that fascinates. Centineo, Marano and Mendes are all in their early twenties and look too old to be high school students.

In rom-com tradition, two characters whom everybody else realizes are perfect for one another, can't stand one another initially, but eventually fall in love. TPD offers neither the highs nor the lows. Brooks and Celia seem more like brother and sister, with an easy camaraderie, but no passionate sexual attraction. When they finally kiss, it is obviously a stage kiss. If a girl kissed me like that, I'd think she was just going through the motions. Watching the kiss was a bit of a turn-off.

The script seems to try too hard to be inoffensive.

Several of the supporting actors deliver credible performances, including Odiseas Georgiadis, Jared Bankens, Rhonda Johnson Dents and Matt Walsh. Kudos to the filmmakers for avoiding distracting jiggly-cam shots.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Exactly what it's supposed to be
travisesmon16 April 2019
It was a fine movie. Predictable like every other teen movie, but fun to watch. So ignore all the nonsense reviews claiming they need their time back. My guess is their time isn't worth more than anyone else's who's chosen a Netflix teen movie for some easy watching. Plenty of funny moments and plenty enjoyable.
27 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
a flat story
ops-5253512 April 2019
Without the crazy ups and downs you may expect from a comedy. its just that there are nothing here that makes me laugh, just a smile inside, and the rest is just cattanooga cho cho, with a lot of conversations with different persons in different settings

i think this in one of the many netflix-production that will place itself in the basket of inrecognition, unless you like social network-work, and the freshnes of new juicy fruits entering the silver screen with beauty and galore . i think the cast does a decent job, with acceptable acting, but the story are to innovative anb the characters are too boring,so its lack of sting makes this flick a bit benign. the concept of ideas are good but a bit spoiled on the fun. the filming are ållreit, but the timeline and quantities of customers makes it a bit blurry.

so the grumpy old man says ok, but not more than that.
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It is what it is and its cute
foxtrotmarie16 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
If you go into the Netflix teen movies not expecting ground breaking then you'll be fine. They follow a predictable script and don't have many twists and turns but they are cute and interesting enough.

It bothered me a bit that he wasn't really doing anything wrong and everyone acted like he was. The 'best friend,' pissed me off because God forbid the main character was doing things for his own life and wasn't spending all his time with the friend. He kept getting called selfish but everyone else came off as worse. Also there was an issue with most of the characters being pretty flat, there just wasn't much to them.

But it was a cute coming of age, finding yourself teen movie. Not the top of the pile but worth the watch.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great feel-good movie!
mandokal15 April 2019
What movie were all these naysayers watching? Great chemistry between the main characters, predictable BUT likeable storyline.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty good
jasminhegmann12 April 2019
Okay so I don't know why Noah Centineo is in like every Netflix Original romcom..? But from all of those that I watched, this is by far the one I liked best. Original idea, funny.. and sure the end was not a surprise. But I guess that is why we all enjoy those movies so much, because there are days we just need a good old happy end, am I right?

Also: Loved Laura Morano and her character in this one!
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Dating can be tough
kosmasp11 August 2019
Well this is of course not the first movie to have males offering themselves to be dated. But this takes it to the teen genre and it does quite a fine job with it. I mean it is predictable to a "t", but it is also lovely. We know who is meant for each the moment we see them. But it is refreshing to see that the "others" are not too much of a caricature of a human being.

There is a lesson to be learned or a moral compass or whatever you want to call it. Some things are not what they seem. And while some may say this advocates settling for less than you set your sights on, you could make a completely different argument altogether about what one really needs pitted against being delusional. So don't nitpick and you might be entertained
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Yes...It was Predictable. No...It was not bad.
nehatandon001915 April 2019
I went with no expectations at all but it was likeable, mainly because the lead was extremely cute. Now, this movie is for a special target audience..teens who are into romcoms...so, if it fits the bill..its worth a watch!
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It is my own fault
kateb-1966513 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I can't believe I let myself watch another Netflix teen movie and so I should not be surprised that once again the credits have started to roll and I have wondered what I could have done with my life during the last 90mins that I have wasted. We do like that Noah Centineo plays another "Noah Centineo" character with his charming, adorkable smile but his almost non-existent romantic chemistry with Laura Marano had me hoping they'd just stay friends by the end of the film. Also, please stop with the pop-song-montage of scenes that took place during the movie, at the end of the film - I just watched the whole movie, I don't need to watch it again.
95 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A huge waste of time
panda-6592713 April 2019
This movie is a 90 minute span of nothingness where the ending felt like the sweet release of death. The plot is basically non-existent and has no clear direction and feels more like random scenes glued together badly by a toddler. The trailer gives away the whole movie while simultaneously being WAY better than the movie. If you wanted a movie about the app he made and the dates he goes on as the trailer selled it as, well too bad because you only get a 2 minute montage of that! Instead, watch two actors with absolutely no chemistry "fall in Love" as Laura insults Noah and they learn nothing about each other. This movie is soo boring and the trailer is so misleading but the worst thing about it is that lack of chemistry between the two leads. I would never watch this again.
37 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Solid mediocre flick
bloodworia14 April 2019
The idea behind this is very nice. At times it become really cringy and the characters action actually make no sense at all other than serve the plot later on. Watched it with my gf, cant complain it was enough entertainment to not be bored, i have seen far worse. I'll give it a very casual 7.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
That was soooo bad!!
kerenulas12 April 2019
I watched the movie only because of Noah Centineo but now I feel his whole acting career is to basically play the same guy!!! He just copied every element of Peter Kavinsky and did it much worse. I'm done with these Netflix movies.
70 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
so promising but...
fluffset6 October 2019
It start really good in the first 30 minutes, we like all the characters. But after that, it just become too predictable, all drama seems so forced. I still like it because they are cute & everything but the ending was meh....
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cute & funny!
misswritercreates13 April 2019
We watched the trailer and it looked like it would be pretty good and it was!! It was cute, funny and yes your typical teenage movie. Except not much on the mean kids and not the hard partying you usually see. It was light, fluffy with life lessons. Pretty great movie, our entire family enjoyed it!
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Been there, done it... many times before.
Top_Dawg_Critic5 August 2019
Nothing new, the same old teenage rom-com with a cute tech twist. Decent directing and acting, but nothing much new in the writing department - overly cliched and predictable. A typical low budget B-grade film. The pacing was slow so the 89 min length felt like 2 hours. It's a 6/10 from me.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed