Secrets in a Small Town (TV Movie 2019) Poster

(2019 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Why Do Folks Hate On Lifetime Movies So Much?
Foutainoflife26 May 2019
A mother and teenage daughter move to a small town where the mother has landed a position as an assistant principal for the local high school. When the daughter makes the basketball team and sets out to spend an evening with the team members, she never returns home.

This is a Lifetime flick and while a lot of folks hate on these films, I actually like them and appreciate that a lot of them are based on actual events like this one. It isn't a hollywood masterpiece but I thought it was a decent film.

Can I just say this? It is amazing that some people lack empathy. It is also amazing that kids who are raised by these folks can struggle with their sense of morality, yet find the courage to do what is right. Even if it takes a while for them to do it, considering who is raising them and the fact that they are still merely children, they deserve some credit for developing more integrity than their parents.

This isn't an awful film and I enjoyed it for what it was.
33 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Top-notch Lifetime movie.
pmtelefon14 April 2019
"Secrets in a Small Town" is a solid movie by any standard. By Lifetime movie standards, it's excellent. That's not a knock on Lifetime movies. I watch them all the time but you know what I mean. This movie was suspenseful and heartbreaking at the same time. Kate Drummond gives an excellent performance. The rest of the cast is good as well. The only demerit I give this movie is that it uses the old "true story" thing. I'm not so sure it is. But that doesn't really matter, "Secrets in a Small Town" is a very good watch.
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
perfect and realistic beginning, bad usual ending
NijazBAbs19 April 2019
This is one of those movies where ending is so typical in form of shooting, killing, arrest, and twist. Also explanation and details are not enough clear and not well explained and not realistic. Explanation is one of those happened first, explained later with holes in the story. But beginning is perfect. We can see very realistic life, behaviors, talk, meetings, and emotions. In fact, this is one of the best and most honest beginnings in all the lifetimes movies I've seen. Only beginning keeps you motivated to watch the whole movie. But everything else is so low quality and usual and boring. Not complete and not good enough. Acting of victim was also too fake and not explained. Unrealistic.
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Into the Viper Pit
lavatch21 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
The ominous nickname for the sports teams of Mattowa High School is the Vipers. In this rural outpost, Claire Porter and her daughter Sarah have arrived with Claire assuming the position of Assistant Principal at the school. When Sarah practices in the first basketball scrimmage for the girls' team, she is hit with a flying elbow to the mouth by the daughter of the coach. This should be a flagrant foul, as it appeared to be intentional and could have knocked out Sarah's teeth. But the coach merely writes the foul off as good, tough play.

In this harrowing tale, Sarah attends a welcoming party by the basketball team, then vanishes. Her frantic mom receives little support from the community. Only a sympathetic deputy in the police force senses the urgency in Sarah's disappearance. The entire team recounts for the sheriff a story that is far too pat and rehearsed. But sports are the lifeblood of the Mattawa. And the highly competitive Coach Simmons is an upstanding member in the community.

Above all else, the film offers a moving portrait of a mother's love for her daughter and her relentless effort to discover the truth about her disappearance, despite all the odds. The aesthetic choices of the filmmakers included beautiful still photographs of a majestic landscape, supported by lyrical scoring. The imagery worked in counterpoint to the tawdry story of a hazing ritual followed by what can only be termed attempted murder.

There were especially effective details in the scripting and characterization that evoked the horror of the secrets of the small town. A sleazy funeral director pays Claire a visit long before her daughter has been declared dead. The hard-as-nails girls' basketball coach recalls her experience in Iraq, where, on her first tour of duty, she was assaulted and considered herself a survivor. Both Claire and Sarah imagine a lullaby from the past, which the two characters sing as they are separated; it is as if they are connecting spiritually while apart. The ironic name of the spot where Sarah may have died is called Trusted Cliff.

At one point in the film, Coach Simmons reminds her daughter Kat that "when you've lost in your head, you've lost the game." In a grim struggle for survival to escape the apparent death sentence of having to live in a small town, human values have been skewed, and the mentality that produced the tragic hysteria of the Salem Witch Trials has co-opted human values in the modern age. On many levels, "Secrets of a Small Town" is a story of survival after having fallen into the viper pit.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
fantastic thriller
bouhanamarc15 September 2019
Don't listen to the bad reviews this is a fantastic thriller not predictable , good suspense i love it and i will see it again and it is a tv movie incredible
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good, but...
shilohryder15 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Story was good, but, of course, the villian is A) ex military and B) shown to be Christian. Those had NOTHING to do with the storyline, but liberal filmmakers can't help themselves from taking their chance to vilify conservatives in every movie possible. Enough already!
21 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Excellent!!
kyleallencole926 December 2019
This tv movie was a great thriller! Definitely didn't seem like a lifetime movie at all. The plot is pretty simple, but unexpected. A woman is hired as the assistant principal at a high school in a small town that she just moves to. Her teenage daughter joins the girls basketball team and goes to a team bonding party and never returns. Her mother digs through the town and the schools past in order to find out what happened to her daughter. She feels that the basketball girls may have done something to her. Very good and well made
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The quiet town,always Hides the secrets!
bbcspeakers6 May 2020
The story is not, with the new topic, but the amalgamation of the actors in their roles, especially the main heroine claire "Kate Drummond" who performed the role professionally, was a good addition to the film, the occasional monotony of events, did not add anything, new except that it showed the suffering of the mother in her search for her daughter, and that the coach Ruth "Ray kihlstedt" She managed to play the role in a personal balance, for a coach educational mentor, and also for a mother who suffers from severe and Disturbing strange behaviors. The important thing is that the film is beautiful and powerful in the dimension that his personalities have granted to it! Hassan Balaouane.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Well, I never...
pauliecorleone-7262811 June 2019
The hell?

Interesting camera work? Efficient pacing? Competent acting? Unintrusive, complementary music, realistic dialogue and, to top it all of, dexterous direction leading to a solid structure and consistency in quality?

IN MY LIFETIME MOVIE?!

...Have I landed in the wrong universe again?
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cures Insomnia
ferdmalenfant8 June 2019
If you haven't slept for a while, just start watching this yawner. Why do people make these stupid, predictable, bland movies. And they have the gull to call it a "thriller" a "sleeper" is much more accurate. good night all.
9 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I made an account to write this review
scottcrabtree-4408218 June 2019
As in my title.... I made an account just to review this film. Wow is it bad. The acting is woeful and you can figure out the entire plot in the first 15 minutes. Please don't waste your time watching this. Go watch Sharknado or something.
9 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
5.9 rating, is there a system error?
ks-6050014 August 2019
Missing girl theme is not new. The worst of the story is it's not suspicious at all. The truth come out too soon and there's no surprise and disappointed to the audience. The script writing is totally a let down.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
this movie had no strength.
Jo-Cino10 June 2019
I can't say i expected a lot coming in to this movie, but with the state of hollywood these days, i'm left searching through these type of low budget/indies looking for a gem... this wasn't one of them. The acting was poor, not horrible, but not anywhere near good. the cinematography was very 'made for tv', the score was soft, the story telling had a few holes... you can see how this all adds up to low score. i would honestly give this movie s lower score, but, as a single parent who moved from big city life to small town bible belt, i figured this would hit home a little harder... the only problem was this movie had no strength.
3 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
PREDITABLE
cinerama1025 June 2019
We have seen it all before numerous times. Nothing original in this extremely predictable film. You can guess the ending before you are even half way through this film.
3 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Movie really drags
catdaddyd3 November 2019
I like the story and the acting wasn't bad. But the movie really dragged, should have cut an half hour off of it. Pacing could have been a lot better.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
While you're here...
chris-laughren15 November 2019
Have you seen 'The King'? Now that's a great film. Packed with great performances, true history, battle scenes and epic location shots. Who knew King Henry V was so honourable? Oh, this film? Nowhere? Don't. Just don't. If you enjoy the opening scene screeching, then by all means, this film is for you. Films like Nowhere just make me feel empty inside. I gave it a 1 or 2. PS... 'The King' deals with adult themes like nude gorgeous women, drinking and visceral battle scenes. I gave it an 8.
1 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Seriously?
tcdb-524124 July 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Typical lifetime movie. Many angles and only some get addressed. Someone writes 'whitchhunt' on her garage door and that never gets addressed. Some crazy dad barges into the police dept. angry that another mom is scared bc her daughter is missing. No context for either. Initially all the girls on the basketball team when questioned about her disappearance, show no remorse and don't skip a beat in their stories. Later, when the basketball coach and her daughter are near the cabin where the girl is, she gets sick to her stomach, she's upset. All of the sudden she's feeling remorse? Oh and why? Why did it happen in the first place . Where's the motive?
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Movies like this are hard to watch
mikejade7 June 2020
Warning: Spoilers
It is good that movies like this are made inspired by true events. Evil people killing others (half way not sure she is dead) so maybe attempting to kill others for whatever reason. This happens in real life and it is upsetting to say the least. Entertaining.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed