Pogey Beach (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Some interesting banter but mostly dull...
ezgolucky3 August 2021
Noticing all the accolades for this movie. As all of us know, these are fake. Probably they are people from the families or friends who worked on the production of the movie.

Some of the conversations are amusing but overall nothing to write home about. Not much happening and overall dull. At least they had decent production values. I would skip...
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
lamest reviews
fredfredrikfreddyfred4 August 2021
All the people with gushing reviews have only reviewed this and nothing else.

That should make you suspicious.

Some kind of vanity project reviewed by those who took part.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Don't waste valuable pogey time...
airdave-693363 August 2021
Spoiler: This movie is embarrassment on so many levels. Especially if you're Canadian. Its truly not worth a Canadian's time. Letterkenny is entertaining. Trailer Park Boys is fun. This...is pathetic.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pinnacle of modern cinema
rwmacdonald-648022 August 2021
This is the best summertime coming of age/destination tourism/employment insurance gag movie out there. Following in the footsteps of campy teen movies, Pogey Beach combines elements of Meatballs, Baywatch, and Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel, delivering an experience greater than the sum of its parts.
2 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
11/10
PiercedSpirit2 August 2021
I gave this film 10/10 because that's as high as the site will allow, but really, it deserves at least an 11. For the uninitiated, it plays like a comedy. As such, it really shines. It's up there with the likes of the great Monty Python films of days gone by, or more modern masterpieces like Talladega Nights. But for those of us who live in the area see it for what it really is; a hard hitting dramatic piece that tells a story so true to life, you'll swear you got sucked into Schindler's List.

If you could only watch one movie for the rest of your life, this is it. If this isn't your pick for the one movie you could bring with you to a deserted island, then you're just flat out wrong.

Watch it right now, then watch it again. You won't regret it.
4 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great laugh
matt_knox2 August 2021
A movie about life in the Maritimes, I laughed the whole way through.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must see movie
wskssfvvpf2 August 2021
Highly recommend this movie for a hell of a laugh watched it over and over... 15/10 is what I would rate this movie. Wish they would make more... check out just passing through as well.
2 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Fell asleep
dixonj-566235 August 2021
Really enjoyed Pogey Beach in the Just Passing Through series. The movie version was dull and I struggled to stay awake. Don't waste your time.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure genius
jkniff4 October 2021
For real . So damn funny. Canadians are just like Californians after all. The Hawaiians are the best at collecting though.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great local movie production
chickenfarming17 August 2021
Pogey Beach is a great low budget humorous film from the producers of "Just passing Through" the web series. The Pogey Beach movie is an expanded storyline from a scene in just passing through actually. I am an Islander who has never drawn pogey but the references are great.

I imagine this movie will be a cult classic at least in eastern Canada.

I will leave the storyline to the movie promos. What I love about this movie is that a portion of the funding was crowdsourced on kickstart. The fan base helped pay for the production of the movie and we received cool rewards and the option to be in the film as rewards.

The movie was filmed on beautiful Prince Edward Island so there are some beautiful shots of PEI. The locals got to take part in the movie as extra's so they had some fun and movie experience.

I was in the kickstart funding group and also as an extra and the production team treated us great. It was a wonderful experience being on the set and seeing how much work goes into making a movie.

So watch the movie and have a few laughs. Also check out the web series "Just Passing Through" ( also the name of the facebook group) . Please also check out "Wharf rats " from most of the same group and watch for the upcoming "Who's yer fader.

And if any of you "Come from away" people have a chance to visit our beautiful island I know you will love it. We can go down to Pogey Beach and have a few beer.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed