Stree (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
461 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
One of the most original movie of 2018
dpshrs1 September 2018
BEST HORROR COMEDY FILM AFTER BHOOL BHULAIYAA!! If that comment isn't enough to explain the film then i don't know what'll be...
46 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Terrific In Madcap Film
nsanjay-7679531 August 2018
A zany supernatural parable that is both strongly feminist and uproariously funny, Stree, Amar Kaushik's self-assured first feature, delivers shocks and laughs in equal measure. Despite its repeated to-ing and fro-ing between conflicting tones, the horror comedy glides along a firm and steady arc almost all through its runtime of two hours and a bit.

The film's fear quotient, like its comic flourishes, varies pretty wildly - in the climatic moments, it even wobbles just a touch - but the sight of fully grown men cowering in panic at the very mention of the spectral figure who gives the film its title is always hilarious, even when it tilts towards the terrifying.
37 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Must watch
rameshkumariimt31 August 2018
A very well mixture of comedy and horror. Remarkable acting of all actors. I had to close my eyes at some point in the movie. Full package of entertainment.
56 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice concept with full on entertainment
nikhilsharma-055281 September 2018
For me Stree is worth watching as i have really enjoyed the show.Rajkumar Rao and Pankaj Tripathi again proved themselves as great actors.Though as a viewer i left theatre with so many question marks because at the end you have to use your brain and connect yourself with the story as why this happened and why that happened.But the concept is quite different and i am sure i have never seen anything like this before in bollywood. As in the thought of making a mixture of horror with comedy and then ending with a beautiful message which is actually the wow factor of the movie deserves an applause.Great work Team STREE.
21 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Honest stree review
shardulneeraj31 August 2018
One of the best Indian horror comedy movie i have ever seen.. director has justified the genre of the movie so beautifully..i must say i can watch it again.. apart from that Raj kumar rao again at his level best.. at the end it would confuse u little bit and u will discuss , and this what the director wants.. i would say 9/10. Plz watch and make a stress free moment of your life
55 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A horror movie or a comedy?
mahmudbah-3960231 August 2018
Can't really tell because both of the genre's was perfectly used in the movie. which makes it awesome and worth your every bit of your money. A must See movie this year.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Talent bhar bhar k
sharmaakshat-6316631 August 2018
A very good combination of horror+comedy. Beautiful direction and tremendous acting by raj kumar rao and mr. Tripathi Both of them made the movie exceptional
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Full Entertainment.
anshusinha-8935431 August 2018
Complete package of Horror-comedy,superb acting and brilliant one to watch for entertainment. The movie gives you outstanding performance by full starcast,the comedy and horror mixture is fabulous. Go watch it!
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice movie
coolamitu-3554531 August 2018
Shardha kapoor looks sexy and cool as usual and rao doing well and all star in this movie play awesome...
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Scariest > funniest
znazizn31 August 2018
Great works by all performers. Soundtrack too good
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Review Stree Movie
magow-0131 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The quaint town of Chanderi is haunted by a unique legend. The spirit of an angry woman stalks men during a festive period. Chanderi's wonder boy and tailor extraordinaire, Vicky (Rajkummar Rao) falls in love with a mysterious girl (Shraddha Kapoor) who appears only during the four days of the festive season as well. Her disappearing act gets his friends suspicious and they start believing that she could be the Stree haunting the city for long. Horror comedies are a rare offering in Hindi cinema and in that respect, Stree serves up a lot of thrills and spills. The small-town setting aThe funniest character in the film is Pankaj Tripathi's Rudra, a bookshop owner and Mr know-it-all, who guides Vicky and his friends on how to cope with Stree and her haunting act. Tripathi's comic timing is top notch and one of the veritable highlights of the film. nd the many jibes at horror film legends are hilarious. Rajkummar's performance is just as good. He handles the many shades of comedy, horror and romance with great ease. Aparshakti Khurrana and Abhishek Banerjee as the friends offer good comedic punches too. Shraddha Kapoor's character is a bit of an enigma. Even though the role is problematic, the actress does a fine job of maintaining an air of mystery. Stree does fairly well with the comedy, but even with several laugh-out-loud moments. The music of the film is a definite highight.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Stree ( A ridiculously good film !!)
sanjubhat1 September 2018
Story : The story is set in a small town called Chanderi in MP which is supposedly haunted by an angry female spirit which targets only men during four days of an annual religious festival held there. Whether it is actually a spirit or just an urban legend is the mystery element in the film. Bicky (Rajkumar Rao), the protagonist is the best ladies tailor in town, one who can take measurements of ladies by just glancing at them. He and his "velha" friends Bittu (Aparshakti Khurana) and Jana (Abhishek Bannerjee) get involved in this whole mystery when Bicky meets a mysterious girl Shraddha Kapoor who only comes to Chanderi during the four days of the festival. As men start disappearing from Chanderi, it is upto these three friends along with a bumbling param gyaani Rudra (Pankaj Tripathi) to unravel the mystery.

Review: This is a unique film totally unlike usual horror flicks as it combines multiple genres like comedy, horror & dark humour which is not commonly seen. The blending of comedy in between the horror storyline is perfect and does not look outlandish. It however tones down the impact of the scary scenes. Having said that, the film has its scary moments which are the result of great visual and sound effects.

Casting: The casting is perfect with the three friends along with the bumbling Pankaj Tripathi providing most of the laughs. Shraddha Kapoor provides the mystery element to the storyline as she conveys both innocence and well as a sinister mind at play effectively. Rao and Tripathi are the scene stealers who breeze through their parts with ease. This is a film from Dinesh Vijan's Maddock Films, the makers of the zombie flick Go Goa Gone and they genuinely succeed in making a different film by combining multiple genres without diluting the essence or making the film look tacky.

My Verdict : If you have liked GO Goa Gone , you will definitely like this one. 8 out of 10 from me for this ridiculously genuine attempt by Maddock films at attempting to make something different.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best Comedy-Horror movie... Must Watch 200%
anshumanhasurkar8 September 2018
Can you imagine that you can actually laugh in a horror movie? Well yes, I did, a lot. Great screenplay, very well written script & best direction. The best acting by Raj Kumar Rao till date. A complete "paisa vasool" movie.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not An Exceptional Movie
chhatrasalaryal18 November 2018
I thought the movie to be full of comedy and fun, but I kept on waiting for it and couldn't find it at all. Its neither a proper horror nor a proper comedy movie. Message conveyed in the movie is nice but it doesn't seem enough to make this movie an outstanding one. Hardly there are few punch lines in the movie. Acting wise all the leads have done their best keeping the situation in mind. Overall according to me the amalgamation of horror and comedy couldn't do much wonder.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Rajkumar Aparshakti and their freind was excellent in their roles
arpitraul-9095531 August 2018
Excellent movie Rajkumar Rao is the nestbbig thing . Excellent story , unexpected twists and great dialogues
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
a good movie but could be better
yamahapic8 December 2018
The story and suspence are good.. the main male artist is very good but shrada is not able to fit in her character...the story is interesting and you expect a very good movie but a certain moment the script takes a twist and spoil the film
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Most Original Movie of recent times
honeymania2321 November 2018
Finally had the opportunity to see this amazing Indian heartland horror comedy. Due to its very limited release in UK, could not get to watch it in theaters and therefore missed out on experience of big screen. Nevertheless, coming on to the movie, it was a very gripping movie from the word go. The whole mystery angle was presented very sharply with emphasis on the minutest of the details.There was never a dull moment as far as screenplay is concerned. As i read, the story idea has been taken from some incident happened in a south Indian village, but to make a full blown movie out if it and creating such memorable characters does deserve a reward for its creators. The writer/director have very carefully given enough fodder for the sequel, if you observe carefully, and i am really looking forward to it. As far as the performances go, RajKumar Rao has to be said, is the best actor our times. He was flawless in this one, alongside marvelous pankaj tripathi. Even shradhha kapoor did a decent job of her role. Overall it was a great and very satisfying movie experience, which is very rare for a Bollywood movie now a days.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
O Bollywood aisi movie har baar banana!!
singharyabhatt19 November 2018
Awesome movie. One must have to appericiate the work of story writer, the actors and the director. Will not get bored till end. And the suspense is just awesome. Plus Nora Fatehi is a bonus.... ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
All out entertainer
saurabhjain_sj6 September 2018
One of the best movies I have seen in a while. Superb acting by all the lead and supporting actors. Don't miss at any cost
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Decent Comedy+Horror movie with Witty dialogues & tight script.
brij-raychanda7 September 2018
From concept itself one feel it should be interesting. Comedy+horror. And it was interesting one.

One of the best movie of this year. And best of year in comic genre till now. Everything in movie was just perfect. Story, Screenplay, performances, Direction, Music, Dialogues.

Rajkumar rao as always did his best. Surprisingly first time I liked performance of Shraddha also. All supporting cast was also done fabulous job.

Funny and quirky dialogues take the movie at such high level.

When name of Duo Raj & DK is there then such movie never disappoints. (Exlude gentlemen movie).

After long time watched such decent comic movie.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great combination of comedy and horror...
mishravasuexam31 August 2018
Good acting by all cast members. Worth watching it.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A mustwatch!
yasinalif-0806419 November 2018
Ohh what a movie! Great script. All the characters gave their level best. Enjoyed the movie. And yes, one of the best horror-comedy... A mustwatch :)
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb Movie
shobhitgarg-006027 September 2018
Hello i am shobhit garg, heree is my experience of watching

stree movie is good. the whole is good first part movie is

full on comedy after lunch movie is little comedy and full

of horror. all the character's acting is superb. but the end

is mytrious you are not realize who is streee?
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best movie of 2018 for sure.
paramjeetgusain7 September 2018
Horror+comedy+rajkumar rao=blockbuster movie. One of the best movie I ever watched.trust me stree is one of the best horror comedy in world cinema.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Simplest Review: One of the best peices of Cinema.
gannu24896 September 2018
Original concept, executed right. Perfect definition of a Horror Comedy.

You will get scared and burst into laughter at the same time. Its not just a mindless or gory comedy, and its far better than hollywood crap we have seen in the name of horror comedies.

The third theme it hits is women's respect in our society, which is very well blended with the other two.

Actors are spot on, and all of them fit themselves in a perfect place. Trend is changing now, young India wants better acting and story, not just pretty faces.

Only negative I feel is the item number, which could have been avoided. But I choose to give extra credits for a Vijay Raaz's cameo, that nullifies Noora's kamariya.

Watch it to have fun, and learn something on India Cinema.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed