The American Meme (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
184 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
A spot for declining influencers
ganzierozzi15 December 2018
This documentary Is somehow an Inception thing. There are a bunch of influencers complaining about the struggle to became famous on Instagram and Vine, and then the fear to Lost popolarity. There Is Paris Hilton crying cause this Life Is hard... Come on, SRSLY?! There Is a a guy that It has calling himself the fat jews that literally live to lick Paris Hilton butt, Just in the Hope to stay on the rich's train, eventually. The documentary itself Is nothing special, automatic pilot and some Easy rethotical skit, in order to try ti make things emotional and Deep, but well, not even a nice try.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The American dream rebranded the American Desperation
iainoconnor14 December 2018
This film encapsulates the mindset of fame in the modern age by letting 4 figures speak on how they conceptualize it. A sickness spreading through all of us. Sad but this is the new normal.
15 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fame costs, and right here's where you start paying.
noeroa22 December 2018
"The American Meme" explores social media fame under different lights, through various celebrities who have relied on these outlets to gain recognition. The documentary examines the lives of Vine comedians, party animals, models, TV personalities and everything in between, with Paris Hilton as the standout focal point, due to the fact that she embodies American celebrity culture in its purest form and pretty much paved the way for all those who jumped on the fame wagon in more recent times. Many opportunities were missed in the way, where vapid and irrelevant screen time takes away from the more substantial storytelling, who are these people? What drives them?, and is the cost of fame really worth paying?. "The American Meme" has its shining moments, but you will have to navigate through the dull ones in order to appreciate the more meaningful moments.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cry babies
legend-hribar6 January 2019
The movie is just celebrities that whine how famous they are and that they feel like they have no privacy, becouse they upload EVERYTHING they do, completly ignoring that they choose this and nobody us forcing them too. How can I feel sympathy for them if the do this to themselves
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Pure Narcissism
grahamvandyke12 December 2018
I could not make it past 20 minutes of this documentary. I know, it's not good to review anything unless you've seen the entirety of it. But this is one of those rare exceptions.

First of all, I doubt there's anything really wrong with how the documentary is made. The problem I have with this was the soul crushing feeling I had watching these pure narcissists at work. It started with American Idol and people wanting to get-famous-quick without putting in any legwork, and has mutated itself into the social media landscape.

Quite a few years ago I started to remove myself from mainstream media. I started watching the Joe Rogan Podcast, and eventually went on to take in most of my information from what would later be described as the "Intellectual Dark Web". What I found was, the longer and further removed from mainstream media I was, the more ridiculous and outlandishly egotistical it was revealed to be. Everything was dripping with self-absorption and the need to sell-sell-sell, no matter the depravity of the message.

I'm not willing to make a thorough review for people so detestable, so if you can actually sit through 98 minutes of watching these kinds of people, I hope you see the light at the end of Dante's Fourth Circle of Hell. Remove yourself from this idiocy.

4/10- P.S. These people are not memes.
39 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Sad reality
aurumogold9 December 2018
I do not like the concept of this movie, do not like when people trying to pretend "look how hard I work". Obviously they are really enjoying their life style and the entertainment industry, what they are doing - just leaving in their reality, they are an attention seeking people.
28 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This made the aliens turn around
micheleklassy13 December 2018
I just hope that it doesn't inspire. Really needs to stop
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Film
katehot12230 April 2018
I saw this film last night at Hot Docs in Toronto and had little expectations going in. I use social media, but I am certainly not immersed in the world. I was truly entertained, captivated and in awe of the subjects of THE AMERICAN MEME from start to finish. I laughed the entire way through, while learning a great deal, and felt deeply for the characters. One thing that surprised me about the movie was that it was a lot deeper and a lot more serious than I thought it would be. I was scared and sad when it ended and I am still thinking about the film and my own personal interactions with social media today. I was also surprised about how diverse the audience was, which was pretty crazy. There was an 80 year old with a walker laughing her head off and a 12 years old sitting next to me (although probably not appropriate for a 12 year old...).

Anyways, go see it. It's pretty amazing.
26 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Profile in lowest common denominator profiteers of the social media era
jjdausey11 January 2019
This is nothing more than an irritating look at the lives of the most spiritually empty profiteers of the social media moment. Just watching this made my IQ drop a few points. Paris Hilton has fans? For doing what? Slipping into some beta sex kitten disassociative personality at will? Come on, people. Wake up and "like" the real heroes in the world.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Totally surprising
tonyavellia4 May 2018
I was very surprised about how I felt after the film ended. I can't stop thinking about the film and I am still thinking about it now, which is why I am writing a review. It comes off as being fun and entertaining to start, but then you realize that there is a ton at stake for the characters and the themes and stories are much more significant than you realize. I feel like I needed to reexamine my own relationship with social media....
19 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Reality Revolution
sarahthompson-3400315 December 2018
Okay here me out. All I ever thought of Paris Hilton was her and her daddy's money. I never considered that she marketed herself so well from a reality tv show to perfume to clothing to becoming a DJ. I always thought she got these opportunities because of her last name and not because she is a marketing revolution. For sure her family name helped, but even her own intern, now known as Kim Kardashian, saw what she did and was like "damn I need to do this..." they learn from the best. The only thing about Paris is that she is both Kim and Kris. Kim was lucky to have her mother to support and more sisters to market. I'm not going to lie sex sells and then know how to sell it and I'm actually thanking Paris she did it her own way. I really only ever thought of her as that dumb rich blonde but in this documentary you realize the persona is just a business tactic and it worked so well for exposure and as a business tactic. A little bit of a coincidence that both private videos of sexual acts of Paris and Kim are released publicly. But which woman already maybe a name for herself before that incident and even bounced back hard to the haters? Paris. Now don't get me wrong, I'm not hating on Kim either. Her and her family are geniuses for marketing, media, and as socialites. But they wouldn't be here without Paris's doing.

Now that is done. I want to get to the main course of this documentary. Social media is a not reality. It is a persona just like those so called scripted reality tv shows. Just like anything based in media: it has a goal and an audience to aim it at to make an income or support. I've even tried so hard to post a photo every single day with every hashtag possible on Instagram and the day I hit 1k followers I was over the moon! Grant it, it took me like five days to do but as soon as I stopped to post two or thre days I lost them all and then some. It hit hard but it makes you realize what people want to see and that it takes damn dedication to work your way up. So hats off to you influencers and social media celebrities.

These documentary as shows the real world behind the 'gram. And that's their relationships, mental health, and overall outlook on life. Once your flame of fame burns out what will you leave behind? Well they all definitely hope more than a selfie with rose champagne and lip injections.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stolen content.
wtfsnacks6 January 2019
The fat Jewish just steals and reposts other people's content. Don't know why people give him the time of day.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What those celebrities want?
mohanadalkhouli22 December 2018
All started fame journey either by coincidence or by incidence. Some tries to regret others to promote another others to evolve, what the point of this movie other than money and sharing tears? Now, what benefit should I get from this mixed victorious tragic biography? I will go with money, and cry a little once a long while later.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Super
steveforrest64330 April 2018
I was lucky enough to attend the premiere of this film with all of the cast and it was so cool. The movie itself was so good and the people in the film were so different on screen than I thought. There was a Q+A after the film with the cast and I was totally engrossed with these people afterwards. They are all so different, but make so much sense. Just wow!
17 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WTH did I just watch?
cre042014 December 2018
Paris should NEVER be compared to Jesus or any high power. This nothing more than attention seekers disgracing themselves for more attention. Complete waste of time.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great doc
theguytypingthis7 December 2018
This documentary showed the internet influencer landscape from all angles without being preachy or subversive, all in a cohesive storyline. Definitely worth a rewatch.
14 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
More Than Meets The Eye
akilianetc-232773 July 2018
I like how the filmmaker follows 4 notable social media icons, especially Paris Hilton, as they use their online presence to create something bigger than themselves. I think Bert Marcus does a splendid job approaching industry notables to share the rollercoaster ride that follows when deciding to share your life for millions to watch - also get a glimpse of their life and insight. This documentary is a 'must watch' as it helps the viewer better understand that there's more than meets the eye.
11 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Recommend
fredtrims17 May 2018
This title is excellent. I recommend this film to both young and more mature audiences, as the perspectives of the viewer will be quite different, but the enjoyment that you will feel is universal. Young people will hopefully be warned and for older audiences, there is so much to learn...
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Kinda hated, Kinda enjoyed it
Golightly67812 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
While the 'the real life' of celebrities isn't new, much less for internet famous, this documentary attempts to approach it with at least some kind of refreshing take. The celebs they featured through sheer effort and determination, have found niches that they built on and each found incredible rise in stardom, truly an amazing feat. This doc is about what comes at the cost of that.

The secrets they harber isn't new, nor is the experience when Kirill shared he 'wanted to kill' himself on social media, then finding his followers less than sincere in their empathy. I still found the candid conversation refreshing. The reality, while somewhat cliché, is still very sadly true. The question of 'how much?' is ever present with the weight of novelty in social media in the modern age. These people are famous in a world of ever present competition.

The reason i gave this only 6 stars.... and merely my biased opinion...

It's a Paris Hilton plug. Yes, she is listed as producer. To put it bluntly, I'm not a huge fan of hers. It urks me that: When someone whose family is worth billions upon billions says that they built an empire, it's hard to take them seriously. If someone like her fails what has she really lost?

Unlike her, the internet celebs will lose pretty much everything if they didn't do this right and bank on their fame quickly. She didn't add to the convo except the narrator points out that she was likely the originator of the '100 day to celebrity' track during her 'Simple Life' days ('00-'05).

So, yes, I watched it all. It was a bit of a train wreck situation, but also a lot of heart. These people are real at the end of the day, no matter where their lives have ended up. They didn't plan on it going this way until it did. That I find interesting. Paris, not so much. Less of her and it would have improved the content.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ridiculous and Not What I Expected
northernlad10 February 2019
So I went into this thinking that it was going to actually be about memes. You know those things that constantly circulate on social media that people use over and over again. Nope! This was about a handful of no-talent "stars" that have never had to work for anything in there life. All this documentary did was give these people a platform to discuss their narcissistic lives. Completely revolting and a waste of time.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Total Package
wyatt-francesca7 May 2018
I loved this movie! I laughed hysterically throughout, but also felt so sad and disturbed all at the same time. It's one of the most original documentaries I have seen and I loved the way that the movie takes you behind-the-scenes with such public figures in such a private way.
9 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting documentary
ropa-6248917 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I saw this film that is more than a documentary. I was surprised about the words from Paris on which she explain that her fan are like her family and she feel better with them because not judge but love as she is. My surprise was because most of people think that Paris life is the best, she is rich and can do and go where she want with no problem but in reality is not so and this make me confused. At the end of this film, that explain the real life and situation on which we live, my reflection are that I and major ordinary population would like to be famous, rich and get money with less work. We prefer to spent time for our free time and not spent time to work and in our mind we think that the only way to obtain it is with social networks. More like, more follow means money and opportunities. But I also understand that to obtain more follow you should have a new great idea or to do stupid thinks, the real life could be interesting but only related to famous people. For ordinary people is hard and you should have a good idea to follow to believe and hope that also milion of people are attract to it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
So much to learn so little time
stevenrexfernandez2 July 2018
The American Meme is a MUST see. It explores very universal themes, super informative AND entertaining.
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fascinating, Upsetting, Inspiring
lesliekerrigan21 December 2018
I definitely didn't expect to be so moved by this film. I felt a range of emotions while watching each character's journey but was most surprised and impressed with Paris. I really appreciated her willingness to just be real, to be vulnerable and to tell such an honest story. I definitely view her in a completely different light now and am really inspired by her tenacity and strength. Really great film.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The dark side of influencers & social media.
beaemjie10 January 2019
A must-seen documentary, interesting and straight to the point. I didn't know any of the celebrities except for Dh Khaled and Paris Hilton, still it was worty to watch.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed