Frieda: Coming Home (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Intriguing, but flawed
kosmasp23 March 2021
If a movie can challenge you, that is usually a good thing (in my book). But to really reach certain heights, it is imperative to actually work on many levels. This has issues. One of the main ones being the acting abilities on display. Maybe the actors can be better, I can't say, but they don't show it here most of the time. There is a general sense of dismay and a general sense of not caring (both not in a good sense).

The mystery may be enough for some and not nearly anything for others. The ending leaves me at least quite perplexed. Not in a good sense either. The mood is quite alright and the story overall would be worth a better treatment ... there are certain ideas here I'd like to see explored more. But it is what it is
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
very good mystery
bouhanamarc2 May 2020
I liked it a lot this is a very good mystery movie and we question ourself when finish i can see it again and again it is slow but i never got bored
3 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Boring at first but give him a chance...
teodoramonika5 August 2021
4/10.

The beginning was boring for me but the plot started after some 35 minutes of film and then it gets interesting. The mystery is good so the end is not predictable.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I wish I could give it better rating
BeerLover_20 May 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Some interesting atmospheric shots and original plot but that's all positive I can say hence the 4 stars. Also no additional background on the key character that kills them except that he hates Americans? Please.

The acting is very poor, and I will leave it at that.

They also did very poor job with photoshooting our protagonists in the poster for the film.

This movie ain't it.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Dark and unsettling
daniel-raboldt-990-5025112 February 2020
"Frieda - Coming Home" is an unsettling experience taking place in a beautiful but scary vacation lake house in the forests of Germany.

I saw it at the Snowdance Independent Film Festival in 2020 and I was amazed by the beautiful camera work and the slow pacing. The camera is floating through the empty rooms of the house following the two great actors while tension is growing faster and faster!

I liked it very much!
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
very good mystery-Watchable
hbkhhhor7 May 2020
A very good mystery movie can see it again and again an unsettling experience taking place in a beautiful but scary vacation lake house in the forests of Germany.The plot of this film sounded interesting The camera is floating through the empty rooms of the house following the two great actors while tension is growing faster and faster!
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Could hardly focus on this film
lancecherubin1 May 2020
The plot of this film sounded interesting so I decided to give it a watch. This was a big mistake. The movie sets a very dark and gloomy mood from the beginning, even when it was trying to establish the couple as being excited about their European trip. The movie drags at an unbearably slow pace and the story is all over the place. Every character in the movie is pretty boring and the aftermath of the mystery and suspense that the film created left me feeling very unimpressed and disappointed. Honestly, if I could turn back the hands of time I would not devote an hour and a half of my life on this movie. I have seen Lifetime movies which were way more captivating.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Very disappointing
M4rt2n20 December 2020
I never write reviews but after watching this film I'm compelled to. I watched this on the strength of the good reviews here. I now realise these 9 and 10 star reviews have been written by people who are involved with this film. They say it's edge of your seat thriller and not boring which is the complete opposite to what I've seen. The characters are wooden, you don't get to know them. It's extremely boring from start to finish and the ending left me very unsatisfied and frustrated. Don't waste your time PLEASE
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watchable
trendsetterinz30 April 2020
Warning: Spoilers
A movie with this low of viewers might have something wrong. That's what goes into mind first. I watched this, and to be honest, i watched it completely. Trust Me, if it was boring, i would have stopped at any minute. Now, that's what is important to me. Love the twist. Overall, not perfect, But extremely enjoyable thriller.
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Denis Villeneuve sends his regards
Gezeh7 May 2020
"Frieda - Coming Home" is a film that - positively - took a lot of nerve out of me. I have seldom seen such an exciting film that keeps me on my toes the whole time in a way that is unfortunately unusual by now. I still have to think about it three days later, so the story touched me that I write an opinion here for the first time. Moreover, it's similar to Denis Villeneuve's films from mood and look, and I love them. What also excited me is the subject, which makes you think about it. Really a foreign film that is worth watching!
1 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dont. Very slow start, doesnt improve. very little story
tilldie14 February 2021
My wife picked up a book to read after 25 minutes. I watched till the end then forbid her from asking about the last hour. I made her promise to pretend I slept for the hour and didnt continue watching this strange film. It had a couple of goosebump moments and wasnt predictable, but I truly wish I hadnt bothered. I even created an account just to review this film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed