Luis Miguel: The Series (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A Remarkable Story of a true Classic! And the Legend is still alive!
tiobrigs18 May 2018
Wow! Wow! Wow! Luis Miguel's life is being revealed after decades of speculation and all the mystery surrounding his name. I am simply dumbfounded and I'm starting to understand so many things which at one stage made no sense at all. Why has been Luis Miguel so aloof? Never gives any interviews? How come he can't seem to be able to settle down? Having everything and all the support of a huge record company. Why didnt he cross over and conquered the English speaking world? What happened to his mother? His brother Sergio? Did his father really died of aids? I simply cannot wait for more...I am addicted to one of the best celebrity stories in a long time! I give it a 12 out of 10!
36 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This show is amazingly addicting!
stephanieitzel11 July 2018
I love Luis Miguel, his music, his story, and his life. I love this show because it literally takes you into Luis Miguel's life and makes you better understand what was going on in the background of his singing career. Everything about this show is amazing and perfect. The only thing that bothered me was the fact that none of the songs on the show are actually sung by Luis Miguel himself. I think Diego Boneta did a fantastic job singing all of his songs and playing Luis Miguel but as a huge Luis Miguel fan, it was pretty disappointing knowing that on the show it wasn't Luis Miguel's voice, it was Diego's. I'm sorry but nothing compares to the songs Luis Miguel sang himself to anyone else that sings them. There is definitely a difference between their voices. I'm not sure what caused his songs not to be on the show, but I'm sure it had to do with the record label or a deal or something. Other than that, be prepared to get sucked into the life of Luis Miguel and all the dramatic, twisted things he went through to reach where he is today.
24 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing... love it.
Finally a compilation stories of the enigma that have been for us the mysterious Luis Miguel. We have grown, learn and sing his songs but only interviews and little did we actually know of him. Have been enjoying this very much. Great actors.
26 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
2d. Season
andreamoreano6 May 2021
Second season is just boring. Naked scenes with no purpose just to get atention, Diego Boneta acting this new season is very slow and boring.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the sun
think-ilogic29 May 2018
Really good story, very good actors, director, music, camara... everything!
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Just what fans needed.
simone_mitil25 June 2018
Although some artistic liberties were clearly taken, I think this is good for the fans. Diego did a good job and I hope any differences with El Sol are resolved so we can have a second season.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A charming singer, and an interesting life
VaneJaramilloA17 December 2019
Luis Miguel's life was intriguing to watch. The series shows important parts of his life from his childhood; like hiw he started in the music business. to when he has grown up. You can see how he's even changed with the time like his firest experiences with love and life.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enlightening & entertaining!
hollyher7 August 2019
I found the series to be most enlightening and entertaining. Very pleased to see that it wasn't in the caliber of a cheesy novela. Story explained much regarding his mysterious and private life. Enjoyed the acting.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If you're Latin, Hispanic or Iberian this series would make you proud of being it.
It's an amazing production of the life of the most sublime Latin singer in history... and when I say Latin im including Iberia and the Americas. Not even Julio Iglesias is this, well indeed; sublime!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Espectacular!!!
markomartiniere8 December 2018
La mejor serie que se puede ver sobre Luis Miguel, muy recomendable!!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Jaenada makes this worth watching!
tadaia28 January 2019
The series as a whole is better than I expected. Oscar Jaenada gives an incredible performance and might make you physically react to his character's feculant behavior. Other performances are good to excellent, and other than a few lulls the story is kept fairly interesting. My only criticism is that I feel Boneta was miscast as the lead. He doesn't look much like Luismi and though he sings ok... I wasn't impressed. He didn't do an awful job but his energy just felt all wrong. He went through nearly the entire series moping, and even when he was happy he looked melancholy. Luismi's always seemed more aggressive and much more radiant than Boneta's flaccid portrayal.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
LUIS MIGUEL'S LIFE
olima-510115 June 2021
Sad story. After watching the series I understand his actual character. The sex and nudity it was not necessary but it what it sell now a days. The movie reflects how he actually treats women.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ok
buddybuster24 December 2019
I love Luis, but this movie was all over the place with flashbacks, that never connected to the present scene. And what's him grab his hair all the time.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Awful Cinematography
alejandro-dl28 May 2018
Sound is chopy and you can tell the changes in mic positions, the dubbing is terrible, the cinematography is completely awful, lots of magentas and critcally overexposed shots.
11 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Just meh
mardie-cannov19 May 2018
Although I was not very interested in the series at first, I kinda like Luis Miguel's music, so I decided to watch. Still not sure if the script is very stiff or the actors are not good; maybe both. The only good thing about this series is the story and the characterizations. Other than that you might just as well just ask someone to tell you the whole story when it's done.
8 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Luis Miguel's Personal Life Revealed
edward_muller24 May 2021
I met Luis Miguel during the shooting of the television commercial seen in the First Episode of Season 1. Commercial. It was the first time I had ever auditioned for a television commercial and I was pleasantly surprised to learn that I had been cast for this Sabritas ad, plus the fact that we were shooting with famous Mexican singer, Luis Miguel.

I arrived at the shooting location early in the morning and we began at around 9AM. While we were waiting between shots, I was standing right next to Luis Miguel, and we began talking. He said 'It's a great day to do a commercial and I said, 'It sure is'.

Luis Miguel is a very nice guy. He is easy going and very mellow. We were talking about everything and laughing and now that I look back, it feels like he's someone I know.

His father was there but I did not know who his father was at the time, but I saw him standing there and after having watched Luis Miguel: The Series, years later, I fully understand the implications of this TV commercial. If you haven't seen it on Netflix, I highly recommend it.

This commercial was produced by Young & Rubicam and was very well made. They were so professional about it. We were there all day till we finally got the shots right. Great times! I met Luis Miguel years after at Viña del Mar, Chile and when I ran into him I said, 'Do you remember me? From the Sabritas television commercial' and he just turned around and nodded.

... and you can say you heard it from the horse's mouth because Luis Miguel is playing a crucial role in writing and producing all seasons. He is Executive Producer and nothing goes by him without his personal approval.

It is as close to reality as possible, including the whole record scene where they decided to keep the same names of the record companies with which they worked with.

I met Luis Miguel on several occasions (Mexico), (Chile) and he is a really cool guy. He is a shy person who, believe it or not, who prefers his privacy. He would rather keep a low profile but his popularity is such, that it's practically impossible. To do that.

It's amazing to be able to see aspects of Luis Miguel's life that none of us were aware of. This series is very well produced, both Seasons 1 and 2.

The first season gives you a good understanding of of how Luis Miguel was brought up. The actor who portrays Luis Miguel's father is Oscar Jaenada who does a magnificent job at impersonating that overpowering personality and how he dominated and controlled Luis Miguel's career and life till the moment Luis Miguel decided to go on his own.

You get to see how he grew up and how his family life was at home and the influence that his father had over him. Plus you get to experience a more personal view of his upbringing and an explosive secret regarding his mother!

The second season takes us to more recent years and certain 'behind the scene' aspects of his life and career which will bring the viewer to a more up close and personal experience, as well. The second season seems to slow down a bit, compared to Season 1 but it's interesting nonetheless with the participation of other actors. Camila Sodi plays Luis Miguel's girlfriend during the 90's who is Erika Ellice Sotres Starr is real-life.

It is also very interesting to see how Luis Miguel's career has been handled thus far. We get to see the different managers whom he worked with ever since he was a child, and a good look of what happened 'behind the scenes' during his touring dates. Also, how due to the mishandling of one of his concerts, he had partial loss in one if his ears and how this had an impact on him up until recent years.

I cannot finish writing this review without acknowledging Diego Boneta's outstanding performance of Luis Miguel. Everything from the smallest facial grimace to his movements on stage, and his voice! He does a great job at putting himself in the shoes of Luis Miguel and impersonating him. He spent time with him, analyzing to the very last detail and his vocal range is right on.

Luis Miguel: The Series is highly recommendable if you like Luis Miguel's music and are interested in learning more about his personal life. I give it two thumbs up.

A third and final season has been confirmed by Netflix where we will get to see if his daughter, Michelle will continue dating Luis Miguel's manager, which is where Season 2 left off.

Edward 'Fast Eddie' Muller.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really Great Production
Arali697 February 2021
I have grown up listening to Luis Miguel's music and enjoying his television appearances on shows like Siempre en Domingo, which showcased all kinds of musical talent from Latin America and Europe. I never knew anything about his personal life and this television biopic is well produced and performed. Luis Miguel, the singer, felt like an enigma, reclusive and unreachable. Perhaps it's why the media has always remained rabid to publish stories, true or fabricated, about him.

It took me a while to recognize the real life people because the sound made it hard to catch what was being said. Some characters were based on real people and some were fictitious. It opened up situations that I never knew about, mainly, an unsurprisingly, the sacrifices Luismi had to make in order to become famous.

The performances range from mediocre in some of the younger, minor characters, to stellar among the seasoned actors. Diego Boneta nails his performance in the title role in both looks and charisma. He delivers in Luismi's essence and mannerisms. (Diego uses mostly Luismi's voice tracks when singing, so I can't say much about that.) Even the younger Luismi characters shined in their roles, particularly Luismi at age 12, played by Izan Llunas. His performance as the vulnerable child who just wants to make his parents happy is on point. (The young actor is actually the grandson of famous Spanish pop star, Dyango, and a musician in his own right). Oscar Jaenda blew me away as Luisito Rey, the overbearing and abusive father, but I would have preferred him to be a little more human and expressed a little more vulnerability in order to feel like a multi-dimensional character. The lovely Anna Favella does justice in her portrayal of Luis Miguel's long suffering mother.

I don't recommend this for viewers under 17. There is nudity, drug abuse, a lot of vile swearing, and some over-the-top sex scenes.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great series.
branmell20 June 2020
Great show. I like his music which helped me enjoy the show more. I am also an 80s baby! I can't wait to see season 2 and find out about his mother. The main character was in another good movie called rock of ages; it stars Tom Cruise and is another movie with music. Watch that one if you grew up in the 1980s like me.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The role is too big for Diego Boneta
GomezAddams66624 April 2018
Luis Miguel is arguably one of the most famous singers in Latin American history, and tho the task of playing him would be daunting to any young actor, Diego Boneta just doesn't cut it.

Boneta can't sing, he barely can act and his wooden performance does not rally up the viewers that want to know more about this famous yet enigmatic figure.

I will continue watching because Luis Miguel himself is involved and there are aspects of his life that we are all curious about, but I just wish they had cast someone better as the lead.
9 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Tragic Life
olima-510115 June 2021
Honestly, I was curious about Luis Miguel's life when he was famous. Now, that I had the opportunity to learn about his life, I totally understand why he used to keep his personal life in private. I think it would be better not knowing so many details about his life because it was horrible what he had to live. However, after watching the series, I understand why he never respects women (something that I never like from him). He always reflects that he feels better or more valuable than other people (due to his insecurities). My final comment is that it is horrible how the series shows so many sex and nudity scenes. He demonstrated that he does not respect women in general including his own daughter.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed