The Last Summer (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
98 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Hope Maia Mitchell's back is ok after carrying the entire cast throughout this movie
salturner-625645 May 2019
Maia Mitchell was her typical self. Great acting. The rest of the cast was beyond terrible. At times it was hard to watch. The writers don't know teens at all. I'm a 22 year old grad student (definitely not a teen), yet I felt my eyes rolling into the back of my head over how out of touch this script was. It was like how a nerdy 35 year old man would write a movie about what he thinks the cool kids were like in high school. If I hadn't drank an entire bottle of wine while watching it, it would've been unbearable.
83 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cringe!
untrustus5 May 2019
This was one of the worst movies I've seen in years. Bad acting, bad script, just scenes cut and thrown together which don't make any sense.
50 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Nothing special
mira-nikolov5 May 2019
What is the purpose of this movie? It feels like the creators just wanted to give KJ Apa a movie and wrote a mediocre storyline in one day. Most of the characters are quite unlikable and I didn't seem to care about them at all. The movie doesn't bring anything new to the table. It definitely didn't grab my interest. Poorly done.
50 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The worst of this movie is how old actors are
cmeneses-749575 May 2019
How are we supposed to believe these kids are in senior high school years when most look like they are 30?!!

Seriously, besides a terrible plot with boring characters, every one of these actors are oks enough to be out college, let alone high school.

The producers would've done much better picking younger cast (19-22 YO's), but picking these 27 YOs and have them deliver lines about what to do after high school is just cringy.
32 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring
armanwhannell9 May 2019
I am surprised I made it til the end. Soo boring, it seems like the movie was 5 hours.
31 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Highly unrealistic
petrasasic6 May 2019
Setting unrealistic expectations of young love and romance to the younger generation.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The Worst Summer..
stellapk5 May 2019
This is quite possibly the worst movie I have ever seen.

Unrealistic dialogue paired with subpar acting and a complete lack of onscreen chemistry makes for an uncomfortable watch to begin with.

The fact that even halfway through the film, there remains no identifiable storyline or reason to care for these characters only adds insult to injury.

Would give a negative rating if I could.
25 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Typical After High School Love Stories but at least 1 good life tip message Movie
megzm234 May 2019
The summer after high school is obviously a different experience for all of us. I think this movie captures that essence well. You have the typical high school going into to college break up, the classic summer after high school rushed summer romance, the should I fake who I am until I make it story, to the who the hell am I going to be? story lines here. I think the concept of the movie was great. But the execution was a little subpar. Personally thought the Audrey story line was the most impactful for a movie that seems mostly geared to the high school viewers. First the babysitting job, Grade A on a the lessons learned aspect. The relationship building was impactful for the probably 20 minutes shown of that story. It was a little Uptown Girls-ish bit was refreshing. Nothing out of the norm there but it was impactful to Audrey's decision making. But most important, I respected the hell out of the fact that the movie included a story line that actually highlights a major understated significance in our society. Signaling the message: hey you don't need to go to college to make it in life. You don't need college to live up to expectations of going to a school just because everyone is telling you too or because your friends are going away. Personally I went to college and postgrad but in today's society, college is becoming a prerequisite for life in general which is a big unfair and untrue factor that we thrust upon young people. Glad we're finally signaling this message that (not in a negative way) maybe college is not for everyone. And that you can still do good in the world even if you don't have that "piece of paper" after 4 years. Good go out there and figure out who you are message.

That put aside the rest of the movie, was predictable romance story lines. 100% cute. Typical romance/flings we all may have went threw in high school. Maybe it made you feel nostalgic. Or maybe it made you remember that time when you were 18. Cute story lines but nothing is over the top. Personally think this movie may have had a couple too many story lines. None that really tied together which is fine and unique in its own way. Just would have liked to see the stories connecting a little more. Not asking for these people to become best friends but by the time you graduate high school, most experiences are shared between cliques at the beginning of that summer. The experience is a shared one, this the end of an era of your life that you shared with your classmates! Show something maybe! Some type of inclusion with all stories should have happened at one point in this movie. The story this movie told could have been 4 different movies(obviously would have been boring) but just felt a little all over the place since they didn't tie.

And god bless anybody dating an MLB player 2 weeks after high school graduation. You go girl. Get it.

Also KJ and Maia were cute.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
With a crispy feeling of Classic Rom-Coms.
yasirhattar3134 May 2019
I don't understand the low rating coz this one deserves 7+ surely. Direction was good, acting was all in all decent and Story was very nice. In short if you are looking for an Entertaing flick then that's the one. Being a fan of Netflix movies and series this one also meet up the merit. So, in the end I hope u enjoy it alot as did i.
48 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Why so much hate on this film? It was actually good
konstantinagk9 May 2019
This is not the best rom com, but it is a beautifully made film with great young actors. I really enjoyed the whole film and I certainly didn't find it boring. I find it kinda realistic too. I think you should watch it!
29 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Classic rom-com
saraleite-14 May 2019
I don't know why this movie is rated so low. It's a romantic comedy with teenagers as protagonists - what would you expect from it? It delivered what I expected and more. For this type of genre - it's a 7 for me.
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Dated concept with a bad score
matt-525075 May 2019
I went in thinking this would be OK but sadly not. The concept is as dated as 1980's haircuts and tries to play homage to 'coming of age', 'teen' films of the past in the way in which it's filmed. However, it falls apart fairly quickly.

The acting at times is trying and the team behind the dubbing should walked out the room. The dubbing at times was terrible it flickered between a B movie or a "straight to video" movie that you'd expect out of a high school project, not a Netflix production.

The score - also shocking, the music throughout is terrible, doesn't add anything to the scenes or the film itself and clearly was the most underfunded aspect of the film.

Sounds harsh but I truly wish I'd saved my time on this one.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A waste of time
abbybabby-736616 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The plot was awful and it had so many bad messages. Like the two nerdy guys lie to get laid and there's no consequences? Or the one dude with the hookup list? Terrible movie. Terrible acting.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ugh
abdulghanirania4 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
You don't get invested in the characters or their plots therefore it's difficult to fully connect to the story. Very basic story lines you see in every movie ever: the nerds date and lie to pretty girls, the teen babysitter with an agenda bonds with the child and the player is a virgin. Also the writing is basic and involves little comedy.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why was this made
klwing6777 May 2019
There was no point to this movie. It never had a climax. Everything stay the same and it was a huge waste of my time.
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Trash
pedopete-373555 May 2019
Trash trash trash trash trash trash trash trash trash trash trash trash trash trash trash trash
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cringe worthy
sashafine-115054 May 2019
I literally cringed for more than half of this movie. Plus, it's suchhhh a basic rom-com. Only watch if you don't have anything else to watch.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Bad at first but gets better!
NZF145 May 2019
Okay so I just randomly watched this because it didn't look as bad as other Netflix "teen" movies and I liked the fact that it took place in Chicago. The first hour of the movie was really cringey, bad, and painful to watch but honestly after that hour? The second hour was actually pretty good. I was expecting some of the storylines to turn out really stupid but they actually turned themselves around and surprised me. I don't think it's spoilery to say that at the end there wasn't really an unlikeable main character or a main character that didn't have character growth. And some bits I actually found funny, which I wasn't expecting. If you want to watch it, I say go for it, just stick with it through that first hour and then it gets better.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A more heartfelt teen flick than expected.
CitizenDevi3 May 2019
I am so surprised by how much I enjoyed this. I like romantic comedies and teen flicks, but maybe only half of the time they are actually kinda good. This one is one of them. Sure, some stuff is way too corny, some messages and storylines feel a bit forced, but all in all it's actually pretty cute and completely worth seeing. The cast does a great job by the way, and some of the characters are much better drawn than one would expect them to be in a movie like this. If you like coming-of-age films, enjoy.

Also, the end is adorable in a way I didn't see coming. The last shot is so accurate and just a perfect note to end on.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Painful to watch
saadgkhan4 May 2019
Cast bunch of pretty actors, smashed them together and here you go ... no story or realistic dialogues, movie moves like a snail crossing a road. You would think something dramatic will happened but nothing happens. 80% of the scenes are not more than a minute so there is no substance or attachment built to these characters. I couldn't finish it maybe one day i'll #iDoubtIt!!!
12 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Couldn't even get halfway through
birdfriday8 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The acting is stiff, the characters lack dimension and it's just weird, you can see a lot of what they TRIED to do and didn't pull off. Like when they pan over the DJ booth into the "lit warehouse party" and you see some poor PA's hands on the deck and she snatches them out of the way as they pass the gimbal over it. And why would anyone be filming interviews at a warehouse party. The dialogue was fine just the whole thing falls flat. There's no relatability in any of these characters, it's just another millennial teen coming of age-ish thing. Also the Black kid throwing away his diploma? Who let that one slip through? Yikes
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great feel good film
rr-1879511 May 2019
Loved the plot twist that made certain characters connect more. Check it out before you read negative reviews. Yeah it may have not felt like high schoolers but take that factor out and boom...great movie!
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Just poorly done
solana-kelsey5 May 2019
Unrealistic views of how after high school is, these are rich kids, with rich families doing expensive things. Too much sexualization of females. Just unoriginal and couldnt wait for it to be over.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Relatable
nejcnemcek-0140427 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
That scene on the subway when Kj and Maia were texting was so relatable I couldn't stop smiling! And the rest was just great!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I liked it
Gordon-114 May 2019
This film tells the story of a group of high school students enjoying the last dinner holiday before college.

The actors and actresses are all fresh faces, but they appear write natural and sweet. I connect with the characters quickly. The story is good, and the story telling is good too. The fact that it has many characters mean that there are loads of opportunities for many different stories, each distinct from each other. It offers the emotional highs and lows, engages me and takes me through a plethora of emotions. I enjoyed it a lot.
14 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed