Very, Very, Valentine (TV Movie 2018) Poster

(2018 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Very, Very Likeable
moho-4026019 February 2018
As a Hallmark fan, I'm very familiar with Danica McKellar and Cameron Mathison (whose best Hallmark role was in the Murder She Baked series, sadly no longer). This was a great pairing and I believed in their friendship from years ago that sustained until the present. However, as one reviewer noted, these leads are in the 40's and I did feel as if they each were trying (not too convincingly) to play their parts at least 10 to 15 years younger than they really are. While I think it worked for this film, it would have been even better if they portrayed their characters as their own true age and discovered love after decades of friendship. That would have been more believeable. I love Ms. McKellar in Hallmark, however, she needs to stop playing the wide-eyed innocent girl in her 20's. Although Ms. McKellar looks fantastic, we all know she is in her 40's and viewer her age would love to see her characters played to her true age. Not to mention she is a brilliant mathematician in real life and I think that alone has great potential for a future Hallmark movie. A very, very good movie that I actually did end up watching again because of its sweetness.
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Middle-Age Romance
omijer12 February 2018
This tv movie is a sweet, very romantic story about two college best friends, who discover their true feelings about one another a bit late in life. It benefits from being tied in to a serious enviromental theme of preserving a botanical garden that is at risk for being turned into a condo/mall money-maker. Both leads are established made-for-tv movie stars and are very appealing favorites. However. both seemed a bit mature in years to be experiencing such a romantic realization. Having been best friends in college, and then each going their separate way is a good beginning background story..But Danica McKellar is 43 and Cameron Mathieson is 48..leaving this viewer to wonder how the audience is expected to believe that more than 20 years had passed before they revealed their true feelings. Their romance seemed more appropriate for people in their late 20's, perhaps mid-thirties..but not at age 43 and 48. Something about Cameron Mathison's wide-eyed, innocent portrayal of a very smart botanist left one in disbelief. He is too mature and too established an actor to portray such an immature suitor. Danica McKellar is always lovely and takes her roles seriously. However, at this time of her own career, she might want to rethink all that long hair and all those tendrils around her face. She is far too beautiful to cover so much of her beauty with all that fussy hair. The second male lead, Damon Runyon, is under-used in Hallmark films. He is handsome, talented and very much leading man material. He needs to be moved out of the 'other man'/bad guy roles.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pleasantly surprising.
MIssM1912 February 2018
I went into this movie not knowing much and expecting an overused plot. The movie, while mantaining its hallmark (pun intended) seemed somehow different.

Helen is a florist (Danica McKellar). Her best friend is Henry, who works at the botanical garden. (Cameron Mathison). While they are at a party Helen connects with this other guy and is determined to find out who he is the day after. She, of course, asks Henry to help her. Not aware he is in love with her (and viceversa).

Both Danica and Cameron deliver an acceptable performance. However, I gotta admit that Danica always shines on her own. Pretty good chemistry between the two of them. Another surprise for me.

At the beginning of the movie there is a mention of a contest and of course Helen has THE perfect flower to present. (I've seen this before with flowers, wine and even perfume) but I was pleasantly surprised when I didn't see the contest and not a good cause to save (wait for it).

My favorite aspect of the movie was the fact that the main characters are not strangers, exes, nor colleagues who are forced to work together. And is there a better trope than two best friends who love each other but are too stubborn to admit it? Only a few. Once again, to my surprise, the "mystery man" - aka boyfriend? - was not an absolute narcissist, focused only on himself, which was a nice change.

Can be talk about the fact that it was Damon Ruyan? Someone who already has movies as the main character?

Dislikes? Only a few: The classic "I wanted a fairy tale story" which is extremely overused and tiring. And while the ending was lovely, I believe it was too much of a leap? But y'all be the judge of that.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Sweet but predictable.
savethewatchmaker2 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This movie feels like a textbook five out of ten---it's sweet and enjoyable, but also incredibly predictable and therefore bordering on boring.

Danica McKellar, who plays the protagonist Helen, is a Hallmark veteran, so viewers inevitably find themselves growing fond of her after the fifth or so movie that features her in a main role. However, she suffers from a case of eyebrow acting that never fails to be distracting---whenever possible, her expression is one of shyness, hesitance, apprehension, and almost woe, to the point where it is almost her default face, all thanks to her perpetually bent eyebrows. This is probably to make her characters more likable, less brash, more charmingly tentative, but after seeing it in the tenth movie, it feels less like an acting choice, and more like the only option Danica has for her face.

The story that then proceeds to unfold around her is unbelievably foreseeable. She meets a handsome masked man, Charles, at the masquerade ball her longtime friend Henry invites her to, and feels an instant attraction to him. However, even before this moment, pointed conversations with her Aunt Carol about Henry make it clear who she's going to ultimately end up with in the film. Henry is a kind, caring friend who she's known since college, and both of them are hiding (seemingly) covert feelings for each other. Especially hard to believe is Henry's grand selflessness, which is so far off the charts he's hardly even playing a believable human anymore---it begins simply enough, with him bringing Charles to Helen after unexpectedly finding him on the street, but stretches onward to him planning dates for them, buying Helen meaningful gifts that he then gives to Charles to present her with, and even dropping off sweet notes and coffee at Helen's workplace that seem as if they're from Charles. Although shooting for extremely nice (and possibly saint-like), I found that Hallmark greatly overshot this trait and circled straight around to deceptive, as ultimately, Henry is presenting a false version of Charles that does not actually exist to Helen, giving her an impression of him that is highly inaccurate.

The audience knows, however, that Charles poses no threat to the actual love story. He's working for a company intending to turn the botanical gardens that Henry works for into condos, which injures Helen, a florist, deeply, and she severs ties with him. She later refers to Charles as a "prince who was more frog," which seems awfully harsh for a man who was inadvertently made to be extremely different from his real self thanks to Henry's meddling.

Henry, meanwhile, is moving to Arizona (how else will our leads work up the courage to confess their feelings if not torn apart by distance) but returns home when a teary Helen tells him she loves him over the phone. He stays in New York and decides to surprise her, calling in a flower order that Helen must deliver to the botanical gardens where he lies in wait (the fact that she had to prepare a flower arrangement that was intended as a gift for her is not lost on the audience) with a ring. This jump from "just friends" to fiances feels extreme for the movie, even if these two have been friends for more than two decades (assuming their ages are similar to the actors' own). Also quickly resolved in the last second is that Helen's specially grown rose has won first place in a competition that, early on in the movie, felt quite significant, but ended up warranting no more than a quick glance at a first place ribbon in the last few moments of the film.

Overall, the movie was charming in its simplicity, but hardly challenged or surprised the audience at any moment. At no point did anyone suspect that Charles was real competition for Henry, or that Helen and Henry would not come to their senses by the movie's end, creating a lack of suspense that would have kept the movie much more interesting had it existed.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Too predictable - nothing new here
phd_travel13 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
A lady falls for a man at a masked ball. But he turns out to be less suited to her than her best friend. The problem with the story is there is just no surprise or much of a difference at all. Just too predictable. It's been done before and better. There is a Cyrano like situation going on.

I like Danica McKellar in these types of movies but she is a little mature not old but mature to be playing this kind of role. Her best friend who turns out to be her true love is played by Cameron Mathison who has a bit of a strange voice that isn't quite suited to the romantic lead.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Forget the cynics - this is wonderful
studioAT27 February 2020
It's very easy to bash films like this. Yes, they are predictable, but what they offer most of all is escapism - and at the moment don't we need a bit of that?!

This is a simple romantic comedy, the sort that in our age of Marvel and other action films, don't get made any more.

With wonderful chemistry between the two leads (including the ever lovely Danica McKellar) this story about a florist taking risks to find the right man, only to perhaps realise he's closer than she thinks is excellent.

I cannot rate it highly enough.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Helen And The Mystery Man
Desertman8423 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Danica McKellar stars in a 2018 Valentine's Hallmark movie special, "Very Very Valentine". The cast includes Cameron Mathison and Damon Runyan.

Helen is a florist who owns a flower shop. She has Aunt Carol and Sarah as her employees. She is friends with Henry, who works at a botanical gardens. Many want them to be a couple. But both insist that they should just remain friends. Then, Helen went on a masked event and met a Mystery Man. Both had an interesting conversation and formed a bond and has made an impression on her. Too bad that Helen was not able to obtain the guy's name or his contact information. Later, we get to see Helen liking the guy and asked Henry's help to locate the mystery guy. As expected, the viewer gets the idea who that mystery guy is and the story points to his direction.

No question that this was a Hallmark movie as well as and it was pretty much predictable despite having a diversion in the story. Nevertheless, it was a pretty entertaining and charming Valentine's movie. And it just becomes more charming with the presence of Danica in it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Predictably cheesy
jml198812 February 2020
Every part of this movie was as I expected it to be. That being said, it still had the feel-good charm that Hallmarkers are famous for. Worth the watch, I'd say.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable enough
Elara891 February 2020
A problem I have with these movies, are the little mistakes, most of which have been mentioned. One that hasn't been mentioned, was glaringly obvious in this one. Why, when they have been friends for years, didn't Helen recognize Henry's handwriting? Friends that I have known for that many years, I know their handwriting, if they give me an unsigned card or a gift, I know who it is and don't thank someone else.

Other reviewers here have commented on Danica McKellar's long hair. Why shouldn't she have long hair at any age? If it looks good (and it does), and mostly, if she likes it, that is her choice. Just because a woman reaches a certain age, doesn't mean she has to automatically chop off her hair.

linda-plant2 lamented that Damon Runyan should get the girl for a change. Off the top of my head, he got the girl in: 'One Starry Christmas' 2014. They do seem to give their corral of actors/actresses each a chance at getting the girl/guy. So hang in there, I'm sure he will get the girl again.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very Very Touching
gretchjc4 April 2019
I read other reviews (Danica doesn't do her hair, the hired stylist does) and thought another review was needed. I loved this movie (and I am not a big Hallmark movie buff). The story line was unique, albeit a bit 'Cinderella'-ish with him leaving the boutonniere behind. The idea of a botanical garden was a refreshing change and that it's head botanist was re-connecting with a florist was destined, ala the florist's parents, and sweet. The acting was good and in fact I thought Damon's personality to be a bit snooty and aristocratic, not at all suited to Danica's character. What I did have trouble believing was grass in NYC in front of any store and other than in Central Park. I also questioned the level of snow as NYC would keep things cleared, for the most part. And, the setting of NYC could have been plausible if the exteriors were not so 'small town', precisely what Hamilton, ONT is: small town. All in all, it's a delightful movie and the ending was touching, and most unexpected.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Cute but typical Hallmark
aspenknoll4 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I knew going in that this would be a typical Hallmark romance movie. I liked it as a whole but there were sooooo many things I had issues with (ie: not believable to me) As a professional floral designer myself (with over 22 years of experience), the whole floral shop setting wasn't that believable for me. This is supposed to be set in the days before Valentines Day. No flower shop would be that slow...! 🤣 The "rose" plant she bred (called a variety not a brand) wasn't realistic...not to mention it was in a pot...in a room with poor artificial light. Someone needed to do way more research on the floral industry before they produced this. The continuity was lacking as well. There would be snow in one scene and not the next.( plus the obvious factor of freezing temperature that no amount of tulle is going to protect a floral arrangement from🙄)
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Cute but stretching at parts
kz917-118 February 2019
Danica McKellar and Cameron Mathison were great but two things annoyed me every time I saw them on screen. One. Danica's hair hanging in her face and Two. Cameron with a backpack traipsing in & out of scenes.

Cute. Chemistry. Just baffling story bits at times.

Watchable if you like the actors.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The editing...oh my
laursen4-571-80125418 January 2020
I will not add much about the overall movie as many others have given plenty. I will, however, comment on the editing...not so good. One moment she is wearing a black wrap....and then she's not. One moment a friend was going to get Helen's coat and only came back with a scarf, wrapped it around her neck...on a body already wearing a black coat. Helen leaves the store in the black coat...but all of a sudden she is wearing a red coat. In the masquerade ball Henry has a mask, and then he doesn't in the next shot. This was all in the first third of the movie...and little things like that just kept happening. So while I enjoyed the movie, storyline and acting...the editing was poor and thus distracting and detracting.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
stretching credulity
linda-plant216 February 2019
I agree with all the comments from the other reviewers. Cameron Mathis looks his age, and cannot pass for anyone in their early 30s. Danica McKellar does need to rethink her hair with the annoying bits hanging around her face, as has already been mentioned. Pity she didn't end up with Damon Runyan - far better looking and about time he got the girl for a change.
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed