Abduction (2019) Poster

(I) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
41 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Watch it for the cast, watch it for the action...but don't expect much
Leofwine_draca24 October 2020
Warning: Spoilers
ABDUCTION is a generally lacklustre sci-fi/action movie that seems closely modelled on BEYOND SKYLINE, although it's even worse than that movie. It's a cheap Chinese flick filmed partly on location in Vietnam, and it has two things going for it. The first of these is a decent cast, with seasoned action veteran Scott Adkins doing his usual hard-hitting fight stuff and even excelling in some amusing comedy sequences early on when he contends with both amnesia and a stutter. Alongside him is Hong Kong star Andy On, also good value and highly athletic. I also liked the Vietnamese actress cast alongside them as she measures up admirably. The second thing going for this are the fight scenes, which display the usual expert choreography we've come to expect from an Adkins movie; they're exciting and thrilling. A pity, then, that the rest of the film itself is so poorly-made, with laughable effects and random plot elements that never gel. Adkins and On deserve a better movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good, but Could Have Been Great
claudio_carvalho14 April 2019
In Vietnam, the British citizen Quinn (Scott Adkins) goes outside a fountain in a park stuttering and with no recollection of his life seeking out the British Embassy. He is sent to a psychiatric hospital by the police and intrigues Dr. Anna (Truong Ngoc Anh) with his memories. Meanwhile the professional hitman Conner (Andy On) sees his beloved wife Maya (Lily Ji) be kidnapped during the night by mysterious men with hood. His investigation brings him to the mysterious fountain, where he stumbles upon Anna that is checking what Quinn said. They see that the physic laws do not work at the spot. She brings Conner to the hospital where they have to fight with Quinn to save their lives. What is the secret of the weird men?

"Abduction" is a good film, with a story with great potential that could have been great. The story of people from another dimension is intriguing but is partially wasted with a poor screenplay and low-budget. Despite the flaws, it entertains and is prepared for a sequel. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): Not Available
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
LUCY IN THE SKY WITH DIAMONDS
nogodnomasters3 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Inter-dimensional aliens who can control time and space, also stop bullets make the serious mistake of abducting the daughter of Scott Adkins and the wife of assassin Andy On. GAME ON!

Nothing like a Chinese alien abduction movie filmed in Vietnam. Slow developing plot. Scott talking much of the film with a stutter trying to figure out his own name. Uses idiotic voice distorter and alien contacts.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
better stay home
kosmasp17 December 2020
I really do like Scott Adkins (though I just read in the trivia he was in the awful Black Mask 2 - well he was young and needed the money, right?), but even though he has a few nice fight and action scenes here, the movie never really connects. Or rather the story. It is good that he tries something a bit different. At least story wise, but right from the start it feels like it just doesn't have the impact on many or any viewers.

The movie does try its best and Scott too, to convey a feeling of alienating ... no pun intended. While the stunts are ok and the effects are too, if you consider the low budget nature of this, especially the ending is completely confused ... then again, how should they have wrapped this up you may ask? A good question indeed ...
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Nifty sci-fi/action hybrid
Woodyanders1 September 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Former SWAT team member Quinn (a fine and likeable performance by Scott Adkins) teams up with erstwhile gangster for hire Conner (an excellent and engaging portrayal by Andy On) to take on a race of pernicious extraterrestrials who have abducted Quinn's daughter and Conner's wife.

Director Ernie Barbarash relates the enjoyable and engrossing story at a snappy pace, stages the plentiful exciting fights and action with considerable go-for-broke gusto, takes time to develop the two highly appealing main characters, and makes good use of various exotic locations. This film further benefits from sturdy supporting contributions from Truong Ngoc Anh as helpful psychiatrist Anna, Lily Ji as Conner's fed-up wife Maya, Daniel Whyte and Brahim Chab as nefarious bald aliens, Mike Leader as a hulking brute, Paul W. He as the wormy Sonny, and Philippe Joly as fearsome Russian mobster Mogilov. The funky special effects are pretty good considering the modest budget. A cool little flick.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Mediocre Crime and Time Travel Tale
zardoz-132 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Hollywood makes three kinds of sci-fi flicks. First, epics that occur in space. Second, stories that transpire on Earth. Third, yarns that utilize both settings. "Abduction" qualifies as the second. The premise of "Assassination Games" director Ernie Barbarash's "Abduction," a tolerably cheesy sci-fi saga mashed up with a crime thriller, is utterly preposterous. The elaborate but convoluted premise virtually defies synopsis. Imagine the kind of movie those schlockmeisters at Asylum Studios would crank out about 'aliens trafficking in humans,' and you'll see why "Abduction" earns points for its goofy SyFy Channel charm. Aliens from another dimension can "bend space time," but they're are running out of that commodity. When they entered our world, they disrupted our three-dimensions and wound up marooned here ever since. Apparently, these aliens-called 'Visitors'--had established contact earlier with the ancient Chinese back in the Stone Age. While time ticks away at their expense, the Visitors have embarked on a hunt for humans with either "specific genetic codes" or exceptional 'chi.' The pseudoscience of Feng shui plays a critical part in the flawed navigational system of the Visitor's starship. These singular humans can produce enough chi to propel the Visitors through the three-dimensional matter in the Earth's gravitational pull. None of these humans, however, will survive the journey. Basically, all you need to know is that the Visitors have abducted Scott Adkins' daughter and nothing is going to stop our hero from getting her back alive. Clearly, Barbarash and "Operation Rogue" writer Michael MacLean have appropriated "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" and combined it with "Taken."

These sinister aliens, sauntering around in dark robes with hoods covering their cadaverous faces, are fairly straightforward. Not only do they speak in predictably ominous tones, but they also can emit a light from the palms of their hands. Near the end of this nimble 97-minute nonsense, the Visitors unveil themselves in their native form as towering, green, crystalline, warriors. Omniscient and infallible as these Visitors appear, they make a supreme error when they abduct British SWAT team leader Andrew Quinn (Scott Adkins of "Avengement") and his adolescent daughter Lucy simultaneously. As one of two protagonists in this buddy picture, Quinn searches desperately for his missing daughter. She is one of many Earthlings shanghaied by these space invaders to salvage their malfunctioning navigation system. In a parallel plot, a deadly assassin who has never missed a single shot in his entire life, Connor (Andy On of "Zombie Fight Club"), promises his wife he will quit killing people for an Asian crime syndicate. Connor yearns to turn over a new leaf. Unexpectedly, the Visitors clad like monks in robes materialize mysteriously in his apartment and abduct his wife. Inevitably, Quinn and Connor collide with each other when they tangle with these formidable aliens. Connor tries to shoot them, but they dissolve his bullets into dust!

"Abduction" unfolds in a gloomy warehouse where a huge, sweaty thug trundles unconscious humans around in a wheelbarrow. Quinn finds himself among other less fortunate humans who the aliens have seized as slave labor. These woebegone souls have a spider-like apparatus attached to the nape of their necks with a glowing jade emerald at the center. The atmosphere is ominous as Quinn fights one of the monks and takes a blow to the chest that literally knocks him backwards some twenty feet or more through a solid brick wall of a towering temple to plunge into a watery abyss. Miraculously, Quinn survives the fall! After he climbs out of the water, Quinn discovers he is in Vietnam at the Victory Fountain Park in Ho Chi Minh City. Wandering the city without a clue, he lives like a vagrant until the police arrest him and turn him over to hospital authorities for observation. Quinn suffers from the effects of time travel. Not only does he stutter unless slapped, but he also has become an amnesiac. Eventually, he tells his tale of woe to a Vietnamese doctor, psychiatrist Dr. Anna Pham (Truong Ngoc Anh of "Truy Sat"), about aliens abducting his daughter on Sunday, 7 January 1985. Imagine our hero's shock and stupefaction when Dr. Pham informs him the year is 2018. Quinn is appalled at this revelation, but he convinces Dr. Pham that he is no lunatic. When they consult with her elderly mentor, Dr. Dao (Aki Aleong of "Pound of Flesh"), the latter explains how the aliens use Feng shui as a navigational tool which will enable them to leave the earth.

Presumably, Quinn and his daughter were caught in the same net. He managed to escape and tracked her down. The aliens thwarted his initial rescue attempt. Although Quinn was one of many humans the Visitors grabbed, he lacked the "specific genetic codes," so they relegated him to drone ranks with the emerald apparatus. Principally, "Abduction" harkens back to the post-apocalyptic, sci-fi television show "Falling Skies" (2011 to 2015) on TNT, where enemy aliens captured humans and controlled them with a similar spinal contraption. Barbarash has done his share of action movies with Jean-Claude Van Damme, so he is no stranger to martial arts actioneers. As outlandish as the sci-fi plot is, "Abduction" musters occasional footholds of gravity with Barbarash's acrobatic staging of various fight scenes. He focuses on the collective plight of Scott Adkins and Andy On. Their shenanigans with martial arts and silenced pistols proves far more cinematic than these monolithic, CGI-forged, extra-terrestrials. As villains, the Visitors are comparably lukewarm. Early action depicting Connor's clash with a trigger-happy gang of Russians boasts ramped up levels of violence comparable to Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" shoot'em ups. Adkins is comparable to Roddy Piper in John Carpenter's "They Live" (1988), while On is the equivalent of Chow Yun Fat in John Woo's "The Killer" (1989). "Abduction" qualifies as the kind of picture best watched with lots of beer and pizza, but it has none of the electrifying intensity of "Avengement," another recent Scott Adkins outing.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A third-rate production I surprisingly actually enjoyed.
Top_Dawg_Critic21 March 2019
Let's face it, we don't expect much from these type of B-grade action flicks, but oddly enough I enjoyed the martial-arts-meets-sci-fi cross-genre. Sure the plot had issues (e.g. why the stutter? comedy? fail), and the screenplay was amateurish writing to go with the sub-par directing, but the fight choreography and story premise was enjoyable and thus a 6/10 from me.
29 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Hammy sci fi martial arts mash up.....
s32761694 April 2020
Lets not beat around the bush. "Abduction" is a very basic martial arts film with a sci fi back story.

Much of it looks like it was shot in hotel rooms and basic office space, in Vietnam. Acting ranges from clumsy to reasonable and special effects are anything but special.

The only place where this thing shines is the martial arts action scenes, which also lack a certain polish.

In short a very very basic action flick that's a marginal watch at best.

5/10.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
VIEWS ON FILM review of Abduction
burlesonjesse513 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
"She's been abducted." Yeah she has. By albino, hooded aliens who have been around for centuries no less. Said aliens sure know how to fight (and brawl) Bruce Lee-style. They show up haphazardly in 2019's Abduction (my latest review).

So OK, everyone in Abduction mysteriously knows how to kick butt in the avenue of exotic martial arts. No explanation, no reasoning, no stock rationale, and no know-how. Just bone-crunching, fist fighting scenes in the vein of some B-movie, John Wick echo. Yup, for a film starring C-list action guru Scott Adkins and having him harbor a stutter, Abduction really wants you to take it seriously. I did until all the shoddiness and pseudo-cheesiness sort of crept in.

Directed by Xmas Netflix-er Ernie Barbarash (he was also a co-producer on 2000's American Psycho) and plotted well from a VOD standpoint, Abduction is a preposterous mix of black magic, time travel remnants, purported violence, and sci-fi mumbo jumbo. Call it "big trouble in little Vietnam". Call it "the matrix rebooted". Call it a John Carpenter pic ruined and refurbished by a form of MTV sheen.

The gist of Abduction which involves two intertwining vignettes, has to do with SWAT guy Quinn (Adkins) and gangster Connor (played by Andy On). Quinn and Connor's loved ones get captured by creepy-looking figures who are bent on steadily destroying the human race. They speak with Evil Dead-style voices, they wear black capes, they stealth it up, and they give the Grim Reaper a run for his money a la the personality department.

Bottom line: Abduction is sophisticated, eerie camp with a prototypical premise, standardized direction, and a knack for having some decently choreographed block blow sequences. Compared to more commercial releases however, the film just seems a little underwhelming. Abduction conveys random "ruction". Rating: 2 and a half stars.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
incomplete and unexplained a bit
NijazBaBs18 October 2019
Good actors, idea, effects. They are immersed into story, sorroundings, and movie even if scifi looks realistic. Unlike bad movies we could see here at least partially explained scifi part and partially completed story. Also bit funny and emotional. Not bad location. Mix of everything, many genres. If it was completed and explained completely, it would be perfect! Higher quality among newer movies.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Scott Adkins vs Alines !
saptesh7865 July 2019
I saw this title only for name of Scott Adkins, but unfortunately movie is disappointing. Even Scott could not save this one due to bad story line and confused direction. There are many loopholes in the story. What is in movie? is it a science fiction ? or a action movie ? You cannot decide while watching. I wanted explanations for many questions like what is about year difference for Scott and his daughter as they are same aged in 2018 as 1987? What did aliens want from men who have special DNA. How was the Fengshui technique works? Why did a man take spider device from dead ( ?) peoples ? How Scott got there? And what was happened to Andy On at the end. Much confusion I found but no answers anywhere. End pointing out a sequel. God saves us from such boring movie. Only some, but not brilliant fight sequences of Scott Adkins and Andy On will give you some interest otherwise movie is wasted.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The first actually good action sci-fi movie from Scott Adkins
phanthinga22 March 2019
From the star of Scott Adkins's action packed career the Sci-fi genre were never his thing and I think many of his fan, including me can all agree than unless the movie got big budget then he should just stick to low budget action movies especially after the dreadful Incoming ( 2018) that so embarrassing to watch that even Scott himself had to apologize on Facebook until now. I'm not saying that Abduction is a good sci-fi action movie or even one of his best but because my expectations already at its lowest I'm actually very surprised about how entertaing this movie is. Yes, the movie is super low budget when it come to the sci-fi aspect but the action scene cheographed by Tim Man the Man plus Scott Adkins and Andy On charming presence on scene all make me forget that I'm watching a move that supposed to take place in Vietnam a place where not many people can speak English but when everytime the movie need to push the plot forward all of a sudden the people speak like it like it a natural thing and more dumb stuff like that. I'm kind of curious about the open ending so a potential sequel sound not all that bad for me
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Aliens and Martial Arts on a low budget... well.. could had been much worst.
destroyerwod19 July 2020
I really like Scott Adkins and watch pretty much all his movies. Abduction kinda passed under the radar as one of those obscure movies. No direct to DVD release in video stores, no VOD release on Xbox (where i check for the VOD movies personally). There was just a few DVD on ebay i kinda just came across in a random "Scott Adkins" search. Managed to get one for rather cheap and so i was able to saw it.

The martial arts there was were pretty good. Not a "ton" of it but enough to keep me entertained enough. The story tough was really not my kind of cup. I don't mind an alien story at all but this one is a bit confusing and purposely made so you don't get to know much on the aliens, who they are, how their power operate or whatever. Also Aliens just don't blend well with Martial Arts.

I kinda get why this movie didn't get a big release. I am not into Scott's shoes so i have no idea if he took it because he taught it sounded cool or because he needed work, but this clearly won't make his best movies list. That being said the movie is far from being "bad". Its competent on every level and like i said the fights are well shot and fun, but the budget was probably very low, they couldn't made much of what they had in mind. For instance the "Alien World" exterior shot looked very cool but we see it for a VERY short ammount of time. Most of the movie happen in vietnam regular locations or barns...

But even with the negative, i can't say i was bored really or waited for it to finally end or anything, its just one of those movies i watched and when it finish i was like "ok... well, spent time, won't probably watch it again but was decent enough".
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Amazing fight scenes...but that is all
natcalgary29 April 2019
I gave this a 4 based solely on the fight scenes. Other than that this is just a mess. Directing sucked, acting sub par, story and ending was dumb. And how the hell could the guy speak no vietnamese whatsoever but had no problem understanding everyone who spoke it?

4.1
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
this is most terrible scott adkins film i have ever seen in his history
nikola178 April 2019
WOW i can't believe i saw 3 worst Scott Adkins movies of all time his recent films were worst is debt collector, incoming, now this Abduction piece of crap this is not Abduction another Garbage film with Taylor Lautner. i didn't hate this because it has bad CGI i am not here for Oscar's or bigger budget movie i know what i am getting myself into and yes i am die hard fan of Scott Adkins such a die hard fan i even met him 2 years ago at event of Boyka Undisputed the 4th film in franchise my favourite movies of all time. I enjoyed Special Forces, I loved Undisputed 2, Undisputed 3, Undisputed 4, i liked Ninja 1&2, Universal Soldier Day of Reckoning 4th film i liked for time waster, El Gringo, Close Range, Eliminators, Hard Target 2, Savage Dog, Accident Man was my last movie i loved and seen his bit of worst the worst movies he did in history so as Re-Kill, American Assassin, Home Invasion, Jarhead 3 the siege before is his worst. yes I liked triple threat that's better film then his lead role to this terrible movie. My last great movie with Scott was Undisputed 4 Boyka, Accident Man great movies but after his good and great turned bad with Re-Kill, Jarhead 3 the Siege, Debt Collector, Incoming, Abduction god

even worse now with this movie it's one of those low budget very cheap PG-13 rating movie well it's R Rating but it's more of fantasy then a Action movie not horror film. now i blame more of director Ernie Barbarash who did movie with Van Damme and Adkins, Marija Karan actress who i loved she is really pretty but got killed off for dumb reason that movie Assassination Games poorly made movie average but not the worst, then he did alright movies like 6 bullets with van damme, Michael Jai White Falcon Rising great movie but then to this how in earth did this movie got made how in earth this can't be normal Abduction movie like Taken for explame or Man on Fire, but no this had to be most terrible CGI Fantasy like from SC-FI channel, with Scott Adkins making him like idiot with funny cartoon jacket him starter when he talks like starters speech therapy, slapping himself like idiot in entire let's say 1 hour of movie then it gets back to normal now who in earth would make him like that just why ? make him look like an idiot just make him with no memory at all, his lost, he is like new to earth or something like writers made him look like he is auditioning Ben Stiller Performance in Topic Thunder film.

now story follows that Quinn (Scott Adkins) who woke up in some fantasy world with full of people got kidnapped by whatever they called Inter-dimensional aliens who can control time and space, also stop bullets his daughter got kidnapped and also i don't know if director or writer got idea from resident evil with brainwashed through the scarab device attached to people neck it's like this spider device short of thing that's what they got idea from resident evil. and people who were wearing that it does brain washing them. Then opening scene with Scott Adkins fighting with those people I didn't mind at all the fight scenes were so good I loved it especially with badass leather pretty girl (Myra Mala) Drone Girl who did the fight scene really great, well shot in opening. Scott Adkins does his own fight scenes is so great, sadly it doesn't save this movie but then after that he fell of in fantasy world fell in water then in park fountain he got out from in Vietnam with no recollection of who he is or where he came from. So he come from different year it was 2018 but he was from 1985. then you have another character I don't care for or you don't care for is Conner not spelled Connor but Conner (Andy On) witch i rather turn off Andy off he is terrible actor nice martial arts techniques but there's Donnie Yen theirs Tony Jaa theirs a lot million Asian actors they could of used. but Conner is a contract killer witch he is good guy or bad guy witch i think he is bad guy for killing innocent people at bar he is their to kill bad guys not rest of innocent people now on made him look like bad guy. but i don't understand why we should follow this character as well when we care about Scott Adkins character with no memory that's more interesting than Conner the Asian guy we don't care about much i thought he should not being in movie i reckon just Scott that's all.

with doctor Anna (Truong Ngoc Anh) who tries to help Quinn with his memory who tries to know who he is or where he is he is saying 1985 saying aliens toke him witch they are not aliens they don't tell in movie who they are those villains with powers i should say. i thought this movie had nothing it was boring it had nice action scenes, great scenes, well shot but movie doesn't save it at all nothing like that it got save so boring after that and ending ends like theirs a sequel it has Andy On talking witch the radio should turned Andy Off. but sequel won't happen at all, I don't blame Scott but I blame director and writers for it but this is terrible specially they should make this movie just normal revenge flick that's all not having Asian guy Andy On AKA Andy OFF turn him off just have Scott Adkins who tries to remember stop having his character starter with speech problem witch kinda bleeded my ears i am like it's embarrassing himself and it just pain to watch this movie for Scott Adkins fans die hard fans like me DON'T EVER BOTHER watching this pain and pointless movie at all don't ever see it i reckon checking out Triple Threat, waiting for IP Man 4, Avengement (2019 film) but this no avoid this crap rubbish film of all time please avoid this fanstry, pointless, scott embarrassing himself witch i don't blame slapping himself witch i should come behind him put him in a better movie. for fans of Adkins just go with Special Forces, Undisputed Franchise, Ninja Franchise, go with Close Range, El Gringo, Hard Target 2, Savage Dog, Accident Man. that's my best list for his movies please don't go with this movie at all its pain, reason why i wanted to watch this is because i wanted to see what this looks like and recommended for people or not well i don't recommended.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Ehhh this movie could been great but messed up in lot areas.
Brooklynsmagicmike1 June 2020
First off I'd like to start by saying I'm huge Scott Adkins fan. With that said my rating is slightly biased because if he wasn't in this movie I would of rated it lower.

Overall this movie is ok. The premise is incredibly silly, the action is sub-par, and the acting was mediocre. However it does good job of keeping you engaged enough to want to know what happens.

The second half is miles better then first half which is utterly confusing and nonsensical. But sadly even that is short lived, once you get to ending you'll see yourself scratching your head saying why?

Please also keep in mind as forewarning this movie is sci-fi. Despite the cover art and description reflecting more of action oriented movie. Don't be fooled like I was.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very Surprised
cescfabulous30 October 2020
Was expecting the usual bang bang fight fight, but this was very different. Bit like the Matrix, Aliens, Terminator, the acting from the 3 leads are OK, put it this way it was on in the background, after 10 mins I was glued to the screen, its very Original
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dreadful mess of a movie
chilversedward1 June 2020
This film was awfully acted, scripted, directed and just about everything else. The plot was ridiculous and by the end just couldn't care less what happened to the characters. This is the worst film I've seen so far this year and hope to god I don't have the misfortune of sitting through a worse. Do yourself a favour, avoid it
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't waste your time with this one
LincolnSixEko24 July 2021
I generally like Scott Adkins as he's does good b list movies. But this movie is so far out there with weird aliens and ridiculous plotlines that make up to a bunch of silly nonsense in the end. Just avoid.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
B-movie trash
enigma-947-3394675 January 2020
Terribly slow and pathetic fight scenes, awful acting, awful script. Cheap, cheesy sound effects everywhere.

Astounded by the overall score. Did they even watch it?

I shut it off after 20 mins. My gf and I kept looking at each other like, NO, we're not watching the rest of this garbage.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant
supernatural-62-81308617 January 2021
For me a great story and great fight scenes very different to what Adkins normally does
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Fight for Your Acting Life
weronews15 July 2020
Adkins might be a decent fighter but he couldn't act if his life depended on it. He's even worse than Schwarzenegger and that's saying something. Beats me why I bought this Blu-ray in the first place.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good in a pinch
Teddy-Bear-Picnic13 November 2019
If you have a modern action movie hankering you could do worse than this. Scott Adkins is ALWAYS the man but in this one he is sadly not the leading character despite what the poster suggests. The more dramatic scenes do not work very well but the action scenes were satisfying. I suggest watching this one with a couple beers and a couple buddies so you can talk over the boring parts.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not really aimed at the western audience
wwaigl24 March 2019
I gave this movie a 7. It had some good fight sequences and the overall production values were good. Looking at the executive producer and financing list I don't think its really aimed at a western audience but rather chinese and vietnamese audiences. Its sort of a hash of eastern mysticism/scifi/martial arts. So I can understand some of the low scores although they are not really warranted - nothing in this movie was a "2" and if you want to see a 2 score movie I can point the way to plenty.

Anyways it has a discernable plot, it flows forward with no obvious continuity errors, has a reasonable budget for cgi and special effects, and has some good martial arts sequences. Its not going to win any awards but if you like an action movie with a touch of scifi to it and have exhausted all the tier 1 and 2 level movies then this is an ok stop.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Definitely a good film
cbodhinath22 March 2019
I was so disappointed with some of the previous Scott Adkins films and was quite surprised when I saw this film. This film shows Scott Adkins can actually act in addition to his amazing fighting skills. There is no gore but some excellent fights choreographed by Tim Mann. A decent story not fast pace but watchable without getting bored. Viewers may differ but a very good film for Scott Adkins fans. There is absolutely no reason for giving below 5 star ratings.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed