The Landline Detective (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Absorbing
sisterpcocd26 November 2020
I would never have believed that an old guy on a phone could keep me riveted to the screen for so long. Who needs sets, deep score. or anything. When you have incredible writing and superb acting... I guess that's all you need. Could you please re-make Dial M for Murder now and I guarantee a 10!
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great script and acting holds your interest
cvsny7 February 2021
Action-packed murder mystery depicted by one actor, his landline telephone and an ensemble of voice-over actors for 15 other plot characters. As the main character gets involved in the home project of organizing a large collection of family pictures, one photo in particular stands out as being relevant to the 30-year old murder of a family member. The film pulls on your imagination to visualize the developing story in much the same way a good mystery book does.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid 8 film!
tocanepauli8 February 2021
I have never sat through a 1 act film with so much enjoyment before! It is clever, witty, simple, enjoyable and even funny, and very well acted by ALL. The thing that struck me the most was that what the people said on the phone IS what you would say, and it was great! Well written, with everything you need in a film. A triumph! Congratulations.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not a bad little mystery
eye9519 December 2020
Cleverly written mystery. Cleverly presented.

Clearly low-budget. Some of the voice acting is amateurish. But this movie is well-worth the watch.

The simplicity of the action and of the set would make this a great stage play.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A true sleeper!
denbren20 January 2021
If you appreciate excellent acting, imagine an entire movie with only one actor. A movie that holds your attention because of that 1 actor's ability and well-written dialogue. Oh sure, there are other voice actors, but the one on-screen actor holds this story together. You are forced to imagine the scenes, just like reading a good book. I was so impressed!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Japanese-American Sherlock Holmes (with a landline phone!)
Berlinerin202022 December 2020
I enjoyed this film much more than I expected even though the voices on the phone were obviously not those of trained actors. The main character James Furuta (Dann Seki) was marvelous and held my attention the entire time, no small feat.

As a Japanophile who lived many years in Japan, and hopes to return to live there permanently, I loved that the story focused on the interconnectedness of the Japanese-American community, which reminded me of life in Japan. And I loved the usage of old photos of Japanese-Americans appearing intermittently on the screen as the story progressed, representing some of the characters from the murder mystery rooted in past events, but would have preferred them in sharp focus before the film's end to make the characters come to life in the present.

Entertaining and something different than the usual murder mystery fare and all without vulgarity or bloody, violent scenes.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The One-Man Show Works
nigelgatherer5 February 2021
I was enthralled by the Tom Hardy movie Locke (2013) and fascinated how they pulled off a whole film with a single actor on screen. When I saw that The Landline Detective had a similar premise, I thought I'd give it a look, and I'm glad I did. There is nothing flashy about the film - no special effects, no big stars. It's a low budget production with all its strength in its idea: an ordinary man stumbles upon something related to the murder of his sister-in-law 30 years ago and, armed only with his landline telephone, sets out to investigate further. There is humour, tension and a plot twist, and yes, it keeps your interest till the end. Sure, you could find faults with the film, but giving it a chance might pay dividends. Just as a huge budget doesn't guarantee a good film, a small budget doesn't preclude it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Clever little mystery!
minlin27 February 2021
Considering the entire movie consists of one single man in the same room; most of the time sitting in the same chair, talking on the phone you'd think it would be boring. Not at all! Jimmy is sorting through old family photos so they can finally be put into albums. Something which he and wife have meant to do for years. He's decided while his wife is on vacation with friends, he'll do it. While he's going through the pictures to put them in chronological order, he comes across a Polaroid that puzzles him. After calling his daughter, who'd taken the picture as a child 35 years ago, he begins to realize that the seemingly innocuous photo holds a clue to the still unsolved murder of his sister-in-law. He starts calling people to try to put the pieces together and figure out what happened.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An improbable idea for a movie totally works!
nancy-hildebrandt20 February 2021
I spent a good part of the movie laughing over how far the pitch would have gone in Hollywood...An old man too tech-backwards to have anything more than a landline spends the whole movie on that landline in conversations with other people, who we hear but never see, trying to use a new clue to solve a 35-year-old murder mystery in his family. I had no expectations as I started watching it but found I was engrossed the whole way through and loved the ending. Also loved the setting and the Japanese-Hawaiian characters. Will be checking out other movies from this studio.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It drags,
jayfisher-330955 January 2021
This movie is so slow. It could use good editing to cut it down to an hour.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
No need for billions of $$ to make a good movie
sdc213-689-2368652 January 2021
I found this very entertaining and it made me follow the clues and I visualized the setting and not a cent was spent. When James was annoyed by the constantly ringing phone, I too felt annoyed. One thing that threw me was how young the 'retired' detective's voice sounded. Of course my mind spun off another plot that somehow the real killer had intercepted the message about having the retired detective call James. Totally different and totally believable.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Authentic!
yviemarie-9573210 April 2021
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I was married for many years to a man like Jimmy whose family had come from Hawaii. All our family members characters were captured in this charming whodunit. It was slow and clunky with lots of missteps, gossip and innuendo, just like much of life, right down to the grandpa/granddaughter relationship.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Well, the guy is cute
...but the production values and the dialogue are strictly amateur hour. If it weren't for the likeability factor of the sole on screen performer, this would be one of the worst films ever made. If you can get past the first 15 or 20 minutes, it might grow on you. But the technical drawbacks...the pauses...the overly loud voices on the phone and the incredibly childish dialogue all have to be overlooked.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Genuinely Curious
brilliance-6260729 January 2021
I truly would like to know how anybody could have enjoyed or even watched more than 20 minutes of this?
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A man and a phone
mjdk227 December 2020
Interesting concept in the same genre as Cast Away in the sense that it's performed by one actor. The movie is entertaining albeit a bit drwan out. The really annoying thing is the constant whining when he starts piecing things together. Other than than that it's worthwhile watching or at the very least listeining to.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed