Painter (2020) Poster

(2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
YAS!
cogantyler2 November 2020
So, so good. This is smart and beautiful. Surprisingly, darkly funny. Mwah! Bella!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Did not know what was coming...
batchworthy1 November 2020
I also did a little research afterwards and the director shot this whole thing in 16 days... Say WHA? Can't wait to see what he does next. Definitely worth a watch. I only took one star off because the first five minutes of the film felt a little slow for me, but it very quickly took off from there. I stumbled upon this on Instagram and decided to give it a shot not knowing what to expect. I was genuinely VERY impressed with the director, the photography, the whole vibe of the thing including the music. I dont know anything about the art world, so this was fun. Gorgeous, rich looking, beautifully acted and shot. Great work. Thanks for making this.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A WONDERFUL, GRIPPING, PROVOCATIVE FILM . . .
David_Wirth18 October 2020
Make no mistake PAINTER is a modern film ... but within this very colorful, modern film, director CORY WEXLER GRANT has blended elements of film noir and horror movies from the cinema's past which make PAINTER a highly engaging, extremely enjoyable hybrid of a film. PAINTER takes place within the flamboyant, esoteric world of art. Mr. Grant, with uncanny precision, has detailed the beauty, excitement, frivolity, self absorption, worship of the dollar, and the undercurrent of corruption that runs through the modern art gallery. In telling the story of Aldis Browne, a young painter on a bizarre journey from anonymity to celebrity, Mr. Grant introduces and examines themes such as: What is the passion that drives some individuals to create? Why is that passion so seductive? How is it that some artists capture the imagination of the public and others do not? What are the boundaries between artists and their aficionados? A truly gripping and provocative film, worthy of multiple viewings. I recommend it highly.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Theatrical and Classical
clearvillage1 November 2020
Really great dialogue, performed beautifully by a terrific cast. Great cinematography. And a really impressive musical score. This movie made me think of 'Phantom Thread' by Paul Thomas Anderson. Also, clearly some Sunset Boulevard references. Slow, mysterious, character driven, deliberate. Great on a rainy night, alone. Felt like a cool play.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jealousy, Revenge, Manipulation, Control & Possession!
Jill_Melanie_Wirth18 October 2020
PAINTER is smart, provocative, unique, horrifying, and exciting! It's a story of jealousy, revenge, manipulation, control and possession. Buy it, because you're going to want to watch it over an over again! PAINTER is truly spectacular.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Creepy, and Sexy, and Smart!
jon-132515 October 2020
Stumbled on this and really loved it! Can't stop thinking about it. Great commentary on being an artist and the crazy art world and what lengths people will go to for recognition. So fun seeing the mom from Boy Meets World as this totally different kind of character. She's super scary in this! Great performances from the whole cast. Beautiful direction and cinematography and score. Lots of surprises and twists. Highly recommend.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Promising talent.
bernardkennethjunior4 November 2020
The positives far outweigh the negatives in this trim little offering from a new writer/director. Very sturdy performances from good actors provided with blunt, at times funny, and taught dialogue. A drama more than a thriller, but twisty-turny and unfurling. An adept hand behind the camera. Thousands of lovely ideas on the screen, well composed, always lovely to look at.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A rumination on art, talent, and revenge
brian_tanen2 November 2020
Stumbled on this movie during quarantine, and found it to be compelling, surprising, and delightfully weird. A wealthy collector brings a talented artist under her wing, but their relationship quickly crosses unhealthy boundaries.

For anyone who has ever struggled to make it in an artistic field, the appeal of a mysterious benefactor will resonate strongly. Here, Joanne not only supports Aldis financially, she also provides something he needs on a deeper level - belief in his talent. I won't spoil the plot, but you will not be able to guess where this is going. RECOMMEND!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fascinating with great performances
hampersnow-2890515 October 2020
This movie is not going to be for everyone, but as someone who is artistic, fascinated by art and the art world, I thought this was a wonderful film, humorous, at times creepy , fascinating, entertaining and kept my interest throughout. Beautifully shot, the real standout here comes from the top notch performances, especially Betsy Randle and Eric Ladin in the leads, but the entire cast is wonderful. Casey Deidrick is also a standout in his small role. It's nice to see something different that also has something to say. I hated Velvet Buzzsaw, Hollywood's take on the art world, but this little indie is so much better, with superior performances. Even has a touch of Sunset Boulevard to it. Recommended to anyone who appreciates Indie cinema at it's best and great acting.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
More than a thriller
nicholasgorham16 October 2020
This movie is SO GOOD! Art, glamor, misplaced obsession! What more could you want. So brilliantly and beautifully directed by Cory Wexler Grant. A true triumph of a film. They don't make them like this anymore. Be kind to yourself and WATCH THIS MOVIE!!
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful film by the Grant Brothers!
robertlevy-392287 November 2020
The Grant Brothers show their brilliance here. Bravo Bravo Bravo ! Editing, writing and casting all brilliant. Cinematography and art direction simply off the charts. Have never seen an indie film executed this well!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very Interesting
kgildamom3 November 2020
I agree with some other reviews on here, this is not for everyone. But it was for me (and my son who I watched it with - he's an artist). Very compelling. We loved it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Surprisingly good
shoreana3 November 2020
I saw an ad for this on Instagram. I figured "what the heck"? I was pleasantly surprised. It wasn't what I expected at all. And nice to see an older woman in a lead role be so maniacal and psychologically deranged. She did a wonderful job. A little slow, but a super cool film. Great for your movie group. Lots to discuss.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Shake up your boring quarantine routine
schmidtsierra15 October 2020
You'll want to buy this one instead of rent it. So good that you will be thinking about it for days after you watch it.

Suspense, creepy obsession and perfectly placed humor. This movie will keep you on your toes the entire time and each turn of events is beautifully unexpected.

The music is perfectly crafted with each scene and sets the tone as the plot unravels.

Bottom line, go watch it. Now!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Slow Burn
benjamincaden7 November 2020
It takes a while to get going, but once the character of Joanne inserts herself in the life of Aldis Brown, this movie becomes an incredible character study, with beautiful scene work. Betsy Randle as 'Joanne' is stunning. The film climaxes with a tension release that is so fulfilling and is executed in the most wonderful way. Bloody well done.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Adolescent
kirstenholmes-2371618 October 2020
This is an adolescent film with an adolescent script and adolescent opinions about art. The acting is horrendous. The story is predictable. The premise is just plain embarassing. Don't bother, and don't fall for the marketing spam masquerading is 10/10 reviews under this title.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Indie movie with...well...a difference?
timmermanwoodcraft14 October 2020
I watched this movie and came to the conclusion that being an artist sucks..

I believe the main character Aldis readily agrees with me as he struggles to break through into the world of galleries, artsy people and dicey friends ..

I see in the short description that our protagonist is swept into some sort of 'psychosexual' world...nothing is further from the truth..no psychosex i'm afraid people..

As Aldis meets a generous older benefactor who believes he is brilliant things slowly start to fall in place for Aldis as he confronts his past and the latent hatred he has harboured towards a fellow successful painter named Ryan.. The performance of the actors is so-so but still passable..

The film is nice..and interesting...don't expect Velvet Buzzsaw, but it is refreshingly novel and mildly captivating..I also don't agree this movies falls under Horror...as there is no such reference in this film...it is a drama..simple
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Question
vrgless11 November 2020
How do 8+ reviews amount to a 4.9 overall? It's hard to gauge whether to watch.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed