Pink Wall (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
a gorgeous debut film - must see
dannyduncombe126 November 2019
This film is stunning. A quiet piece, weaving through different periods of time seamlessly, it captures the volatility and tenderness of two people genuinely trying to make their love work, even as it is falling apart. I smiled all the way through it, even as my heart broke for them. The cinematography is stunning, it's effortlessly directed (by first-time director, Tom Cullen, who has an excellent command of both visual and emotional language) and beautifully acted. Tatiana Maslany is superb, and Jay Duplass does some of his best work. Couldn't recommend more highly.
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Excruciating
darren-153-89081012 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Fair play to the director who shot this in 9 days and for less than 100k. The budget was so tight he cast his family and friends. Unfortunately this is quite obvious as some of the acting isn't great.

You also have two lead characters who don't really have any warmth or likeable characteristics what so ever.

It was excruciatingly hard to watch at times (not because of the content but the script) that I actually had to take two long toilet breaks.

I'm sure the director will go on to bigger and better things and look back at this an experience
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It was a nice concept, just annoyingly executed
Hex_0mega1 December 2019
This was added to a movie app I have so I decided to look into it to see what people thought, and it has mostly very positive reviews on here so I thought I'd give it a go. I like the romance/drama stuff sometimes. I didn't even make it all the way through this... I mean, it had heart, but it was jumping all over the place. A glimpse at a couple's relationship that bounces around from random times during a 6 year span. No specific order, starting with an event taking place in the 4th year of their relationship, then jumping back to year 1, then jumping to another year, and then jumping back to one of the previously explored years. It just got frustrating to me. I liked where the story was coming from, I just couldn't stand the way it was told...
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another London Film Festival dud
hillww10 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Saw this at LFF, two utterly self obsessed people in a relationship that was never going to work, she a pushy producer and him a slacker. In between they had unbelievable conversations with far too much swearing...then they split up
12 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Amateurish. Shot in 9 days. It shows.
edmundgrieg-8038829 January 2020
Opening scene: overeation Then a big argument scene that didn't make sense. The titles establish that four years have past and they argue like they've just met.

The movie jumps around haphazardly with quick cuts. I guess this might be okay in a poetic sense, but the mostly improv'ed scenes just don't make sense in terms of character (see above example)

But this is a straightforward tale, after all, so these things don't come off as illustrating some deeper meaning. They just confuse the relationship that we are supposed to be being shown-they obscure the picture, not make it. They just come across as a first draft, a first go round. Messy. And unfinished. So,
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Film making at its finest
scottarthur-8174027 November 2019
It's rare that a film these days makes you fully believe and invest in the relationships which you see on screen - this film does that and more. The pain which you feel during the films first scene, after an argument between family members around a table, is so relatable and close to home. It's beautifully shot from beginning to end, with the last scene using Wales' gorgeous landscape to it full potential. For a film shot in under two weeks, it's a mammoth of an achievement by director Tom Cullen.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An emotional rollercoaster
lewisreeves10-87-97589326 November 2019
A truly beautifully film. Brutally honest and brave. It was a pleasure to watch from start to finish.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully made
ben-mcgregor127 November 2019
I couldn't believe they shot it in 9 days! The acting performances felt real and I really believed their relationships. It beautiful to look at and paced really well. Tom has done a great job weaving the story and making something that feels authentic and heartbreaking and beautiful. I loved it
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
"Pink Wall": Fine Performances obscured by Sloppy Script
jtncsmistad3 July 2019
She is a hard to like hard a--. He, a rudderless milquetoast. Inherently, their relationship should have never been. We get that over the first hour and a half of the relationship dissection "Pink Wall". Then a few wasted and whispered words from her in the closing moments drive it home.

Tatiana Maslany and Jay Duplass each do a lot of ad-libbing here, and they're both damn good at it. Which leads one to believe that the script, such as it was, wasn't all that red hot.

In fact, it barely registers on the spectrum as pink-ish.
8 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful
popcornbunjyjumper28 November 2019
Saw this at the London Film Festival and it really moved me. I love the time structure and the cinematography is stunning. Tatiana and Jay's on screen chemistry is unparalleled. Such incredible performances in such an authentic and achingly beautiful debut.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Love actually
One of those, yes those Indies which look deep, sound deep, feel deep but at the end you wonder what you've watched. Likely is a dissection of a relationship that's rocky at best but also a slice of life. The characters are real, their impulses and emotions are real enough but we seem like an outsider looking in. Never to close to identify with them. So they're a bunch of good looking people going thru their crises and you get to watch. Not more than that though.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Incredible Debut
crumpled-6056427 November 2019
Raw, super-watchable, electrifying performances. The film is incredibly authentic and extremely funny at some points! I never wanted it to end.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Remarkable Debut Film
thethbee-9168728 November 2019
So incredibly moved by this film. It brings up so much in myself and the relationships I've had and have. The acting is outstanding and the non-linear structure works so well. Gorgeous photography. I look forward to seeing this again and again.

Stunning
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Breathtaking.
savina-samara22 December 2019
A must see movie. Brilliant performances from both Tatiana Maslany and Jay Duplass. The reality and rawness of this movie made my heart melt and by the end I couldn't stop crying. The story really touched me and the way is being told is very beautiful. I would watch it again and again. Totally recommend it.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed