Birds of Prey: And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
1,708 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Wow
dnl_hggns8 March 2020
What did I just sit through? I seriously cannot believe that this film was made let alone the studio thought that it would make money. This film makes the Batwoman TV show look good and i didn't think that was possible.
338 out of 483 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A Disgracful Chick Flick for Most Comic Books Fans.
Impartial-Critic14 March 2020
I don't believe this movie is any good or remotely enjoyable for DC fans or even any fan of Harley Quinn, having a female writer and director should be a big giveaway that this will end up being a chick flick, the movie title to begin with should've been, Harley Quinn and (insert any name here) because simply it has nothing to do with being a Birds of Prey team movie, the plot is simple, a crappy version of "Harley Quinn" vs. an ugly homosexual portrayed version of "Black Mask" with some shadowed presence of the "Birds of Prey" who only relate to the comics by just their names.

The movie sadly takes a feminist point of view but in a more lame yet offensive approach, every lead male character in the movie is either homosexual, bisexual, where the minor male characters are just plain jerks! The plot is weak and the acting is mediocre and feels very cheesy at some scenes, the casting choices are way off the authenticity of the characters, as if they wanted to compile all races in one movie that no one feels left out with a complete neglect to the comic books or TV series authenticity...like their choice to go with the "Asian" choice of Cassandra Cain instead of Barbara Gordon, Batgirl. The scenes decoration is too colorful in a wrong manner, I can understand that a Harley Quinn movie should be colorful and chaotic but there's a huge difference between an artistic chaos, this is why the decoration of this movie feels like it was designed by a crazed extravagant fashion designer! while the directing was clearly all over the place.

I'll never change my mind when I say that Margot Robbie is a poor choice for Harley Quinn character, she doesn't look like Harley - Harley has a round face while Margot has more of a square or a bit of an oblong face - she doesn't feel like Harley Quinn...Harley is a very dangerous, sadistic character...too dangerous that many times the Joker himself is scared of her, she even beat him up in many occasions. Completely different than the childish spoiled brat which depicted in this movie and sure as hell Margot Robbie does not sound like Harley Quinn! I'm sure the only reason why many are drooling over her is because no one has seen any other depiction of Harley Quinn on the big screen. Just like how people were fascinated when Jack Nicholson played the Joker...No one back then knew there will be Heath Ledger or Joaquin Phoenix who owned the role in their own way!

Since they decided to cast Margot Robbie again for this role even after this disastrous movie, at least they should ask her to go learn from Arleen Sorkin how to say Mr. J and Puddin' ! and for F's sake give her an adult oversized mallet to crush skulls with instead of that childish toy she carried in few scenes in this disastrous movie.
317 out of 482 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Boring and forgettable
Ndetzzz6 February 2020
While Margot Robbie is a good Harley Quinn, the character was not given enough arc. The plot was predictable and mainstream, especially due to lack of a strong antagonist. The main antagonist, played by Ewan McGregor, was not developed and hence did not add significant value to the plot story. Although some of the fight scenes were entertaining, the film as a whole was truly forgettable.
983 out of 1,575 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
If you love comics, this is a horrible portrayal of "Birds of Prey"
tim001-154-47413910 February 2020
Margot Robbie is pretty awesome as Harley Quinn however even with that, this movie is one step up from unwatchable. The plot is all over the place, the dialogue is horrible, the characters other than Harley Quinn are inconsequential, and basically the producers are just spitting in the eye of anybody who has been a fan of the comics. There were a couple good laughs and a couple good fight scenes but otherwise this really was nothing but a loud, garish Suicide Squad spin-off. I'd be all for a real DC Birds of Prey movie, but this film should not even have had that name in the title.
524 out of 838 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
First Hit: This movie was absolutely horrible and a waste of time and money.
michaeldoud11 February 2020
First Hit: This movie was absolutely horrible and a waste of time and money.

The original title of this film is "Birds of Prey: And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn." The title alone is a warning enough, and when you read it, it is all you'll need to know about this story. I do not know what the screenwriter or director was thinking, but it wasn't about making a movie that had conscious cognizant coherence.

From the get-go, this film is a mess. Using narrative and disjointed clips of film, to attempt to put the story in place and time was useless here because there really is no place or time.

I thought "Suicide Squad" was a quirky fun movie and where we meet Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie) for the first time. She was odd, "out there," and on the edge of crazy. This film Birds of Prey is supposed to give us the backstory of Ms. Quinn. It is also a way to introduce other characters, the "Birds of Prey," consisting of Renee Montoya (Rosie Perez), "The Huntress," aka Helena Bertinelli (Mary Elizabeth Winstead), and "Black Canary," aka Dinah Lance (Jurnee Smollett-Bell).

There's little character development, so they use some narration and snippets of past stories to fill in the backstory of these characters.

This group of women come together because of and over the improbability of a young pickpocketing girl, Cassandra Cain (Ella Jay Basco), swallowing a large, I mean colossally large diamond stolen from a thieving, conniving, and self-named lord of Gotham, Roman Sionis (Ewan McGregor).

Lots of fighting ensues, and we always know who wins. The fighting scenes are not well-choreographed and felt staged. The logic stream of the story was virtually non-existent while it seemed as though the director Cathy Yan threw together a bunch of clips of film scraps she shot with this cast doing stuff and called it a day.

Robbie is an excellent actress. She' has proven her abilities in many films. Therefore, I'm surprised she co-produced and acted in this hot mess. Despite her talents, this was not good work. Perez, who has been missed in recent years, did what she could with this limiting role. Winstead was the best of the lot. Her quiet demeanor and her story of how she came up with "The Huntress" was amusing when everyone else liked calling her "Crossbow." Smollett-Bell tried to make her character mean something but, again, the script and direction let her down. McGregor was okay as the foil for the Birds of Prey. Christina Hodson created a disjointed and lackluster screenplay with little substance. Yan has no business directing a film with this film as proof.

Overall: This movie was a total waste of time.
237 out of 372 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst experience of my life
Nummer98 March 2020
Well i highly suggest that you do not smoke before starting that movie. I did and i was trapped on my couch without the will to move my arm to reach the remote control. So i was literally forced to watch the whole movie! If i ever will be a bad person and that for go to hell this exact situation but for all eternity will be my punishment. I started praying daily to prevent this horrible fate.
233 out of 369 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wannabe Deadpool without the laughs
joshbarrie8 February 2020
Target demographic (12-17 year old girls)

Movies rating (R18+)

Whoever thought this was a good idea definitely needs to reconsider. Your own audience couldn't see it.

It's easily the worst of the 8 DC films to date. You want female empowerment watch Wonder Woman.
794 out of 1,324 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a piece of mess!
sigurdandreas_711 February 2020
Saw this movie with no expectations and open minded, And oh my word what a complete disaster! This movie was a pain to watch, boring, nothing happening, stupid dialogue and a script that's just not interesting at all! I honestly didn't think that a movie that was so hyped could get so ruined in so many ways, some elements were kinda cool but not enough to clean up the mess the rest of the movie served.

Without a doubt one of the worst movies i have ever watched (possibly the worst ever). A total waste of money in my opinion.
215 out of 352 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
impossible to sit through
tammoseppelt22 March 2020
I actually like the actors, no hate here, but this movie is impossible to sit through. There is not one good thing about it. There is not one scene worth watching. At all. What functioning industry would produce something like this I cannot comprehend.
94 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Entertaining, but an overbearing theme(men are bad) becomes boring
Mhokloppers9 February 2020
This could have been such a good movie! The movie took a few steps too many into the woke space. While some of the elements fit in well with the theme, it becomes tiring if the same message is constantly being repeated over and over and over. It simply spoils the movie
594 out of 1,043 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Absolute trash
rupert-ian10 February 2020
This movie was awful. It's a jumbled mess of missed jokes and shoving girl power and "men are evil' down your throat. There isn't one male in this entire movie that isn't some kind of evil misogynist caricature.

You can raise women up without doing that. GOOD movies about strong females make good money because people enjoy them, men as well. But when you go the route of wokeness from the promotion to the actual film, you're going to suffer at the box office....then blame the people you're alienating. It's a clown show.

Who is this movie aimed at? Most of the woke crowd don't really want to see it, you alienate your biggest audience and then complain that they don't want to go see it? Make good movies instead of using them to inject your agenda into entertainment.

Maybe if they keep losing money they will learn...probably not.

The best things about this movie was a CGI Hyena and MEW.
403 out of 709 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A real disappointment... Incoherent & muddled
atlfitzgerald-163595 February 2020
A dud from Warner Bros. The best thing about suicide squad was Robbie's performance but this vehicle is a disservice to the potential that was there. Robbie does her best but the direction, script and editing are not at the requisite level. An interesting character poorly treated by a very lacklustre script. Disappointing.
575 out of 1,027 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Entertaining at times, but is all over the place
kaneeddy6 February 2020
Birds of Prey: and the Fantabulous Emancipation of one Harley Quinn, is a movie I had high hopes for but it fell flat. I will start off this review with the positive aspects first such as: Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn was a great casting and continues to be where I think she gives a better performance then her one in Suicide Squad, and Ewan Mcgregor plays a decent version of Black Mask. The use of colours and costumes I thought were great and I found some moments of entertainment through some of its action sequences.

However, This film has a lot of problems, most of the performances in this film are very shoddy, especially from Rosie Perez who is a walking cliche' as Renee Montoya (and I know that's what they were going for but it just doesn't work}, and Mary Elizabeth Winstead as Huntress who gives us some very cringey at times acting, and I think some of this has something to do with the screenplay which I also think is average at best. The humour that they're going for doesn't work at all I chuckled maybe once, and it was the same for my theatre. They also butchered Victor Zsasz which I found extremely disappointing as I was looking forward to his inclusion in the DCEU, the way he was portrayed was nothing like how he is in the comics and it seems like he is just trying to be some knock off version of the Joker. Also why is the film titled Birds of Prey? This is a Harley Quinn Movie, just like the trailers the Birds of Prey are barely in it and when they were they had small glimpses of being cool characters but for the most part they were some of the most cliched early 2000's era superhero characters I have seen since that era.

Overall, I found Birds of Prey to be a disappointment I came into this film very optimistic but got let down, due to the fact that this films writing was just plain bad. If Margot Robbie's and Ewan Mcgregor's performances weren't as great as what they were with the nice compliments of the characters costumes it would have been completely boring and cliched garbage.
434 out of 780 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolute Garbage
vince-kronlein11 February 2020
I haven't walked out of a film in 30 years, until tonight. About 45 minutes was all I could take. There literally wasn't a single scene that wasn't absolutely stupid in every way.

I just there squirming, feeling so embarrassed for Margo. Please do not waste your money on this awful film.
293 out of 520 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worse than Suicide Squad.
BA_Harrison9 February 2020
Before we saw this movie, my son told me that there were lots of 1/10 reviews on IMDb from people who hadn't even seen the film. Well, here's a 1/10 review from someone who has.

Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn reminds me a lot of Lori Petty in Tank Girl (1995), another comic book film that really ground my gears. Like Petty's character, every quirky mannerism and snarky comment by Harley got right on my tits, as did her horrible fashion sense. In addition to Robbie's diabolical performance, we get equally obnoxious turns from Rosie Perez as a tough cop, Ella Jay Basco as an annoying pick-pocket, and Ewan McGregor as camp crime boss Roman Sionis, plus an absolutely pointless tribute to Marilyn Monroe, lots of dumb, supposedly amusing captions, a tiresome self-aware voice-over, and a horrible CGI hyena.

Director Cathy Yan (who?), working from a charmless script by Christina Hodson, is unable to do anything interesting with the admittedly wafer-thin plot, which can be boiled down to just a handful of words: "everyone is looking for a diamond".

A muddled, noisy, gaudy mess, full of poorly constructed action scenes and goofy humour that falls flat on its face, Birds of Prey is possibly the worst film I have seen at the cinema in recent months. And I saw Cats and Bombshell (another Margot Robbie disaster).
519 out of 944 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wanted to like it, but such a disappointment.
ryrymadrid9 February 2020
The acting was good, most of the actors gave it their all, but the film was just so UGLY. Gave me a headache just looking at it. Also the dialogue was so cringe worthy. It wanted to sound and look edgy, but ended up being a complete mess of a film. Feel sorry for a character with such a strong fan base.
278 out of 504 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Could be the Worst Sequel Ever
LuisRCancel9 February 2020
I was one of the many fans of Margot Robbie who was wowed by her initial performance as Harley Quinn and looked with anticipation for the character's return. I never imagined the pathetic sequel that has been released. EVERYTHING IS TERRIBLE! The Director and the Scriptwriter who created this stink bomb should be banished from Hollywood and Margot should have held out for a better script instead of accepting her payday. Very disappointing.
322 out of 593 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Absolute steaming dung pile.
Labowski698 February 2020
What an absolute waste of money w the stupidest script. Of all the talented writers that must be out there - why would you choose to produce an obviously idiotic story like this ?? I just don't get it. You have this chance of putting something out there of value - all this sweet Hollywood money and this is the best you can come up with ?? Really ??
290 out of 535 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not worth the time, not worth the money.
grant-cwell16 February 2020
I did not think the movie was worth the time it took to watch it. Harley, the main character, never shows any change from being a selfish despicable person. The only two "good" characters take a back seat and hardly show up until the end insted of getting sufficient screen time to make them memorable, and the way its written makes it as hard to follow as the story your 5 year old is trying to tell you. Overall, it had some scenes with good graphics but not enough to make up for the colossal waste this movie is.
117 out of 206 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not the Birds of Prey
Eli_Elvis6 February 2020
Suggestion, when doing a comic book film using beloved characters make sure to land those characters. You can deconstruct them all you like, but if the heart isn't there you get this instead of "the joker".

There is no Birds of prey, at least none recognizable from their source material counterparts. Robbie is not Harley, her 90's trashy grunge gender studies cousin maybe, but not Harley. When a cartoon does better than a multi-million dollar film, you've failed.

Over the top man hating new wave feminism and alphabet "representation" for no reason. Action is not believable. Writing is atrocious. Editing is frenetic.

If you hated Suicide squad, welcome to its jealous over achieving sister.
637 out of 1,207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you enjoy a man-hating, femsplaining, dumpster fires, then this movie is for you!
sedstrom-8086910 February 2020
With badly driven character arcs and nonexistent plot, "Birds of Prey" is a directionless mess. Instead of showing you a fun and interesting story, they would rather talk you through expository dialogue and narration. Beneath this pile of wasted potential is a sadly missed opportunity for an interesting story about some of DC's most interesting characters. The most compelling part of the movie for me was Hunteress, who had less screen time than an adolescent pick-pocket. But the best part of the film isn't even about the film, but the critics response. Even the top critics, whose job it is to judge movies by their story and characters, say that the fighting was so cool that it makes it a good movie. So then, why isn't Green Lantern considered a good movie? Man of Steel? Suicide Squad? These "critics" are either to dumb to realize an awful movie when they see one, or they're afraid to criticize movies because of the backlash they might get.

In conclusion: Don't make the same mistake I did and waste your hard earned money on this two hour long mood swing.
324 out of 601 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Movie completely disrespects the source
joelluamba6 February 2020
It's trying to be a Deadpool movie but it failed Miserably. There are some good action sequences but overall they are nothing like the Birds of Prey. For being a comic book movie it definitely fails. It's a messy movie overall.
408 out of 766 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Birds of disappointment
pipedpiper9 February 2020
Some of the action scenes were okay. Nothing special I was really hoping to see something worth watching. This is quite a disappointment. A lot of hype as usual What can I say? I'm just hoping when Venom comes out. I'll have something to enjoy. I don't recommend of this one.
256 out of 480 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Review, from someone who ACTUALLY saw the movie!
curbicon7 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I'll just go straight for it, if you're going to downvote this review for defending a genuinely entertaining violent film, i get that. Literally just WATCH THE MOVIE! This movie is anything but a "men are trash" movie. It's a fun flick about a heist where it's all knives at eachothers throats. Genuinely formulaic at times, sure, but that's practically a given for these types of films! Margot Robbie gave a fantastic performance as the Quinn herself, and the side characters had their moments as well! Gotta give a FAT shoutout to McGregor for his role. He brought just as much flame and fire as Margot gave her role. Go ahead and do yourself a favor. This is a good ass time to watch!
1,203 out of 2,386 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Birds of Prey
MR_Heraclius22 March 2020
Continues a wining-ish streak for DC with a pretty solid film that is at the very least WAY better than Suicide Squad. It's messy as hell, at times crassly mean-spirited, and mostly not that funny, but for the most part it's still a great deal of fun. Harley is still a fun character, and this version of her that is more than just an oversexualized girlfriend of the Joker is a much more interesting character to follow. Her girl gang and resentful breakup is also just a very human story. Yeah it was done better in the animated series currently on DC Universe, but still, this one is fun. The other Birds are pretty good, especially Huntress, but this really is Harley's show, and she's good. I do have to give love to Ewan McGregor as Black Mask. Yeah he's done villains before, but good god, this is one helluva villain. I love the character Black Mask, and he absolutely nails the character. Charming, funny, completely psychotic, I was a happy geek watching him on screen. Not to mention McGregor is clearly having a ball in the roll, and that energy does pass on to you. Overall though Birds of Prey is a mess. It's plot is basically Snatch but not as good, and it's attitude is aggressive, but god damn does it ever have an attitude. It has an identity, a style, and a look I can't deny, and I will admit it was pretty fun. It's got some solid performances, characters I wanted to see, and a solid style. It's a wild swing, and while it doesn't totally nail it, I admire it's ambition.
39 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed