Framed by My Fiancé (TV Movie 2017) Poster

(2017 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
7 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
This movie makes no sense
velysai-4692225 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The entire movie is based on a flawed premise and execution from the beginning. The description of the movie says they hit another car, but they didn't even touch it. They veered out of the lane for a few seconds, while the other car drove right into a parked car in their own lane and flipped. That driver would've seen that disabled car before the veering even happened. They could've shot it from that driver's perspective to show how that happened better, I guess, but, as is, it makes no sense. Secondly, all the woman who was framed would have to do is show her seat belt bruises to prove she was in the passenger seat if they swerved hard enough to knock her out completely that she woke up in the hospital. She'd probably have a contusion on her head if she hit the window with her head on the right side. And the guy who framed her would have seat belt bruises, too. Just because you make a low budget film doesn't mean you have to make something terrible. And female leads deserve better material.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good for background noise while multitasking
rsvp3214 May 2018
Cheesy, weak with tons of plot and logic holes, very predictable, but for an indie, it's suspenseful and *a lot* better than so much of the garbage coming out of the big studios, these days.

No politics, no social agendas, just entertainment.

A good quote in the movie - two women plotting against the guilty guy: "First you win his heart, then you rip it out!" lol make love, not war, ladies!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not bad at all
solidabs27 November 2018
Pretty decent movie. I didnt even realize it was Katrina Bowden till half way through. I was a little bummed, she has put on a few lbs. She used to have a rear end like A 10 year old gymnast. Oh well father time is unkind.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Another winner from Lifetime Movies!
rbrb3 November 2018
Superior thriller which is worth watching.

A high flying lawyer about to become a judge frames his fiancé to take the blame for a car accident involving a death. Topical the subject of persons about to be called to the bench who are accused of crimes!

Plenty of twists and turns in the story and the "baddie" lawyer/judge just about steals the show with his performance.

I am quite impressed with some of these Lifetime Movies which are often as good as anything both Hollywood and Netflix can make.

6 and a half rounded up:

7/10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Above average Lifetime movie
tomfsloan7 August 2018
This movie had a more unusual plot than most. I really liked the concept of the lawyer switching his fiancé as the driver. Yes, there were a number of plot holes. But the movie did what it was intended to do. It entertained me without making me mad I wasted 2 hours. If the script was tweaked some more, and they had a real movie budget, this could have been a good legitimate movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Really stupid!!!!
doycesub7 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I tried to be nice but this is the stupidest junk I've ever watched on LMN!!! The police don't investigate anything!! The ex fiance wouldn't be allowed to have anything to do with the case because he was a passenger in the car. I really lost interest when he killed the victim's wife while his ex girlfriend was upstairs. This is really stupid!! I was waiting for dinner while watching otherwise I would have found something else to do!! As pointed out by another reviewer marks on the passengers would reveal what side of the car they were actually on. The other car had hit a parked car, why didn't they charge the owner of the parked car with something!! It would make about as much sense!!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Another Lifetime movie whose writers didn't know when to stop
mgconlan-16 May 2018
I stayed in last night and watched a rerun of a Lifetime movie from November 24, 2017 called "Framed by My Fiancé" - a name which reinforces my feeling that Lifetime is running out of inspiration and having a harder time finding sorts of relationships that can turn ugly and generate their typical plot lines. Directed by Fred Olen Ray (a name I've encountered on previous Lifetime productions) from a script by Stephen Lyons based on an "original" story (quotes definitely merited!) by Suju Abraham and David DeCrane (most of these people are old Lifetime hands but the production company is credited as "DeInstitutionalized," one word with a capital letter in the middle à la a computer program, which suggests what had happened to the writers just before they came up with this script), "Framed by My Fiancé" begins with a sequence that promises, if not a great movie, at least a better-than-usual one. Attorney Daniel Hackett (Jason-Shane Scott) is about to be appointed to a state judgeship in a move that could clear his way to run for governor of New York (this is set in Buffalo, which makes me wish Charles had been there with me, if only to clue me in on how much Buffalo has changed since he spent a good chunk of his childhood there) but is warned by Harold Barnes (Gerald Webb, an African-American but one of Barack Obama's color and bald, so you really have to look hard to realize he's Black) that the appointment would be canceled if he got involved in a scandal.

Then he goes out for a nighttime drive with his live-in girlfriend, nurse Jenny Fisher (Katrina Bowden, top-billed), and the two are involved in an accident when Daniel, who's driving, gets distracted and slams into a black SUV that had stalled on the road, killing one of the people inside, a politically well-connected contractor named Joseph Langford. We'd also been given a scene establishing that Joseph and his wife May (Valynn Turkovich) are expecting their first child - and May had a miscarriage the year before (like so many other Lifetime women before her!) and is scared that she won't be able to carry this baby to full term either. (One wonders if the writing committee intended the names "Joseph" and "May" to evoke comparison with the Biblical Joseph and Mary, who according to Christian myth had big-time help from The Man Upstairs in having their baby.) May's pregnancy survives the accident but not by much, and after she loses this child too she swears revenge against Jenny for having killed not only her husband but her last chance to be a mother. Jenny finds herself in a Kafka-esque situation in which her boss fires her from her nursing job and her best friend, Rosa Harris (Kara Buckley), is threatened with eviction herself for having taken Jenny in following her moving out of Daniel's place following the accident. While she was still unconscious, Daniel had concocted a plot to blame her for the accident, moving her from the passenger's to the driver's seat and planting her fingerprints on the steering wheel so he could say that she had been driving and therefore he wasn't to blame for the fatal crash. When she comes to, Daniel is hovering over her, pleading to go along with his "one little lie" and back up his story that she was driving, saying that she'll probably get just a slap on the wrist since she has no criminal record and she's "clean" as far as the legal system goes. (The phrase "one little lie" appears so often in the dialogue I wondered if "One Little Lie" had been the working title of the film - and indeed it would have been a better name for it than "Framed by My Fiancé" - but the imdb.com page on it lists no other title.)

Instead she finds herself arrested for manslaughter by police detective Logan (Alan Pietruazewski, a rather nondescript milquetoast-looking actor of the "type" Lifetime usually casts as the long-suffering husband) and facing a 20-year prison term because of the political connections of the victim, his wife and Daniel. "Framed by My Fiancé" is yet another Lifetime movie that could have been quite good if the writers had only known when to stop - had they focused on Jenny's Kafka-esque inability to get out of the situation Daniel had pulled all the political strings available to him to get her into, with the implied class critique that some victims are more "equal" than others and you can get into a lot more trouble for killing a 1-percenter than someone farther down the economic food chain, they could have had a fine, entertaining and moving film. Instead the plot takes several melodramatic turns and the film becomes a virtual encyclopedia of almost everything that can go wrong with a Lifetime movie, including the villain showing a combination of almost supernatural power and willful stupidity. Though this isn't by far the worst film I've seen on Lifetime either, it is a rather disappointing one given that it had the potential to be considerably better than it is.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed