Dynasty Warriors (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
49 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
TO BE CONTINUED
bng-354-9203235 July 2021
I see why it's a low score, namely due to the lack of ending.

It is expected to continue as there are so many characters in play and to be developed.

Instead calling it a movie, they should call it Netflix series as it would be more suiting.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Lu Bu has joined the battle!
ravencorinncarluk11 May 2021
I enjoy the Dynasty Warriors games, and I was hoping this movie would be just as over-the-top and silly. I was not disappointed!

This is silly, and cheesey, and the effects are purposefully laughable, and it was pretty much like watching one of the games.

I think it was well-cast, and everyone had just the right amount of melodrama and seriousness in their performances.

No, it's not a historical piece. No, it's not some serious drama-action like Hero. No, it's probably not even that good. But it IS very entertaining and a riot, and puts a smile on your face if you let it.
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gaming memories are ripe
o776969695 July 2021
This film just hit me at the heart, The years I've played this game for made made me love the film more.

The characters, The areas they fight, The moves they use,..... And Lu Bu

The film is 10/10 for gamers like myself!!

But I fear the negative reviews for this film for those that don't understand the way the film is "over dramatic" and "corny" .

IS THE WAY THE GAME WAS

So 10/10 from me from a game to a film 👍🏻
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loving it! Want more!
ayumicutie4 July 2021
I heard everyone said how bad this movie is. I disagree. I am a Dynasty Warriors fan and I'm loving this. The casting is a bit questionable, but it works. They really had the costume and weapon to stay true to the game. Don't expect this movie to be realistic, because it's NOT meant to be. This movie is based on a Musou game, of course they had Musou attacks and whatnot. We're here to see things like 1 general vs 1000 troops, and they DELIVERED.

The CGI is average as this isn't Hollywood, so keep that in mind. I personally think that they did a good job with the CGI with what they have.

Feminist, don't come with the "there's no women" or "women is a plaything in this movie". PLEASE KEEP THIS IN MIND: The story is based on history, and women back then has no power or whatsoever. Yes, I know there are female warriors in Musou game, but there are no notable ones in the Yellow Turban era other than Diao Chan.

Don't get me started on the music. THE MUSIC IS GOOD. Another point for staying true to the game.

Overall, this movie is great. I want more. The first part here is the Yellow Turban and Dong Zhuo's era, like how any Dynasty Warrriors game starts in Story Mode. Hopefully they'll make more focusing on the aftermath of Dong Zhuo's era and into the actual Three Kingdoms.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Actually a surprisingly good visualization of the Dynasty Warrior games!
heretic36919 May 2021
The action, costumes and music fit very well. Of course it only uses the story of the Romance of the three Kingdoms as a background, as did the games. And of course the special actions in battle look quite unrealistic - not to say silly at times. But this is the same as the game and it fits as a movie version quite well.

Also the cast is mostly fitting, only CaoCao seems very young.

So for any fans of the video games (and maybe even for RoTK fans) enjoy this fun action movie for what it is.
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie for the fans
moaiydrk2 July 2021
If you are not a fan of the game you will not gonna enjoy this movie.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
8/10 for those who've played the games, 6/10 for those who didn't.
weslleyend1 July 2021
This is basically what I expected, kind of like the opening movies of the games, extended, with real actors and pretty effects.

Some actors do look like their game characters, but I really wish they'd chosen a prettier actress for Diao Chan (because of the lore, not because I disliked the acting).

Since I've played the games, I was looking forward to this movie and honestly I had a big smile through most of it. If you didn't play the games this can be a very stupid movie.

Hopefully they make more, as long as they keep this quality.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I came here for Dynasty Warrior level Silliness and I got it in Spades!
borismk-3894215 July 2021
What most people won't appreciate is that this film is meant to be bad, the video games were over the top and ridiculous and of course this would be too.

As a friend of mine said "It's not good, but it is fun!". If you watched this film for anything other than comical a-historical madness, I feel bad for you. Go watch a serious film like Red Cliff and feel better.

Because this right here was for the fans.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very fun!
dylangreyfield13 July 2021
While deviating from some details, this movie does represent nearly all of it's characters accurately and contains plenty of greats visuals, environment, and soundtrack.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not thrilling, but nice
The best part of this movie is its visuals (especially the landscapes) and special effects. It brought me back to my childhood playing the video games. The plot is a bit loose and the writing can be cheesy but it left me wanting more.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Unexpectedly good
Gordon-1111 May 2021
I am not usually interested in this type of film, but this is unexpectedly good. The plot is engaging, and kept me interested throughout. The scenery is beautiful, and the production is pretty good too. I enjoyed it.
16 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Movie was as great as the games.
vcastillojr-9346516 August 2021
This movie is fire, the only part I didnt like was the way it ended it's like they just stopped the movie and rushed Into an ending.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great movie based on a great game, bad reviews are from confused people.
rchosen-193-55355 August 2021
I have a feeling many of the bad reviews are from people that never played the game and were expecting a quality oscar winning movie. Or they played the game and someone had the same view that the movie would be some masterpiece. The movie is a PEFFECT match of what the game is. Fun, unadulterated action. It has many of the characters from the game, some of the weapons...etc. The movie is in now way mind blowing, deep and oscar worthy. Heck even most of the subtitles don't even match what the charecters are saying (if you decide to watch it in english with english subs). But I enjoyed the sillyness of the movie and over the top action.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just like the game!
MNsoloreviewz31 July 2021
Great movie! I love how they brought characters from the game and added soundtracks from the game into the movie. Great action scenes! Funny dialogue 10/10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very good!
redfoxtrex10 July 2021
I enjoy it and want more! =) (part with heads is awesome)
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wacky, just like the games, and I loved it
ajmurdock9 July 2021
I've played the DW franchise for a long time and I loved this movie. People are giving it a bad rep due to the English overlay, but cmon guys. The movie was never made to be released in the US, it was going to be a Chinese exclusive but Netflix brought it over and Americans don't like reading; so subtitles weren't going to cut it. I enjoyed even this, seemed like a bad lip reading video and I loved it.

Costumes, weapons, voice lines,, moves, strategems, iconic game locations, bond Brothers, random romance, and politics came straight out of the game. There were so many easter eggs, it was a lot of fun seeing them all make it into the adaptation.

I would have been lost in this movie if it wasn't for the games as the story does jump around, but I still knew what was happening.

Overall, I expected a wacky movie adaptation from a wacky video game and it delivered!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Accidentally a comedy
master_don-d1 July 2021
Terrible but I couldn't stop watching and laughing. If I hadn't played the game a lot when I was younger I think I would've switched it off almost immediately.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Based off the PlayStation series of games
ColbyButler1 July 2021
PlayStation ran a series of these tiltes throughout its history.

Packed with the same over the top action and huge fictional combat hits as the game.

The story appears to follow the game in various parts. If you have played the game then you will find many similarities. Then when they debuted Lu Bu (the most awesome and feared character in the game taking down droves of enemies), it was as I imagined.

Entertaining.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
horrendous.
kxxxxxx1 July 2021
Didnt play the game so coming from a movie perspective the story is all over the place, amateur CGI, not even the huge amount of top notch hong kong veteran actors are able to save this mess. P.s the english dubbing on netflix is a nightmare/insult to asians.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The CG/Magic approach only works with good CG
LeAvantGuardian3 July 2021
The story wasn't bad. The acting wasn't terrible, and the music and setting were fantastic. The problem here is that they took a highly unrealistic Magic approach that amounted to more of a Dragon ball: Evolution than a Chinese War Epic. The video game was fantastic. It used magic to represent the immense talent of these legendary historical figures. However just because that approach worked well in a game doesn't mean it would in a movie. It COULD, with the right budget, but sadly it didn't here and rather than demonstrating the heroes talent with a blade they had then flinging fireballs and flailing weapons around in extremely unrealistic and silly ways that detracted from the historical plot.

A fair to mediocre effort ultimately ruined by bad CG and corny directing.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A JOKE OF A MOVIE
kofisharif2 July 2021
What in the hell is this??? I mean i was actually left speechless at the utter bullcrap of a movie this is.
9 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
fun movie
lilfresh19926 September 2021
Dont get the low reviews,this is way better than mulan that's for sure. Captured the games perfectly.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pretty Good
swalckie6 September 2021
If you're a fan of the games you'll love it chances are all the low scores you're seeing are from the people who have no idea what DW is about and are trying to score it as a movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Is what it is
lockout-595068 July 2021
I never expect greatness out of video game to movie adaptions and this was no exception. In the end that didnt necesarily make this a bad movie. In fact I kind of enjoyed it. If you are a fan of the video game the I would recommend a look.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A video game film that's messy but entertaining with a B-movie type madness
Dynasty Warriors is a Hong Kong-produced video game film adaptation that never finds a firm tone and flip-flops between being unintentionally funny and tacky. Armed with its big cast and visually stunning CGI action scenes, it plays like a string of video game cut scenes jam-packed with a lot of ham and a lot of cheese. It's a mess but a fun entertaining mess.

Director Roy Chow Hin Yeung and his wife screenwriter Christine To Chi Long take an uber literal approach in adapting a video game. The heroes in Dynasty Warriors are demi-gods walking amongst humans with special abilities. When they fight, energy crackles around them. Like in any hack-and-slash game, every hero has special moves where they can hit soldiers into the air and then unleash a lethal combo. Wide shots of the armies gearing up for battle look like a screencap of a real-time strategy war game.

From beginning to end, I honestly couldn't tell if Dynasty Warriors was ever in full control of its tone. At times, it's laugh-out-loud hilarious. Lam Suet's General Dong Zhuo's costume, decked out in a gold and black garb and darkened skin, looks too much like Judge Pao for it to be a coincidence. Phillip Keung cameos as General Zhang Jiao and performs it as a shaman dressed like Big Bird from Sesame Street.

At other times, the story gets dramatic when it tells the origin of Cao Cao, who is played by Mainland actor Wang Kai in the film's most scene-stealing performance. Wang Kai plays Cao Cao as a proud scheming lonely visionary who wants to fix the world in his own way, providing a much-required gravitas to the film's scattered canvas. Tony Yang's Liu Bei, the other MVP, delivers a nuanced performance and creates a fascinating dynamic with Wang Kai. The scenes between Cao Cao and Liu Bei, who are shown as two sides of the same coin, are my favorite moments. At times, it feels like they're in a completely different movie.

The rest of the cast is all over the place. Louis Koo hams it up as Lü Bu in a performance completely dialed by eye glares and ends up coming off as a bland villain. Han Geng's Guan Yu and Justin Cheung's Zhang Fei are unfortunately compromised by poor costuming and make-up that reduces them to be cosplayers. The eye shadow and the black powder that darkens their skin look too obvious, especially when they're standing next to Louis Koo, the Lord of the Skin Tan.

It was fascinating how all the Three Kingdom heroes are portrayed to the level of mythic Olympian gods. There are many aerial drone shots of the heroes perpetually standing on mountain tops overlooking mankind while they converse about worldly matters. They go everywhere holding their hundred-pound weapons and never tire. They all admire each other and casually engage in friendly matches on steep cliffs while discussing their life philosophies.

Due to the jarring tone, the dramatic seriousness comes off more like deadpan comedy, like the actors are holding these beats for a dry laugh in what seems more like a parody of wuxia films. The main issue I had with Dynasty Warriors was I never knew whether the film was being funny or serious. If it is supposed to be serious, then it's a miscalculated mess. If it is funny, then director Roy Chow Hin-Yeung has failed to put in the irony. It seems like he wanted both and got lost in the mix.

That said, I chose funny every time. My wife and I laughed through Dynasty Warriors while roasting it in a full-fledged Mystery Science Theater experience. There's no way to watch Dynasty Warriors seriously. Anyone who's critiquing this film in historical or literary terms can just save their breath. I just enjoyed it in a Sharknado type way.

I could even see myself rewatching Dynasty Warriors with guy friends over beers, laughing and making fun of it along the way. At its 300 million RMB budget, I doubt that was the filmmakers' intention. It seemed like there were higher hopes.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed