The Burial of Kojo (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
SLOW!!
ChrisStavroulis14 April 2019
Not recommended for those who like fast action movies.
3 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
beautiful, serene, surreal
dirtydiph24 April 2019
Another movie denied its proper place rating-wise by a sparsity of ratings! this was lovely to watch, with a beautifully haunting (original?) soundtrack and surreal, yet captivating cinematography. it's very much a thematic, atmospheric film. there isn't much of a "plot" and while the description / synopsis makes it sound like the movie focuses on the adventures of a girl across a magical land, that isn't the main focus, it's more of a glimpse into life, mythology, setting, guilt, death. less provocative are the characters, who don't stand out very much, and character development often feels a little forced.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A coruscating visual representation and that's just it!
Attakaay13 April 2019
I watched The Burial of Kojo more than 3 times in Cinemas right here in Ghana and to be frank, it was a good visual and landscape demonstrating movie but very average as a whole package. I don't intend to be poetic about the movie as it was but it lacks soul. The whole concept was great and i know Ghana standard has been awful but considering the length he went to in order to bring out this piece, I expected a more compact work. All the same, it's a great piece from Blitz, I admire the put in.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
loved it
alyacu2 June 2019
Here is a place where there is death and life .loved the poetry way they used.Although it's slow but the writing was very good and the cinematography too. It was filled with a lot of meanings
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Dreamlike...
LilyInSpring4 April 2019
Which in this case is a synonym for meandering and slow and lack of action. From the description I was expecting more of a fantasy. It turned out to be a dark family drama seen through the eyes of their daughter. The cinematography could've been smoother. The imagery and music were beautiful. I wanted to like this better.
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful
will-174605 April 2019
The Burial of Kojo has so many beautiful elements from a wide variety of styles. Never seen anything like it. Highly recommend.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing!
bkwade-250239 December 2019
The imagery is breathtaking. Having personally visited Nzulezu and knowing the story of the people before the film, its told beautifully. The story was pure and moving and had moments of shook and action. This is a refreshing FILM with great actors
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful storyline and cinematography
ms-modest14 April 2019
This movie was so well written. The cinematography was amazing and capturing. It was so deep filled with meaning and didn't end in a typical way. A must see.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Epic
sammi-boat14 August 2019
This film is beautiful. never seen anything like this before in the history of African cinema.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful, intriguing film.
Bootsie14159 October 2020
This movie is unlike any other. The story, the characters, the spirituality, are all amazing. The movie is slow in a good way. It gently drifts in a time in a young girl's with her loving father. Beautiful, beautiful movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
treat your eyes and water your mind
celdarko16 December 2020
The cinematography was so beautiful. The soundtrack was so beautiful. I never looked away once. The intuition and connections one has with the dream realm and their loved ones, how do you begin to tell it?. This film did.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The place where life and death meet...
kwameshabazz15 April 2019
Great African storytelling and visually gorgeous. It made me feel less sad about losing my mom recently.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed