One Remains (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
There's some good in it
JofiElias10 August 2019
Very intriguing base idea, some smart dialogues, decent acting (Ryan O'Quinn did a great job), nice atmosphere but... disproportionate premises, some unuseful stereotypes, messy structure of the script (or just a wrong editing). I would like to watch a better-made remake of this movie, a new production with more funds and, of course, with a new script.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's amazing what your mind can justify
nogodnomasters15 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A group of young filmmakers head on up to the remote "pass" to interview Mr. Mahoney (Christopher Atkins) who was a park ranger. He discovered a bunch of mutilated bodies and hasn't been the same since. They wait to catch him in a lucid moment.

For the first hour, this is a boring film, except for the lesbian scene. About an hour into the film it turns into a WTF Twilight Zone with no closure, but a bevy of hints-some repeated at the end in case you missed them and similar films.

Guide: F-word. Sex Nudity (Vanessa Leigh, Brianna Heller)
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid low-budget
Dommed12 August 2019
I think we need to give these indie horror films a little more credit. It's an obvious ultra-low budget film. Story wasn't bad. I didn't love some of the music choices. The acting was fine. I think you have to consider the material actors are given to work with. Vanessa Leigh and Ryan O'Quinn were great, as were many others. It's not a top-shelf horror film you're going to find in theaters. If you can't handle low-budget indies, don't watch it. Otherwise, give it a chance.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I Keep Trying....
bgsmoove8 August 2019
I have no clue how these movies get financed. Just to show how lame, it's supposed to be a storm, you here the rain, but none is coming down. Nothing truly happens in this movie, watch at your own risk..
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another one to avoid
malcolm-cooke8 August 2019
Another group of filmmakers trek deep into the woods and something happens!! Has this story not being done a million times before. These actors are very bad in particular Vanessa Leigh who over plays her role of a moody lesbian. This is a low budget movie and it shows. Leave this one alone.
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Unexpected gem
umunir-3695921 August 2019
Don't believe these low rating reviews. This movie is worth giving a shot. And if I'm being honest, this movie is much better than new overrated stuff like brightburn (2019) and The Curse of La Llorona (2019). I'm not saying it's perfect but it's definitely better than what the rating tells. It's creepy, freaking and a great horror flick. The idea is not bad either. The storyline and script are not too straight forward either like most horror movies. Overall, I have to say.... Nice work!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Horror Flick
heathebelle15 August 2019
I really enjoyed this movie. Super creepy premise, great cast. I really liked that it wasn't the typical "terrified teenagers" casting you usually see in horror movies. And there was even a pretty decent sex scene. Definitely worth a watch.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This freaked me out!
angusbenfield-197-30988915 August 2019
I loved this film! Its nice to see some new indie films poping up which are truly independent, made for small amounts with blood sweet and tears . I watched this film alone and couldn't get to sleep for hours. If you are a fan of films like the Ring etc then you will like this. Give it a watch!
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
its a shit show
allesmussnixkann8 August 2019
None of those actors can act any better than a crackhead thats about to die in the streets. i wonder why people think its a good idea to make shitty movies. dont they have any pride?

why shit out a massive turd when you could make a good movie? please, just tell me, why?
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Very good story,terrible execution ...Waste...
tchitouniaram16 February 2020
Very good story,terrible execution ...Waste... I really liked the story-line,it could have been great if only the acting was good and the director knew what is directing is all about...Very unfortunate...in the hands of real professionals could have been really good horror...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't watch
jball634 October 2019
Waste of time. Movie does not make sense. You have been warned. Don't waste 90 minutes of your life like I did.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
AWESOME
brookesteinerbrooke8 August 2019
There is an AWESOME lesbian sex scene in this film! If nothing else, the representation of a non-traditional sex scene in a film earns this movie 10 stars in my book.
8 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful!
taylorrcole8 August 2019
A very cinematic piece, especially for the low-budget world. The locations are epic!!!
8 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great Indie film
ruthiebenfield25 August 2019
This film was beautifully shot and directed, a suspense filled scary little indie film with stand out actors. Amazing what you can do on a low budget with skilled cast cast and crew, well done!
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another Movie That Starts in the Woods
deadbull-951718 August 2020
Warning: Spoilers
AS a rule of thumb, I tend to be immediately dismissive with horror flicks that begin with cabins and scared teenagers running from a pursuer with a machete deep in the woods. There are way too many movies like this to list. It's part of the indie horror formula....at least 5 teenagers, a forest preserve that costs nothing to use, a machete and some rusty farm implements. But, it is the low budget horror movies that far and away trust their own creativity, take the most chances, stray farther from fascist Hollywood repression as they can. At their best we get Combat Shock or Desperate Living or Sinister...and if you start looking at European low budgets...not just horror either...you got Ambition and the real Insomnia and The Vanishing..the ones made in Europe and Let the Right One In etc. In a way, you get the best and the worst in low budget horror. After that boring preamble.......ImBD reviews are quite a bit more insightful then the voting...this surely rates above a 2.9. It is derivative,,,but its plagiarisms are distributed pretty evenly....and we do get that fairly graphic lesbian scene, and the gore is pretty competitive if you like that. Basically very few if anything that's really a jump scare.....some suspense skits....some mystical elements. So, it's like a good version of a faked sports car. It has all the stuff a horror fan looks for, and I feeel like if you like a style...you can watch the same thing repeatedly and still get some satisfaction. If I go to a restaurant I like...I want it to get the same old thing I have had 100 times already cause originality is what I am NOT looking for. Not a great analogy is it? I usually have a central point when I write these. I would say this is a very average kind of hamburger of a movie...maybe a little worse...like a franchise burger.....It is OK and i wouldn't avoid it or seek it ......it has all the elements jumbled up...and that's what confuses my review. It's smart enough in that marketing sense but it has too much formula....It isn't stripped down to some essential...it has too many possible directions all the time...I suppose it's mainly about a well disguised cult that continually lures victims with the same set of premises. .too many editing bad decisions....but sometimes you want a slider or burger king something etc.....and then it'll work.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
What have annoying characters?
jmbovan-47-16017317 June 2020
Sort of a partial found footage film, this is an exercise in trying to capture the uneasiness of the deaths of a group of people in a remote forest area. The film crew is interviewing an older man who had been the ranger for the area and found the people dead. His son and grandson are around to help the man as he is reportedly suffering from dementia. Cue a supernatural phenomenon, and the crew start acting weird and are dying or being killed. Note: the film crew are all "characters" who have quirks but these just make them irritating rather than unique. Why is this the case in so many of these smaller films? It doesn't create tension or motivate for sympathy for a character. It just creates annoyance in the viewer. Be prepared for a vague ending that doesn't quite explain "what" is happening regarding the supernatural elements, so you'll just have to be content with that if you watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Cathy????? Cathy!!!!!!!!!
wandernn1-81-6832743 June 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Okay I did like the opening music!!!!!

-1 Star For the Opening Scene with Noah. Pointless scene.

-1 Star For the 1st night party... what kind of documentary crew comes with beer pong supplies , a couple 1.75 lts of rum to a guest house??? Aren't they supposed to be shooting a film???

+1 Star For the Hawt unnecessary Lesbian scene. This might have actually saved the movie from being shut off as it quickly descends down the path to Stupidville.

-1 Star for asking what the WIFI password is, when dude already told them there was no cell service there at the camp

The last third of the movie descends into some sort of senseless paranormal moment where the documentarians actually start eating each other. I mean really there's just no explanation for what happens. It's just senseless stuff.

And the ending, was pretty lame.

3/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Should have been titled "None Remains"...
paul_haakonsen26 May 2020
All I knew about this 2019 movie from director Josh Hodgins was that it was a horror movie, which is essentially enough needed to get my attention. And since I hadn't already seen it, of course I took the time to sit down and watch it.

Now, the movie should have been titled "None Remains" because this is how I feel the movie will do to you; you just get up and turn it off. I managed to endure 47 minutes of pure torture before I had enough, caved in and gave up. Nothing of any worth or interest happened in these very, very long 47 minutes. And I can't really claim to have had any interest in the characters either.

Everything in those abysmal 47 minutes was just pointless and bland.

The storyline and plot in "One Remains" was lacking. I seriously have no idea what writers Nancy Criss, Josh Hodgins, Vanessa Leigh and Laura Megan Stahl were trying to accomplish with "One Remains". But pretty impressive that not one, but four, writers manage to produce something this unappealing. That is quite an accomplishment in itself.

As for the acting, well I didn't recognize anyone on the cast list, which is always a plus for me. I am sure that the actors and actresses were doing good enough jobs to the extend of their abilities, but they virtually had nothing - and I seriously mean that - to work with in terms of script, plot and storyline.

I am rating "One Remains" a generous two out of ten stars solely because the movie did seem to have adequate production value at least.

If you enjoy a good horror movie, do yourself a favor and stay well clear of "One Remains". It just simply isn't worth the time, money or effort.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Creepy
robinb-848544 March 2020
Creepy but not overly gory. Good job on a low budget indie film
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Huh ...?
mvike25 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Acting was absolutely AWFUL!!!! And nothing at all happens until around the 57 minute mark, and when it does, it makes no sense. Why were they on the tape? No answer at all is given, it just randomly happens. They suddenly find a video tape of them all dying on it lol there's no reason given as to why or what it's from/for/because of. Junk.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome Indie!
wehrmacht-productions6 August 2019
This is a fun little indie film. I would recommend this for cinephiles and for anyone wanting a break from mainstream content.

Indie horror is back on the map!
10 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Subpar low-budget movie that had potential
freefromitall-1731921 August 2019
If the acting and script were better, the movie would probably have been something worth watching. I kept watching hoping that there would be developments in the story but it felt like there was nothing worthwhile that came from this terrible film.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Low budget trash
jeppemichael9 August 2019
This is a very low budget film with not B-, not C-, but D-level acting in it. A ton of student films are better than this.

If you want to waste your time, then watch this. Otherwise just don't.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed