Summer Night (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Cliche after cliche after cliche...
pediatricgrime13 July 2019
Every character in this film is a loser, in some way or another.

I chose to watch this film because of Victoria Justice but she were hardly in any scenes. She did good though. But she couldn't lift the entire movie.

All characters are in their 20's but they act like they're teenagers experiencing things for the first time and doing the worst thing possibly. Just such losers.

At least the actors were good enough to play that stupid.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Too much of a good thing, is bad.
crn-0025523 March 2020
Originally this film had intrigued me due to the fact that Victoria Justice is in it. She was hardly in any scenes. Anyways, I finished watching the movie because of how horrible it was. It was so bad it's good. 😂😅
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I don't connect with them at all
Gordon-1127 February 2020
This film has many characters, but none of them are memorable or are developed at all. I don't care about any of them. I don't connect with any of the characters or what happens with them. I find this a waste of time.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Sadly, Summer Night is Wasted Potential
kjproulx14 August 2019
I'll admit the fact that I'm a sucker for films known by the term mumblecore. I find films that are all about their characters hanging out and developing them are very easy to enjoy. For that reason alone, I was very intrigued by Summer Night. Sadly, this movie is the definition of too much of a good thing. With so many talented performers who have all been a part of better things, this film chooses to exploit them, but there is simply too much dialogue, which ultimately leads to more than a few cringe-worthy lines. Here's why Summer Night just isn't worth your time, even with a few saving graces.

The first act of this film sets up the characters and where they are in life and their relationships quite well. Yes, the film has a mission to cover all the bases in terms of character, which is why I found it to be very cliche. Summer Night follows many young adults who all end up at a bar for a local concert and the majority of the film takes place here. It made for a nice setting for the age group being represented, but I felt a huge disconnect because they all seemed like heightened versions of real-life people. I never once believed I was watching two people have a real conversation.

The main premise is simple enough to make a film about great characters, but I felt the dialogue needed a lot of work. Although I said I'm a sucker for these types of films, I truly found myself becoming slightly annoyed by how much this film relies on people having conversations, while the dialogue is so bad. I'm sure the intentions were very sincere when Jordan Jolliff was penning the script, but I think it could've used a few more revisions. Being his first feature film, I can see some potential for a bright future, but Summer Night just wasn't the breakout I was hoping for.

Speaking of firsts, this is also a first for director Joseph Cross. Known for his acting career in his younger years for movies like Jack Frost and smaller roles in more recent films like Lincoln, I began to notice that he was choosing a different career path. Being his first outing, juggling this many performances isn't an easy task, so I will give him the benefit of the doubt for the future. It's nice to see Ellar Coltrane starring in more films after his Oscar-nominated film in Boyhood and I've been a fan of Justin Chatwin for a while, so their presence was a win for me.

In the end, this is a movie surrounded by a talented cast and a director that was going for something along the lines of a Richard Linklater film, but I think the execution came off as a little cringe-worthy and boring as a whole. There are redeeming qualities here and there, along with some genuinely well-done character moments, but for a movie that relies heavily on that throughout the entire duration, those moments were left in the dust for me. For the type of movie it was seeking to be, I am a little disappointed with it overall. Summer Night doesn't warrant a recommendation from me, which is too bad.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Unease or relief, what was I supposed to feel?
melomuell3 April 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I will say there's a lot of cheap and boring romance stories coming out that don't strike a chord with me but Summer Night kept me engaged. Despite having cardboard characters and an unoriginal plot, I could feel potential. Its difficult to make a completely original story and so the orchestration makes the difference.

However, the conclusions that could have been weren't and I felt very unsatisfied many of the different dynamics. I felt there was never real reciprocation between Seth and Mel about her pregnancy and even when Seth stated he wanted the baby, all she showed the audience was dissatisfaction. On one hand, I can see that scene displaying how much uncertainty there is but it wasn't clear enough.

Furthermore, I enjoyed the Taylor and Dana dynamic but her age was never addressed in the movie which was very confusing because - hey, its Hollywood. Literally no one looks their age. They never addressed the age gap and it became clear she was younger till the skinny dipping scene and I just felt uneasy. It was a little disappointing that Vanessa never received more to her story, however I do understand its difficult to get to everyone in an hour and half.

I liked the Jameson, Harmony, Corin storyline. It's not original but the ability to show someone choosing to figure themselves out before making mistakes is a nice plus.

I did not like Lexi and Rabbit's dynamic at all. There were no lessons to be learned from this, Rabbit was childish, unlikable, and not ready to be in a relationship with Lexi at all. I felt seriously bad for her. They had no chemistry. This doesn't mean they're untalented, Lana Condor and Bill Milner have proven to be talented actors. This dynamic just wasn't it.

I'm sure many people came to see Victoria Justice but they should know there is definitely talent in this show besides her. I understand she was marketed a lot because she's the biggest star in the film but its really annoying. Everyone, including her, worked hard and I think the marketing centered on her was a bad choice, even though I understand why.

My issue with this movie is I felt uneasy when it seemed like I was supposed to feel relief. Coming-of-age stories should end with the feeling that everything is going to be okay, even though everything is confusing. Otherwise, if you want to take the route where things are uncertain and its uncomfortable - go for it! Drinking Buddies is a great example of this and that's because it knew what kind of movie it wanted to be. Summer Night was flawed in the sense that it was trying to sell you both ideas with a tone that was constantly switching, and oftentimes deadpan.

So overall - 4.5/10, a typical storyline that actually kept me interested.

Joseph Cross - I hope you keep directing movies. Keep working hard.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Couldn't wait until the end to review
crazyonyou-0246630 March 2020
This film wants to be dazed and confused so badly it's embarrassing. They did zero character or plot development. I'm about halfway in and I don't know anyones name or have a connection to anyone. There is zero chemistry between these characters, the friendships or the romantic relationships. We get zero background on anyone. I can't find one thing good to say about it. I don't think I can finish it.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't Waste One Summer Night - Hard Pass
elisaforsgren25 March 2020
Watching this was purely a fluke. It was on Netflix, newly released and well, since I'm stuck inside, I thought "Why not?" It is so bad that I couldn't even make it through the whole movie and I usually suffer through to the end even in the worst of films. When the faux band starts playing and one of the tools is chewing gum so much it was like watching a cow chew cud, well, it rankled me so much that I had to stop the film and post my disgust here.

Do not waste your time. Unless you want a good lesson about the me, me, me, me generation with a huge chunk of patriarchy is alive and well. Big eye rolls over the weakness of the characters, their shallowness and inability to show even a little of compassion for the rest of humanity.

With everything else going on in our world right now, this film is pure torture to watch.

Hard Pass.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Summer Night
twb63210 August 2019
The only thing I have to say about this movie is that it was BORING as hell.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
SO BAD- I would rate it a zero if I could.
juliacutroneo3 April 2020
This movie was slow and made no sense at all. ALSO made me want to set my TV on fire.

FIRST OFF) Why did the live music "segment" consume 3/4 of the movie's run time?? the camera continuously, and painstakingly, panned to "Dana" dancing alone in a corner, while, "Jameson" (who don't even get me started was the blandest person I have ever seen on my TV screen and actually make want to punch him in the face because he was so dull) was conflicted over two girls (oh no!). And what's up with this whole teacher thing??? He looks like he is on drugs and how old is heeee and also that one girl is 32 and she's a college student or something?? No way

JAMEson!! The way he drove made me want to cry!!! Also why did it take 5 minutes for each person to respond to each other-made me want to pick up a can of sardines and throw them at the TV. I can't even. What a waste.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Love actually for Horny Teens
redfieldlane28 November 2019
It's a bunch of cliches stitched together in a ensemble piece with a bunch of actors you've seen in other things.

Also this movie has Ella Hunt (who I Love) and Victoria justice (who I also love). And they don't share a scene. Like missed opportunity!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pointless and bad
riannanoel17 April 2020
This movie has no plot to it AT ALL. The acting is bad, it's painful to watch, all of the characters are annoying, and nothing really happens. There are so many characters that the movie is trying to give you a story for, that you don't ever know what the characters stories are or their connections to each other and I'd say 75% of the movie is the bands playing while everyone else watches lol. I wasn't connecting with any of the characters and at 1/4 of the way through I wanted turn it off but I stayed to see if MYABE something would happen but it never did.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
You will either love it or hate it
natcalgary15 September 2019
No middle ground.

You will either relate to the relationships as I did, or you won't and you will find it boring,

6.1
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pointless and boring
HorribleDrBones24 April 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This movie looked promising but quickly I realized it was going nowhere. Unlikable characters with no personalities that can't connect to the viewer. I had to fast forward and shut it off early after giving it about 45 minutes of my time. My girlfriend said the whole movie seemed to be made just to promote the bands/songs in it. Notice how all the older reviews are 9/10 and 10/10 and the newer ones are more like 1/10? The old ones are fake reviews by people who worked on the movie. Their reviews sound more like the plot of the movie and encouraging others to watch their less than mediocre work instead of a legit viewer getting enjoyment from a movie they happened upon.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I felt a powerful sense of nostalgia for a life that wasn't quite my own
rcfaust17 October 2020
I strangely liked this movie a lot. No, it's not particularly smart or interesting in any way. You don't really connect with the characters either since you don't spend much time with any of them and there's no real character development.

BUT -- it really brought me back to a time when I and people my age really cared about music, and being in a band, and we built this entire activity up to become something solid and tangible for us to hang the other parts of life, and as an excuse to develop our personalities. I was never in a band myself but it still brought me back. The movie was made in 2019 but really it's a movie about the mid-to-late 2000s. It's not really a teen movie. It's for people who were teens fifteen years ago.

I felt a general, low-key buzz of pleasure throughout this movie. The plot and dialogue are mostly inoffensive, and the people are pretty, and the tunes are perfect in that quintessential 2000s indie rock way -- catchy and good but not really very memorable when divorced from the personal context of your life.

I understand that Dazed and Confused is a better made movie, but what can I say? I didn't grow up in the 1970s.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Wouldn't blame you if you fell asleep
phulla14 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
If this was a "coming of age" story, I missed it. I think the setting was great, I enjoyed the fact that the audience had to develop the characters from the little information (was that intentional?) but there was no further development and if you're going to tell a story of the lives of so many in one night then you have to be absolutely exceptional at plot and character development because you have a very short time period to get the audience involved and this didn't happen (for me).

All the ingredients of great film, unfortunately this didn't turn out as expected.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I liked it. Slow burn.
filmmadman3 June 2020
It's got an Austiny, Linklater feel to it and the bands in the film have decent tunes but the script isn't very compelling. This could have been a much better film with more interesting dialogue.

Some of the scenes are in long wide shots but the dialogue and acting isn't good enough to let it all okay it out in a long static shot. Some cutaways would improve the dialogue and acting issues.

I laughed aloud more than once (really good Observational humor) but the deep thoughts are drowning in the shallow end of the thought pool.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very Entertaining and Perfect Portrayal of Adolescent Experience
karanned31 May 2019
Super entertaining, engaging, and witty film that gets at the heart of teenage life with incredible performances by the actors. Characters were raw, relatable and much more complex than stereotypes you often see for that age group. I went to high school before smart phones and social media so I'm always doubtful I can relate to movies about life as a modern day teenager. And yet this film was relatable (and I imagine would be for people who went through high school anywhere, anytime). The characters felt like people I had known and the storylines resembled ones that I or my peers had experienced decades earlier. The film perfectly encapsulates the melodramatic emotion that come with being a teenager - wanting to grow up, experiment and get out of your sheltered world while experiencing love and adult challenges for the first time without yet having the wisdom that comes up with life experience. It paints a perfect picture of the unique bonds formed during that stage of your life and the humor underlying so many of those awkward interactions. You will laugh and fall in love with the characters (Jameson being my personal favorite). And while it won't necessarily make you want to relive high school, it will make you remember what was so cool about those summer nights. Oh, and the music is awesome too.
8 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
America of today.
When setting out to make a film which comments on the youth of today, one can be thrown some challenges. Before I started watching this I was sceptical, thinking that it could easily fall into a cliche. But what this indie film has, is true spirit.

You're thrown into 'just another day' the lack of a storyline is what makes the film take you into its arms. Following it around like the unspoken voice behind the camera. The film is incredible relevance of social issues of today. Abortion being one. The stand out performances where from Callan McAuliffe, Ella Hunt, Khris Davis & Travis Love.

A solid 9/10
5 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I saw this at RomCom Fest this weekend and loved it!
shelley-7323 June 2019
It's a warm, feel-good, coming-of-age ensemble film with excellent performances and an awesome soundtrack!
4 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best Summer Night of your life
knighterinn13 July 2019
Great story about young love and first time experiences. Nostalgia at its finest. Fun for all ages!
3 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very enjoyable movie
nicholas-dekay11 July 2019
It's a fun movie with a great cast. It makes me miss being a twenty something...
3 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved this movie!
ieshaprice16 July 2019
This is a wonderful coming of age story that follows a group of friends, navigating life and all the unfortunate curve balls, life throws at us. It's very relate-able and I loved the cast and sound track!
2 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved The movie
saslowe13 July 2019
I really enjoyed the look of the movie and the cast. They were all really fantastic. Nothing crazy just a simple movie.
2 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good pace
charlesniklaus31 May 2020
I love how the movie plays out, everything wasn't in a rush, the comedy, the affection, it all played out nice. If you don't enjoy a calm movie you probably shouldn't see it. For me, I totally love it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed