Escape and Evasion (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Interesting, real life and visually appealing
melissahmcgrath16 December 2019
This is a very good movie depicting post traumatic stress of returned soldiers. The main Actor does a great job. Not a big American production, but certainly a decent effort for an Australian feature film. Worth a view
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Real Rambo
pkdyer651916 December 2019
I love Australia & World Films and TV they are a lot more realistic than the US BS that claims to be the truth. One Soldier's story about being sent on a mission to Myanmar and dealing with the trauma and guilt back in the real world. A reporter delves into the truth about what happened to her brother on the mission. A very realistic depiction of how the horrors of war can impact on the family life. Very well acted by Josh Mcconville and well supported by Bonnie Sveen and Jessi Robertson.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
From a AUSTRALIAN soldier!
paulzernick7 March 2020
Disgusted. Fictional rubbish. Oh, did I mention I'm an ex grunt. 25yrs worth. Should I at this point mention I was in SF for half of that. At no time did we ever go to Burma either in my grunt or SF time in the ADF! At no time have we ever sustained casualties with the B-Movie premise of being the "lone survivor". This makes a mockery of everything our soldiers have done. Yes fictional liberties can be taken, but atleast put it in the backdrop against actual work and missions being undertaken by our brave and selfless ADF personnel serving. Disgusted! Where the hell was the military advisors role in this. Should be sacked. Next time get someone with an ounce of experience in SF. Ashamed!
13 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Is like a rambo returns
SlightlyMe12 December 2019
I really like this movie. It is a gritty, grimy, brutal perspective of a war in the burmese jungles. A passable performance by Josh McConville as the troubled soldier. It has everything in it and as such never really achieves anything. Can't help but feel it's more a Storm Ashwood showcase than film....

but it's a good showcase, definitely worth a go.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Brando/Sheen retrospective reaches Australia
uscmd4 May 2021
A really awful movie. Over cooked PTSD. Australian accents, done till you either put cotton or lit matches in your ears. Bad script, entirely predictable.

The capper was the Apocalypse angle.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Simply trash!
scoulter-2323222 April 2021
One of the worst films and acting was laughable! Just pathetic. Being an ex infantry soldier this movie was an insult to all.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Owen submachine gun sighting?
gmqgvbfg18 June 2021
This was a pretty terrible movie but I think I spied an Owen submachinegun (might be wrong) in a couple of scenes. I couldn't watch the whole movie because there were so many things that were unbelievable. But since the Owen was an Aussie weapon, I suppose it's possible the production could have found one for the movie. Not a great reason to watch the movie for sure but just an aside really.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Appalling
markmclews26 April 2021
Absolute cliched garbage, laughable!

Only made worse by that horrid NZ actor/actress being in it!

No wonder the principle character/soldier suffers PTSD, he retired to the Gold Coast for christ's sake, that would do it to anybody!

Absolutely dreadful on all levels!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must watch! Loved it!
ebenbanban8 March 2020
Josh McConville is so good. A Myanmar (Burmese) being in Aussie, watching this film and hearing Josh McConville speaking Myanmar (Burmese) language is like fantastic. I can relate to some of the scenes that happen in the film. From start to finish, the film is amazing.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Laughable plot and sub-standard acting
contactmaz12 December 2019
A pointless film where all the actors (???) have no idea how to act, from the main character to his silly little daughter. The plot was pathetic. This film is a time-waster!
7 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Be Bored, or Be Boring!
juliancooper-935-7570519 April 2021
This film has one sort of half decent action/fighting scene. One sex scene without boobies. And then just some boring story about a bloke battling with the relationship he has with his daughter and ex wife.

Honestly, this movie looks like it was made just so the producers could put some text in at the end about the treatment of PTSD for veterans.

The acting was on par with low budget Australian films. I actually yawned a few times watching this piece of crap - cements my choice to avoid Australian films, always! Crap. Crap. Crap.

Go buy a notepad with nothing written in it, and read it a dozen times - you'll get more joy there than watching this utterly useless waste of time (MY TIME!!!!!), money, effort, and oxygen.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Depiction of PTSD
megan_gummer5 January 2021
I loved this Movie , The movie is about PTSD more than it is supposed to be about the actual facts surrounding a tour of duty . If I want to know about those things I'd watch a doco . So to those who think they are being helpful giving a crap review because it doesn't reflect their own experiences or tour of duty glad I didn't listen to you . I thought it a great Movie
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How do you watch the movie
trisha-1727020 December 2019
This is a question how do you watch the movie, because it is not out yet and others are reviewing it if you know please reply
1 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So many many mixed reviews
LionsLord24 April 2021
I really enjoyed this film. Yes it's fictional and doesn't follow and historical facts, but it's still great.

Go into the film expecting a drama not an action film, expecting emotions and psychology and not Rambo and you'll enjoy it too.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Saved itself from the acting and script
matty_mushroom198318 April 2021
Yeah I gave it an 8, even with the acting and script. Not that I could find too many issues with them but I've grown weary of Aussie drama template.

That being said, how 'bout that portrayal or a ptsd stricken ex soldier who's memory is poisoned his guilt, tho'?

Some sh(poop)y things happen in life, let alone at war, and people do those things. This film does not shy away from that fact. The protagonist isn't a hero (he has a far guiltiest conscience than I can imagine carrying around) but he does have the right intentions

Definitely give it a go.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed